ASTRO MALAYSIA HOLDINGS BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): ASTRO (6399)

0.265 - 0.275

20 people like this.

8,237 comment(s). Last comment by chamlo 2 weeks ago

LuckyG

1,698 posts

Posted by LuckyG > 2018-11-30 16:51 | Report Abuse

last min press down 5cents .....

naruko

338 posts

Posted by naruko > 2018-11-30 16:53 | Report Abuse

last day removing from MSCI? expected?

laychee

1,743 posts

Posted by laychee > 2018-11-30 17:22 | Report Abuse

10 times the normal volume. Hope it was not pump and dump.

singh1

1,008 posts

Posted by singh1 > 2018-11-30 20:21 | Report Abuse

Big buyer, Big seller do handshake at 1.20
Quarterly results coming. Now taking bets!! Big up? Big down? Sideways?
You are most welcome to Bursa Casino.

naruko

338 posts

Posted by naruko > 2018-11-30 22:02 | Report Abuse

forex lost is expected, please do not give high hope on the next QR
although I am holding a lot, must face the truth

singh1

1,008 posts

Posted by singh1 > 2018-11-30 23:02 | Report Abuse

Institutional investors own close to about 90% of shares. Emotional and panicky retail investors are only in the 10% segment of shareholders. After the mindless panic selling is over, the price will recover quite a lot. Just my 2 sens.
Short term effects on profits are a usual thing for most businesses. Important is the business model. Is the business now and into the future safe? It has a very commanding position in the market, as such it will not be affected by newcomers trying to grab some of the pie. May lose a little to some smaller fish, that's about all. At least for the next few years. Beyond that very hard to say.

singh1

1,008 posts

Posted by singh1 > 2018-11-30 23:05 | Report Abuse

naruko The results are expected to be out Dec 5th, lets see. I am hoping the profit will be above 2 sens / share. That will be enough to bring stability and then slowly move forward from there.

singh1

1,008 posts

Posted by singh1 > 2018-11-30 23:12 | Report Abuse

One thing that bugs me though, is the 100 + Million shares traded in the last hour of trading. Which major shareholder offloaded and who bought those shares???? Anyone with an answer?

naruko

338 posts

Posted by naruko > 2018-12-01 09:14 | Report Abuse

we shall wait to see the QR
I am ready to invest more on big drop

naruko

338 posts

Posted by naruko > 2018-12-01 09:19 | Report Abuse

since khazanah reducing its stake, we will see another big fund coming in like for IHH is mitsui

Posted by stockjobber > 2018-12-01 16:09 | Report Abuse

Astro is damned... with tv box, you pay one time to buy the device and more than 200 channels are for you to watch for free for life; no need to lay cables, no need to pay monthly rentals and be able to watch even during thunderstorm and raining, just plug in the internet and there you go....!

laychee

1,743 posts

Posted by laychee > 2018-12-01 19:11 | Report Abuse

Yes. Illegal TV box can be a threat. Singapore just banned illegal TV box. Actually Astro recorder is also a TV Box. You can either connect through wifi or satelite dish. But Malaysian like free stuff. Harapan may not ban illegal TV box as it could hurt poor people whom they consider as human. Rich people are non human.

singh1

1,008 posts

Posted by singh1 > 2018-12-02 02:58 | Report Abuse

I hope Astro and Telekom can form JV. It will be a win win for both stocks. Should be able to lower their rates and ban illegal TV box. Offer package at affordable prices for clients that subscribe to phone, tv and internet bundle. Bundling of services is a great way to increase customer base and revenue. Home security is another item to add.

SDR245

1,675 posts

Posted by SDR245 > 2018-12-02 19:47 | Report Abuse

Waiting to buy. But not now

laychee

1,743 posts

Posted by laychee > 2018-12-03 01:40 | Report Abuse

Astro now bundle with Maxis fibernation to turn existing recorder into a TV Box but not cheap.

singh1

1,008 posts

Posted by singh1 > 2018-12-03 10:18 | Report Abuse

For cheap they have to partner TM. Anyways nice to see price starting to rebound.

angkokann

705 posts

Posted by angkokann > 2018-12-03 10:42 | Report Abuse

what sunset business, uncle aunty sit on sofa watch only, watch illicit streaming, youngsters use phone only and bla bla. now share price up quite fast... haha

laychee

1,743 posts

Posted by laychee > 2018-12-03 11:11 | Report Abuse

Astro "Go" is for youngsters to watch channels on mobile devices legally. It has been there for years. I potong TM bcos too expensive. Maxis FiberNation just RM89. Max speed 100MB, around 20-100 times faster than TM. TM line is also too slow to stream 4k content which Astro will debut these few weeks.

Posted by Chaostrader > 2018-12-03 11:23 | Report Abuse

Another trap...will go back to below 1.10. Like it or not...Astro is at the end of its business life cycle...Juz too many threats.

angkokann

705 posts

Posted by angkokann > 2018-12-03 12:20 | Report Abuse

man man tan

LuckyG

1,698 posts

Posted by LuckyG > 2018-12-03 14:53 | Report Abuse

wakakaka . lai lai lai

mrstrong

285 posts

Posted by mrstrong > 2018-12-03 17:09 | Report Abuse

+10 sen, nice one

tzerteoh

110 posts

Posted by tzerteoh > 2018-12-03 17:15 | Report Abuse

good qtr report?

laychee

1,743 posts

Posted by laychee > 2018-12-03 17:21 | Report Abuse

My guess is good. But you never know. It is a bet or gamble if you place the money before the report is out. For real investors, they will wait for the result to come out before placing the bets on the table.

It all depends on your risk management style.

naruko

338 posts

Posted by naruko > 2018-12-03 17:34 | Report Abuse

any figure better than last QR is good, haha

Posted by GordonGrowth > 2018-12-04 17:48 | Report Abuse

last chance to load up and USD is reversing!!

naruko

338 posts

Posted by naruko > 2018-12-05 14:38 | Report Abuse

last QR release late, I doubt this QR will release so soon

Posted by moneytrail > 2018-12-05 17:23 | Report Abuse

QR out. Ok results.

Posted by EatCoconutCanWin > 2018-12-05 17:29 | Report Abuse

wow..good result

naruko

338 posts

Posted by naruko > 2018-12-05 17:29 | Report Abuse

I guess EPF buy at last minute

MrKiaSi

21 posts

Posted by MrKiaSi > 2018-12-05 17:31 | Report Abuse

Someone know earlier, the QR back to Normal....then buy last min.

mrstrong

285 posts

Posted by mrstrong > 2018-12-05 17:40 | Report Abuse

estimated 1 year dividend 10.5 cent, 0.105 / 1.29 x 100 = 8.1% dividend... do you see it ?

angkokann

705 posts

Posted by angkokann > 2018-12-05 17:41 | Report Abuse

haha what aunty uncle sit on sofa watch, sunset business, use handphone watch movie, tv box, penny stock, now what happen, result is good. shit....

MrKiaSi

21 posts

Posted by MrKiaSi > 2018-12-05 17:56 | Report Abuse

"Angkokann" Ilike your comment !!! haha!

singh1

1,008 posts

Posted by singh1 > 2018-12-05 18:04 | Report Abuse

Yes!! Sweet results, back to normal. Too many doomsayer comments. Astro already said last quarter poor results was due to world cup soccer one off expense. That was due to PH celebrating elections win, show live matches free on RTM (gov't tv channels). It gave Astro a kick in the balls. Hurt a lot but it was a one time thing only. After a few months in hospital now starting to walk again.. Cheers!!!

somo1

178 posts

Posted by somo1 > 2018-12-05 18:07 | Report Abuse

Really, a declining revenues is a good result?? The writing is on the wall, rather.

Posted by EatCoconutCanWin > 2018-12-05 18:09 | Report Abuse

the question is how many % will rise ? 10% or 20% or 30%?

LuckyG

1,698 posts

Posted by LuckyG > 2018-12-05 18:10 | Report Abuse

yes . 2.81c eps . back to normal .

angkokann

705 posts

Posted by angkokann > 2018-12-05 18:16 | Report Abuse

Astro is DY stock and not a growth stock, dont expect revenue will increase a lot as long it can maintain at this level ok, dy is so attractive now hihi. Go back watch your illicit streaming in tv box lah by using handphone.

mrstrong

285 posts

Posted by mrstrong > 2018-12-05 18:28 | Report Abuse

Go Shop saw its customer base grew by 35% y-o-y to 1.6mn and recorded its highest ever quarterly
revenue at RM98mn. Go Shop will continue to provide value, increase its product variety and create more
entertaining content to cater to different customer segments.

FLINV

217 posts

Posted by FLINV > 2018-12-05 22:03 | Report Abuse

QR result better than my expectation.

Posted by shortinvestor77 > 2018-12-05 22:16 | Report Abuse

Henry Tan said: “In light of the challenges, we are implementing a strategic review of our business and
organisational structure; including deeper cost rationalisation and workforce optimisation, which will
incur one-off costs in the coming months.

Posted by shortinvestor77 > 2018-12-05 22:18 | Report Abuse

Next (next) Qs will have one-off costs most likely VSS or MSS for staff. High cost. Extremely bad!

laychee

1,743 posts

Posted by laychee > 2018-12-05 22:46 | Report Abuse

For US, this is not a good result. For Malaysian, this is still ok. Mainly due to slightly lower revenue which I expected a break-through with a new CEO. Lower revenue with such a good profit signified a kedukut boss. I think Astro needs an visionary boss rather than a stingy boss to transform into another revenue boosting company.

So the upside could be quite limited.

Posted by Underdog888 > 2018-12-06 05:41 | Report Abuse

Santa Claus is back to town

Posted by Underdog888 > 2018-12-06 05:48 | Report Abuse

Net profit from 16.6M to 153.2M!!!!

Beza

1,847 posts

Posted by Beza > 2018-12-06 08:22 | Report Abuse

Retrenchment of staff in the quarters to come. Far less profits.

shortinvestor77 Henry Tan said: “In light of the challenges, we are implementing a strategic review of our business and
organisational structure; including deeper cost rationalisation and workforce optimisation, which will
incur one-off costs in the coming months.
05/12/2018 22:16

Beza

1,847 posts

Posted by Beza > 2018-12-06 08:46 | Report Abuse

Up first then drop back kaw-kaw.

Posted by golddiggerboy > 2018-12-06 08:54 | Report Abuse

8.2% dividend annually... that's tempting!!
bought some to keep better than put at bank.. :)))