Buying or selling a stock need some studies before investing. After buying, u might choose to dispose if u think it is not the right stock. Then, end of the story. But if u choose to hold it, it really test your patience and confidence on the stock. I have been holding mulpha for sometimes and it really test my patience. However, with the recent share purchased by mr lee @ 0.46 , added my confidence to hold it patiently.
THE upscale Skyline @ Orchard Boulevard sums up the state of the private home market. In the first eight months of the year, the 40-unit condominium has sold just one unit, leaving 34 units unsold. The single sale in January was made at $3,362 per sq ft (psf) - far below the starting price of $3,900 psf at its June 2010 launch. When The Straits Times visited on Tuesday, its sales gallery was completely deserted. This underscores the fact that, by some indicators, the market is in worse shape than it was in the run-up to the 2008 global financial crisis which hit in October that year. The number of units launched but unsold rose to 15.1 per cent on Aug 31, worse than the 11.8 per cent in August 2008. Vacancy rates at completed private residential projects are also higher, at 7.1 per cent at the end of the second quarter versus 6.1 per cent in 2008 at the same time. Property consultants expect vacancy rates to rise, given a deluge of completed projects in the pipeline and the limited number of expats looking to rent. "Most expats are also no longer on expatriate packages... While on local packages, they are more budget conscious and may even combine with others to lease a unit. The demand dynamics for rentals have changed," said CBRE research head Desmond Sim.
Some new completed projects may even see occupancy rates of just 60 per cent, versus the usual more than 90 per cent, said SLP International research head Nicholas Mak. The low point of the year has been last month's private home sales figures, released on Monday, with just 432 units moved. Buyer sentiment is bleak. In central Singapore, projects such as Ardmore 3, Devonshire 8, Ferra at Leonie Hill, One Balmoral and TwentyOne Angullia Park had each sold fewer than 10 units as at Aug 31 - despite being on the market for more than a year. Even in the suburbs, projects such as E Maison in Braddell Road and Singa Hills in Bedok had sold fewer than a quarter of their units at the end of last month.
Still, monthly sales for the past six months are generally above the corresponding months in 2008, and better than the worst of the global financial crisis, when monthly sales were just 105 in January 2009. But underlying demand back then may still have been better than now, said Century 21 chief executive Ku Swee Yong. In 2008, demand came from people flush with cash from collective sales in 2007, who needed a new home; but that element is gone today. The market recovered fast as more foreigners started taking up permanent residency here, looking to Singapore as a safe haven. But cooling measures hit foreign buyers, Mr Ku said. The total value of sales today is also likely lower given the greater popularity of one-bedroom units, he added. "Moving into a time of high vacancies and uncertain yields, investors are expecting and will wait for lower prices." Said CBRE's Mr Sim: "It will take time for the market to reach equilibrium as well as let the long-term effects of cooling measures take over." wrennie@sph.com.sg
It's nothing to do with the real mkt, it's all due to TDSR n cooling measures from garmen. Later on the pent up demand will cause prices to sky rocket again
Investors (mainly Singaporeans) are not buying in Iskandar anymore. CapitaLand has delayed construction (more like exiting) and Chinese developers are having their own liquidity problems back home (Country Garden recently had to do a right issue in HKSE.) Faced with a wall of debt and possible increase in interest rates, there is a very high risk in investing in Mulpha or any property stocks with Johor exposure in the short term.
Recent stock action is just a response in the wider market to macro economic happenings.
"Only when the tide goes out do you discover who's been swimming naked." -WB
Capital Land not exiting iskandar, they just got the plans approved but short of as usual the advert permit. Another RTs stn will be there a matter of time as so many new lines coming up in Spore
The toll increase to RM16.50 round trip and SG's tit-fot-tat response of SGD6.5 which starts on 1st oct will be a drain on bilateral ties and pockets. It will be in the long-longer term, maybe >10 years before they can successfully arrange any new rail/causeway infrastructure, look at how many years it took for a simple Tuas Second Link to be built and the unsuccessful utilisation rates.
UEM Sunrise Bhd,( Mulpha's JV friend ) slashed its sales target for 2014 to RM2bil from RM3.2bil just recently.
The properties in Iskandar are just being traded like hot cakes with no fundamentals. Once they cool down and people find them not so yummy, in the bin they will go.
Not only that, I think for the price we are paying for Mulpha,its dirt cheap. Besides Malaysia, it also have investments in Australia to diversify ! Check out its business in Australia.. Intercontinental Sydney and other property developments.. It also owns one of the private luxury island ... AUD 900 per night! http://hayman.oneandonlyresorts.com/
Crappy dividend, astronomical gearing, acres of plantation land in a property bubble region with no supporting fundamentals. Gelang Patah is a place you go makan mud crabs and play golf, not buy a house for your family. Lack of basic facilities like schools/shops/eateries. Gonna be another white elephant project.
The recent fast decline of almost 20% shows just how weak the stock is. This will be a classic value trap until the next property cycle comes around.
You contradict yourself. Say place to makan and then say no place to eat ? It is in fact a PERFECT location for retiring Singaporeans who don't give a hoot about schools, shops, etc but love golf and proximity to their homeland !!!
If property markets in China and Singapore both continue to cool into the new year, new project launches will start getting cancelled.
Iskandar is just a bigger version of the LegoLand theme park there. Pretty to look at but pretty much useless.
If you do your due diligence, you would already know that there have already been increasing numbers of cancellation of purchase for the many upcoming projects in the Iskandar/Danga Bay area these couple months. If you haven't done your DD yet, then you probably should stop speculating and come down to JB have a look first.
OTHERS MULPHA INTERNATIONAL BHD (“MIB”) - Issuance of US$90,000,000 Nominal Amount of Fixed Rate Notes Due 2016 by Mulpha SPV Limited, a wholly-owned subsidiary of MIB (“Issuance of Notes”)
This book is the result of the author's many years of experience and observation throughout his 26 years in the stockbroking industry. It was written for general public to learn to invest based on facts and not on fantasies or hearsay....
Nallayak
928 posts
Posted by Nallayak > 2014-09-20 20:43 | Report Abuse
Mulpha will only go north if Kwok bros interested