TENAGA NASIONAL BHD

KLSE (MYR): TENAGA (5347)

-0.32 (2.29%)

13.02 - 13.90

22 people like this.

13,620 comment(s). Last comment by Rose001 1 day ago

milosh

377 posts

Posted by milosh > 2021-06-18 19:48 | Report Abuse

yeah it was a huge trade

Nepo

3,433 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2021-06-18 20:00 | Report Abuse

I used 400 lots for example only.
Btw, Only the last 15 mins, i.e 4.45pm got huge jumped up. The trading lots before 4.45pm is normal.

MatKoh

353 posts

Posted by MatKoh > 2021-06-18 20:20 | Report Abuse

My suspicion is that it's pure portfolio rebalancing and Monday will retrace. Noticed how PetGas cempedak today?

firehawk

4,783 posts

Posted by firehawk > 2021-06-18 21:30 | Report Abuse

is not by wrongly key-in order .... bcos after 4.50pm, 4.52, 4.53 ... still have transactions .....

My experiences (on this type of sudden quantum price jump) ,
on 30/11/2020, i had 4 buying orders matched, 3 from JPMorgan, 1 from CIMB

Today, 1 selling order matched, from JPMorgan.

Posted by charliecharlie > 2021-06-18 21:31 | Report Abuse

CSS1234 I set to sell rm10.2 ,end up marching rm10.44.free electric bill for 2years.

is this even possible? u mean u put the price at 10.2, and then it become 10.44? u're not joking rite? :P

gancel

26 posts

Posted by gancel > 2021-06-18 22:10 | Report Abuse

yes. Sometimes it happens when we buy. We get to buy at a lower price than that we queue

SHOB

617 posts

Posted by SHOB > 2021-06-18 22:12 | Report Abuse

sell on monday, buy back later

jeffchan1901

1,406 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2021-06-18 23:31 | Report Abuse

@Nepo yes, you are right. I know that price always go up before dividend but this is too early.. could be early accumulation or could be portfolio rebalancing. let's see.. those who sell and make quick buck on Monday. good luck if you miss the boat. Tenaga will almost always certainly go up when dividend comes.

@charliecharlie happen to me on other stocks too. i bid for sale x price. they sapu to 4 tiers up including mine. its normal.

jeffchan1901

1,406 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2021-06-18 23:36 | Report Abuse

Could it also be the local fund managers starting to collect tickets? .. MIB recently gave TP of 12.00 for Tenaga.

RG1972

178 posts

Posted by RG1972 > 2021-06-19 01:08 | Report Abuse

way undervalue..buy

milosh

377 posts

Posted by milosh > 2021-06-19 11:18 | Report Abuse

i agree tenaga is a good buy anyway, if someone big buying they also hopefully know what they are doing

zestyy90

56 posts

Posted by zestyy90 > 2021-06-19 11:50 | Report Abuse

retesting 11.5 soon

milosh

377 posts

Posted by milosh > 2021-06-19 12:52 | Report Abuse

12 is pretty realistic

jeffchan1901

1,406 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2021-06-19 20:30 | Report Abuse

@i3gambler very risky going all-in on C85.

Heard of the 'every third Friday of every quarter' theory? If the theory is true, just be careful of a very sharp correction come Monday. The huge movement is obviously not done by small retailers. big boyz at play - although I am surprise not reported in the announcement. big boyz with all that financial muscle and financial experience and savy, the risk and possibility of a snafu is very unlikely if any.

'The point is, ladies and gentlemen, that greed, for lack of a better word, is good. ... Greed works. Greed clarifies, cuts through, and captures the essence of the evolutionary spirit' - Gordon Gekko

jeffchan1901

1,406 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2021-06-19 20:41 | Report Abuse

@i3gambler your article on C85 was right to question 'Why the big jump?'.

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/gambler/2021-06-19-story-h1566936185-TENAGA_and_TENAGA_C85.jsp

To quote your statement:

" The value of TENAGA jump up 100%, and yet someone still wanted to sell TENAGA-C85 at RM0.05?

Trade call warrant without looking at the mother share?

Can not do like that lah."

How sure are we that the big players didn't look at call warrant? oh wait.. maybe they did and that's why they didn't buy in to it but hope that someone will hook line and sinker to pick it up.

A wise poker player once said, if we can't spot the fool sitting in the table, that's because we are most likely that fool.

I could be wrong but after reading that theory and your article on the C85 more or less reaffirms my suspicion. good luck bro, hope I am wrong. To show that I am on your side, I decided not to rebalance my Tenaga stocks and hopeful that it will continue to go up.

milosh

377 posts

Posted by milosh > 2021-06-19 20:49 | Report Abuse

jeff: I believe the 3rd friday - its more on US markets, but still so far the best explanation offered here

jeffchan1901

1,406 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2021-06-19 20:58 | Report Abuse

@milosh fyi, this idea was also floated on the other investors portal and there's a very good chance it might be true as at closing there were 35K lots offered for sale at 10.44 vs 7K offering to buy at lower. apparently there's a formula to calculate the shortfall in call warrant, perhaps someone can enlighten us as to why the magic number RM10.44? I find it highly suspicious that a call warrant about to expire in 11 days would suddenly magically take off just like that

milosh

377 posts

Posted by milosh > 2021-06-19 20:59 | Report Abuse

exactly, was also thinking about it

jolynce

547 posts

Posted by jolynce > 2021-06-19 21:00 | Report Abuse

quadruple witching day

jeffchan1901

1,406 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2021-06-19 21:40 | Report Abuse

Bingo!

To quote an article ...

"Options traders also find out if their options expire in or out of the money. On such days, traders with large positions in these contracts may be financially incentivized to try to temporarily push the underlying market in a certain direction to affect the value of their contracts. The expiration forces traders to act by a certain day, causing trading volume in affected markets to rise. Triple or quadruple witching is often said to cause volatility in the underlying markets, and in the expiring contracts themselves, both during the week preceding, and on the expiration day. "

choysun

4,413 posts

Posted by choysun > 2021-06-19 23:42 | Report Abuse

Doesn't look like it's worth selling to make a quick buck Monday. 2 months to September. Sentiments leaning positive. There will be some taking profit I'm sure, but suspect it will bounce back and trend positively as the week goes on. Let's see :)

jeffchan1901

1,406 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2021-06-20 01:00 | Report Abuse

@choysun yeah, I am with you on this.. the stock been wanting to break out for a few weeks now.. even if correction come Monday, Come August, it'll be back up there. I got a feelin the correction might even set a higher low come next week.

milosh

377 posts

Posted by milosh > 2021-06-20 10:16 | Report Abuse

tenaga is in a good position to get thru FMCO way much better compare to other companies which are impacted hard, good pick, should be at least stable if not going up. to warrants expiration - if someone wants to manipulate will need to push close price for 5 days before expiry, bit hard and expensive on such liquid stock as tenaga is

i3gambler

728 posts

Posted by i3gambler > 2021-06-20 10:24 | Report Abuse

jeffchan1901

As I said, I bought 300K units C85 on Friday at 0.05,

Let say tomorrow the mother share give back 30 cents (75% of 40 cents last minute jump on Friday) and trade at 10.14,

The intrinsic value of C85 = (10.14 - 9.6337) / 6.7436 = RM0.075,
Still a good 50% margin from 0.05.

The other thing is on the issue of settlement calculation.
The issuer announced that as at 31.05.2021,
There were only 14,444,900 unit outstanding C85 in the market,
As the conversion ratio of 6.7436, meaning 14,444,900 / 6.7436 = 2,142,106 mother share.

Now, the settlement calculation is based on 5 trading days data,
In this case, it will be from 23rd, 24th, 25th, 28th and 29th of June.
Further more, it is not from the closing price, but it is VWAP (Volume Weighted Average Price)

getingreal

405 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2021-06-20 11:37 | Report Abuse

i3gambler, I have been looking at your numbers, very interesting. 300K units at 0.05 will have cost you 15K + brokerage and stamp. On paper you have a margin of 0.025c if the price holds as set out. However you would still have to convert the the 300K units at a huge cost which my guess is you are not planning to do to get that margin. If you hold and don't convert the 15k is burned so my guess is you must sell. If I'm correct and you don't intend to convert, then you along with many many many others will be more and more keen to sell as the pay up day gets closer.
I have a feeling the 2.5c margin may well evaporate if the mother share price does not stay up, or better yet get up near 12.00 target then you will make great money on your investment.
Two sides to the your coin your gambling, up to a complete loss on one side, or a great profit on the other. I think its not a game for investors, its a game for gamblers. I wish you luck.

i3gambler

728 posts

Posted by i3gambler > 2021-06-20 12:03 | Report Abuse

getingreal

No need for us to come up with any conversion money.
I copy and paste the following from the official document which we can download and read.

Settlement: Cash settlement only

The Call Warrants give the Holder the right to receive from us within
7 Market Days from the Expiry Date

In the event that the Cash Settlement Amount is equal to or less than
zero on the Expiry Date, the Call Warrants shall terminate on the
Expiry Date and cease to be valid and our obligations in respect of
the Call Warrants shall terminate absolutely.

Closing Price: The VWAP of TENAGA Shares (subject to any adjustment as may
be necessary to reflect any capitalisation, rights issue, distribution or
others) for the 5 Market Days prior to and including the Market Day
immediately before the Expiry Date (subject to the market disruption
event provision below).

getingreal

405 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2021-06-20 13:25 | Report Abuse

Yes, if the price is equal to, or less, than the average share price for 5 days before the strike date then if you still hold them then unit is automatically cancelled and your investment in them is burned.
If however the price of the mother shares is above the strike price, and assuming you have not already sold, then you have to either come out with huge cash to buy at the strike price or burn your paper your choice on that date. If you come out with the cash (bank draft) and buy coz the price is attractive you will have to hold for a while until the shares are actually issued to you, maybe a week to 21 days and you cannot sell them until they are in your name.

i3gambler

728 posts

Posted by i3gambler > 2021-06-20 13:45 | Report Abuse

getingreal,

No burn, and no need to come out with the conversion money, it is automatically cash settled.

For example,
If the VWAP of TENAGA for the 5 trading days is 10.14,
Then, (10.14 - 9.6337) / 6.7436 = RM0.075,
The issuer, in this case CIMB Investment Bank will pay yus RM0.075 per unit.

I used to receive cheque from the issuers, but I heard that now they just bank-in to our account just like our dividend.

Many years ago, there were some call warrants that were physical settlement, that one we need to send them the money and they will give you the mother shares.

But in recent years, I never came across any call warrant that is for physical settlement.

However, it is still safer to read the official document which you can download from bursamalaysia.com

For this particular C85, I have read the document, it is automatically cash settlement, we just have to wait for the money if the mother share is higher than the conversion price / strike.

getingreal

405 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2021-06-20 14:21 | Report Abuse

Interesting, Learn something new every day.

getingreal

405 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2021-06-20 14:37 | Report Abuse

Have to wait and see if the VWAP is above 10.065. Good luck.

milosh

377 posts

Posted by milosh > 2021-06-20 15:18 | Report Abuse

i3gambler is right with no conversion, but the settlement price will be based on the last 5 trading days only, here I was wrong with the close price - but it means it is even harder to manipulate. its also true it is a good entry for 0.05 *IF* the market price will stay elevated. Too risky for me.

i3gambler

728 posts

Posted by i3gambler > 2021-06-20 15:36 | Report Abuse

milosh,

As of today, I think I was lucky to have bought C85 at 0.05,
My break even = 9.6337 + 6.7436 * 0.05 = 9.971
Meaning if TENAGA's VWAP > 9.971,
I will make gross profit.

Of course if the VWAP is <9.6337, then all my C85 will be total loss.

milosh

377 posts

Posted by milosh > 2021-06-20 16:03 | Report Abuse

i don't think it will be loss, but the price was around 10 for a long time, there is some risk it will get back again just below 10 before expire, but yes 0.05 entry has a good odds

James Ng

2,706 posts

Posted by James Ng > 2021-06-20 18:56 | Report Abuse

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/general/2021-06-20-story-h1566940065.jsp
[转贴] [Video:浅谈TENAGA NASIONAL BHD, TENAGA, 5347] - James的股票投资James Share Investing

apple168

6,236 posts

Posted by apple168 > 2021-06-20 20:29 | Report Abuse

Cash out when price still good!

milosh

377 posts

Posted by milosh > 2021-06-20 20:43 | Report Abuse

price is still good to enter

Diamond7

2,379 posts

Posted by Diamond7 > 2021-06-20 21:02 | Report Abuse

James Ng video out...
Tmoro up up
Quickly sell!
Later down again!!!

jeffchan1901

1,406 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2021-06-20 21:13 | Report Abuse

thanks for clarifying i3gambler, wish you all the best this coming week.

@milosh best to ignore apple 168, he is a known glove adolescence going to every counter forum to poison the forum. he will normally troll the main blue chip counters. hopefully when Top Glove goes to HK, he will follow suite and troll the Honkies there.

iHunter

711 posts

Posted by iHunter > 2021-06-20 23:15 | Report Abuse

Interesting stock. Bought 9.94 - 9.95 last friday. Next week will be following SmartMoney to dispose all of them at the right price.. Although the return won't be good as top glove, but better than not making money.

Posted by Lee Chee Wai > 2021-06-20 23:50 | Report Abuse

Latest....TNB is to applied Digital Banking permit

29,216 posts

Posted by mf > 2021-06-20 23:59 |

Nepo

3,433 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2021-06-21 08:00 | Report Abuse

After heated debate, over the weekend, today is a very important day for Tenaga future movement.

As for myself, I predicted profit taking will take place and strong support at RM 10.00 ae

let see

Bgt 9963

7,445 posts

Posted by Bgt 9963 > 2021-06-21 08:35 |

Nepo

3,433 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2021-06-21 09:09 | Report Abuse

I believe it is safe to top-up @ RM 10.10.

Dante5566

398 posts

Posted by Dante5566 > 2021-06-21 09:12 | Report Abuse

Alert! Bursa drops 18 points. So quick!

jeffchan1901

1,406 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2021-06-21 09:17 | Report Abuse

morning y'all... looks like the sharp correction as predicted. a lot of profit takers. hopefully in the process there is a new higher low to form a possible future break out as consolation.

for C85 call warrant, looks like it's back to 0.05 at the moment as takers at 0.06 has been fully snapped up.

i3gambler

728 posts

Posted by i3gambler > 2021-06-21 09:31 | Report Abuse

TENAGA at 10.10, C85 intrinsic value = 0.069

Sold 200K units at 0.06 for profit taking.

i3gambler

728 posts

Posted by i3gambler > 2021-06-21 09:32 | Report Abuse

And the sell Q 100K now at 0.065 is mine.
Any taker?