TENAGA NASIONAL BHD

KLSE (MYR): TENAGA (5347)

-0.32 (2.29%)

13.02 - 13.90

22 people like this.

13,620 comment(s). Last comment by Rose001 9 hours ago

Ken Chung

85 posts

Posted by Ken Chung > 2022-02-21 15:52 | Report Abuse

in sabah monopoly held by sabah electricity bhd. 80% owned by tenaga

Posted by TryMakeGoodBuy > 2022-02-21 15:58 | Report Abuse

EPF bought this counter at low price.
EPF needs funds and this is the counter to sell since they have almost a billion shares. Almost everyday EPF selling.
How price going to go up in the near time?
What ever dividend received not enough to cover capital lose!

SincereStock

2,385 posts

Posted by SincereStock > 2022-02-21 16:07 | Report Abuse

@passionateinvestor @kenchung yes I know that I am from Sabah myself, I am just not being precise in my statement by mentioning "penisular" malaysia. thanks for your clarification anyway ^_^

@trymakegoodbuy EPF will stop at some point. and by "point" I mean "price" instead of "time". as a major shareholder they sure don't want the price to fall beyond certain point.

entry price is always more important than entry time. just enter at a good price and let future unfold itself

SincereStock

2,385 posts

Posted by SincereStock > 2022-02-21 16:13 | Report Abuse

the price also cannot drop much more at this point, as it will create an unreasonably huge dividend rate, attracting even more value investors like myself to buy in

SincereStock

2,385 posts

Posted by SincereStock > 2022-02-21 16:18 | Report Abuse

do also take note that the current price is lower than during march 2020 when klci is at 1200 point. absolutely huge discount for the retailers

Zackmeiser

309 posts

Posted by Zackmeiser > 2022-02-21 17:59 | Report Abuse

Seems rm9 is difficult to hold. Probably going down further.

Wirajati

610 posts

Posted by Wirajati > 2022-02-21 21:56 | Report Abuse

Bought tenaga at a very low 9 about a month ago. Been waiting for 8++ ever since. Come 8++.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-02-22 08:14 | Report Abuse

n unusually high number of shares shorted yesterday in Tenaga, 1,038,100.

getingreal

405 posts

Posted by getingreal > 2022-02-22 11:49 | Report Abuse

EPF dumped another 1,722,000 yesterday.

Karma4444

743 posts

Posted by Karma4444 > 2022-02-22 12:03 | Report Abuse

Many shark shoot tenaga down

KimSua

512 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2022-02-22 12:21 | Report Abuse

Eventually shorties has to buy back, they won't get caught nearing dividend payment. Strong support at 9.00 . Qtrly end of the month with dividend announcement soon after. GDP growth at 5-6.5.
Shorties will shake out the weak holders before any uptrend is expected. How low we cannot predict.

Donator

1,141 posts

Posted by Donator > 2022-02-22 12:37 | Report Abuse

just let them dump...i will keep and get good dividend...

Posted by investor6688 > 2022-02-22 14:20 |

Kenokaya

174 posts

Posted by Kenokaya > 2022-02-22 15:48 | Report Abuse

Lai below 9

Kenokaya

174 posts

Posted by Kenokaya > 2022-02-22 15:53 | Report Abuse

When dividend?

Donator

1,141 posts

Posted by Donator > 2022-02-22 16:30 | Report Abuse

March confirm give...

jianwei90

66 posts

Posted by jianwei90 > 2022-02-22 16:47 | Report Abuse

went in my first batch at 9.01

M55555

1,098 posts

Posted by M55555 > 2022-02-22 17:20 | Report Abuse

Tenaga no tenaga to move up. Hope can get good dividend to cover paper lost.

Wirajati

610 posts

Posted by Wirajati > 2022-02-22 17:25 | Report Abuse

No power to move up, but no power to move down too. Revisiting my entry price 1 month+ ago.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-02-22 18:09 | Report Abuse

https://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/savemalaysia/2022-02-22-story-h1599233599-TNB_plans_RM20b_capex_for_2022_2024.jsp

Following the rising coal prices which touched a whopping US$270 (RM1,130) per tonne on October 5, 2021, it is understood that TNB would register a higher average coal cost for the financial year ended December 31, 2021 (FY2021) compared with the average coal cost of US$61 per tonne in FY2020.

However, the management team said that with the implementation of the ICPT based on the Regulatory Implementation Guidelines, the company would not make additional profits, nor suffer losses from a lower or higher generation cost, as the impact of ICPT on the company is neutral.

ICPT is a mechanism approved by the government and implemented by EC since January 1, 2014 as part of a wider regulatory reform called the IBR. It allows TNB to reflect changes in fuel and generation costs in consumer’s electricity tariff every six months.

Posted by mokluhanj21 > 2022-02-22 19:50 | Report Abuse

at this juncture, holding TNB is like holding bonds in a world where CBs are purposely keeping rates crazy low (ie capital appreciation effed) hahah
maybe it is turning into that asset class? people buying for the dvds and redemption value upon redemption ony

VTrade

2,434 posts

Posted by VTrade > 2022-02-22 23:18 | Report Abuse

Tenaga pecah record
Rss and dividen
Bantuan kepada shareholder lagi?

Posted by investor6688 > 2022-02-23 09:50 |

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-02-23 10:04 | Report Abuse

I'm taking my shares with me.

Posted by investor6688 > 2022-02-23 11:29 |

KimSua

512 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2022-02-23 13:52 | Report Abuse

Excerpts from TNB website on ICPT:-
<------------------------------
Imbalance Cost Pass-Through (ICPT) implementation for the period of 1 February – 30 June 2022 are as follows:

The Government has decided to maintain the current electricity tariff schedule for all customers in Peninsular Malaysia for the 3rd Regulated Period (RP3) from 1 February 2022 to 31 December 2024 under the Incentive Based Tariff (IBR) mechanism.

Higher fuel and generation costs for the period of 1 July – 31 December 2021 has resulted to additional generation cost of RM1,672 million.

To cushion the impact of high fuel and generation cost to customers, the Government has agreed to utilize available funding from Kumpulan Wang Industri Elektrik (“KWIE”) amounting to RM715 million.

The ICPT implementation period 1 February 2022 until 30 June 2022 has been approved.
--------------------------------------->
Q4 earnings might be high 14 Billion but the PBT might be capped ~1- 1.2billion again. However good news the ICPT has been approved starting 1 feb 2022. Expact better Q1 onwards, provided Russia/Ukraine does not escalated further

kysiow

Posted by kysiow > 2022-02-23 15:58 | Report Abuse

May I know this ICPT is good for tenaga? after read the statement still don't understand any impact for tenaga?

Ham5ter

Posted by Ham5ter > 2022-02-23 16:13 | Report Abuse

just wait till the QR release by next week, people will regret for not holding

kong73

2,065 posts

Posted by kong73 > 2022-02-23 16:16 | Report Abuse

Last year 2021 i received good dividends from Tenaga… i am looking fwrd to next week qtrly report

pooter

72 posts

Posted by pooter > 2022-02-23 18:12 | Report Abuse

hopefully this year also good

KimSua

512 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2022-02-24 08:01 | Report Abuse

ICPT was meant to be neutral for TNB but it was delay for the last 2 years. Govt only allow starting Feb 22. -ICPT will be review every 6 months to all offset any difference in the generation prices, especially Coal.
This is part of the strategy to protect the national energy infrastructure by allowing enough profit to reinvest in the national grid .
Separate Point:
EPF has been selling of from a high of 17.03% in Feb2021 to date of 15.8 % in Feb 2022 of total TNB shares.
This is couple with the recent shorts activities that can be seen the last quarters. Usually they work hand in hand . This matters as intrinsically TNB has not change as the business model (ICPT and monopoly as part of national infrastructure protection) is still intact . No one can predict how low will it go but we can see the shorts sell down has been very well supported at 9.00
I am eager to wait for the Qtrly report tomorow to show us where the money really is.

---Full Excerpts----
<---The ICPT implementation for period 1 February 2022 until 30 June 2022 is as follows:

DOMESTIC CUSTOMERS NON-DOMESTIC CUSTOMERS
The ICPT rate for Domestic customers is as follows:

a. The ICPT rebate of 2.00 sen/kWh from the last ICPT implementation period is maintained for all Domestic customers.

The ICPT surcharge for Non-Domestic customers is as follows:

a. An ICPT surcharge of 3.70 sen/kWh will be applicable to all Non-Domestic customers.

----------->

HowDareYou

1,285 posts

Posted by HowDareYou > 2022-02-24 09:50 | Report Abuse

impressive, small fishes vs EPF, can you win?

kong73

2,065 posts

Posted by kong73 > 2022-02-24 11:01 | Report Abuse

As long as tensga chruning out the lucrative dividends everybody wins

mywb

141 posts

Posted by mywb > 2022-02-24 14:42 | Report Abuse

Good luck everyone. I already give tips to avoid this counter.

mywb

141 posts

Posted by mywb > 2022-02-24 14:43 | Report Abuse

Next few years drop till rm 5-6 you all dont call me god. Hahahaha.

mywb

141 posts

Posted by mywb > 2022-02-24 14:44 | Report Abuse

Bec i know people in big fund that is pressing down the price. Hahahaha

SincereStock

2,385 posts

Posted by SincereStock > 2022-02-24 15:01 | Report Abuse

@mywb

russian war market sentiment / index problem, apa counter pun down la, this counter down 1% only today very resilent already lo

like this also make u feel proud ka?

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-02-24 15:08 | Report Abuse

Posted by mywb > Feb 24, 2022 2:44 PM | Report Abuse

Bec i know people in big fund that is pressing down the price

Know people in big funds?....lol

You probably don't even know who your father is.

Wirajati

610 posts

Posted by Wirajati > 2022-02-24 15:10 | Report Abuse

Yes, finally.

meistsk3134

2,368 posts

Posted by meistsk3134 > 2022-02-24 15:13 | Report Abuse

why tenaga will drop? it only 1 company monopoly in malaysia

KYF1984

4 posts

Posted by KYF1984 > 2022-02-24 15:17 | Report Abuse

Look like next Dividend will be much lower?

SincereStock

2,385 posts

Posted by SincereStock > 2022-02-24 15:24 | Report Abuse

today don't ask why tenaga drop la please. read news

KYF1984

4 posts

Posted by KYF1984 > 2022-02-24 15:35 | Report Abuse

Tenaga Kenapa jatuk teruk?

derickuan

170 posts

Posted by derickuan > 2022-02-24 15:45 | Report Abuse

Cheap sales....pick some up...^^