DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-12-09 17:29 | Report Abuse

Ramada, thanks for your 1st "like"

14,419 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-12-09 17:31 | Report Abuse

I no longer have any doubt on JAKS.

The most important person who should read this is Mr.Koon. He cant go wrong by investing here. In fact he should sell Dayang and buy back JAKS.

samheong78

472 posts

Posted by samheong78 > 2019-12-09 18:32 | Report Abuse

Topglov earn 300 million and become KLCI blue chip and PE fetch 30. So I think Jaks can also become blue chip and worth around RM18 and become KLCI members. Have to look far far ...

ramada

3,955 posts

Posted by ramada > 2019-12-09 18:36 | Report Abuse

Just want to repeat this. I think this is very very important, but I hardly to see others mention it — JRB doesn't need to pay taxes for first 4 years.

Posted by DK66 > Nov 13, 2019 11:41 PM

I apologize for wrong information given earlier.

Correct information should be : Vietnam BOT will be exempted from taxes for the first 4 years, 5% for the next 9 years and thereafter 10%.

Posted by SarifahSelinder > 2019-12-09 18:40 | Report Abuse

Kelihatan initially more eager to impress Andy was talking wit more honesty bila he quoted expected 250m - 300m PAT dari Veitnam IPP

Posted by SarifahSelinder > 2019-12-09 18:47 | Report Abuse

Don't worry

Each n every cent of electricity sold wil b metered

Veitnam IPP revenue figure kan as honest as possible

Posted by SarifahSelinder > 2019-12-09 18:48 | Report Abuse

Sarifah proudly berjiwa IPP unapologetic angkuh dan liar

14,419 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-12-09 19:18 | Report Abuse

just with 20M investment now, he will recover his lost 64M

all he needs is some patience, 25 years of recurring income cannot be suppressed

DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-12-09 19:28 | Report Abuse

After 13 years , the tax rate will be 10%. Roughly RM30m

ramada

3,955 posts

Posted by ramada > 2019-12-09 19:32 | Report Abuse

Only 10% taxes after 13 years. This is really a good deal.

5,055 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2019-12-09 20:07 | Report Abuse

Dear DK66,
The 1,400 million loan repayment table:
year Principle 6% payment Prin. Payment Balance
1 1,400.00 84.00 109.518 25.52 1,374.48
2 1,374.48 82.47 109.518 27.05 1,347.43
3 1,347.43 80.85 109.518 28.67 1,318.76
4 1,318.76 79.13 109.518 30.39 1,288.37
5 1,288.37 77.30 109.518 32.22 1,256.15
6 1,256.15 75.37 109.518 34.15 1,222.00
7 1,222.00 73.32 109.518 36.20 1,185.81
8 1,185.81 71.15 109.518 38.37 1,147.44
9 1,147.44 68.85 109.518 40.67 1,106.76
10 1,106.76 66.41 109.518 43.11 1,063.65
11 1,063.65 63.82 109.518 45.70 1,017.95
12 1,017.95 61.08 109.518 48.44 969.51
13 969.51 58.17 109.518 51.35 918.17
14 918.17 55.09 109.518 54.43 863.74
15 863.74 51.82 109.518 57.69 806.04
16 806.04 48.36 109.518 61.16 744.89
17 744.89 44.69 109.518 64.82 680.06
18 680.06 40.80 109.518 68.71 611.35
19 611.35 36.68 109.518 72.84 538.51
20 538.51 32.31 109.518 77.21 461.31
21 461.31 27.68 109.518 81.84 379.47
22 379.47 22.77 109.518 86.75 292.72
23 292.72 17.56 109.518 91.96 200.76
24 200.76 12.05 109.518 97.47 103.29
25 103.29 6.20 109.518 103.32 (0.03)

For FCF: Net profit + depreciation - loan principal payment
Coal cost should take care of 6% auxiliary consumption
Should take out Maintenance cost since tariff should included maintenance payment.

DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-12-09 20:34 | Report Abuse

Dear Sslee,

You didn't say these when I included auxiliary consumption and maintenance in my previous article "Jaks Resources - Earning Forecast of Hai Duong Power Plant based on Government Data" - Why ?

Now you want me to exclude just because it will lower the impact ?

Your view is contradictory - now the 6% auxiliary consumption is taken care of by the coal cost and the tariff has included maintenance payment, but not in my previous article !

Anyway, there is no way to confirm that the coal cost has taken care of the auxiliary consumption and the tariff has included maintenance payment. As the government data were meant for local IPPs. I don't think the government would manage the costs of the IPPs.

As far as the interest cost is concerned, I have already explained I have used the long term average interest cost as it is deemed more appropriate for making long term investment decision.

Thank You.

------------------------------
Coal cost should take care of 6% auxiliary consumption
Should take out Maintenance cost since tariff should included maintenance payment.

5,055 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2019-12-09 20:48 | Report Abuse

Dear DK66,
What I mean is if Coal consumption is based on 0.474 kg per KwH generated:

Output based on 6500 hours = 1,200,000 x 6500 = 7,800,000,000 KwH
Net output (6% auxiliary consumption as per Vinh Tan 1) = 7,800,000,000 KwH x 0.94 = 7,332,000,000 KwH
Average prices for power generation effective February 2019 = US$0.075 per KwH
Average Cost of Imported Coal in 2019 = VND1.74m / 23,350 = US$74.5 per tone
Revenue = 7,332,000,000 KwH x 0.075 = US$ 550m
Cost of Coal Based on 0.474 kg per KwH consumption rate
= 7,332,000,000 KwH x 0.474 x US74.5 / 1000 = US$ 259m

Then coal cost should be
= 7,800,000,000 KwH x 0.474 x US74.5 / 1000 = US$ 275.44m

14,419 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-12-09 21:08 | Report Abuse

sslee, DK66 was only demonstrating the impact of change in annual utilization hours on earnings. Its for comparison , not for absolute profit derivation.

That is for the local IPP not for foreign BOT.

If you really want to know the money they make now, you should see the below chart:

https://markets.businessinsider.com/commodities/coal-price

That's almost 50% Coal cost reduction compared the 6% due to auxiliary consumption you were stressing.

14,419 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-12-09 21:12 | Report Abuse

Posted by DK66 > Dec 9, 2019 7:08 PM | Report Abuse

Nagachan, Thanks for sharing your knowledge. May I ask how do you know the IRR for Jaks is around 15%? Is your project also in Vietnam ?
------------------------
nagachan I am involved in a similar power project of the same size like Jaks (also under construction now). Basically all PPAs in Vietnam have to have the following to be bankable. BOT contract, fuel cost (coal price) passed thru. No IPPs will take fuel risk even in Malaysia. USD fluctuations not a concern as the tariff is index to USD even though is paid in Dong. The last thing is Dong convertibility which is guaranteed by MOF of Vietnam. In essence Jaks is a profitable IPP with project IRR around 15%. The only thing to worry like in any other business is Management credibility.

Posted by nagachan > Dec 9, 2019 8:47 PM | Report Abuse

DK66 my answer to you is Yes

DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-12-09 21:42 | Report Abuse

Dear Sslee,

I apologize that I have misunderstood you. You have always tried to lower my figures.

I have chosen to use the net output for both 6500 and 7238 hours for simplicity. Anyway, the net impact is only about US$1m. It won't affect my conclusion.

Nevertheless, I will amend my article for more "correct" presentation

but I still do not understand your point on "Should take out Maintenance cost since tariff should included maintenance payment."

DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-12-09 21:51 | Report Abuse

Article amended on Sslee comments. Thank you Sslee.

5,055 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2019-12-09 21:55 | Report Abuse

Dear DK66,
Normally a new plant would have very low maintenance for first few years hence only a provision is provided (I thought previously I read somewhere from your article that this maintenance provision is provided for in the agreed power purchased agreement).
Only after the recommended hours of operation then only have scheduled MTA to replaced those wear and tear parts.

Posted by PotentialGhost > 2019-12-09 22:25 | Report Abuse

Yeah follow dk66 Ride the jaks rocket .

14,419 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-12-09 23:00 | Report Abuse

To appreciate JAKS, one need to do the following basic homework:

1) Understand what an IRR of say 10% means for 25 years with capital invested at 30 - 40% stakes of the equity ownership of the 1200 MW Power plant valued at US 1.87 Billion. Alternatively the meaning of a payback period of 8 years considering the depreciation of the plant over 25 years.

2) What Earnings does the above translate to JAKS for 25 years.

3) If the earnings is too impressive, question the economics of Vietnam government to provide such an attractive offer for BOT contract? How is it economically viable and why they do so?

4) Finally, figure out how in the first place did JAKS managed to obtain such a fantastic lucrative deal?

once you obtain the above answers, you may slowly start to appreciate JAKS. Then you can start verifying with other similar BOT contract power plant performance and earnings.

almost all the answers are available on DK66 articles below:

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/Jaks%20resources/blidx.jsp

the more you research and understand, the more you will be able to appreciate the sanctity of all the above.

DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-12-09 23:21 | Report Abuse

Dear Sslee

Capacity charge includes payment for capacity and fixed maintenance as well as agreed capital returns.

Here we are talking about vietnam government tariff for local IPPs which should be sufficient to cover IPPs' expenses including maintenance costs.

However, the tariff or capacity charge paid by the government still need to minus the maintenance costs etc to get the net profit.

I agree that new plants have very low maintenance cost. However, my intention here is to show the impact of change in annual utilization hours on earnings on a long term basis, thus I have to consider the case under normal operating conditions.

-----------------------------
Sslee Dear DK66,
Normally a new plant would have very low maintenance for first few years hence only a provision is provided (I thought previously I read somewhere from your article that this maintenance provision is provided for in the agreed power purchased agreement).
Only after the recommended hours of operation then only have scheduled MTA to replaced those wear and tear parts.

09/12/2019 9:55 PM

Posted by SarifahSelinder > 2019-12-10 08:23 | Report Abuse

Skrg ni a range of PAT can b calculated starting from 6500 hrs

Soalannya

Can Hai Doung hits 95.8% load factor?

Posted by SarifahSelinder > 2019-12-10 08:32 | Report Abuse

Load factor mcm ni d power plant is humming like a fine royce rolls aircraft engine 24/7.... printing US$ every second

Posted by SarifahSelinder > 2019-12-10 08:38 | Report Abuse

One important point to note too Vihn Tan likes its neighbourhood IPP

Posted by SarifahSelinder > 2019-12-10 08:39 | Report Abuse

Tak... make that Vihn Tan loves its neighbourhood IPP

DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-12-10 10:07 | Report Abuse

At 7238 annual utilization hours, Jaks' IRR is about 15.5% which matches information provided by Nagachan. From his statement below, I know Nagachan indeed has in-depth knowledge of BOT IPP in Vietnam. Very few will know that the tariff is actually calculated in USD but paid in Dong and eventually converted to USD again. I know this is true.

---------------------
nagachan I am involved in a similar power project of the same size like Jaks (also under construction now). Basically all PPAs in Vietnam have to have the following to be bankable. BOT contract, fuel cost (coal price) passed thru. No IPPs will take fuel risk even in Malaysia. USD fluctuations not a concern as the tariff is index to USD even though is paid in Dong. The last thing is Dong convertibility which is guaranteed by MOF of Vietnam. In essence Jaks is a profitable IPP with project IRR around 15%. The only thing to worry like in any other business is Management credibility.

tftey

326 posts

Posted by tftey > 2019-12-10 10:07 | Report Abuse

Recalled YTL Power experience. Early bird enjoy all the fruit. JAKS may repeat and enjoy the fruit like YTL Power those days. Electricity demand by Vietnam now is like year 1993 in Malaysia, ie severe shortages.

DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-12-10 10:10 | Report Abuse

I will be grateful if Nagachan could provide more information

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-12-10 11:55 | Report Abuse

Very aggressive projections

Posted by Icon8888 > 2019-12-10 12:00 | Report Abuse

OTB asked me to follow his TA calls to re enter Jaks after I sold at 140

Little did he know that his presence in jaks is exactly the reason I avoid the counter

14,419 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-12-10 12:03 | Report Abuse

its no longer a projection , outcome which is even better than the projection had unfolded

....will reveal itself soon

14,419 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-12-10 12:05 | Report Abuse

take OTB as a catalyst icon...dk66 is the diamond

Posted by Icon8888 > Dec 10, 2019 12:00 PM | Report Abuse

OTB asked me to follow his TA calls to re enter Jaks after I sold at 140

Little did he know that his presence in jaks is exactly the reason I avoid the counter

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2019-12-10 12:06 | Report Abuse

good information !

AlgoQuant

39 posts

Posted by AlgoQuant > 2019-12-10 15:26 | Report Abuse

Perhaps the growth investors in this forum would like to look at a takaful insurance co that is experiencing and inflection point and a structural shift in islamic insurance..

Takaful's net profit grew by CAGR 25% over the last 10 years from RM 38 mil (2009) to RM 380 mil (T4Q), increasing even through the global financial crisis and recession with a still low takaful penetration of 16% (overall insurance penetration rate of only 50% with takaful insurance growing much faster than conventional insurance)

Takaful is currently trading at a PE of only 12.7x (vs Lonpac PE 18) and a P/BV of only 3.6x (historical P/BV 6.x) with an industry-leading ROE 29.11% (Lonpac ROE 16.72%)

* Growing dividends and a record high 20c ex-date 18 Dec 2019 giving rise to DY of 3.4% *

(AlgoQuant) A Takaful Titan & Analysis of Listed Insurance Companies (TAKAFUL)

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/AlgoQuant/243164.jsp

14,433 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2019-12-10 15:30 | Report Abuse

Takaful?? No, thanks. If it is not for the government, it would have closed shop. They use government to arm twist companies to subscribe takaful, kind of mandatory.

14,419 posts

Posted by probability > 2019-12-10 23:44 | Report Abuse

https://www.meti.go.jp/meti_lib/report/H29FY/000594.pdf

chapter 9 - Financial, Economic Analysis, and Prospect of Project Funding

will provide very good information on IRR sensitivity to utilization rate, selling price and fuel costs

Table 9-7: EIRR sensitivity analysis results by power selling price

Table 9-9: EIRR sensitivity analysis results by fuel price

Table 9-10: EIRR sensitivity analysis results by operation hours

Fuel price dropped by just 10%, can increase the IRR from 10% to whopping 20%! Appears to me the current fuel price had actually dropped by 50% from their original estimate.

https://markets.businessinsider.com/commodities/coal-price

However, for the BOT contract, what matters most is the Table 9-10

These are perfectly inline with DK66 basis of IRR of 12% at about 6500 hrs/yr. The chart says 12.6% at 6600 hrs.

"my salute to DK66 on his meticulous derivations"

DK66

4,269 posts

Posted by DK66 > 2019-12-11 08:14 | Report Abuse

This article demonstrated that increase of 11.35% in annual utilization hour from 6500 to 7238 hours has significant impact on the investment returns of the power plant.

It shows that the relationship between utilization hour and earnings is not linear but exponential.

The logic behind this exponential relationship is to encourage the IPP operator to "work harder".