Bursa Malaysia Berhad Announces Appointment Of New Independent Non-Executive Directors

 Source: Bursa Media Releases   |   Publish date: Fri, 13 Nov 2020, 7:55 PM   |    >> Read article in News website

Bursa Malaysia Berhad ("Bursa Malaysia") announced the appointment of Datuk Bazlan bin Osman and Syed Ari Azhar bin Syed Mohamed Adlan as Independent Non-Executive Directors to its Board of Directors line up, effective 16 November 2020.

Datuk Bazlan currently serves as the Non-Executive Chairman of GITN Sdn Bhd. He is also an Independent Non-Executive Director of FIMA Corporation Berhad, Citibank Berhad, Glomac Berhad and Syarikat Takaful Malaysia Keluarga Berhad. He was previously the Acting Group Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director of Telekom Malaysia Berhad.

Datuk Bazlan is a Chartered Accountant of the Malaysian Institute of Accountants (MIA) and a Fellow of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA).

Syed Ari Azhar is a seasoned global fund manager with two decades of experience at leading institutional investment management companies around the world such as APG, UBS, Citigroup and Deutsche Asset Management. He was previously the Country Head of Malaysia at CLSA Securities Sdn Bhd. Syed holds a Bachelor of Arts in Economics from Trinity College, Cambridge University.

Their appointment on the board will provide greater diversity, enabling Bursa Malaysia to play a significant role in developing a vibrant marketplace.

Bursa Malaysia's Board of Directors as at 16 November 2020 is as follows:

1. Tan Sri Abdul Wahid Omar
Chairman, Public Interest Director and Independent Non-Executive Director

2. Datuk Muhamad Umar Swift
Chief Executive Officer, Non-Independent Executive Director

3. Dato' Anad Krishnan a/l Muthusamy
Public Interest Director and Independent Non-Executive Director

4. Dato' Wan Kamaruzaman Wan Ahmad
Public Interest Director and Independent Non-Executive Director

5. Puan Sharifatu Laila Syed Ali
Public Interest Director and Independent Non-Executive Director

6. Datuk Karownakaran @ Karunakaran a/l Ramasamy
Senior Independent Non-Executive Director

7. Mr. Pushpanathan a/l S.A. Kanagarayar
Independent Non-Executive Director

8. Datin Grace Yeoh Cheng Geok
Independent Non-Executive Director

9. Ms. Chong Chye Neo
Independent Non-Executive Director

10. Puan Uji Sherina binti Abdullah
Independent Non-Executive Director

11. Datuk Bazlan bin Osman
Independent Non-Executive Director

12. Encik Syed Ari Azhar bin Syed Mohamed Adlan
Independent Non-Executive Director

Share this
Labels: BURSA

Related Stocks

Chart Stock Name Last Change Volume 
BURSA 8.37 -0.05 (0.59%) 200,800 

  Be the first to like this.

I3 Messenger
Individual or Group chat with anyone on I3investor
MQ Trader
Earn MQ Points while trading with MQ Traders Group
MQ Affiliate
Earn side income from MQ Affiliate Program

533  350  636  945 

Top 10 Active Counters
 AT 0.205+0.005 
 SAPNRG 0.12+0.005 
 KANGER 0.1850.00 
 BINTAI 0.835+0.04 
 VIVOCOM 1.17+0.16 
 KNM 0.205+0.005 
 BIOHLDG 0.325+0.01 
 TNLOGIS 0.845+0.08 
 SANICHI 0.0650.00 
 ASB 0.17+0.005 


1. The Equity Market Index Benchmark in Malaysia CMS
2. Trading Scenarios of Derivatives Bursa Derivatives Education Series
3. Derivatives 101 Bursa Derivatives Education Series
4. Why Trade FKLI? Bursa Derivatives Education Series
5. MQ Trader - Introduction to MQ Trader Affiliate Program MQ Trader Announcement!