ASTRO MALAYSIA HOLDINGS BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): ASTRO (6399)

0.265 - 0.275

20 people like this.

8,237 comment(s). Last comment by chamlo 2 weeks ago

villa1668

1,236 posts

Posted by villa1668 > 2018-11-20 23:03 | Report Abuse

Yes, sunset biz. Limit down on the cards.

robert168

558 posts

Posted by robert168 > 2018-11-21 08:36 | Report Abuse

limit down later?

LuckyG

1,698 posts

Posted by LuckyG > 2018-11-21 08:49 | Report Abuse

yes come baby . limit down

LuckyG

1,698 posts

Posted by LuckyG > 2018-11-21 09:07 | Report Abuse

all talk only.... so little dumping

naruko

338 posts

Posted by naruko > 2018-11-21 09:29 | Report Abuse

haha, wait for lower to collect, don't rush first

limunn

20 posts

Posted by limunn > 2018-11-21 09:30 | Report Abuse

There used to be some players in this industry such as MegaTV if I'm not wrong... All these can't beat Astro. Astro has its own radio stations, satelitte, Movie making, news reporting and now possible merger with Maxis making it stronger. Do u really think it's a threat for Astro?

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2017/08/16/astro-to-face-competition-from-new-cable-tv-operator-ansa-broadcast/#IeUct65tO0UEHePQ.99

linges

2,689 posts

Posted by linges > 2018-11-21 09:33 | Report Abuse

Tambah sikit @ 1.15

Victor Yong

8,271 posts

Posted by Victor Yong > 2018-11-21 10:40 | Report Abuse

since last year already made known about the competitors but habuk pun takda dan lemah, macam mana nak lawan astro pulak :)

Astro to face competition from new cable TV operator Ansa Broadcast

Business News

Wednesday, 16 Aug 2017

According to the research house, Ansa Broadcast was previously known as U-television, a cable TV operator that is a subsidiary of tycoon Tan Sri Vincent Tan’s Berjaya group. (File pic shows Astro's building)

PETALING JAYA: Astro Malaysia Holdings Bhd’s exclusivity as the sole satellite pay-TV operator in the country has come to an end, as it will soon face competition from a new cable TV operator called Ansa Broadcast.

Hong Leong Investment Bank (HLIB) said its channel checks revealed that a new player in the form of Ansa Broadcast is in the midst of entering the satellite pay-TV segment.

According to the research house, Ansa Broadcast was previously known as U-television, a cable TV operator that is a subsidiary of tycoon Tan Sri Vincent Tan’s Berjaya group.

“While details remain scarce, we understand that Ansa is currently deciding which satellite solution to adopt, either to lease bandwidth from operators or launch its own satellite. Implementation may take some time before service is officially launched,” it said in its report yesterday.

With Ansa’s entrance as a new direct-to-home (DTH) satellite player, Astro will face the pressure which had been absent for past 20 years. Astro’s exclusivity clause finally ended in February 2017.

While many non-satellite broadcasters such as ABNXcess, MiTV and Mega TV had failed historically, Ansa Broadcast is not expected to be an overnight success but it can be disruptive, offering aggressive pricing and content variances, HLIB noted.

The research firm has downgraded Astro to a “hold”, with a lower target price of RM2.47 from RM2.98 based on a discounted cash flow valuation.

“Astro is facing dismal advertising expenditure (adex) growth due to weak consumer sentiment. Besides, the challenging business environment from aggressive shifts in the media platform from traditional to digital is leaving the company in a tough position,” it added.

According to HLIB, Astro is reportedly seeking fair ground against the over-the-top (OTT) players in Malaysia and wants these players to be regulated by the Communication and Multimedia Act 1998.

“Astro believes that with a level playing field upon regulation, it will be in a better position, as it owns most of the broadcasting rights in Malaysia.”

Shares of Astro closed two sen lower to RM2.69.

Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2017/08/16/astro-to-face-competition-from-new-cable-tv-operator-ansa-broadcast/#1DlZ32QTjOxQW43f.99

LuckyG

1,698 posts

Posted by LuckyG > 2018-11-21 10:53 | Report Abuse

no need dream .... there is no limit down ... :(

Victor Yong

8,271 posts

Posted by Victor Yong > 2018-11-21 10:57 | Report Abuse

bagus

19-Nov-2018 Insider MR ANANDA KRISHNAN TATPARANANDAM ("TAK") (a substantial shareholder) acquired 394,200 shares on 16-Nov-2018.
19-Nov-2018 Insider MR ANANDA KRISHNAN TATPARANANDAM ("TAK") (a substantial shareholder) acquired 200,000 shares on 15-Nov-2018.

Victor Yong

8,271 posts

Posted by Victor Yong > 2018-11-21 10:59 | Report Abuse

EPF acts as trader to buy or sell to provide liquidity for astro shares haha

19-Nov-2018 Insider EMPLOYEES PROVIDENT FUND BOARD ("EPF") (a substantial shareholder) disposed 1,800,000 shares on 15-Nov-2018.
19-Nov-2018 Insider EMPLOYEES PROVIDENT FUND BOARD ("EPF") (a substantial shareholder) acquired 473,600 shares on 15-Nov-2018.
19-Nov-2018 Insider EMPLOYEES PROVIDENT FUND BOARD ("EPF") (a substantial shareholder) acquired 30,000 shares on 15-Nov-2018.
16-Nov-2018 Insider EMPLOYEES PROVIDENT FUND BOARD ("EPF") (a substantial shareholder) disposed 500,000 shares on 14-Nov-2018.
16-Nov-2018 Insider EMPLOYEES PROVIDENT FUND BOARD ("EPF") (a substantial shareholder) acquired 947,100 shares on 14-Nov-2018.
15-Nov-2018 Insider EMPLOYEES PROVIDENT FUND BOARD ("EPF") (a substantial shareholder) disposed 3,560,936 shares on 13-Nov-2018.
15-Nov-2018 Insider EMPLOYEES PROVIDENT FUND BOARD ("EPF") (a substantial shareholder) acquired 473,600 shares on 13-Nov-2018.

angkokann

705 posts

Posted by angkokann > 2018-11-21 11:34 | Report Abuse

everyday limit down. wait to buy at 0.1 loh

Posted by Johnson Wong > 2018-11-21 11:54 | Report Abuse

Why no limit down?

limunn

20 posts

Posted by limunn > 2018-11-21 13:53 | Report Abuse

This kind of news is not something new. Astro is just too strong to be defeated.

Victor Yong

8,271 posts

Posted by Victor Yong > 2018-11-21 15:00 | Report Abuse

mau mainkah? :)

Astro Malaysia Holdings may soon test the RM1.25 level. It may experience a technical rebound upon a successful recovery above this point with a target price of RM1.40. Meanwhile, it may continue moving sideways if it fails to cross the RM1.25 mark in the near term. In this case, support is anticipated at RM1.15, whereby traders may exit on a breach to avoid the risk of a further correction.

Trading Call: Buy on technical above RM1.25

Target: RM1.40 (time frame: 3-6 weeks)

Exit: RM1.15

Source: AmInvest Research - 19 Nov 2018

LuckyG

1,698 posts

Posted by LuckyG > 2018-11-21 15:12 | Report Abuse

waiting at 1.00 ... come dump heavy .

linges

2,689 posts

Posted by linges > 2018-11-21 15:39 | Report Abuse

me too ...waiting for 1.00 to sapu...currently avg holding price 1.22

LuckyG

1,698 posts

Posted by LuckyG > 2018-11-21 16:55 | Report Abuse

my cost higher 1.245 .....:(( . when 1.06 i still waiting should key in buy straight

Posted by Chaostrader > 2018-11-21 17:12 | Report Abuse

It went up frm 1.05 to 1.25 in a few days...profit taking. Just hold tight.

Posted by donlikestudy > 2018-11-21 23:12 | Report Abuse

omg why no limit down? No bargain for good stock :(

villa1668

1,236 posts

Posted by villa1668 > 2018-11-22 06:46 | Report Abuse

Let say PH government force Astro to reduce their subscription fee to clients, then confirm limit down.

villa1668

1,236 posts

Posted by villa1668 > 2018-11-22 06:55 | Report Abuse

Any rebound is a time to take profit or sell, then switch your capital to other potential counters. Never invest in sunset industry. Ask yourself, u spend more time surge i3 or watch Astro channel? If your answer is i3, that mean you agreed with me that people are relying on Internet already....Internet can do many things, can watch a lot of movie, drama, football live, etc. Why we need to pay extra to Astro and stick your time on sofa to watch Astro channels?

villa1668

1,236 posts

Posted by villa1668 > 2018-11-22 07:00 | Report Abuse

Back to 10 years ago, have to subscribe Astro then only can watch Football live. We have no choice and willing to pay that time. Tv Box and Internet are the major threat for Astro, we need to admit the trend that numbers of subscribers who cut Astro’s service is higher than new subscribers.

naruko

338 posts

Posted by naruko > 2018-11-22 08:24 | Report Abuse

agree with you villa1668, so please sell cheap ;)

limunn

20 posts

Posted by limunn > 2018-11-22 12:03 | Report Abuse

villa1668 wait no more. sell it.

laychee

1,743 posts

Posted by laychee > 2018-11-22 13:22 | Report Abuse

Astro make money from TV ads and TV shopping also. It also make local film that broke Malaysia ticket sales record 3 years ago. That film later showed in Singapore and Taiwan cinema. What TV box? Subsription is not major income.

Victor Yong

8,271 posts

Posted by Victor Yong > 2018-11-23 09:28 | Report Abuse

div yield, roe, PE, etc, semuanya indah :)

ASTRO Share Price Movement
Last Change Volume
1.170 0.000 (0.00%) 69
Open Day Range Ref
1.170 1.170 - 1.170 1.170

ASTRO Financial Information
Market Capital (RM) 6.101b
Number of Share 5.214b
EPS (cent)* 9.97
P/E Ratio 11.74
ROE (%) 89.82
Dividend (cent)^ 12.500
Dividend Yield (%) 10.68
Dividend Policy (%) 0
NTA (RM) 0.111

Michael87

27 posts

Posted by Michael87 > 2018-11-23 11:06 | Report Abuse

Why EPF keep dumping???? AK accumulate not as many as EPF dumping

laychee

1,743 posts

Posted by laychee > 2018-11-23 11:12 | Report Abuse

Anyone can dump anything they want.

Remember that time AirAsia being short sold to RM0.80?

That forced Tony to come back from oversea to fix it.

I am not sugar coating this. Please trade at your discretion. All political parties now want this company to die both Harapan and BN. TAK has to act quick.

Victor Yong

8,271 posts

Posted by Victor Yong > 2018-11-23 13:51 | Report Abuse

epf should negotiate with ananda or khazanah to sell all or reduce his stake in astro. no need to sell in the open market, direct sale could fetch higher price :)

naruko

338 posts

Posted by naruko > 2018-11-23 14:00 | Report Abuse

don't trust analyst. trust yourself. haha

laychee

1,743 posts

Posted by laychee > 2018-11-23 14:54 | Report Abuse

If pay attention to every trade, it is pushed down by massive dumping in 1 minute.

Hopefully those anal lice and fun managers go for long holiday with kids and wives after today.

ivan9511

3,854 posts

Posted by ivan9511 > 2018-11-23 15:32 | Report Abuse

ivan9511 Too Cheap
Too cheap just all in
ivan9511 must buy
rich until billions
many good assets inside this company\

comfirmupppppp

ini sudah mau limit uppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppp
watch ini good asset company is limit upppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppp

limit upppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppp

comfirm up

limit upppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppp
21/11/2018 16:23
22/11/2018 14:48

Posted by Enemiemannan > 2018-11-23 17:02 | Report Abuse

i would say is best time to collect stock with good fundamental...

PVA1

59 posts

Posted by PVA1 > 2018-11-23 19:02 | Report Abuse

You can see EPF selling very aggressively, Templeton buying a bit for EPF and then stayed away, and now Affin-Hwang buying for EPF.

Astro is traditionally low volume. With EPF so eager to pare down its stake near term pressure remains

PVA1

59 posts

Posted by PVA1 > 2018-11-23 19:02 | Report Abuse

On the other hand, it is seen that EPF is selling every counter. There are less than a handful that EPF is actually buying these 2 months.

villa1668

1,236 posts

Posted by villa1668 > 2018-11-23 19:53 | Report Abuse

Before i installed tv box, i used Njoi, the reason i installed because i need the channel 301. Installed one time, can watch forever, no need pay subscription fee to Astro. I believe i am not the only one, many people dont watch Astro already.

villa1668

1,236 posts

Posted by villa1668 > 2018-11-23 19:58 | Report Abuse

Astro is like newspapers, youngsters don’t like already. Younger generations rely on Internet nowadays. Interest can get immediately info, why need to wait the newspaper or waiting on sofa to watch the news from Astro? Last time, we can see that our parents sit on sofa to watch news, but our parents know how to use smartphone, most of them don’t watch anymore.

villa1668

1,236 posts

Posted by villa1668 > 2018-11-23 20:03 | Report Abuse

When i was young, i used tv news to watch football highlights; get the football results from newspapers. Suddenly recalled your childhood life? Is it same like me?

villa1668

1,236 posts

Posted by villa1668 > 2018-11-23 20:05 | Report Abuse

Now, I used tv box or go mamak to watch football, or surge www.livescore.com to get football results.

LuckyG

1,698 posts

Posted by LuckyG > 2018-11-23 23:01 | Report Abuse

Dump the price to 1.00 pls . You talk so much also haven't touch 1.00 . Useless .

angkokann

705 posts

Posted by angkokann > 2018-11-23 23:48 | Report Abuse

i kept my tvbox aside long time ago and even used kodi b4, not that good still. oh When Astro goes Rm1, i will buy again hihi

linges

2,689 posts

Posted by linges > 2018-11-24 00:05 | Report Abuse

1.00 im waiting for u eagerly :)

geraldt9

904 posts

Posted by geraldt9 > 2018-11-24 13:19 | Report Abuse

What happened to the other four licence holders ... still ' playing dead ' and getting ' gaji buta ' from Astro'nanda ..??

laychee

1,743 posts

Posted by laychee > 2018-11-25 10:46 | Report Abuse

Two of most badly hit counters in Khazanah are TM and Astro in terms of percentage. Both are related to GoBlind recent actions. 1. Improve the internet speed which TM rejected and deserve the plunge
2. RTM broadcast of World Cup being used as Astro monopoly of tv programs which later proved that money is king and RTM is poor and still puts the blame on Astro being rich.

GoBlind is fighting hard to make sure these companies suffer to pave way to improve the lives of poor people which will guarantee a later easy reelection.

angkokann

705 posts

Posted by angkokann > 2018-11-25 13:42 | Report Abuse

EPF also badly hit by tm and astro. Low DY of epf this year ?

Godiva

184 posts

Posted by Godiva > 2018-11-25 20:36 | Report Abuse

Goblind is a joke

Posted by Chaostrader > 2018-11-25 20:38 | Report Abuse

I cancelled my Astro years ago...now only Netflix n tv box or mamak shop. I mentioned b4...it's a sunset business n only uncles n aunties watching.

Posted by Chaostrader > 2018-11-25 20:42 | Report Abuse

Singapore has blocked Internet access used by tv boxes n illegal streaming services...would Gobind do it too? I doubt it.

villa1668

1,236 posts

Posted by villa1668 > 2018-11-25 23:16 | Report Abuse

Majority people watch video from Youtube, Facebook, drama websites already.