MALAYAN BANKING BHD

KLSE (MYR): MAYBANK (1155)

-0.02 (0.20%)

9.77 - 9.85

38 people like this.

22,607 comment(s). Last comment by Cslee1215 18 minutes ago

i3gambler

655 posts

Posted by i3gambler > 2023-01-19 13:33 | Report Abuse

After getting your 4800 units, the price would still be RM8.80?
Why not they buy at RM8.80 before the ex-date?

Now, my turn to ask you back the same question,,
What did you study in university?

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-01-19 14:47 | Report Abuse

Boy, once a dividend amounting to RM1 is declared, Maybank's share price will no longer stay at RM8.80 a share. No matter what kind of warped logic you may come out with, Maybank's dividend yield stays at 6.6% and not 4.9% or 0% as you claimed.

zhen wei & JP

1,169 posts

Posted by zhen wei & JP > 2023-01-19 15:02 | Report Abuse

OPR remain.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2023-01-19 15:16 | Report Abuse

BNM pauses rate hike by holding OPR at 2.75% in first MPC meeting in 2023, cites moderating growth expected from slower global economy

i3gambler

655 posts

Posted by i3gambler > 2023-01-19 15:27 | Report Abuse

Then why did you say "would be RM42,240 richer than before"?
Are you OK or not?

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-01-19 16:03 | Report Abuse

"Then why did you say "would be RM42,240 richer than before"?"
Do you understand the meaning of the word "assuming"?
Do you now still insist that Maybank's dividend yield is not 6.6% but 4.9% or even 0% if all dividend could be converted to shares?

i3gambler

655 posts

Posted by i3gambler > 2023-01-19 16:19 | Report Abuse

Of course I still say the DY is only 4.9%.
If we are so simple minded, any company can trick us by declaring high dividend and DRIP with huge discount,
and at the end the company does not need to fork out any money.

i3gambler

655 posts

Posted by i3gambler > 2023-01-19 16:31 | Report Abuse

Go back to same example,
Before DRIP, you have 12000*8.80=105,600,
After DRIP, you have the same value of 105,600
The only difference is you now have 16800*6.29.
So where is the dividend?
And because no money flow out, you do not know the company healthy or not.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-01-19 16:53 | Report Abuse

"Of course I still say the DY is only 4.9%."
Return your DRP shares to Maybank, then your dividend yield would be 4.9%. All the other Maybank investors would have a yield of 6.6%.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-01-19 16:59 | Report Abuse

"The only difference is you now have 16800*6.29.
So where is the dividend?"
I have received dividends amounting to RM1770 since the beginning of 2020. I bought my Maybank shares at an average of RM8.30 a share. Maybank's share price didn't drop to RM6.53 a share.

stkoay

5,857 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2023-01-20 22:14 | Report Abuse

Fatt fatt....
...no fatt fatt fatt
...nevertheless, it's still a good, prosperous numbers :)

Happy Prosperous New Year to all Maybank shareholders.

Cheers.........................

Posted by sorrynaiklorry > 2023-01-22 16:29 | Report Abuse

@i3gambler Do you mean stock dilution?

Cslee1215

426 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 2023-01-22 20:25 | Report Abuse

恭喜发财。大吉大利。 一本万利。
Happy CNY.

Posted by LeonardLiong > 2023-01-25 10:14 | Report Abuse

RM8.80 when opening. What a prosperous stock for prosperous day : )

Sugan21

138 posts

Posted by Sugan21 > 2023-01-25 10:20 | Report Abuse

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-01-25 15:21 | Report Abuse

Pray for a severe recession, then it might drop to RM7.50

Sugan21

138 posts

Posted by Sugan21 > 2023-01-26 10:02 | Report Abuse

lol

Posted by stockraider > 2023-01-27 08:44 | Report Abuse

Safe investment loh!

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-01-27 11:32 | Report Abuse

Very suitable for elderly people. Much better than keeping money in the bank and better return than EPF.

Sugan21

138 posts

Posted by Sugan21 > 2023-01-27 12:21 | Report Abuse

8.60 soon...8.50 lol

Posted by goldenegg454 > 2023-01-28 11:10 | Report Abuse

it's been 2 weeks since i bought in at rm8.82, watch it goes down to 8.74

this stock will keep on going down , maybe 8.66 or down to 8.34 by end of year

next year maybe 7.86, i

it will give out divdend of at least 6%, but the share price will drop so that your returns is less than fd rate or even worse make loss overall if you intend to sell it within these 3 years

make my predictions and see if i am right.

Posted by goldenegg454 > 2023-01-28 11:12 | Report Abuse

time to switch over to us stocks

us stocks is going to be bull market these 2 years

make my words

Pinky

3,214 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2023-01-28 11:33 | Report Abuse

LOL investor

You shouldn't be investing money that you need to use in 3 years in the share market.

Pinky

3,214 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2023-01-28 11:34 | Report Abuse

Any timeframe longer than that, even if you lose a bit in share price, Maybank's dividends more than able to cover with profit.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-01-28 16:25 | Report Abuse

@goldenegg454, why did you buy Maybank in the first place knowing that it will keep dropping? I bought some Maybank shares at an average price of RM8.30 a share. Over the past three years, I have received dividends amounting to 177 sen a share, translating into an annual dividend yield of over 7%. There is also a capital gain of around 5%. This is very different from what you claimed.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-01-28 16:28 | Report Abuse

"time to switch over to us stocks"
Never invest in a stock market that you are not familiar with. So for me, I would only invest in the Malaysian stock market.

25,061 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-01-28 19:46 | Report Abuse

Everybody know Maybank is good
Sama macam Public Bank

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-01-28 21:07 | Report Abuse

We buy Maybank for its generous dividends, not for capital gain.

stkoay

5,857 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2023-01-28 21:32 | Report Abuse

Haha non investor with 2 posts teaching smart investor what to invest....
...LOL !

Posted by 521onepiece > 2023-01-28 21:43 | Report Abuse

@goldenegg454, LOL, bought 2 weeks what do u want/expect? you want MBB to generate profit out of thin air? share price fly to rm10 out of thin air? if u don't have the stomach to invest for long term, masuk genting one round u will get your result there, quick and painless. kids nowadays i swear.... ==

25,061 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-01-28 22:56 | Report Abuse

guess got some ppl buy Maybank thinking it can up 10% 20% or 30% within a week like penny stock

Posted by sorrynaiklorry > 2023-01-29 09:09 | Report Abuse

@goldenegg454 So, you bought Maybank shares 2 weeks ago, it dropped 8 cents, and you came into the conclusion that it's time to switch to US market?

i3gambler

655 posts

Posted by i3gambler > 2023-01-29 11:40 | Report Abuse

For calendar year 2012,
Total net Dividend: Cash 0.06 + DRIP 0.45
Forget about the DRIP, DY was less than 1%.

For calendar year 2022.
Total Dividend: Cash 0.435 + DRIP 0.145
Forget about the DRIP, DY now is 0.435 / 8.74 = 5%

Significant improvement, time to invest MAYBANK now.

Regarding DRIP,
1) If you insist it is Dividend, then it is followed by a mini scale of Right Issue, at the end you do not receive Cash.
2) Or you can treat it as mini scale of Bonus Issue, you receive no Cash.
3) If you think that you can sell off the extra units from DRIP, then what is the difference from mini scale of Bonus, you also sell off the extra bonus units.

25,061 posts

Posted by speakup > 2023-01-29 11:51 | Report Abuse

depends.
sometimes better to take cash
sometimes better to take drp

Posted by stockraider > 2023-01-29 11:52 | Report Abuse

Maybank is the best investment for retiree loh!

Pinky

3,214 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2023-01-29 12:36 | Report Abuse

I never take DRIP. What for getting the odd lots. And it messes up my dividend yield calculations. Just take the full cash divvy and assume that there's a mini rights issue which dilutes my % holding by a tiny bit.

stkoay

5,857 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2023-01-29 12:52 | Report Abuse

Yes, Pinky is correct on the tiny % of dilution and a good option/method of calculating dividend yield.

stkoay

5,857 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2023-01-29 13:21 | Report Abuse

I used to take full DRIP, to average down my cost (which is now at 7.896) and use the cash portion to calculate my dividend yield.

.....meaning, if say, the company declares 58 sen, comprising 50 sen cash and 8 sen DRIP ....then my net dividend will be 500 divide by 7896 = 6.33%....and my cost of shares is reduced by 8 sen to become 7.816 after dividend.....
....and if next year the company declares the same, then my net yield will be 6.39% due to lower cost of shares......

stkoay

5,857 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2023-01-29 13:21 | Report Abuse

.....and I also have the option of taking 580 in cash to yield a return of 7.34% while my cost remained the same and a tiny % dilution vs the increased numbers of company shares.

stkoay

5,857 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2023-01-29 13:22 | Report Abuse

...but I opted to take full DRIP to average down cost.....holding MBB is a long long term investment for its consistent dividend, not for short term capital appreciation....
....so, make sure this is the right stock for you before buying...

.....for high beta, go buy penny stocks or gloves.....stay away from this No.1 blue chips.

i3gambler

655 posts

Posted by i3gambler > 2023-01-29 13:25 | Report Abuse

If you invest for long term, say for retirement, I think odd lot is not a big problem.
After all, the biggest odd lot at anytime is only 99 units, or about RM865, OK lah.

My consideration:
1) High much the discount is?
2) Is it enough to cover the RM10 Revenue Stamp?

The latest DRIP issue price was RM8.38,
Check the market price on 22.09.2022 was RM8.71,
The discount was 8.71 - 8.38 = 0.33,
Revenue stamp / Discount = 10.00 / 0.33 = 30 units,

If we hold only 3600 units Maybank.
Our entitlement = 3600 * 0.07 / 8.38 = 30 units.
Better take Cash.

Anyway, Maybank announced on 13.10.2022 that the take up rate for latest DRIP was 78%.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-01-29 14:43 | Report Abuse

I have never subscribed for any drp shares for the past three years. It is so difficult to make even RM50 from each issue.

Pinky

3,214 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2023-01-29 18:57 | Report Abuse

Ya, to me to subscribe DRIP is a hassle. The tiny % dilution is not much of a concern. I'd rather take full cash divvy

Posted by Darren Woo > 2023-01-29 19:48 | Report Abuse

@i3gambler

I agree with the calculation on the discount - over the long term, the compounding on your dividend collected on top of shareholding compounding effect will be much stronger

Cslee1215

426 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 2023-01-30 09:57 | Report Abuse

Or you can choose to donate ur odd unit.

Posted by LeonardLiong > 2023-01-30 12:56 | Report Abuse

Lol. How to donate odd unit?

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-01-30 15:43 | Report Abuse

Put it bluntly, DRP issues are only tailored for big investors like ASB, EPF, PNB etc who hold tens of millions of shares. Small investors who have only a couple of thousand shares are unable to benefit anything.

10,336 posts

Posted by Income > 2023-01-30 16:06 | Report Abuse

Roti tissue satu.