MALAYSIA SMELTING CORPORATION

KLSE (MYR): MSC (5916)

+0.13 (5.44%)

2.38 - 2.54

8 people like this.

4,929 comment(s). Last comment by kl_guy 6 hours ago

Brookenzo

275 posts

Posted by Brookenzo > 2021-05-04 14:59 | Report Abuse

Where the sotong sellers ?
Lol
We going 3 ringgit anyway

Posted by johnnygoodnews > 2021-05-04 16:09 | Report Abuse

Tin Futures - (TINc1)
RT-Derived

28,785.00 +432.50 +1.53%
02:01:18 - Real-time derived data. Currency in USD

Posted by johnnygoodnews > 2021-05-04 16:10 | Report Abuse

Next Dividend should be 20sen

james70

327 posts

Posted by james70 > 2021-05-04 18:48 | Report Abuse

Last FY2020, MSC's mining turnover was RM160.4M and a profit before tax of RM31.3M. Assuming the same mining rate and costs, the margin expansion comes directly from the tin price. Average tin prices in 2020 were at RM71.6k/t (FX RM4.20). At current prices of US$28,500/t (FX RM4.10), tin price is at RM116.9k/t, and a mining production of 2,200t of tin concentrate, MSC will register a revenue of RM257M. Pretax profit will expand to RM128M. 4X folks. And with a tax rate of 32% per FY2020, we can infer a net profit of RM87M or EPS of 22sen from mining alone. All this projections are on the conservative side as Datuk Patrick Yong did mention about increasing the daily tin production by 15% from 2020 in his recent interview.

With tin supply in a deficit state, many are expecting the same scenario that happened to Nickel in 2007 in which it raced from US$15k in 2006 to hit US$50k the following year. Many experts are postulating for this occurrence this year or the year after.

The catalyst is already there to propel MSC to greater heights. Many who are at the sidelines looking for Q1 or Q2 results for conviction will rue the chances when the ship has sailed away.

Brookenzo

275 posts

Posted by Brookenzo > 2021-05-04 19:20 | Report Abuse

Well said James 70
I concur with you
Exactly my thoughts
8-12 ringgit is not impossible by 2022 end to 2023
Let’s go past 3 ringgit to 5 ringgit first before June results

Brookenzo

275 posts

Posted by Brookenzo > 2021-05-05 10:26 | Report Abuse

Where are the sell selll fellows?
Lol

Brookenzo

275 posts

Posted by Brookenzo > 2021-05-05 10:31 | Report Abuse

3 ringgit we coming
Huat ah

james70

327 posts

Posted by james70 > 2021-05-05 10:32 | Report Abuse

Tin prices just surpassed $29k/t.

dalpinia

2,299 posts

Posted by dalpinia > 2021-05-05 11:29 | Report Abuse

https://www.lme.com/en-GB/Metals/Non-ferrous/Tin#tabIndex=2

As what I know, MSC is using LME price which is in Port Klang. The price for LME is USD32,397/ton on 4/5/2021

dalpinia

2,299 posts

Posted by dalpinia > 2021-05-05 11:33 | Report Abuse

the Group began a tin trading and marketing arm under the smelting division, which provides hedging, pricing and marketing links to the Kuala Lumpur Tin Market/London Metal Exchange (KLTM/LME)

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2018/12/21/malaysia-smelting-corp-fires-up-as-tin-demand-shines/

dalpinia

2,299 posts

Posted by dalpinia > 2021-05-05 11:33 | Report Abuse

The MSC Straits refined tin brand - registered at KLTM and LME - is accepted worldwide, and has purity ranging from the standard Grade A to the premium grade electrolytic tin.

dalpinia

2,299 posts

Posted by dalpinia > 2021-05-05 11:38 | Report Abuse

Port Klang emerging as a major LME warehousing hub:

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2020/08/28/port-klang-rapidlt-emerging-as-a-major-lme-warehousing-hub

1 of the key reason MSC moving its Prai plant to Pulau Indah which is near to LME Port Klang to save the transportation cost.

dalpinia

2,299 posts

Posted by dalpinia > 2021-05-05 11:40 | Report Abuse

2nd reason to convert the prai land into commercial land which is similar to F&N Sg Besi (KL) which was very sucessfull to make the extra value to the company

Brookenzo

275 posts

Posted by Brookenzo > 2021-05-05 11:44 | Report Abuse

It will be a tin mining and smeltering and property developer from next year onwards
Those who bought and keep are not going to sell cheap
The operators have take a lot a lot of the shares in market
Look at today market
It is very stable and green unlike most stocks which are red.
Thankful to the ceo leadership
Hope he bring lots of fortune to msc in years to come

Brookenzo

275 posts

Posted by Brookenzo > 2021-05-05 11:53 | Report Abuse

Next breakout 285-292 which may come soon.
Then finally the maiden number 3 ringgit
Hold tight tight believers

Brookenzo

275 posts

Posted by Brookenzo > 2021-05-05 12:59 | Report Abuse

2.70 ringgit
Wooohoo

JSoang Ooi

641 posts

Posted by JSoang Ooi > 2021-05-05 13:32 | Report Abuse

Tin price is crazy now..haha

Jimmy Lim

291 posts

Posted by Jimmy Lim > 2021-05-05 13:53 | Report Abuse

RM3 ? = SGD 1, still cheap for singapore kia

Brookenzo

275 posts

Posted by Brookenzo > 2021-05-05 14:14 | Report Abuse

One month 2 weeks left for operator to play to 5 ringgit for June end results
Waiting waiting waiting

james70

327 posts

Posted by james70 > 2021-05-05 14:34 | Report Abuse

Flying now

Brookenzo

275 posts

Posted by Brookenzo > 2021-05-05 14:49 | Report Abuse

Marky are you around ?
Lol

james70

327 posts

Posted by james70 > 2021-05-05 14:52 | Report Abuse

The FOMO will happen once we break the recent RM2.85 - RM2.92 resistance.

JSoang Ooi

641 posts

Posted by JSoang Ooi > 2021-05-05 14:55 | Report Abuse

lets break 2.94.. hehe

james70

327 posts

Posted by james70 > 2021-05-05 14:56 | Report Abuse

saya sokong

Hafid

1,135 posts

Posted by Hafid > 2021-05-05 15:00 | Report Abuse

dapat break kah. kalau dapat than kaya lah....kalau tak dapat than beli lagi dekat rm2.40

Posted by johnnygoodnews > 2021-05-05 15:00 | Report Abuse

Rm5 for jiu hu kia.. hahahaaaa

JSoang Ooi

641 posts

Posted by JSoang Ooi > 2021-05-05 15:13 | Report Abuse

Haha slow slow break ok dah..jangan cepat sangat..nanti turun lagi cepat..hahah..jangan skim cepat kaya..

Brookenzo

275 posts

Posted by Brookenzo > 2021-05-05 16:21 | Report Abuse

It’s ok we have plenty of time to wipe 3 ringgit off
Let’s enjoy the upsurge

Jimmy Lim

291 posts

Posted by Jimmy Lim > 2021-05-05 16:39 | Report Abuse

RM5 ? = SGD 1.7 singapore kia masih xleh kenyang

Jimmy Lim

291 posts

Posted by Jimmy Lim > 2021-05-05 16:40 | Report Abuse

smelly smelly SGD 2.5 baru full

Posted by johnnygoodnews > 2021-05-05 17:39 | Report Abuse

Tomorrow will fly to 2.88

Brookenzo

275 posts

Posted by Brookenzo > 2021-05-05 18:27 | Report Abuse

Tin market closes at 10-year high of US$30,700 a tonne

Wednesday, 05 May 2021 1:15 PM MYT

KUALA LUMPUR: The Kuala Lumpur Tin Market (KLTM) closed at a 10-year high of US$30,700 per tonne today, rising by US$450 from US$30,250 per tonne on Tuesday due to stronger demand from buyers, a dealer said.

He said the last time the KLTM had breached the US$33,000 per tonne level was in April 2011.

"The significant price hike was also in line with the metal’s upward momentum on the London Metal Exchange (LME), ” he said to Bernama, adding that the tin price rose by US$1,030 to end at US$29,330 per tonne on the LME.

As such, the price difference between the KLTM and the LME narrowed to a premium of US$1,370 per tonne from US$2,050 per tonne on Friday.

The LME was closed on Monday for the Early May Bank holiday.

At the opening bell, bids stood at 450 tonnes, while offers stood at 13 tonnes.

The local tin market received buying support from the United States, Pakistan, Bangladesh, China, South Korea, Japan, Taiwan, Europe and one local seller.

At the close, turnover eased by one tonne to 17 tonnes, while bids stood at 17 tonnes and offers at 22 tonnes. - Bernama

FCTITAN

35 posts

Posted by FCTITAN > 2021-05-05 18:56 | Report Abuse

Starting to be worried as following the tin expert on twitter, he mentioned that MSC is only having one furnace functioning, one out of five. I believe this is not good news :( dammit.

al8800

407 posts

Posted by al8800 > 2021-05-05 18:59 | Report Abuse

Tin (Demand >>>> Supply)

a. EV batteries
b. Semiconductors Industries
c. Solar

Tin is near future "Bitcoin".

Aluminum = PMetal

Tin = MSC , going to be next PMetal (Ringgit 10 before split), before end 4th quarter 2021

Hafid

1,135 posts

Posted by Hafid > 2021-05-05 19:06 | Report Abuse

That is the set back of MSC. expert the share price to be drop again...until there can resolve the production problem than the high price of tin will not benefit them.

lotuseater

151 posts

Posted by lotuseater > 2021-05-05 19:15 | Report Abuse

It’s partly because of them that the tin price is high... even with one furnace, they are setting the price on their own terms.
The people in this forum are plain speculators who expect the price to go up every day and spooked whenever there is a slight hint of negative news.

FCTITAN

35 posts

Posted by FCTITAN > 2021-05-05 19:25 | Report Abuse

Setting the price on their own terms is good, but only one furnace out of 5 is working makes me wonder whether the ASP is enough to cover the loss in volumes.

Brookenzo

275 posts

Posted by Brookenzo > 2021-05-05 20:20 | Report Abuse

Please read:

Our view: In 2020, MSC produced some 22,400 tonnes of refined tin. The furnace issues at Butterworth are expected to delay some 500 tonnes of refined tin production. However, Dr Yong expects the combination of the Butterworth and Port Klang smelters to be more than sufficient to recoup the lost production. “Together with the five furnaces at [Butterworth], we should be catching up with the hiccups caused by the Covid and breakdowns. We are grateful to have very understanding customers who have been bearing up with the situation.”

So if you have missed the boat below 2.40 ringgit
Don’t come here and talk nonsense about it’s furnace failure la
The ceo datok already explained and he know more than all of us whether he can cover the Downtime.
And it’s not a big amount.
Spread fear no use one. That day one marky smart marky already said operator listened to him and sell down. Has been missing for days already now 2.76 and again when we hit 3 plus and profit taking he will come out again as usual.
Look at June result then let’s see whether the current tin price helps or not.

I am heavily vested and so I am biased but I have facts and basis to back up.
Tin price is up is due to the supply is super short and this will only be better til 2023.
Win or lose do own diligence

toto

1,421 posts

Posted by toto > 2021-05-05 20:24 | Report Abuse

Brookenzo, thank you for yr sharing

Brookenzo

275 posts

Posted by Brookenzo > 2021-05-05 20:26 | Report Abuse

Bro Fctitan
FYI
It’s not 1 furnace which is working .

In communication with ITA, MSC chief executive officer Dato’ Dr Patrick Yong explained that the different furnaces will come back online over the next month. “One of them will be up and running today and another in one week” he said. “The third is expected to be on line in a month or so.”

And they are ramping up Pulau indah
So? Is it a lot of downtime ?
Not really.

Cheers
My views are biased though but if you have been following how the operator collect since February till now you will know it is in better shape to move to a different ground than before when it started from 80 cent and crashed down.

I am waiting to see 5 ringgit minimum soon

Brookenzo

275 posts

Posted by Brookenzo > 2021-05-05 20:53 | Report Abuse

Brookenzo Next breakout 285-292 which may come soon.
Then finally the maiden number 3 ringgit
Hold tight tight believers
05/05/2021 11:53 AM

My breakout range touched 286 and then profit taking and flushed 276. Will try again 285-292. If break, then 300 will break for sure right after
Shortists and naysayers will think otherwise
To each his own. Do your own due diligence

FCTITAN

35 posts

Posted by FCTITAN > 2021-05-05 20:58 | Report Abuse

Before i start commenting, Brookenzo bro I want you to know that I am not spreading fear as Im holding shares of MSC as well, and similarly to you Im also heavily vested. These "facts" im sharing here are not for fearmongering purposes, Im just sharing my worries of the company, getting some info and opinion from yall.

The "facts" are from this guy--- @METhompson72 from Twitter, this guy is a guy who seems to be very knowledgeable in the tin industry, and many of his posts lets you know tin news faster than the news. I also know of the news which you are referring, which are dated 20/4 and his post is just two hours ago, which states that MSC is working on one furnace only. So, I'm quite worried for the long term as he mentions this will continue until the end of the year. Due to his words carry some weight, I'm abit shook by this news. All these will only be clarified by the upcoming QR, i doubt it will be lackluster since the disruption in these few months which the furnace was affected will not be reflected in this upcoming QR. But when the tin prices are increasing but the company isnt benefited by it due to its production problems, it really makes me worry.

FCTITAN

35 posts

Posted by FCTITAN > 2021-05-05 21:04 | Report Abuse

I've PMed the guy, asking whether his news on MSC running on one furnace is the latest news or what. I also forwarded him the 20/4 Dato Patrick Yong's statement, just waiting for his reply.

Brookenzo

275 posts

Posted by Brookenzo > 2021-05-05 21:30 | Report Abuse

Bro FC
I am not saying you are fear mongering and I referring to someone else you know I know has sold way back and now sour grapes want it go lower to his price to buy back
I am also showing what ceo is telling in interview
If an insider who is so accurate than the ceo
Then that insider should be ceo n that ceo should be giving false representation to shareholders
One must also not forget MSC is a tin miner and not a smeltering company alone
He already mentioned that they are ramping up Pulau indah to more than make up for it
Don’t forget Pulau Indah efficiency
Anyway the whole commodity super cycle will not run forever
It will stay awhile and still everyone must have own exit plans later on
One can never buy the cheapest or sell the highest all the time unless you are always lucky

FCTITAN

35 posts

Posted by FCTITAN > 2021-05-05 21:51 | Report Abuse

Ah, I see, thought the gun was pointed at me haha. Okay, thanks for the words, but I'm also keeping this insider's words at the back of my mind too hahaha. Hoping for better. Cheers.

Ibelieve

1,429 posts

Posted by Ibelieve > 2021-05-05 22:13 | Report Abuse

Are you guys aware that there is only one and only Tin counter in KLSE? So is it unique enough?

oohlala

112 posts

Posted by oohlala > 2021-05-05 23:02 | Report Abuse

Brookenzo, thanks for pointing out the interview newspiece. i was worried as Fctitan too after knowing the furnance down issue. However, it seems that is quite normal for the old smelting plant.

Statements below from the CEO is self explanatory. He clearly mention one (of the down furnance) will be back into service on the day of interview, NOT operating one furnance only.

<<<
1) In communication with ITA, MSC chief executive officer Dato’ Dr Patrick Yong explained that the different furnaces will come back online over the next month. “One of them will be up and running today and another in one week” he said. “The third is expected to be on line in a month or so.

2) Dr Yong expects the combination of the Butterworth and Port Klang smelters to be more than sufficient to recoup the lost production. “Together with the five furnaces at [Butterworth], we should be catching up with the hiccups caused by the Covid and breakdowns.
>>>

For those who interested to read, please find the link below.
https://www.internationaltin.org/msc-furnaces-fail-amidst-smelter-move/

brian3381

1,888 posts

Posted by brian3381 > 2021-05-05 23:36 | Report Abuse

Talk is easy. Comodity is cyclical. Once buble burst all metal counters masuk longkang

Brookenzo

275 posts

Posted by Brookenzo > 2021-05-05 23:56 | Report Abuse

brian3381 Cyclical la tis one. Even tin px high oso cannot reach back 270
22/04/2021 7:44 PM

Welcome back Mr Brain!
We all know commod are cyclical business
We also don’t know when the super cycle will end but one thing we know for sure is it has closed at 276 which is above what you have posted 2 weeks ago.
Mmmmm...
Masuk sayang

JSoang Ooi

641 posts

Posted by JSoang Ooi > 2021-05-06 10:29 | Report Abuse

add add... market so bad. hahah..