PUBLIC BANK BHD

KLSE (MYR): PBBANK (1295)

-0.08 (1.71%)

4.57 - 4.66

20 people like this.

15,491 comment(s). Last comment by lawkaw 1 day ago

DannyArcher

1,258 posts

Posted by DannyArcher > 2020-12-18 22:00 | Report Abuse

I hope you are bullshitting. 1 trillion ringgit? Slowly wait

AllYouCanBuy

2,060 posts

Posted by AllYouCanBuy > 2020-12-18 22:05 | Report Abuse

First and foremost, you must agree that it is INFLATION. Nvmd about the billion or trillion thing.

swagger855

1,169 posts

Posted by swagger855 > 2020-12-18 23:04 | Report Abuse

Bnm hasnt cut any interest rates since the 1.75 % mark.

swagger855

1,169 posts

Posted by swagger855 > 2020-12-18 23:10 | Report Abuse

@DannyArcher PBB is not a fast growth company. It's for people who have big money to generate wealth. Investing in small cap has higher risk than investing in big caps like Pbb. It depends on your risk appetite. If you have a few million ..say 2-3 mil. The dividends will be very nice as the risk is low. Investing few mil in small caps could go both ways. As always, high risk high return.

PBB is not for small money. A 4% upside move will generate rm80000 for 2mil. Easy trade. And you dont have to worry if pbb drops because it will keep going up. Very strong fundamentals

Posted by supersinginvestor > 2020-12-18 23:58 | Report Abuse

Do home work!
19870ppbank market cap?
??
Do ur own research then plot a graph...draw a line n see in 2030. 2040 wat it is ok....very easy to see if
Pbbank is worth
2030 =160bil
2040=320bil
At least...
Then after doing this come here n tell me i m.right or wrong...

DestinyL

4,741 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2020-12-18 23:59 | Report Abuse

Aiyo what's so difficult to dig leh, nah.......
Since 2020 is considered screwed up and abnormal year, I'll take 2009 vs 2019 as the benchmark

2009 Rev 9.716b, NP 2.517b
2019 Rev 22.455b, NP 5.512b

So there is erosion of profit margin over the years but revenue growth is more than doubled

So can PBB double the NP by 2030? You decide yoursel

Posted by supersinginvestor > 2020-12-19 00:08 | Report Abuse

So of pbbank was rm25 in jan 2019..who says it cant be rm50 in jan 2029...
I say can easy...that is rm10 after bonus in 2029...
If u had rm1 mil in pbbank on jan 2019 it will be 2mil on jan 2029...
I dont think there will be another bonus between 2022 to 2029..lol..cos it took pbbank 17 years to give bonus itself...

Sharefisher

5,470 posts

Posted by Sharefisher > 2020-12-19 07:38 | Report Abuse

Without bonus, 22+ is my target in 2 to 3 years, now with the bonus issue, my top up target is around 20. Hope some crazy people want to sell below 20. Even those people chased up to 22.90, if they have holding power, 2 to 3 years, don't think they will lose money also. Just my observation.

DestinyL

4,741 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2020-12-19 08:44 | Report Abuse

However we cannot just simply believe another double up will definitely happen.

Need to watch out for any management change

123eztrade

642 posts

Posted by 123eztrade > 2020-12-19 09:24 | Report Abuse

best bank in this part of the world.wanna I best in banking, Public Bank lor

tkl88

8,712 posts

Posted by tkl88 > 2020-12-19 10:00 | Report Abuse

Wow, oil price continue to spike up like mad!
Nymex=> $4‪9.06 (+0.70) (+1.45 %)‬
Brent=> $52.32 ‪(+0.82) (+1.59 %)‬

‪Huat ah ! Heng ah ! Ong ah !‬

masterus

3,593 posts

Posted by masterus > 2020-12-19 11:37 | Report Abuse

WASHINGTON (Dec 16): The U.S. Treasury could label several countries currency manipulators before President Donald Trump leaves office, analysts say, as the coronavirus pandemic skews trade flows and widens U.S. deficits with trading partners.

Currency experts say Vietnam, Thailand, Taiwan and Switzerland all risk being found in violation of the three U.S. criteria for currency manipulation in the Treasury Department’s long-delayed report on the foreign exchange practices of major trading partners. They expect the report within days.

Keyman188

5,968 posts

Posted by Keyman188 > 2020-12-19 11:47 | Report Abuse

FDA approves second Covid vaccine for emergency use as it clears Moderna’s for U.S. distribution

(PUBLISHED FRI, DEC 18 20207:38 PM ESTUPDATED FRI, DEC 18 20207:59 PM EST)

~ Moderna’s Covid-19 vaccine is the second approved for use in the U.S.

~ It will bolster the number of available doses, which states desperately need to fend off the pandemic.

~ The U.S. plans to distribute roughly 5.9 million doses of Moderna’s vaccine to 64 states, territories and major cities across the nation next week.

The Food and Drug Administration has approved Moderna’s coronavirus vaccine for emergency use. The vaccine — the second approved for use in the U.S. behind Pfizer and BioNTech’s — bolsters the U.S. supply of doses. The potentially lifesaving shots are desperately needed to fend off the pandemic that has taken more than 300,000 American lives and overwhelmed hospitals.

The FDA’s emergency use authorization Friday approves the federal government’s plan to distribute roughly 5.9 million doses of Moderna’s vaccine to 64 states, territories and major cities across the nation next week.

“We likely will see shots in the arm by the very early part of next week, I would hope Monday or Tuesday,” Dr. Anthony Fauci, director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, said on the “Today” show on Friday morning.

In addition to Moderna’s vaccine, the U.S. also plans to send out 2 million doses of Pfizer’s vaccine after 2.9 million doses were cleared for shipment this week, Gen. Gustave Perna, who oversees logistics for the Operation Warp Speed vaccine project, said Monday. Both vaccines require two doses three to four weeks apart. Moderna’s Covid vaccine is its first-ever FDA authorized product.

“With the availability of two vaccines now for the prevention of COVID-19, the FDA has taken another crucial step in the fight against this global pandemic that is causing vast numbers of hospitalizations and deaths in the United States each day,” FDA Commissioner Dr. Stephen Hahn said in a statement.

U.S. officials hope to vaccinate at least 20 million Americans — mostly front-line health-care workers and nursing home residents — by the end of the year. Initial doses will be limited as manufacturing ramps up, with officials predicting it will take months to immunize everyone in the U.S. who wants to be vaccinated. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has provided states with an outline that recommends prioritizing health workers and nursing homes, but states can distribute the vaccine as they see fit.

Already, states are reporting confusion about vaccine plans. In recent days, state officials said they learned their second shipment of Pfizer’s vaccine would be smaller than expected or delayed. In Florida, for example, Republican Gov. Ron DeSantis said the federal government told him the state would receive 205,000 Pfizer vaccine doses next week and 247,000 the following week. Those shipments are now on hold, DeSantis said at a press conference Tuesday, and it’s unclear when they will arrive.

Moderna’s vaccine, like Pfizer’s, uses messenger RNA, or mRNA, technology. It’s a new approach to vaccines that uses genetic material to provoke an immune response. Late-stage clinical trial data published last month shows Moderna’s vaccine is more than 94% effective in preventing Covid, is safe and appears to fend off severe disease. To achieve maximum effectiveness, the vaccine requires two doses taken four weeks apart.

The FDA has indicated it would authorize a Covid-19 vaccine that’s safe and at least 50% effective. The flu vaccine, by comparison, generally reduces people’s risk of getting influenza by 40% to 60% compared with people who aren’t inoculated, according to the CDC.

The FDA authorized Moderna’s vaccine for people who are 18 years old and older. Such an authorization from the agency isn’t the same as full approval, which requires more data and can typically take several months longer. Moderna has submitted only two months of follow-up safety data. The agency usually requires six months for full approval and can always revoke an EUA for a drug if it doesn’t work as intended or proves to be unsafe. The FDA approved the emergency use of hydroxychloroquine to treat Covid-19 in March, only to revoke it in June after additional data showed it provided “no evidence of benefit” in coronavirus patients.

Cont...

##https://www.cnbc.com/2020/12/18/moderna-covid-vaccine-approved-fda-for-emergency-use.html

Kevin Tam

528 posts

Posted by Kevin Tam > 2020-12-19 12:49 | Report Abuse

Danny archers , U r knowledgeable n I believe U r those in the top 5% retail investors category n Supersinginvestor even has been investing in PBB n share market for 10-15 years, he can’t understand your statements ... Many retail investors need to boost own knowledge about share n finance n economic .... Public bank like IOI Corp , slow growth blue chips since 2014-15; I started to buy IOI Corp when it was still a growth stock during 2003-04 but after 2011-12, it become non growth stock n its profits always almost the same or go down in last 5 years... Public bank is not a growth stock since 2014-15 , it is hard for PBB to even reach RM100-105 billion in next 3 years, none of the Bursa listed companies can reach RM250 billion in next 5 years, trillion ringgit pulak... Not only Thailand n Singapore share market is larger n more active than Malaysia since 3-4 years ago or even longer time ago , the total capitalisation of bursa listed companies has been at the range of 1500-1800 billion in last 3 years.... None can have Amazon , Apple or Microsoft or even Facebook type of market cap in South east Asia or even Asia , only China giant tech companies n Taiwan TSM can reach USD 500 billion n above ...:)

swagger855

1,169 posts

Posted by swagger855 > 2020-12-19 12:55 | Report Abuse

@allyoucanbuy i dont understand chinese

28,643 posts

Posted by mf > 2020-12-19 13:39 | Report Abuse

18-Dec-2020 Insider EMPLOYEES PROVIDENT FUND BOARD (a substantial shareholder) disposed 1,500,000 shares on 15-Dec-2020.
18-Dec-2020 Insider EMPLOYEES PROVIDENT FUND BOARD (a substantial shareholder) disposed 211,900 shares on 15-Dec-2020.

AllYouCanBuy

2,060 posts

Posted by AllYouCanBuy > 2020-12-19 13:55 | Report Abuse

EPF has been selling all bank shares EXCEPT MAYBANK since 5 days ago. EPF acquired some small quantity MAYBANK shares twice last week. Looks like EPF is running out of bullets.

DestinyL

4,741 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2020-12-19 15:07 | Report Abuse

EPF also acquired pbb right after bonus issue news came out.

AllYouCanBuy

2,060 posts

Posted by AllYouCanBuy > 2020-12-19 15:58 | Report Abuse

Good. That means another rally is on the way before EPF next disposal.

IBs and retail buyers will be more confident now as BURSA and BNM had given approval to the bonus issue proposal.

Posted by supersinginvestor > 2020-12-19 16:53 | Report Abuse

Banks next growth cycle is via digital banking...next 10 years super bull for banks with digital banking...look it up DIGITAL BANKING N TRY UNDERSTAND WAT HAPPENS WHEN U ADD THAT TO PUBLIC BANKs business model..

Posted by supersinginvestor > 2020-12-19 16:54 | Report Abuse

LOL @KEVIN TAM
compare public bank to ioicorp..i laugh until my shiit want to out wor...

Posted by supersinginvestor > 2020-12-19 16:57 | Report Abuse

Market cap of pbbank will be rm160 bil min by 2029 ...this i m oversure....

Sharefisher

5,470 posts

Posted by Sharefisher > 2020-12-19 17:14 | Report Abuse

Online banking will help bank cut a lot of cost. Especially commercial sector.

stkoay

6,405 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2020-12-19 17:32 | Report Abuse

https://www.cnbc.com/2020/12/18/fed-to-allow-big-banks-to-resume-share-buybacks-with-limitations.html

Bank stocks rose across the board in after-hours trading with JPMorgan up 5.3%, Goldman Sachs up 4.4% and Wells Fargo up 3.5%.

AllYouCanBuy

2,060 posts

Posted by AllYouCanBuy > 2020-12-19 18:51 | Report Abuse

After 3 days of continuous correction, Monday will move up.

BONUS ISSUE proposal has been approved by Bursa and BNM.

Moderna Vaccine has been approved by the FDA for emergency use on 18/12.

Malaysia is sealing a deal with AstraZeneca UK on the supply of additional vaccine to cover an additional of 30% population on Monday 21/12. Total of 50% will be covered along with 20% from Pfizer.

masterus

3,593 posts

Posted by masterus > 2020-12-20 08:45 | Report Abuse

NEW YORK: China and Japan, the two largest non-U.S. holders of Treasuries, reduced their holdings in October, data from the U.S. Treasury department showed on Tuesday, continuing a trend of the last few months.

China's holdings of Treasuries fell to $1.054 trillion, the lowest since January 2017, cutting its load of U.S. government debt for five straight months.

Japan, the world's largest holder of Treasuries at $1.269 trillion, also pared back its holdings for a third straight month.

The decline in Japan's and China's stockpile of Treasuries was offset by a surge in holdings from Belgium and the UK, two countries used as financial centers for some of the biggest sovereign debt holders.

wbwanabe

224 posts

Posted by wbwanabe > 2020-12-20 15:31 | Report Abuse

@masterus- regarding Japan and China reducing their US treasury holdings, what is the implication of it? USD losing its luster or its dominant as a world currency since its major holders are cashing out? Could this be one of the reasons bitcoin went up recently?

AllYouCanBuy

2,060 posts

Posted by AllYouCanBuy > 2020-12-20 15:40 | Report Abuse

Printing USD increases inflation, making bitcoin and gold more favourable.

AllYouCanBuy

2,060 posts

Posted by AllYouCanBuy > 2020-12-20 18:26 | Report Abuse

@coolvid Why did you post the same link in all bank stocks forums?? I own other bank stocks too and you are everywhere LOL

Sharefisher

5,470 posts

Posted by Sharefisher > 2020-12-21 09:21 | Report Abuse

21......not below 20 for top up....

swagger855

1,169 posts

Posted by swagger855 > 2020-12-21 09:22 | Report Abuse

Gogo pbbank. Please lift bursa from the reds. Dont let gloves pull bursa down

swagger855

1,169 posts

Posted by swagger855 > 2020-12-21 09:24 | Report Abuse

The vacinne works against the new mutation. Us official said. Ozford vacinne to be approved for eua 1st week of jan or last week of dec.

Sinoboy

2,131 posts

Posted by Sinoboy > 2020-12-21 09:34 | Report Abuse

Goreng goreng :))

meistsk3134

2,368 posts

Posted by meistsk3134 > 2020-12-21 09:39 | Report Abuse

only pbank move. rest bank in red

Sharefisher

5,470 posts

Posted by Sharefisher > 2020-12-21 09:58 | Report Abuse

Bonus issue is a positive impact to the share price.

AllYouCanBuy

2,060 posts

Posted by AllYouCanBuy > 2020-12-21 10:06 | Report Abuse

Last Thursday and Friday pbb dropped almost 6%..it is expected that it goes up more than 1.5% today.

Posted by supersinginvestor > 2020-12-21 10:37 | Report Abuse

LOL@BLACKHEARTED GLOVE FANS
...looks like the gloved fan so excited with the mutations but i guess vaccine still effective so banks win again lorr lol

swagger855

1,169 posts

Posted by swagger855 > 2020-12-21 10:44 | Report Abuse

Looks like new strain has already been identified long ago. Dna sequencing was done to track the new strain. Regardless, vacinnes still work.

Posted by supersinginvestor > 2020-12-21 10:44 | Report Abuse

My prediction on gloves...
With gloves being so hot. Other countries r going to secure rubber source n nitrile source n more are going into glove production for nationan security purposes..so covid was actually a curse for glove companies on the longer run...more players in europe us n australia will come along with vietnam thailand n china..so glovex will go back to original price before pandemic n lower..now they got focus on them so new standard will cost gloves to keep employees safe n healthy. Costs will go up....then end stories nothings looks good for gloves for me....lol

Posted by supersinginvestor > 2020-12-21 10:46 | Report Abuse

With vaccine working...gloves will be worthless in 2022...banks will be king..pubbank will be king of bursa..
Teh teh hurray

Posted by Snowpiercer > 2020-12-21 10:49 | Report Abuse

Price jumped up after BI announcement. Still worth to buy now given it was 25 1 year ago?

choysun

4,375 posts

Posted by choysun > 2020-12-21 11:03 | Report Abuse

@Snowpiercer That's the whole purpose for BI la. With BI, sky is limit :p

Posted by Snowpiercer > 2020-12-21 11:25 | Report Abuse

Great!

swagger855

1,169 posts

Posted by swagger855 > 2020-12-21 11:31 | Report Abuse

The vacinne targets differenr parts of the spike protein. One mutation doesnt mean it's over. Vacinne manufacturer knows.

swagger855

1,169 posts

Posted by swagger855 > 2020-12-21 11:31 | Report Abuse

I have a feeling that corona is just man made lol

Posted by supersinginvestor > 2020-12-21 12:21 | Report Abuse

Ofcourse corona man made...best beer in town worr..

Posted by supersinginvestor > 2020-12-21 12:21 | Report Abuse

Death to gloves !!
Glory to banks!!
Glory to public bank!!