MALAYAN BANKING BHD

KLSE (MYR): MAYBANK (1155)

-0.02 (0.20%)

9.76 - 9.85

38 people like this.

22,615 comment(s). Last comment by stkoay 6 hours ago

stkoay

5,861 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-05-25 12:10 | Report Abuse

...even it stays at these levels for a few years, I will still be happy...bcos I will be "winning" about 60 sen every year....

....but chances are it will trade much higher in coming years...

....their target for the M25 plan is an EPS of above 100 sen...

....at 15 times PE (when market is good) it's RM15 :p

stkoay

5,861 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-05-25 12:18 | Report Abuse

The KuKuChiaoMe got suspended till 13-7-22

...so he got time to go see a doctor and get his medicine haha

stkoay

5,861 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-05-25 12:20 | Report Abuse

The KuKuChiao3 got suspended till 8-6-22....haha

jeffchan1901

1,309 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-05-25 12:36 | Report Abuse

@stkoay

sifu, thanks for heads up on Q1 results tomorrow. yeah am thinking of parking more funds here due to DRP to lower average costs. I also noticed EPF been day trading on this counter to possible 'get back' some volume due to past sell off for the special withdrawal. fortunately for us, this counter volatility is relatively low compared to the market similar industry. on the other hand, I wont top up PBB as due to non existence of DRP there.

As for ASB, i am thinking seriously of rebalancing my portfolio from there as the dividend is always falling annually - only staying at 4.00% for past 2 years. they reserve more dividends for the ASNB bumi funds which is opposite to EPF. any fund that can invest any counters would usually choose which stocks to make more profit (including non-halal counters, Genting, Heinekin, Magnum, etc) thats why EPF conventional account has higher dividend compared to the Shahriah account. But for ASNB what's there excuse for giving less dividend for conventional fund compared to Shahriah? unless they are implying that their conventional fund managers are incompetent to earn lower dividend that their ASNB counterparts. then better park in EPF.

fyi, for the EPF 10K special withdrawal, there is a special notice to remind members that they stand to lose dividends around 5.1% if they take out. which means EPF dividend is confident of a minimum of 5.1% annually.

nhbeen

187 posts

Posted by nhbeen > 2022-05-25 14:28 | Report Abuse

stkoay: Where to find this information that Maybank is going to release its result tomorrow? Any help is very much appreciated. TQ.

jeffchan1901

1,309 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-05-25 14:40 | Report Abuse

@nhbeen

they normally release at the same time every quarter.

jeffchan1901

1,309 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-05-25 14:48 | Report Abuse

you can go to i3investor page maybank and under financial highlights.. says next QR 27 May 2022

stkoay

5,861 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-05-25 15:02 | Report Abuse

@nhbeen....I think I saw it somewhere in their website, forgot where...

....as usual, for this year all their report will be released on the last Thursday on the month...
...meaning 1Q tomorrow and 2Q on 25th August...and so on.

nhbeen

187 posts

Posted by nhbeen > 2022-05-25 15:18 | Report Abuse

stkoay: Thanks for your feedback. Appreciate your assistance.

nhbeen

187 posts

Posted by nhbeen > 2022-05-25 15:31 | Report Abuse

jeffchan1901: Thank you for your feedback. Appreciate it a lot.

nhbeen

187 posts

Posted by nhbeen > 2022-05-25 15:34 | Report Abuse

Hope Maybank can produce some good results as compare to previous quarter since our economy is fully opened. This should also give some positive leads to other financial institutions business performance as well.

stkoay

5,861 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-05-25 15:57 | Report Abuse

Last year 1Q was very high.....2.3b....eps 20.9 sen...
...I don't think this year can match that....anything above 18 sen is reasonably good, I guess.

nhbeen

187 posts

Posted by nhbeen > 2022-05-26 09:06 | Report Abuse

stkoay: I wonder the one off prosperity tax will cause any dampen on its profitability or not. Hopefully, it will show some encouraging result and carry positive lead into the subsequent quarters.

jeffchan1901

1,309 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-05-26 09:11 | Report Abuse

this one off tax affects all big and profitable companies and not just Harimau.. fundamentals still solid, no worries

jeffchan1901

1,309 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-05-26 09:13 | Report Abuse

when u invest in Harimau, you invest in the industry, the companies track record and the belief in the management. on the other hand, if you invest in Serbadak, that's you invest in space technology

jeffchan1901

1,309 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-05-26 09:14 | Report Abuse

*your investment

nhbeen

187 posts

Posted by nhbeen > 2022-05-26 09:35 | Report Abuse

jeffchan1901: Thanks for the advise and input.

nhbeen

187 posts

Posted by nhbeen > 2022-05-26 09:37 | Report Abuse

stkoay and jeffchan1901: What do you all think about Affin? Its current share price and propspect comparing to Maybank? Notice that its share price is moving north lately from around 1.70+- till now. Rather substantial. Any input is very much appreciated.

stkoay

5,861 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-05-26 11:39 | Report Abuse

MBB guidance for this year is a ROE of 9+ %, maintaining around last year's level after factoring in cukai makmur....so, still can expect the same level of dividend even after cukai makmur.
For Affin, Sorry, I don't track, so no comment.

nhbeen

187 posts

Posted by nhbeen > 2022-05-26 14:31 | Report Abuse

stkoay: Thanks for your comment. Appreciate it.

nhbeen

187 posts

Posted by nhbeen > 2022-05-26 14:35 | Report Abuse

stkoay: Your comment that if Maybank's latest quarter EPS comes above 18 cents is so close to its actual 17.22 cents. Good guess.

stkoay

5,861 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-05-26 14:44 | Report Abuse

@nhbeen maintaining 4Q21 profit of about 17+ sen after factoring cukai makmur is considered quite commendable ......next few q profit should see some improvement after factoring in OPR increases.....at current rate, full year should see a little improvement or at least maintain last year profit.

jeffchan1901

1,309 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-05-26 14:54 | Report Abuse

@nhbeen sifu stkoay has been quite accurate in his prediction on MBB for the past 12 months. you can safely take his views into account when considering more investment in Harimau.

you can also forget about that clown and his RM5.80 rants :-)

Posted by PenguinSociety > 2022-05-26 15:02 | Report Abuse

QR ok lo

nhbeen

187 posts

Posted by nhbeen > 2022-05-26 15:19 | Report Abuse

@jeffchan1901 I agreed with you. Thanks for your input.

Jaya

1,585 posts

Posted by Jaya > 2022-05-26 16:07 | Report Abuse

2b a qtr is still very good in this times
So don’t worry people

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-05-26 16:20 | Report Abuse

I had expected a slightly better set of results but have no complaint. Most important thing is it must maintain its dividend payout at over 55 sen a share yearly.

DickyMe2

1,509 posts

Posted by DickyMe2 > 2022-05-27 11:08 |

Ravi Kumar

3,477 posts

Posted by Ravi Kumar > 2022-05-27 11:09 | Report Abuse

Lol better tell la RM 1. coconut

Posted by DickyMe2 > 58 seconds ago | Report Abuse

RM 5.80 coming soon!

Posted by Maverickeking > 2022-05-27 11:45 | Report Abuse

2 qr resultsso disappointing. Dropped so much.

stkoay

5,861 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-05-27 11:53 | Report Abuse

Maintain BUY and MYR10.40 TP, 16% upside with c.6% FY22F yield. Malayan Banking’s 1Q22 results are within expectations, with lending tracking expectations but fee income weaker on volatile markets. Management is keeping its credit cost guidance, as it stays cautious on outlook and asset quality. Stay BUY, given the bank’s steady operations, strong capital and attractive dividend yield.
Source: RHB Research - 27 May 2022

Maintain OUTPERFORM and TP of RM11.05. Our TP is based on an unchanged GGM-derived FY23E PBV of 1.44x (1.5SD above mean).
We like the stock for its dividend prospects. Despite the group’s constant dividend guidance of 40-60% payout, it has consistently paid at c.80% which translates to yields of 7-8%.
Source: Kenanga Research - 27 May 2022

We maintain our BUY call on Malayan Banking (Maybank) with a revised fair value (FV) of RM10.30/share from RM10.00/share after rolling forward our valuation to FY23F, pegging the stock to a P/BV of 1.3x supported by an ROE of 11%. Our FV has taken into account a premium of 3% based on a 4-star ESG rating.
Source: AmInvest Research - 27 May 2022

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-05-27 12:09 | Report Abuse

"RM 5.80 coming soon!"
DickDick, two of your accounts have already been suspended lately. Just continue with your antics.

looiting

415 posts

Posted by looiting > 2022-05-27 12:19 | Report Abuse

Smart money "ciau liou"

stkoay

5,861 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-05-27 12:38 | Report Abuse

KUALA LUMPUR, May 27 ― CGS-CIMB has reiterated its ‘add’ call on Malayan Banking Bhd (Maybank), as the bank is set to benefit from the forecast overnight policy rate (OPR) hike in the second quarter of this year (Q2 2022F).

“We expect Maybank’s net profit to increase quarter-on-quarter to RM2.05 billion to RM2.1 billion in Q2 2022F as it will start to benefit from the positive impact of the hike in the OPR.

“We also expect the bank to see year-on-year net profit growth of between 4.0 per cent and 7.0 per cent in Q2 2022F,” it said in a research note today.

“As such, we have increased our target price for Maybank’s shares to RM10 from RM9.80,” it said. ― Bernama

DickyMe2

1,509 posts

Posted by DickyMe2 > 2022-05-27 15:36 |

dickson2u

230 posts

Posted by dickson2u > 2022-05-27 20:02 | Report Abuse

Any dividen for us?

Posted by stockraider > 2022-05-28 11:02 | Report Abuse

Next qtr good div coming loh!

stkoay

5,861 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-05-28 15:03 | Report Abuse

KukuChiaoMe....2 and 3......all got suspended....haha

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-05-28 16:03 | Report Abuse

That is the consequence for people who regard this forum as theirs have to face.

TomYam

121 posts

Posted by TomYam > 2022-05-30 10:29 | Report Abuse

Malayan Banking Berhad
MAYBANK
Share Price 7 Day 1 Year
8.99 0.3% 9.6%

First quarter 2022 earnings: EPS exceeds analyst expectations while revenues lag behind
First quarter 2022 results:
EPS: RM0.17 (down from RM0.21 in 1Q 2021).
Revenue: RM5.88b (down 1.2% from 1Q 2021).
Net income: RM2.04b (down 14% from 1Q 2021).
Profit margin: 35% (down from 40% in 1Q 2021). The decrease in margin was primarily driven by higher expenses.
Revenue missed analyst estimates by 5.3%. Earnings per share (EPS) exceeded analyst estimates by 4.0%.

Over the next year, revenue is forecast to grow 22%, compared to a 18% growth forecast for the industry in Malaysia.

PunTatBerSiul

1,001 posts

Posted by PunTatBerSiul > 2022-05-30 23:06 |

xxxx

1,349 posts

Posted by xxxx > 2022-05-31 07:28 | Report Abuse

After bonus 1:1?

PunTatBerSiul

1,001 posts

Posted by PunTatBerSiul > 2022-05-31 09:16 |

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-05-31 09:19 | Report Abuse

DickDick's account will be suspended soon.

pooter

72 posts

Posted by pooter > 2022-05-31 17:34 | Report Abuse

All banks last minute naik… apa cerita

cwc1981

975 posts

Posted by cwc1981 > 2022-05-31 17:38 | Report Abuse

Yalo