TENAGA NASIONAL BHD

KLSE (MYR): TENAGA (5347)

-0.32 (2.29%)

13.02 - 13.90

22 people like this.

13,620 comment(s). Last comment by Rose001 11 hours ago

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-01-28 10:02 | Report Abuse

You're learning :)

3,302 posts

Posted by chinaman > 2022-01-28 15:24 | Report Abuse

Feb2022 – power tariff increase again
CNY Angpao from Taliban Perompak

cckiong

242 posts

Posted by cckiong > 2022-01-28 20:46 | Report Abuse

Tenaga Nasional Berhad (“TNB”) wishes to inform that the Government of Malaysia (“Government”) has approved and decided via a letter from Suruhanjaya Tenaga (“ST”) dated 28 January 2022 to implement the Regulatory Period 3 (“RP3”) under the Incentive Base Regulation framework (“IBR”) for the period of February 2022 to December 2024. The Government has decided to maintain the current electricity tariff schedule for all customers in Peninsular Malaysia. This decision complies with the rules and regulation under the Regulatory Implementation Guidelines (“RIGs”).

TNB will continue to focus on maintaining the service level and ensure reliable and continuous supply of electricity to customers.

The Government has also approved the continued implementation of Imbalance Cost Pass-Through (“ICPT”) mechanism for the period of 1 February until 30 June 2022. The decision was made to address the additional generation costs due to the higher fuel prices used for the supply of electricity during the period of 1 July until 31 December 2021.

TNB also wishes to inform that the impact of ICPT implementation, based on the RIGs, is neutral on TNB and will not have any effect to the business operations and financial position.

Panorama1

971 posts

Posted by Panorama1 > 2022-01-28 21:33 | Report Abuse

Wow ! No increase in electricity tariff until 2025. Interesting trading trend next Monday (1/2 Day).

cheeseburger

2,880 posts

Posted by cheeseburger > 2022-01-28 22:06 | Report Abuse

no hike is because gov subsidise. Indirectly is gov pay on your behalf, it doesnt mean no increase. The commercial user is facing rate increase, read in detail.

50cent

34 posts

Posted by 50cent > 2022-01-29 00:15 | Report Abuse

If u look at the current tarrif for non commercial users, the hike is about 10%+!

cheeseburger

2,880 posts

Posted by cheeseburger > 2022-01-29 01:01 | Report Abuse

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/nation/2022/01/28/no-increase-in-electricity-tariff-until-2025/

Two points here:
1. the gov has allocated RM715mil to "cover the cost" of full rebate and surcharge for all domestic consumer. So gov pay on behalf, rather to charge to your bill.

2. Surcharge of 3.7 cents/kWj will be imposed on all non domestic users.

It simply means the increase is already confirmed. Is just how the politician want to address the increase in better terms.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-01-29 13:01 | Report Abuse

Overnight the US markets were all over the place like a mad woman's custard, ending up with the Dow +1.65% and the S&P +2.43% ( !!!).

The volatility each day this week has been mental, with up to 1,000 point swings in a day on the Dow.

Meanwhile down in the backwaters of Malaysia the Friday KLCI close of 1,520 appears to have been well engineered, placing the market in no man's land, or a mid point between where it could either fall from or rise from.

Which in a roundabout way brings me to Tenaga. With the current market sentiment (read above) this has left Tenaga range bound from 9.03 to a brief foray to 9.15 on Monday and Friday this week. The tighter range is mainly 9.06 to 9.10.

Volume has gradually weakened throughout the past week, so eventually something has to give to either the upside or downside. If I had a gun pointed at my head, then I'd say that the 9.15 resistance will possibly break out not too long after the CNY break. The elephant in the room remains to be EPF and what they decide to do regarding the volume of sells they want to place. They have had plenty opportunities to push it below 9.00 but that appears not to be their current MO.

Immediate targets if it was to break 9.15 are 9.35 and 9.51.

ali baba

356 posts

Posted by ali baba > 2022-01-31 11:33 | Report Abuse

TNB Sectoral Sales Analysis in RM (as at Sept 2021)
- Domestic = 25.4%
- Industrial = 37.1%
- Commercial = 35.8%
- Others = 1.7%

The rebate of 2cents are only 25%.
On the other hand, the increase of 3.7cents has about 73%.

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/nation/2022/01/28/no-increase-in-electricity-tariff-until-2025/?__cf_chl_jschl_tk__=c5W.nrfmLL0aUQfzezagdB0RvUI9fos6lciPVzTWhcI-1643600004-0-gaNycGzNCNE

https://www.tnb.com.my/assets/conference_materials/Investor_Presentation_Deck_Nov21.pdf

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-01-31 12:03 | Report Abuse

Hi ali baba, also keep in mind the 2 cent rebate is paid for by the government....."...the government had allocated RM715 million from the Electricity Industry Fund to cover the cost of the full rebate and surcharge for all domestic consumers."

An interesting uptick in volume this morning. By 11.30am it had passed Friday's full day volume and with around 30 minutes to go it's honing in on Wednesday and Thursday's full day volume.

Relevant? Maybe yes, maybe no. Let's see how it goes after the CNY break.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-01-31 12:29 | Report Abuse

Today's half day closing volume: 1,823,500.

Last Friday: 1,105,100
Last Thursday: 1,579,000
Last Wednesday: 1,641,200

ali baba

356 posts

Posted by ali baba > 2022-01-31 12:36 | Report Abuse

@ TreeTopView,
Yeah, you are absolutely right about the 2 cents rebate by government. The devil is in the details. :)

okdoke

279 posts

Posted by okdoke > 2022-01-31 22:14 | Report Abuse

@TreeTopView, Thanks for the reply..祝您新年快乐,身体健康 – Wish You a Happy New Year and Good Health. ...

Posted by ▢ The Box Man > 2022-01-31 22:26 | Report Abuse

interesting

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-02-01 08:18 | Report Abuse

@okdoke, thanks for taking the time to acknowledge and also for the greetings.

I wish you a very Happy New Year and let's hope that this new year gives a bit more joy and prosperity than the recent ones.

Best wishes to everyone else who takes the time and effort to post sensible and informative comments in i3 :)

Posted by Iseeyoubuy > 2022-02-03 09:41 | Report Abuse

Tariff hike, gov pay to tenaga, we are still in profit...gonna accumulate instead; News just to scare new investors

ali baba

356 posts

Posted by ali baba > 2022-02-03 10:37 | Report Abuse

Lol...you should know those friends coming with such news are actually interested with Tenaga. They are waiting for sales. Just open the CNY cookies and munch and be entertained.

Posted by lionel messi > 2022-02-03 11:28 | Report Abuse

Good one ali baba. You know how to play the game.

JovaneChua

522 posts

Posted by JovaneChua > 2022-02-03 12:19 |

Wirajati

610 posts

Posted by Wirajati > 2022-02-03 17:21 | Report Abuse

The ones who wait for the perfect 8.50 still waiting? Alright.

apple168

6,236 posts

Posted by apple168 > 2022-02-03 18:45 | Report Abuse

Doubt Malaysia gov hv such financial ability to give electric subsidy for 5 years… at the end, Tenaga force to absorb all the costs of subsidy… you and me all know how Malaysia gov works… collect here and paste there… good luck!

Posted by mokluhanj21 > 2022-02-04 09:27 | Report Abuse

when la wanna fall below 9? boring ady waiting nothing happening weh!

Novice296

135 posts

Posted by Novice296 > 2022-02-04 10:59 | Report Abuse

anyone knows when the next dividend date?

kong73

2,065 posts

Posted by kong73 > 2022-02-04 11:02 | Report Abuse

ex div date expected end of March

freddiehero

16,722 posts

Posted by freddiehero > 2022-02-04 14:48 | Report Abuse

haha why so care DVD?

kong73

2,065 posts

Posted by kong73 > 2022-02-04 16:23 | Report Abuse

Last dividend i got about 10k..this year i expect to be around the same

Novice296

135 posts

Posted by Novice296 > 2022-02-04 16:38 | Report Abuse

@kong73 thanks..

Wow123

1,971 posts

Posted by Wow123 > 2022-02-04 16:41 | Report Abuse

waiting 6.50

Novice296

135 posts

Posted by Novice296 > 2022-02-04 16:45 | Report Abuse

150k for 10k dividend, 6-7% returns no bad ahh~

Novice296

135 posts

Posted by Novice296 > 2022-02-04 17:26 | Report Abuse

@freddiehero, invested TNG as long term investment plan also a saving plan..

Ny036

717 posts

Posted by Ny036 > 2022-02-04 19:04 | Report Abuse

this round of dividend should be better than last round?
expect more than 60 cents?

ichigo

Posted by ichigo > 2022-02-04 22:33 | Report Abuse

EPF stop selling or its just CNY break ?

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-02-05 09:02 | Report Abuse

Thursday was a very good day technically for Tenaga, as it finally broke through the 9.15 resistance point and hit a daily high of 9.23 and closed at 9.22 on increased volume. I had mentioned in a post last weekend that it seemed the likely scenario and was pleased that it had started its move. I missed all the action as I had a "hot date" with a wall, a scrubbing brush and buckets of soapy water....what joy :)

As for Friday morning everything was still going to plan as the overall market was in negative territory and Tenaga tested the previous resistance (9.15) as a new support. It played the game perfectly by trading between 9.16 and 9.20 for the majority of the morning session.

So where did it go wrong? Well, in my opinion, this......https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/nation/2022/02/04/implement-power-tariff-hike-in-stages-says-najib/

The date stamp of the article is 2.14pm on Friday.

Yet again the convicted criminal and "expert of everything" had to stick his nose into yet another story to remain relevant and show how much he cares for Malaysian businesses. Yet another tick for his PR team.

Perhaps it was merely a coincidence that the price fell below the support level after the midday break? I doubt it.

Lim GE also came out with a statement on Tenaga around the same time but I doubt that would have had much effect on its own, as he has not got hand on the steering wheel of government. The perception at least is that the other character does have the ear of the PM. All IMO of course.

So the question now is, will Najib have enough influence to get the Cabinet to change their mind of their initial Tenaga decision regarding business power cost increases? We were told this current decision took long discussions between the Minister's department and Tenaga, then 6 (yes, six!!) cabinet meetings to finally agree to this new pricing plan. If those are the facts then it would be a VERY weak Cabinet to now turn around and change their decision merely on the word of someone who is far more intent in playing the regular PR cards.

I have no political bias in either direction, in fact I despise the majority of politicians, so please don;t think this is a political post.

It's about time someone finally had the balls to make a definitive decision on many topics and put the plans firmly in place. This country can no longer afford to pander to the whims of those with other motives.

I hope and believe the current pricing model remains for Tenaga. If it doesn't, then yet again this would have been a total failure in forward planning by the government cabinet, all IMO of course.

Cheers and have a great weekend

Posted by lionel messi > 2022-02-06 09:35 | Report Abuse

You wrote a thesis for your PHD? :)

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-02-06 10:22 | Report Abuse

lol @LM.......once I start, I don't know when to finish :)

Usually I feel that I'm wasting my time with posts like the one above, as most i3 forum readers would prefer to hear "limit up" or "going to the moon, lah". Unfortunately I say it as I see it and that doesn't please a lot of people :)

derickuan

170 posts

Posted by derickuan > 2022-02-06 14:54 | Report Abuse

TreeTop, I like your insights. Thanks.

Posted by lionel messi > 2022-02-06 16:10 | Report Abuse

See, you have alot of fansy. Don't stop TreeTop :)

562 posts

Posted by 3101575000 > 2022-02-06 18:22 | Report Abuse

Ya.I also one of the fansy:TreeTopView. I like to read what you wrote.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-02-07 07:57 | Report Abuse

Wow, 3 followers, the pressure is on now :)
I'll have to start ordering merchandise.....t shirts, mugs, caps, pens.....and perhaps something special for the ladies....lol

Joking aside,. thanks for the support, guys. *thumbs up*

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-02-07 08:33 | Report Abuse

An extract from a post I made on Saturday.........

"So the question now is, will Najib have enough influence to get the Cabinet to change their mind of their initial Tenaga decision regarding business power cost increases? We were told this current decision took long discussions between the Minister's department and Tenaga, then 6 (yes, six!!) cabinet meetings to finally agree to this new pricing plan. If those are the facts then it would be a VERY weak Cabinet to now turn around and change their decision merely on the word of someone who is far more intent in playing the regular PR cards."

It's now Monday morning and so far Najib's opinion has had no traction in the media or any comments from the Cabinet. It's perhaps too early to say his comment has been thrown under the bus but let's hope it has been.

Logically the government need Tenaga in a robust position to carry out all the mandatory RE requirements for their 2025 RE emissions targets, so chopping and changing business plans should never be an option, IMO.

I trust they put Najib's "opinion" where it rightly belongs, at the bottom of the garbage bin.

Let Tenaga get on with some serious business development for the benefit of the country.

Posted by lionel messi > 2022-02-07 09:22 | Report Abuse

Guru TreeTop. Seek your advice. What do you think of this quiet chick sitting at the corner call Gasmsia. I kind of like her and would like to bed her. I feel that she is under appreciated and is ready to explode. Would like to be next to her when she does. Her vital statistics also appeal to me. Should I make a move?

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-02-07 09:55 | Report Abuse

LM....will take a look later this morning when I free up some time. Check your i3 Messenger for my reply.

Cheers.

Posted by lionel messi > 2022-02-07 11:26 | Report Abuse

Thanks mate. Now how to check Messenger. I am so cacat with social media things and IT. Only know how to spot neglected undervalued chicks :)