ICAPITAL.BIZ BHD

KLSE (MYR): ICAP (5108)

+0.02 (0.67%)

3.00 - 3.06

5,887 comment(s). Last comment by ScotFree 9 hours ago

hooi

1,773 posts

Posted by hooi > 2013-04-30 15:04 | Report Abuse

Bought Icap at 2.30

hooi

1,773 posts

Posted by hooi > 2013-05-02 10:00 | Report Abuse

Bought Icap at 2.30

hooi

1,773 posts

Posted by hooi > 2013-05-02 11:39 | Report Abuse

Bought Icap at 2.29

hooi

1,773 posts

Posted by hooi > 2013-05-02 15:33 | Report Abuse

Bought Icap at 2.28

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-05-02 18:37 | Report Abuse

Our Mr hooi here have been buying icap since years ago, keep on collecting. Just wonder when the GO will be. We really depend very much on hooi to execute the GO as the share price now at 2.27 is trading at a discount of 2.27 now is trading at a whopping discount to its NAV of 2.91. I haven't "play" with this counter for a long time since I sold off at 2.45 in mid November last year. Lets see how was the performance of icap since 5 years ago.

icap 2.270 2/05/2013
Period 2-week 6-month 1 year 2-year 3 year 4 year 5 year
Price 2.32 2.360 2.230 2.220 1.720 1.600 2.270
Return of stock -2.2% -3.8% 1.8% 2.3% 32.0% 41.9% 0.0%
CAR -43% -7.5% 1.8% 1.1% 9.7% 9.1% 0.0%

If you have bought 5 years ago, you earn absolute zero return, kosong! You do earn a bit lah, at 1.1% a year if you invest in it 2 years ago. I can easily treble that just to put my money in bank. However if you have bought 3-4 years ago, you do earn about 9.4% a year, ok lah. But how is this performance compared to the benchmark KLCI?

KLCI 1714 2/05/2013
Period 2-week 6-month 1 year 2-year 3 year 4 year 5 year
Price 1706 1656 1591 1516 1333 1026 1285
Return of stock 0.5% 3.5% 7.7% 13.1% 28.6% 67.1% 33.4%
CAR 13% 7.1% 7.7% 6.3% 8.7% 13.7% 5.9%

Wow, I got no eye see man. As proven historically, investing in the equity market does provide you with reasonable return. It was from 6% to 13.7% as shown from the return of KLCI for the last 5 years when there was boom and bust.

How come icap share under-perform the broad market by so much? For example in the last 5 years, KLCI returned 33.4% compared to kosong for icap share price? What happen to our oracle in investing in Bursa, our Mr Tan Teng Boo?

I really really hope our major shareholder Mr hooi can do something to enhance shareholder value soon.

hooi

1,773 posts

Posted by hooi > 2013-05-02 21:59 | Report Abuse

Buy Icap < 2.47

hooi

1,773 posts

Posted by hooi > 2013-05-02 22:17 | Report Abuse

'If you don't feel comfortable owning something for ten years, then don't own it for ten minutes' --- Warren Buffett

huayang

64 posts

Posted by huayang > 2013-05-02 22:47 | Report Abuse

hooi, i agreed.
with your words and warren buffett, i will now keep huayang and guoco for 10 years. 2013 ~ 2023.

hooi

1,773 posts

Posted by hooi > 2013-05-03 10:35 | Report Abuse

Bought Icap at 2.26

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-05-03 10:37 | Report Abuse

5 years without any return is not long ah? You hold your shares for 10 years or not? Anyone?

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2013-05-03 10:46 | Report Abuse

kesian... at $2.26, buy hevea, skpres, scc, mmode, yeelee, redtone, ecm etc etc, any of these under $1 counter beats this icap anytime

lmf_hau

674 posts

Posted by lmf_hau > 2013-05-03 11:34 | Report Abuse

iafx , kc chongnz,

I bought Perdana 1.15 since 25.02.2013 , yesterday just sold all 1.42 , profit 27c , 110,000 share ...

If i m following hooi style or OTB recommended Kfima ... i puk gai long ago.

WB theory ?? Its only good to apply in US or UK mkt ??

I really dont know , but buying everyday less than <10 lots a time , and keep annourcing " i Buy ,,,, i Buy ,,,, i Buy ,,,, " , u cant even recover the brokarage charges.

A reminder , Has WB published his trade daily to everyone ??

hooi , dont pretend lah .....

hooi

1,773 posts

Posted by hooi > 2013-05-03 11:41 | Report Abuse

Bought Icap at 2.25

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-05-03 11:48 | Report Abuse

"If i m following hooi style or OTB recommended Kfima ... i puk gai long ago."

How is that you puk gai already? How much when Ooi recommended you to buy Kfima at that time?

PureBear

249 posts

Posted by PureBear > 2013-05-03 12:10 | Report Abuse

Smart people promote stocks & dumb people believe them!

lmf_hau

674 posts

Posted by lmf_hau > 2013-05-03 12:11 | Report Abuse

kc chongnz,

RM 2.08 lah ,,

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2013-05-03 12:33 | Report Abuse

WB runs a company, he is not active in buying/selling share via open market. his style as denoted by many authors (WB actually didn't write any investment book by himself) DO NOT reflect the necessary to effectively trade in share market.

many uses his style (to leverage WB brand name) to mix with finance performance ratio(s) and call it value investment... change a bit become "closed door fund".... a rich man atm machine. these "closed door funds" r one of the culprit that created crisis in 2009. for icap, there is virtually no income in pass 1 year as tan said it for himself recently; he kept the $ doing nothing & wait for market to collapse... hell this is value investment

lmf_hau

674 posts

Posted by lmf_hau > 2013-05-03 12:44 | Report Abuse

iafx ,

That y ,,, many of WB follower , r just like to quote his slogan , but without further analyse in deep how WB in action to take management board control of the Company.

U r the 1 person who highlighted WB real practice in i3 , i solute u.

Those who still dreaming with WB slogan, pls spend u time to look in details of BAC (US Stock) , which WB invested in Yr 2011 , try to analyse

1) How many perference share he bought
2) How many ordinary share he bought
3) How many "Option" he bought

4) Most importantly - How many "His" financial keyman has been appointed into the Board of Director , CEO , CFO , COO ....

To those who still bleh bleh in WB slogan ,

pls refer to a well know local "Close End-Fund" company , which located in Damansara Perdana , named Gr**d P**e , 1 of their Cheif Speaker in from China with 2 words.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-05-03 12:46 | Report Abuse

Ok I just take your words that Ooi recommended i3 forumers to buy Kfima at 2.08 (I checked and it was 2.05) when he recommended. Now is 1.89 and there was a dividend of 7 sen not long ago. So if one buys and hold until now and sell, he will lose 9 sen per share, or about 4%. Like that puk gai already meh? How much do you buy if you do? Also note that this couple of days only it dropped below 1.90. It has been about 1.94 and 1.95 for most of the time in the past one month. So is your statement fair?

I have written a lot about Kfima in i3, putting forward my opinions that Kfima is a good company to invest in with my analysis. I don't talk about price and neither do I recommend people to buy though. From what you have written, you appear to think that this company is a lemon. Could you justify that with your analysis for the purpose of discussion?

lmf_hau

674 posts

Posted by lmf_hau > 2013-05-03 12:59 | Report Abuse

kc chongnz ,

I do agreed & appreciate with all u good effort in analyses on Kfima.
Despite of share px , its really a good company in term of Free CF = Dividend Policy.

Kfima , entry 2.08 , which base on the charting , and strong recommandation by some 1 during Jan '2013.

However , the capital $ spent , yet to make good return and clocked in for 4 mths ,,, is 4 mths !!!

As refer to my chart skill, the exist plan shd be 2.02 - 0.01c = 2.01 is the last cut lost.

Kindly refer to KFima chat , I posted my quiries , and yet , the recommandation is "to hold".

" Chartis is always - ride the horn of the bull , carry u to the end of trend.
Exist Plan is always to obay , follow , and highly displine."

If i would cut loss at 2.01 / 2.00 / 1.99 , to re-buy into Perdana 1.15 / 1.16 / 1.17 , i could hv recovered with a little profit.

I like this sentance

Posted by PureBear > May 3, 2013 12:10 PM | Report Abuse

Smart people promote stocks & dumb people believe them!

lmf_hau

674 posts

Posted by lmf_hau > 2013-05-03 13:02 | Report Abuse

I was dumb people b4 , hopes the others learn from my mistake , and never ever listen blindly to some 1 recommendation = tips.

Always do your homeworks b4 buying any counter.
( My homeworks = Chart ) , ( Recommendation = Tips , r just tibits )

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-05-03 13:06 | Report Abuse

Posted by lmf_hau > May 3, 2013 01:02 PM | Report Abuse

I was dumb people b4 , hopes the others learn from my mistake , and never ever listen blindly to some 1 recommendation = tips.

Always do your homeworks b4 buying any counter.
( My homeworks = Chart ) , ( Recommendation = Tips , r just tibits )

I fully sokong you lmf_hau

lmf_hau

674 posts

Posted by lmf_hau > 2013-05-03 13:11 | Report Abuse

to revised ,

My entry px is 2.05 .. not 2.08 ..

hooi

1,773 posts

Posted by hooi > 2013-05-03 15:06 | Report Abuse

Bought Icap at 2.24

hooi

1,773 posts

Posted by hooi > 2013-05-08 10:21 | Report Abuse

Bought Icap at 2.32

sephiroth

14,143 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-05-08 11:39 | Report Abuse

sudden surge in volume, any news???

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2013-05-08 11:47 | Report Abuse

since 1/1/13 till date, this counter virtually didn't move at all, slumped twice in between, while the index surged 70pts

this is one counter can ONLY buy when deep dived, dispose when up. it's zero div anyway

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2013-05-08 16:39 | Report Abuse

ttb angry liao..

hooi

1,773 posts

Posted by hooi > 2013-05-08 16:57 | Report Abuse

Sold Icap at 2.41 & 2.42, queue at 2.37 to buyback

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2013-05-08 17:00 | Report Abuse

sold all ?

Posted by Fat Cat Tim Buddy > 2013-05-08 17:01 | Report Abuse

if the amount hooi bought everytime he announced his purchase is 1000 shares, that is still a substantial sum of money.

if he use the money he use on icap to buy pwroot or inari , his return will be much bigger.

anyway, it is his money.. not mine , so what do i care? :P

hooi

1,773 posts

Posted by hooi > 2013-05-08 21:19 | Report Abuse

Sold 20 lots, balance = 3,940 lots. TTB also recommend Pwroot last year but my focus was Padini that time.

Posted by Fat Cat Tim Buddy > 2013-05-09 14:42 | Report Abuse

anyone have any idea what TTB will do now? all the stocks seem pretty high already.

buy now before too late?

or hold cash and wait for better deal?

any sifu please share some advise and experience ... :l , hooi, what will you do now?

hooi

1,773 posts

Posted by hooi > 2013-05-09 15:06 | Report Abuse

I will buy 2 counter for my portfolio, 2012 : Padini & Icap, 2013 : Icap & ? (i will let you know later)

wachin

145 posts

Posted by wachin > 2013-05-09 15:08 | Report Abuse

hooi, no more suria??

Posted by Fat Cat Tim Buddy > 2013-05-09 15:15 | Report Abuse

come on.. let me know la, my email address is wengtheam117@hotmail.com , let me know your pick, i tell you my pick , deal? :P

hooi

1,773 posts

Posted by hooi > 2013-05-09 16:36 | Report Abuse

No more Suria, bought Icap at 2.37

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-05-09 18:41 | Report Abuse

The NAV of icap rose by 3 sen from last week to 1.94, or about 1.5%. Most stocks have rose 5% or more. KLCI also rose from 1709 to 1766 now, or 3.3%. What happen to the oracle? Still holding loads of cash for icap of fear of GE14?

PureBear

249 posts

Posted by PureBear > 2013-05-09 19:26 | Report Abuse

26/12/12: Icap NAV = 2.93, KLCI = 1,672
08/05/13: Icap NAV = 2.94, KLCI = 1,774
During this period, Icap NAV increased 0.34% & KLCI increased 6.10%.
Icap underperform KLCI badly!

If KLCI keep on rising, TTB will be cold sweating since KLCI is the benchmark for Icap where its performance will be judged against.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-05-09 19:48 | Report Abuse

To be fair, one shouldn't just look at its short term one or two weeks non- performance. In the long term, NAV growth ok lah, outperforming the klci. But that was the initial two three years. After January 2008, its nav may be just in tandem with the broad market. So was the fantastic performance in the initial years more because of lady luck was with him? However, if you look at its share price since January 2008, really got no eye see oh.

Posted by Fat Cat Tim Buddy > 2013-05-17 15:09 | Report Abuse

kcchongnz is absolutely right.

given if you bought icap at 29 October 2008 , the lowest price --> 1.15 , after almost 5 years, your total return only is 100%++.

On the other hand, if you bought pwroot at the same day of 29 October 2008, **that time the share price of pwroot is 0.30 **, now your return will be 550% + dividends.

i really dont understand why hooi buy so many icap shares.

arv18

2,658 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-05-17 15:37 | Report Abuse

unfortunately for ICAP investors, they have to deal with Tan Teng Boo. Whilst he may have once been a good manager, he is clearly still hurting from the last financial crisis and paralyzed with fear in making investment decisions. Just listen to him speak in this recorded podcast on BFM.

http://media.bfm.my/assets/files/MarketWatch/2013_05_07_MW_TanTengBoo_PostGe13.mp3

I will never put any money in any fund run by this guy. he has turned into one big coward.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-05-17 16:10 | Report Abuse

He says that his strategy is value investing. But wtf he has been doing the market timing for? He held one third cash for at least 3 years already, fearing of the general election. Now the election is over and he is still holding huge amount of cash. WTF investors put money in the trust of a fund manager for? The worst was his ultra arrogant behaviour during the last Lexy Partners attempt takeover. He treat shareholders like dirt!

But actually icap at more than 20% discount to its NAV, to me is a good investment now, putting other things aside.

Titicamara

131 posts

Posted by Titicamara > 2013-05-17 16:22 | Report Abuse

TTB is waiting for the big crash.

arv18

2,658 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-05-17 16:29 | Report Abuse

As many other have said, especially kchongnz and fat cat tim buddy, why invest in ICAP when you can just buy a performing company? Its performance has clearly been below par, and TTB has lost the plot. Look at the share price, while all others rise, ICAP is stuck, why, because TTB is stuck!

Posted by Fat Cat Tim Buddy > 2013-05-17 16:36 | Report Abuse

everyone was waiting for the big crash that never happen, but mini crash did happened few times.

anyway, if i can manage my own portfolio, why would i pay other to manage it for me? especially when i can do it better? it make no sense at all.. lol..

hooi is too concentrate on 1-2 stock, while it is wise to do it in limited capital, it will be unwise to do it if the capital is huge.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-05-17 16:44 | Report Abuse

icap holds a lot of Padini. What is the point of putting all eggs in one basket?

This hooi has been shouting buy buy buy icap for ages. If he says buy 10000 shares each time, he would have been the major shareholder long ago. If he buys 1000 shares each time, don't know how much he has paid for transaction costs already. What he makes, if any, won't be enough to pay the costs.

So I just doubt if he buys much at all.

arv18

2,658 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-05-17 16:51 | Report Abuse

hooi is probably TTB. instead of doing his job properly by allocating capital wisely (like Warren Buffet), he spends his time trying to boost the stock price in i3investor like a fool.

Posted by Fat Cat Tim Buddy > 2013-05-17 16:54 | Report Abuse

i think the 2012 annual brokerage fees he paid to ECM will not less than RM 4000.

i think he is a icap employee, u see.. almost everytime he got match the lowest buying price, and highest selling price on padini.

Capital gain is not taxable on malaysia, ICAP broker know it, it will be easier to make money if the stock price is volatile , and padini price is pretty much manipulated by SOME certain party.

hw0706

819 posts

Posted by hw0706 > 2013-05-17 17:02 | Report Abuse

he maybe the one who is selling. look at DKSH - 5.25 high is 5.49. Doubt who is buying really.