22 people like this.

71 comment(s). Last comment by Farhan Azrayl Zailani 2015-02-12 18:34

obk4695

26 posts

Posted by obk4695 > 2014-05-26 21:40 | Report Abuse

Why Malaysian buy Proton car?Because the price is cheaper than others.We,Malaysian are force to drive this useless car because we can't effort the expensive one.Proton had been bankrupt long time ago if the gov did not bail out proton.Dr M's appointment makes no difference.

Lim Elson

2,550 posts

Posted by Lim Elson > 2014-05-26 21:51 | Report Abuse

how proton want to grow, when the top management only see the money grow in their own pocket??????

5,759 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2014-05-26 21:56 | Report Abuse

Dun forget abt interest rate fr financial institutution 4%,. Leh

cheahsk

50 posts

Posted by cheahsk > 2014-05-26 22:05 | Report Abuse

Just one word: Incompetence and all in the name of Ketuanan. This guy doesn't change. Same class, same mentality as Ibrahim Ali. He has never been a PM for all Malaysians. There is nothing left for him to destroy.

sunztzhe

2,248 posts

Posted by sunztzhe > 2014-05-26 22:17 | Report Abuse

There is no benefit for an average Malaysian car consumer who earn the lowest wage compared to their counterpart in USA, Germany and Japan to buy sub quality Proton with low safety standards but at prices where their foreign counterpart could easily buy a much better built, higher quality car of similar make but with much higher safety standards.

When will the average Malaysian car consumer wake up from this slumber?

When will these average Malaysian car consumers ever wake up and realize that Proton had demonstrated over the past 20 odd years that it had no real definable competency in making quality, competitive cars with high safety standards that can compete in Malaysia and the world markets? Why feel proud about Proton when Proton had not demonstrated any achievement in producing quality, competitive priced cars with high safety standards that Malaysians can indeed be proud of?

When will the average Malaysian car consumer realized that they had all along been conned for so many years?

flyer

11 posts

Posted by flyer > 2014-05-26 22:21 | Report Abuse

RKS : you can apply for PR1ma , which is probably the equivalent of PRoton .

Alexofb2b

1,304 posts

Posted by Alexofb2b > 2014-05-26 22:22 | Report Abuse

wow, I think it is better for appointing Mahatir as MAS's CEO TO SAVE IT ...... HIOHIHII

Posted by profit profits > 2014-05-26 22:25 | Report Abuse

The most SHAMEFUL history for Potong car happened sometimes in 93-96, "proton saga" was as if so good in selling and not enough stock, not because its quality but rather incapability of factory to produce enough cars for customers, which ended up many customers had to pay under-table money to potong sales men in order to get their cars in shorter time. Imagine car sales men could earn under-table money, this would not happen in any other places in the world except bolehland ! (buying second hand cars from the potong sales men and paid more expensive price than the brand new car price)

sunztzhe

2,248 posts

Posted by sunztzhe > 2014-05-26 22:27 | Report Abuse

Appointing an economic incompetent as defined by Jim Rogers in page 52 on "HOT COMMODITIES" to turn around MAS which requires economic competent CEO?

Can an economic incompetent transform into an economic competent?

focuz

1,447 posts

Posted by focuz > 2014-05-26 22:38 | Report Abuse

Corrections: My early post I used the word "vibe" - vibration.
1). What I meant to mean was "vile" - despicable.

On reading the responses above, a word to describe the reactions from readers is "vided" - divided.

Thank goodness that remarks has not gotten more vile. And I hope readers accept my accidental typo (misspelling) and learn a new word as I did.

Alexofb2b

1,304 posts

Posted by Alexofb2b > 2014-05-26 23:10 | Report Abuse

sunztzhe ,
Mahatir just shout and all the Mas Employee Union Tikus will run away, so he can cut the workforce by 50% without problems,

Next, He just shout to cut and terminate all expensive Contracts and not many have the Guts to object lor....

Next, he will open his mouth to ask PM to donate 20-40 Billions RM and hihi.... MAS will be on course to moderate recovery lah....... hihihii

fortunebullz

2,000 posts

Posted by fortunebullz > 2014-05-26 23:49 | Report Abuse

What to revive crappy Proton! Easy! Ban all japanese, korean and European car imports! Importers can only sale China cars in Malaysia! 5 years later, Proton sales cant keep up with demand! It's a case of buying a Proton scrap or buying junk yard scrap cars from China! Problem solve!

Barbarian

939 posts

Posted by Barbarian > 2014-05-26 23:53 | Report Abuse

Hehehe....Fortunebullz , maybe that will also stop car theft becoz it's worthless to steal a proton....or China car...

fortunebullz

2,000 posts

Posted by fortunebullz > 2014-05-26 23:54 | Report Abuse

Barbarian! Police dont have to chase china car theft! It will break down if trying to speed off!

Barbarian

939 posts

Posted by Barbarian > 2014-05-26 23:56 | Report Abuse

Self selling for scrap metal lor......but poor tax payer still got to pay pay pay....

fortunebullz

2,000 posts

Posted by fortunebullz > 2014-05-27 00:06 | Report Abuse

Almost all china car dealerships in Malaysia close shop! Not a single china car brand survive beyond 3 years in Malaysia!
Compare to Proton, problem with Proton is too much cronies to fed! At one time, Proton was so popular they just cant keep up with demand! And Proton salesmen used to be among richest salesmen around!
I dont think any one will miss Proton if close shop today! Volkswagen was the best deal Proton should have taken! Tun Mahathir justification that if Proton close shop, 200 thousand workers will be layoff simple doesnt make sense! We all know only cronies will be the biggest losers! You just cant fool us like 20 years ago!
Proton Saga current model is so bad that its alignment cant be fix due to low quality of its platform! Please raise your hand if you find your new Proton Saga has faulty aligment! Chances are you are among all current Proton Saga owners having the same low quality platfrom problem!
Time and time again Proton keep telling us that quality will improve! And time and time again, quality getting bad to worse! I suspect these cronies supplying parts source from China!

fortunebullz

2,000 posts

Posted by fortunebullz > 2014-05-27 00:11 | Report Abuse

Let me tell you a riping off wealthy car buyers! Mercedes Benz parts all made in China! So most rich mercedes benz owners parting half a millon for a ripe off parts with expensive badge!

Conan

155 posts

Posted by Conan > 2014-05-27 05:04 | Report Abuse

The proton salesman use to say " kalau suka tunggu tak boleh takpa"

Conan

155 posts

Posted by Conan > 2014-05-27 05:05 | Report Abuse

screw them all

Fam Jenny

7,724 posts

Posted by Fam Jenny > 2014-05-27 06:44 | Report Abuse

A lot of them seem to condemn proton cars but contrary I personally feel that it is quite good when compares to some foreign cars.My friend's proton saga is 17 years and my proton is 14 years,they are still performing very well and we can safely reach Genting highlands without any difficulty.They seldom break down unless the spare parts wear out and need to be replaced.
Surprisingly my relative's foreign car broke down after 2.5 years,engine was boiling and fortunately he spotted it on time if not it was beyond repair.My the other two relatives' foreign cars which are used for less than 10 years are giving them great mechanic problems and become unreliable,now they either use their wife's car or buy another new car.
For your information all taxi cars are using proton brands yet they survive well even they are highly over utilized with high mileage.
I will buy another proton if I change my car as they are good and reliable and not giving me much mechanic problems.
Fortunebullz,all the spare parts of handphones are made in China maybe you got to change your phone to an European brand then you can get non china spare parts.

sunztzhe

2,248 posts

Posted by sunztzhe > 2014-05-27 09:15 | Report Abuse

The old Proton Saga cars were fitted with Mitsubishi engines made in Japan. So why not buy Mitsubishi then instead of buying Proton? How much will a Mitsubishi cost you then? For that matter the old Toyotas, Mercedes without the complex electronics were even better. Without the government protection for Proton, how much would you pay for a Toyota or a Mercedes then?

Without Proton and the government protection for Proton, will u pay higher or lower price for a new car? Will u have more choices of new cars to choose from? As a consumer with limited budget do u want more choices for selection or only make do with Proton?

Is an average Malaysian car consumer earning an average income which is much lower than the average incomes in USA, Germany and Japan better off with Proton or without Proton?

zan122208

52 posts

Posted by zan122208 > 2014-05-27 09:16 | Report Abuse

Guys, spend some time watch Top Gear and you'll be amazed, proton is actually better compared with other model produced by big manufacturers. We only see the model here in Malaysia and our automotive scope is too small. Expand your scope and knows what happening out there and you'll start saying things differently.

fortunebullz

2,000 posts

Posted by fortunebullz > 2014-05-27 09:21 | Report Abuse

Sunzthze! Old Proton are based on Mitshubihi models! Its like Perodua today! Perodua is nothing more than rebadge models! I bet latest Perodua EEV model based on Daihatsu Ayla! In fact all Perodua models are based on Daihatsu defunct models! Proton used to rebadge the last one was wira! You can find tons of japanese parts for old Protons and Perodua! You can even transform you made in Malaysia Proton or Perodua into japanese made!

sunztzhe

2,248 posts

Posted by sunztzhe > 2014-05-27 09:48 | Report Abuse

Hahaha Paying good money to buy new defunct but rebadged models whereas the average car consumer overseas pays good money to buy the latest models!! This is truly Malaysia Boleh! Hahaha

pilindo

867 posts

Posted by pilindo > 2014-05-27 10:24 | Report Abuse

senior citizen shall not play joke with MH370. Be more mature in writing.

Posted by Koon Yew Yin > 2014-05-27 11:16 | Report Abuse

I am very sorry that I made reference to the mysterious disappearance of MH370 because when I was completing the writing of the article, I just wanted to fire my last shot at Dr Mahathir.

I now realise that it can hurt the feeling of some sensitive readers, especially those related to the innocent victims.

My humble apologies!

Fam Jenny

7,724 posts

Posted by Fam Jenny > 2014-05-27 11:17 | Report Abuse

Being a small country we do not enjoy scale of economies when compare with big nations having local market to absorb high fixed cost for high industries.Hence to compete well we have to develop our research and development unit to a very high sophisticated standard and need real smart innovative people to be there.
But having so many stupid cronies inside the company the real brilliant individuals who are not willing to work under them and will prefer to work in companies where their intelligence and hardwork are respected and recognised so whoever is inside will have great difficulty of solving its problems and bring it to a higher level.The eventuality of Proton will be like Mas,hopeless unless their cars are sold in the third countries which do not produce cars.tend the
So to improve they have to remove the useless ones esp in the research and design staff and put real smart professional there and axing the rest eventually.

Fam Jenny

7,724 posts

Posted by Fam Jenny > 2014-05-27 11:20 | Report Abuse

Correction:....cost for high technology industries.

Posted by Koon Yew Yin > 2014-05-27 11:31 | Report Abuse

The British Experience
Consider the case of British Leyland a vehicle-manufacturing company formed in the United Kingdom in 1968. It was partly nationalised in 1975 with the government creating a new holding company. The company incorporated much of the British owned motor vehicle industry, and held 40% of the UK car market.
Despite containing profitable marques such as Jaguar, Rover and Land Rover, as well as the best-selling Mini, British Leyland had a troubled history. In 1986 it was renamed as the Rover Group, later to become MG Rover Group, which went into administration in 2005. This ended mass car production by British-owned manufacturers.

Today, many British car marques have become owned by foreign companies. For example MG and the Austin, Morris and Wolseley marques have all become part of China’s SAIC Motor Corporation Limited.

We should have avoided this expensive mistake
Why did Dr. Mahathir not learn anything from the disastrous British car industry experience is something that completely escapes many Malaysians? Surely any good leader would have got his officers to do due diligence. If they had done so, they would have found that the industry even with year on year rises in sales is not guaranteed to generate good returns to shareholders, even in a highly developed economy with a long tradition of successful car manufacture such as Britain?

This is because one of the forces that limit profitability is the intensity of rivalry between car companies from around the world. This leads to oversupply and pressure on prices. This is exacerbated by a high degree of freedom for new competitors to enter the industry.

Unless there is an enormous internal market such as China’s or the United States and we can take advantage of the economies of scale, small producers such as Malaysia are forever doomed to a minor placing or bankruptcy in the market place.

wies

35 posts

Posted by wies > 2014-05-27 11:58 | Report Abuse

Dear Mr Khoon,

The economics behind is actually sound however as always the implementation of it leaves much to be desired.

Lets take a look at the Singapore side to try to understand the correlation. Though it is not exactly apple to apple the principle is very similar. Lee Kuan Yew was complaining in the 60s that Singaporeans were spending their discretionary income on Japanese akai radios, mercedes etc resulting in huge outflow of sing dollar that do not remain in Singapore domestic economy and benefits only Advance countries that have the technology to produce them. As a result to limit the outflows and to increase gov coffers to build infrastructures CPF was created and later COE for cars. What this does is instead of feeding fat cats from other countries the money remain within the country.

That is where Singapore got the money to build so many HDB at below market price early on and able to provide homes to almost everybody who...can work.

Malaysia was greedy and much corruption has seeped in the system. As you said Mr Khoon blind nationalism and racialism. Singapore use the money gained to further strengthen their economy, human capital, education, tech etc. Malaysia got AP Kings, monopoly kings that collects the rent and into own pocket.

mmtalents

506 posts

Posted by mmtalents > 2014-05-27 17:47 | Report Abuse

always all is about Pride and Ego when come to people running this country.. malay said maruah, Chinese said must have face.. but our pocket got big hole, every month pocket kosong, when some people left pocket in, right pocket out, my salary already kosong before come to my pocket, income tax took it, house loan took it, car loan took it, credit card took it...........

jolie2

2,039 posts

Posted by jolie2 > 2014-05-27 20:12 | Report Abuse

old man try to act young. Pls admit you are already senior citizen and you should show good example to your grand children (if you have any).

gymkhana

512 posts

Posted by gymkhana > 2014-05-27 20:31 | Report Abuse

fuh... deep inside... btw facts

sunztzhe

2,248 posts

Posted by sunztzhe > 2014-05-27 21:09 | Report Abuse

What happened to MH370 was indeed very unfortunate and tragic.PM Najib stated that it ended its journey in the Indian Ocean. Tun Dr Mahathir has a different opinion. Where is MH 370? Where are the passengers? We do not really know and Only god knows what had happened. Our fervent prayers go to all the unfortunates onboard.

Now let us focus onto you as a car consumer living in Malaysia. As a car consumer living in Malaysia, have you compared the prices of Proton cars and other car brands in the Malaysian market? Have you researched and obtained price info of the other car makes(Proton equivalent or near equivalent) in USA, Japan and Germany?

Do u notice any difference in quality cum technical specs between Protons for Malaysia market versus Proton for overseas market? What is the price to consumer of Proton in Malaysia and in overseas market?

Do u see any difference between the car price of Proton, other brands in overseas markets? Do u also see any price difference between Proton and the other competitors in the Malaysian market? Is there any difference in technical car specs in Malaysia compared to the overseas markets such as USA, Japan and Germany?

Having done all that and taking a position of an average wage earner and a car consumer in Malaysia":

Is the average Malaysian car consumer earning an average income which is much lower than the average incomes in USA, Germany and Japan financially better off with Proton or financially better off without Proton?

kmohan62

484 posts

Posted by kmohan62 > 2014-05-27 21:23 | Report Abuse

Dear Mr Khoon,

I can't agree more with your opinion and your diagnosis and prognosis of TDM and his perennial antics to be forced appointed as Proton Chairman!But what I am sure to happen in weeks or perhaps months to come is that...our `beloved' ex PM will find ways and means to force potential car buyers espcially the middle class to buy Proton...he will find ways and means to circumvent whatever trade agreements we are party to i.e. AFTA and force the prices of foreign marques to go up one way or the other...thus forcing locals [ those low and middle income earners] to revert back to buying the so called national cars..My 2 cents worth of advice to those planning to buy a foreign model soon...rush to your nearest dealer and sign in the dotted line..

Posted by TengkuAnyok > 2014-05-27 21:48 | Report Abuse

Mr Koon,

I 100% agreed to your very detailed article above. Very pertinent remarks,sensible,apprehensive,very appropriate. Constructive and thought provoking to intellectuals who is forward looking.
This article is tactful and served to widen the narrow visions of most malaysian who had been economic/financial victims for more than 20 years due to the ego of an ex-Pm. Keep it up and perhaps translation into BM and chinese language will see the message reach a wide readership.

NNNN

113 posts

Posted by NNNN > 2014-05-28 15:01 | Report Abuse

I believe Dyana Sofya is a good example of young Malay generations who no longer tolerate with this kind of governments old fashion- own benefit policies.

sunztzhe

2,248 posts

Posted by sunztzhe > 2014-05-28 15:07 | Report Abuse

The young generation of Malaysians are much more open minded and liberal compared to their parents. The move towards liberalism is an irreversible trend and surely it will gain more traction with time.

ikan bilis

241 posts

Posted by ikan bilis > 2014-05-28 22:23 | Report Abuse

!st that doctor is old d, 2nd he is outdated , 3rd what the heck he knows of car ? engineering? design? 4th he belongs to hospital / clinic NOT automobile company!!! gv me back my tax monies !! don't spend my tax monies on his salary !!!! nia mar....

sunztzhe

2,248 posts

Posted by sunztzhe > 2014-05-28 23:07 | Report Abuse

Every Malaysian car consumer will definitely want to stretch their disposable income $$$$$$$. Anything that increases the cost of purchase and deprive them of their choice of selection is certainly not welcome by everyone concerned

Why should one man decide what car and what price an average Malaysian car consumer should pay for? Did all Malaysians give him the exclusive right to decide for ALL?

ruslimz

1,609 posts

Posted by ruslimz > 2014-05-28 23:08 | Report Abuse

Proton and Kia started manufacturing cars at the same time....Kia now is the world brand.......proton....kampung brand..build low quality cars..

ruslimz

1,609 posts

Posted by ruslimz > 2014-05-28 23:20 | Report Abuse

it is very easy to sell more proton cars......enforce yearly mandatory inspection of cars of more than 10 years.....DRB is lobying all out for goverment to enforce this.....rakyat all out objecting ...may be new chairman can help proton on this matter........

up41

70 posts

Posted by up41 > 2014-05-29 13:31 | Report Abuse

Mr Koon, Yes it is bad taste to compare to MH370. And thumbs up to you when you promptly apologized. It takes courage to apologies.

Do you or anyone knows about this privatization of Proton in details especially the loan guarantee part. Is the government meaning we tax payers, guarantee the loan Proton owes to banks and what not. And, who fund the future expansion ? $ from EPF ??

It may be possible to turn Proton into profit but not from selling cars. The lands in Shah Alam is worth billion I suppose. Just move the whole factory /operation to Proton city in the North ( which is under utilized, I guessed), then the land could bring in a lot $$$$ for proton. But why let Proton made the $$, the land could be sold to............... Just kidding

Posted by Yin Mei Kuen > 2014-06-06 16:47 | Report Abuse

good article mr koon!

johnny cash

6,357 posts

Posted by johnny cash > 2014-06-06 18:35 | Report Abuse

this ma...thir is a purest anti western type..

kk123

1,964 posts

Posted by kk123 > 2014-06-06 21:15 | Report Abuse

Lastly , dr m shld come up with concrete plan on how he intend to turn around proton .. apart from getting loans from the govment , from the rakyat/taxpayers
Nowadays rakyat more smarter than those days when he rule with cronisym & almost 90% majority in parliament
Now BN has slim majority and any hanky panky can result in even lower majority

Barbarian

939 posts

Posted by Barbarian > 2014-06-06 21:20 | Report Abuse

Feels like dr M is the PM again. He seem to be the one to issue critism or praise a leader should. like the critism levied on Jais and MH370 Boeing .......when Najib was only quiet

sunztzhe

2,248 posts

Posted by sunztzhe > 2014-06-08 21:01 | Report Abuse

After almost 30 years of existence and protection, What has PROTON got to show to all Malaysians about its real achievement in Malaysia and overseas market?

PROTON had achieved nothing to date that merits commendation and it still want more protection to survive??

Does Dr Mahathir still think that Malaysians can still be fooled by more protection for PROTON is good for you, the Malaysian consumer??

Nancy Tang

853 posts

Posted by Nancy Tang > 2014-12-08 21:50 | Report Abuse

Proton is his baby ... if bankrupt ... he loose face big time , so what do you think he will do ?!!!

Posted by Farhan Azrayl Zailani > 2015-02-12 18:34 | Report Abuse

I don't care who their leader is. All I know is I'll will now start buying car parts from http://ikutkiri.com since I found them last week. Other places keep trying to raise their prices