TENAGA NASIONAL BHD

KLSE (MYR): TENAGA (5347)

-0.32 (2.29%)

13.02 - 13.90

22 people like this.

13,620 comment(s). Last comment by Rose001 9 hours ago

smallkid91

518 posts

Posted by smallkid91 > 2022-02-09 11:58 | Report Abuse

@getingreal IMO, expansion is better. we'll still get dividends but honestly i think the hands are tied if malaysia wants to hit its global warming pledge. We have to factor in coal generator depreciation too. We keep giving additional dividend to kwap and gang (conspiracy :p) , but the hard truth is they can fund a renewable energy generation arm, as well as setting up EV charge station, and go for IPO to unlock more returns, leaving TENAGA in the dust.

@DickyMe seems reasonable. Not to mention we'll probably be feeding the solar panels manufacturer fatly lol

getingreal

405 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2022-02-09 13:05 | Report Abuse

Sadly Tenaga, and Malaysia large cap companies such as Banks etc. have become charitable institutions there to help the rotten governments of the day to look good. Interest freezing, lower tariffs, increased taxes etc etc. Free money is always popular with voters. However, its all at the cost of the shareholders who have seen their capital bases eroded to the point that many are simply giving up cashing out and leaving KLSE for greener pastures.

Just look at the drop in the daily turnover of the KLSE! Even EPF have given up on Malaysia and have been selling as fast as they can. Once the KLSE looses investor's it is very hard to get them to return.

Governments need to stop treating listed companies as their personal purses to take from to buy votes as they please. KLSE is looking decidedly sick in comparison with other regional markets. In short shareholders have grown very tired of loosing money here and their selling drives KLSE share prices ever lower. Its a vicious trend that will be hard to reverse.

Tenaga is a classic example, Just a year ago it was 10.00 a share now its 9.20, Maybank is another, 3 years ago Maybank was 10.00 a share now its 8.44, and these are KLSE blue chip companies. Malaysian companies now need to pay very good dividends to help attract new investors and try to win back back lost investors. Lets hope Tenaga will set an example.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-02-09 17:21 | Report Abuse

Hi smallkid91, I think you may need to reset your thinking regarding RE and Tenaga, as you seem to not quite grasp the concept clearly.

Perhaps if you can answer these questions you may have a better understanding about the position of RE and its imperative link to Tenaga as we move forward:

1. Apart from reducing the omissions, what is the reason for solar farms, wind farms and hydro stations?

2. In developed countries, why do the major power suppliers actively promote households to invest in solar panels on their property?

3. What benefits are there to major power suppliers buying power from companies creating solar farms?

4. Why do companies, like for example Solarvest and many others build and own solar farms?

The answers to those questions may give you a better view of the overall RE "revolution" and why everything in the supply chain needs to be interlinked.

kong73

2,065 posts

Posted by kong73 > 2022-02-09 20:16 | Report Abuse

Energy companies such as Shell areinvesting in RE..even our giant PETRONAS have stated their ambition to branch out to RE so it is exciting times gents

kong73

2,065 posts

Posted by kong73 > 2022-02-09 20:23 | Report Abuse

I ain’t nostradamus but looking that we are facing with climate crisis with global warming and topsy turvy weather patterns..the need to accelerate the RE plant production capacity for Tenaga and local energy oil and gas players require bigcash fundings. There will be competition between Tenaga and oil and gas energy companies and one day do not discount there there will be a merger of some sort to create a regional RE energy player that can offer lower electricity costs for the households and industries and reduce carbon emmissions

kong73

2,065 posts

Posted by kong73 > 2022-02-10 09:31 | Report Abuse

Haaa.. the edge reported that petronas will set up a new business entity to grow their RE business

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-02-10 09:56 | Report Abuse

kong73, Tenaga will be hoping that Petronas move quickly on this initiative. A win win scenario for both companies as the RE story moves forward.

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/petronas-plans-new-clean-energy-business-global-shuffle

kong73

2,065 posts

Posted by kong73 > 2022-02-10 10:07 | Report Abuse

Yeszaaa

14,898 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2022-02-10 20:27 |

choysun

4,412 posts

Posted by choysun > 2022-02-10 20:51 | Report Abuse

@DickyMe Yeap, 2:1 Bonus Issue :)

Posted by shareprofit > 2022-02-10 20:54 | Report Abuse

Khazanah and epf bz selling tenaga to pay own director fees and coming dividents

smallkid91

518 posts

Posted by smallkid91 > 2022-02-11 01:57 | Report Abuse

@treetophill I'm on the naive side. I'm taking the carbon pledge we made in the UN at face value.

From your points, i see that there are definitely pros and cons for tenaga to focus on the lower risk retail / transmission business, but to do that would be a long term downgrade in my view. (Despite what management says, i feel that MESI 2.0 is a long term negative for tenaga, as i still love the electric generation monopoly from TENAGA since We have about 21% coal revenue right now)

If u read between the lines in one of datuk megats recent edge interview, profits are not measuring sticks for the transformation in tenaga retail business. But it will be important to follow up on the generation business strategy before going investing much deeper into tenaga for long term shareholders

Posted by lionel messi > 2022-02-11 08:38 | Report Abuse

See, told ya your fan base is growing TreeTop. You should be a you tuber. Will be way better than the so called "investment advisors" you see there in multiple videos. In the guise of educating noobs and newbies. Actually just want to show off how little they know :)

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-02-11 09:27 | Report Abuse

lol @LM....you nut :)

I'd better get the merchandising team into full swing then. Perhaps ask the lovely Amber Chia to be the host/presenter :)

ahhhhh....I can see it now ~~~~~

:)

smallkid91

518 posts

Posted by smallkid91 > 2022-02-11 12:03 | Report Abuse

@lionel messi
Yeah, nice folks camp at TENAGA.

mywb

141 posts

Posted by mywb > 2022-02-11 21:30 | Report Abuse

Does not matter how good and how smart your point is. Look at the chart. Chart dont lies. Drop from rm18 to rm9. You all still want buy? Something is surely wrong some where. Good luck guys.

mywb

141 posts

Posted by mywb > 2022-02-11 21:32 | Report Abuse

Dont get influence by other so called smart investor. Look at the fact and real transacted price. If really good why foreigner selling. Think carefully.

Posted by lionel messi > 2022-02-12 08:43 | Report Abuse

Thought carefully already. Wanted to buy at 18 but didn't. Lucky me. 9 seems reasonable entry price to me. As the chart says, it's all in the price.

SHOB

617 posts

Posted by SHOB > 2022-02-13 09:29 | Report Abuse

good luck

getingreal

405 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2022-02-13 10:10 | Report Abuse

In 2016 Tenaga was over RM 16 a share now its only 9.16! Is it any wonder smarter investors are moving their capital to Singapore and elsewhere outside Malaysia? Tenaga needs to pay a good dividends to encourage investors that invest for returns. Gamblers will win or loose on their skyrocket companies but true investors look for long term dividend returns. Tenaga needs pay attractive dividends to set an example and help stem this sad dive in the values of Malaysian blue chip companies.

Diamond7

2,379 posts

Posted by Diamond7 > 2022-02-13 16:27 | Report Abuse

March 15tg will declare dividend
Hope it's above 58 cents

Somsak007

49 posts

Posted by Somsak007 > 2022-02-14 13:50 | Report Abuse

Mainly institution at play. Good time to enter at 9.14 to collect.

mywb

141 posts

Posted by mywb > 2022-02-14 14:42 | Report Abuse

Every year will drop rm1. I will collect when below rm6.

Somsak007

49 posts

Posted by Somsak007 > 2022-02-14 18:22 | Report Abuse

It is good company but always have to do charity mainly for B40. For M40 who retire and have no income, can be classified B40?

DickyMe2

1,509 posts

Posted by DickyMe2 > 2022-02-14 18:23 | Report Abuse

They cannot continue charity anymore because 70% bumi beggars according to PM.

VTrade

2,434 posts

Posted by VTrade > 2022-02-14 20:58 | Report Abuse

Tenaga macam tak bertenaga

Somsak007

49 posts

Posted by Somsak007 > 2022-02-14 22:48 | Report Abuse

Ayoyo ... must drink tongkat Ali

29,216 posts

Posted by mf > 2022-02-15 03:21 | Report Abuse

BREAKING
Dow falls 400 points as investors eye Russia-Ukraine tensions, Fed’s next move

Somsak007

49 posts

Posted by Somsak007 > 2022-02-15 12:04 | Report Abuse

senyap sunyi ... zzz

Karma4444

743 posts

Posted by Karma4444 > 2022-02-15 13:02 | Report Abuse

Bank shoot like mad

meistsk3134

2,368 posts

Posted by meistsk3134 > 2022-02-15 13:06 | Report Abuse

wheregot

Wirajati

610 posts

Posted by Wirajati > 2022-02-15 13:47 | Report Abuse

Come on drop below 9...no up power, but no down power too.

meistsk3134

2,368 posts

Posted by meistsk3134 > 2022-02-15 14:24 | Report Abuse

what happen to tenaga? it only a electric company in malaysia
i see epf keep pullout

Wirajati

610 posts

Posted by Wirajati > 2022-02-15 14:28 | Report Abuse

Epf need to pay dividend? Liquidate some, sadly they never sold below 9, otherwise tenaga already 8++ now.

Donator

1,141 posts

Posted by Donator > 2022-02-15 14:53 | Report Abuse

EPF pay dividend need cash meh?? they just update figure in the account only ma

Somsak007

49 posts

Posted by Somsak007 > 2022-02-15 19:09 | Report Abuse

EPF got better chance in other counters / countries with good returns. Rebate .... rebate .... rebate utk B40. Better jadi B40 dapat banyak discount

derickuan

170 posts

Posted by derickuan > 2022-02-16 11:20 | Report Abuse

EPF also throw Maybank but their price still going up. Crazy

Posted by investor6688 > 2022-02-17 15:41 |

Posted by investor6688 > 2022-02-18 10:14 |

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-02-21 09:47 | Report Abuse

I didn't have much time to follow the market last week but one thing I always do is check the daily short list and daily net shorts of a selected group of stocks I hold. For quite some time there has been very little change in the net short position of Tenaga......until the net short position as of Thursday close/ Friday open.

Prior to Thursday's trading, Tenaga had a net short position of 8,135,288 shares, that being a 0.14% of total shares issued.

As of Friday morning Tenaga's net position is no longer on the list, meaning it has fallen below the 0.1% status on the Bursa list. Even if we were to presume that it had gone just below that level to 0.09#, that would mean around 3 million shorted shares had been covered.

As I said, I didn't see much of the daily movements of Tenaga last week but what I did notice from my limited viewing was that each afternoon there appeared to be an orchestrated push down to the 9.10 area. I'm wondering if this was part of the short covering plan, as there was high volume going through around that price point.

Just a thought.

yrhc_eht

26 posts

Posted by yrhc_eht > 2022-02-21 10:03 | Report Abuse

any view on EPF keep dumping the shares recently?

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-02-21 10:12 | Report Abuse

Recently? They have been relentless sellers since around September last year.
The one mild positive is that the buyers have soaked up tens of millions of shares and the stock has "only" dropped around 10%. I believe many other EPF held stocks that could have suffered the endless selling would have been affected much worse that a 10% fall.

Only my opinion.

SincereStock

2,385 posts

Posted by SincereStock > 2022-02-21 12:15 | Report Abuse

newcomer here, has been investing in bursamalaysia for few years but this is my first time decided to buy a blue chip company. bought in at RM9.07

at this price level, I think TENAGA is the only blue chip company that is so undervalue, with attractive fundamental, it's PE is low, EPS has always been consistent is good, DPS is above ASB or EPF dividend rate. The only blue chip company that is currently traded below it's NTA? (correct me if I am wrong). most importantly, TENAGA is the only electric supply company in Malaysia! no competition!

my target price is it's NTA (RM9.78), because my main investing principle is not to hold any stock above it's NTA.

would be happy to gain a little side profit here for the first time in a blue chip company

good luck all <3

getingreal

405 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2022-02-21 13:40 | Report Abuse

Tenaga is a very undervalued company, simply because EPF keep dumping Tenaga shares. Their floor price seems to be just above 9.00, much above that they dump. But don't worry, they only have about 912,000,000 shares left to dump. Assuming they can keep dumping at an average rate of 1 million day (current sell rate) it will take them 912 trading days to run out. Allowing say 250 trading days a year, it will take them 3.5 to 4 years. However people will stop buying Tenaga from EPF because they wake up to the sad fact that these shares cannot rise much above 9.00 while EPF keeps selling, so then EPF may not be able to sell a million a day on the days the price stays at about 9.00. Unfortunately this means that it may take many more years to run them dry. After that then this share will fly.
In the interim can buy for the dividends with zero chance of Capital gain.

KimSua

512 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2022-02-21 13:52 | Report Abuse

Qtrly report coming end of the month. At the end of the day is the earnings that really counts, the rest are noises. Any ballpark prediction anywone? Based on trend/Daharki plant sale can be around 14B Revenue. PBT can be above 1.2 B hopefully. EPS of 20+ . If any negative accounting surprises will pull the stocks further down, which i don't see any at the moment.

SincereStock

2,385 posts

Posted by SincereStock > 2022-02-21 14:36 | Report Abuse

@getingreal that is just your predictions, nothing is zero chance in bursamalaysia

getingreal

405 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2022-02-21 14:56 | Report Abuse

@SincereStock, agreed and I'm often wrong. Just look back over the last year and see for your self.
I've owned this stock for many years and keep it for the dividend. I have closely followed its price and try to understand why its current price is so low. But by all means you make your own call.

SincereStock

2,385 posts

Posted by SincereStock > 2022-02-21 15:11 | Report Abuse

@getingreal for me it is simpler, undervalue = buy, and I don't ask why (unless it is fundamental issue, which means it is not actually undervalue),

as a pure fundamental investor, I don't buy any company at it's fair value or above

capital gain is the main meal, dividend is side dish. but as you said, the side dish here is worth while waiting for the main meal, win win situation with no risk of time loss even if need to wait long for the main meal

Posted by PassionateInvestor > 2022-02-21 15:45 | Report Abuse

@sincerestock just want to mention that Tenaga is the only electric supplier in Peninsular Malaysia. The arrangement is different for Sabah and Sarawak. Also to add that whilst it has monopoly in Peninsular, it still needs to buy commodities to generate electricity which might squeeze its earnings. Anyways like Kimsua said, the only thing that matter is the earnings - everything else will follow suit.