14 comment(s). Last comment by chinesetea 2015-01-21 21:28

Posted by kcchongnz > 2015-01-02 06:26 | Report Abuse

Chinese Tea,

You did very well last year, definitely better than me. Well done.

Allow me to make some little comments.

Looking at your stock list, you are a growth investor. Those companies you have invested do have good growth potential. You also have a diversified portfolio of very good stocks, except I don't like just one crony stock because in my opinion, even if they make money, I doubt they will share with minority shareholders.

I am sure you will do well with your portfolio of growth and some steady earnings stocks. I will be looking at some of your stocks to invest in.

Happy New Year.

chinesetea

1,390 posts

Posted by chinesetea > 2015-01-02 07:26 | Report Abuse

Thanks for your kind comment and I know you are humble man and you are definitely winner by choosing one stock. I have learned a lot from your article and hope one day you can publish a book by consolidating all your article in one and perhaps your course work. I understand you run some course and if it is in UK, I would have joined as I live in London.

Yes, I have a diversified portfolio for long term pick. Sometimes, I have doubt whether it is the right method. I don't lose big but I cannot win big either. As shown in the portfolio, if I pick any of the 8 winning stock I can achieved 15% and more. Of course only if I knew ahead of time, lol.
The most profitable period was when I own only few stocks takaful, cbip, inari, dsonic in my own portfolio

Currently, in my real life strategy, I have several stocks for long term and use some money to punt on hot stock. I also keep some cash to pick bargain during sell down.

I have to agree 'most' crony stock don't share profit and is normally growth stock with headline news that push the price up and of course some money went to their pocket. It has its down and upside and we only can live with the flow. There is always some uncertainty with such stock and hence you see big swing in their price. In 2015, I will focus more on dividend stock.

1,403 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2015-01-02 08:08 | Report Abuse

Winning great return in bull nothing to shout. Lets see if you can still outperform during bear like 2008.

chinesetea

1,390 posts

Posted by chinesetea > 2015-01-02 08:28 | Report Abuse

That's very true. It will be very difficult. In bull everyone can be sifu and expert

1,403 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2015-01-02 09:47 | Report Abuse

Tht's the case, that is why who can still consistently outperform after 20 yrs are hard to come by

matrix6050

1,265 posts

Posted by matrix6050 > 2015-01-02 11:15 | Report Abuse

Thanks for sharing Chinesetea, learn a lot from you, hope you have a wonderful 2015

Siva68

1,858 posts

Posted by Siva68 > 2015-01-02 16:33 | Report Abuse

ctea, Happy New Year and congrats on your 2014 portfolio earnings, as you have mentioned better than FD return.
For 2015, at least for the 1st Quarter, will be looking closely @ GST related counters. Yes, at least I'm quite sure you know one of it(IFCAMSC).
Not sure how far its true that their 2014 YTD profit has hit Rm100 mill(as being mentioned in i3).
All the best ctea and rest of the gang for 2015.

Posted by Edmund Dominos > 2015-01-02 19:33 | Report Abuse

Agree with chinesetea that KC should publish his work!

CFTrader

812 posts

Posted by CFTrader > 2015-01-02 19:47 | Report Abuse

kcchongnz is a man, whom teach you how to fish (and fish systematically) for free in i3investor ...

where to find this kind of people ? God bless him.

1n1792

428 posts

Posted by 1n1792 > 2015-01-02 21:32 | Report Abuse

Ctea.. Bravo.. Good job

rchi

20,923 posts

Posted by rchi > 2015-01-02 21:44 | Report Abuse

Chinesetea,great job.May i suggest you add trailing stop to your stocks so that you can protect most of your profits next time.Cheers.

Kevin Wong

416 posts

Posted by Kevin Wong > 2015-01-03 10:40 | Report Abuse

Well done...but only after 3 bear cycles, or at least 15 years of investing...only then we shall really know...
Wishing all happy and profitable investing!

sook

49 posts

Posted by sook > 2015-01-03 10:59 | Report Abuse

Thanks to all those generous, sincere & kindhearted sifus from whom only I learned a lot of investment fundamentals.Sifus such as uncleZ,

Kiasu,OTB, Chinesetea & more. May your FORCE be always with us!

chinesetea

1,390 posts

Posted by chinesetea > 2015-01-21 21:28 | Report Abuse

In case someone missed out. I posted by stock pick for 2015 around 5th of January