ASTRO MALAYSIA HOLDINGS BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): ASTRO (6399)

0.265 - 0.275

20 people like this.

8,237 comment(s). Last comment by chamlo 2 weeks ago

Posted by amsharazzi > 2012-10-19 20:51 | Report Abuse

Hmmm... So sorry to say this but looking at it 2day, ASTRO will just be like Facebook next week. Not so much confident shown, 1D vol & support graph not so strong. More current holders (trader) will sell cheap to cut off on Monday onwards... As 4 an investor, 'maybe' good to jump in @ lowest. Personally, this counter not 4 me 2 consider presently. With the upcoming election, i consider better of with 'proven track record blue chips' if want to invest my MYR3.00/unit or so...

tand3

101 posts

Posted by tand3 > 2012-10-19 20:59 | Report Abuse

Satu Lagi Projek Kerajaan Satu Malaysia....

Untuk Malaysia dan Kita Boleh......

SC sudah suap kaw-kaw.....

Daniel 03

77 posts

Posted by Daniel 03 > 2012-10-19 21:15 | Report Abuse

u r correct amsharazzi! stay away frm this counter.........

bjaya

269 posts

Posted by bjaya > 2012-10-19 21:19 | Report Abuse

Gone were the days IPO scored big on debut. I remember many years ago I successfully applied for 1 lot of Klang Container Terminal (KCT). On debut i made RM 5k or about 100% . IPO nowadays yieds perhaps 5-10% on debut.

Posted by amsharazzi > 2012-10-19 21:28 | Report Abuse

talk2pkc & juggernault... Actually, U both r right on yur own-self verdict (trader vs investor). Congratulation 2 U, talk2pkc, 4 gettin 2.65% in a day of trading mate! Whilst applaud also 2 U, juggernault, 4 being reasonable in making decisions on investments... Cheers 2 both 4 yur future undertakings!!! ;-)

talk2pkc

2,303 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-19 21:38 | Report Abuse

amsharazzi, is always comforting to hv dialogue with professional & ethical attitude like yr goodselve , indeed , not everyone "goreng" their noodles with same ingredients and passion but it doesn't mean it taste worst !!!! Hv a great weekend .............. ciao

KowChye

181 posts

Posted by KowChye > 2012-10-19 21:50 | Report Abuse

cornerstone moratorium 3 months? then better wait and observe after 3 months. A FACEBOOK II? No one know for sure. I think the initial Price is high esp par at 0.10.

verylovely

127 posts

Posted by verylovely > 2012-10-19 22:03 | Report Abuse

Amsharazzi, good words!

lausp10

327 posts

Posted by lausp10 > 2012-10-19 22:35 | Report Abuse

For those who are still holding ASTRO I think we need to be rational and not get bogged down by too much negative sentiment currently. The stock still has fundamentals so if your line is full now then divest some to have cash flow to average down when it goes down further. Retail players always get full brunt back lash of "big corporate conspiracy", so to speak, whether Astro Malaysia or Facebook America. ASTRO share buyers don't give up. There is always a base price, Chua Ma Yu or others don't get shares for free !!

juggernault

1,895 posts

Posted by juggernault > 2012-10-19 22:37 | Report Abuse

I respect everyone for their comment, but i just dont like to see comment in an arrogant way.. thats all.. If thats the way they like to talk i will return them with the same way :D.. lol... cheerssss

talk2pkc

2,303 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-19 22:43 | Report Abuse

You mean I talk in politeness , ha ha You are easily to be impressed , me "arrogant" LOL LOL juggernaut is not worthwhile to get "up tight" , is unhealthy , I sincerely apologise if I touch your heart , at least I didn't touch yr pocket , just stay cool n have a jolly weekend and re-charge for Mon, ok ya .......... ciao

docasa

29 posts

Posted by docasa > 2012-10-19 23:46 | Report Abuse

Was told that macquarie cap sold down their block of shares

benson911

639 posts

Posted by benson911 > 2012-10-20 00:05 | Report Abuse

Ananda like to list then delist from market for his own benefit by earning fast money,sure investors less confident with this move. Besides,astro cant stand too long, in coming years, with introduction of post-tv device by apple or samsung, most channel may be easier to watch and mayb FOC, why we still need pay so much to Astro.

ruslimz

1,609 posts

Posted by ruslimz > 2012-10-20 00:15 | Report Abuse

IPO offer for astro with PE of more than 30. This is the highest ever PE for an IPO in malaysia. How this could happened?.SC is the regulator to protect the interest of investors in Malaysia especially we ikan bilis investors. Back in those days, sc regulates and approves the price for IPO. I remember sc used value of PE as a guide to approve the price for listing. The guidelines is PE of below than 10. Why this PE is so important? To protect the investors from over price IPO. Without this guideline, The advisor and the promoter of IPO will fixed the IPO price at they like to collect money as much as possible from investors. What surprised me was that, later sc which supposed to protect the interest of investors in the equity market had made decision that sc no more approve the price of IPO , the advisor and company could fixed their own price for IPO. Problems started. The climax is when Astro fixed its IPO price at PE more than 30 (sc guideline before this is below 10). So at rm3.00 and PE of more than 30, Khazanah and AK can collect money as much as possible. Yes, election is near. government needs more money or what. Present government is the most generous government ever during pre election period in Malaysia history. Who paid this for them?... us ikan bilis investors. Ask sc the regulator. Is this OK? Some people collect tons of money from IPO. Ikan bilis , if next week price drop below RM 3.00 pokai. Yes they said willing buyer willing seller. But how many these ikan bilis know the PE ratio. What they knew
were tikam, sure untung punya. Come on sc , equity market bukan untuk main tikam tikam lor? In facts pre astro listing, a lot of comments from analyst and investors that ASTRO IS OVER PRICE. But who cares. Did CIMB as IPO advisor,or khazanah or AK ? For cornerstone investors (now stonefaced investors) why are you all so blind this time. You buy RM 3.00 with PE 30 IPO. Hundreds of companies out there with low PE and declared good dividend.Why waste your money on astro IPO. WE IKAN BILIS,STONEDFACE INVESTORS , and INSTITUTION INVESTORS next time should be united in boycotting IPO with high PE.....who they are without we the investors. LETS TEACH THEM A LESSON.

ruslimz

1,609 posts

Posted by ruslimz > 2012-10-20 00:24 | Report Abuse

Lausp 10......we are talking about fundemental, THIS IS AN OVERPRICED IPO.

mcwong

402 posts

Posted by mcwong > 2012-10-20 00:33 | Report Abuse

I can wait Astro going down on price low ,they will do some Adjustment on the price .

mcwong

402 posts

Posted by mcwong > 2012-10-20 00:42 | Report Abuse

Better i buy SKpetro and Padini more better return .

mamafarah

97 posts

Posted by mamafarah > 2012-10-20 00:42 | Report Abuse

Boycott astro

mcwong

402 posts

Posted by mcwong > 2012-10-20 01:08 | Report Abuse

My target buy in below 2.60. But now i focus on PADINI very good return,local fashion retail . Every1 know this company .

talk2pkc

2,303 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-20 02:16 | Report Abuse

You never know !!!! I think this month existing major shareholders might be force to buy more to up hold price .........................

jlrh8122

48 posts

Posted by jlrh8122 > 2012-10-20 06:24 | Report Abuse

Concern bout next wk price coz dj is down ard 200 pts tday

ruslimz

1,609 posts

Posted by ruslimz > 2012-10-20 06:55 | Report Abuse

How the astro price will go up, this is not a growth stock. The subscribers already almost saturated. Without income growth...no price growth. But for astro stock holders , dont worry astro has a very simple formula how to keep income grows every year....by increasing subscription
fees every year......ha ha ha easy. So the astro subscribers, you can support astro price by paying more subscription fees.

juggernault

1,895 posts

Posted by juggernault > 2012-10-20 07:51 |

moven00

727 posts

Posted by moven00 > 2012-10-20 09:46 | Report Abuse

Nasi dah jadi bubur.... Monday sure drop somemore.

tand3

101 posts

Posted by tand3 > 2012-10-20 10:16 | Report Abuse

Bro pathew, thanks for the sharing.

Bro Moven, I also feel sad. Mega IPO become shitty and what is the difference between these Idiot AK and gang with the gold scam. All goes down to ripe the retail and public money.

The only difference is these Astro is legalized and well connected. In future I will alert more brothers here on IPO listing. More details.... So that people are more aware.
It's a shame the way they do it.
I read sharing from a bro here tht says the price is determined not by SC but AK and all the Big Big Investment Bank.

I sold mine all at 3.06, no choice but to sell. AND PLease don't even try to console yourself tht long term holding shld be ok. Bro and sis, we have so many more good counters out there that you can buy and hold for long term yet low PE and better dividend yield.

captros

152 posts

Posted by captros > 2012-10-20 10:18 | Report Abuse

They are again pocketing investor money. The IPO is damn expensive...to the maximum. Next year it goes for private/delisting for second times. Relisting will come in another 18 months from now. Dont worry.

mysaham

304 posts

Posted by mysaham > 2012-10-20 10:21 | Report Abuse

i got some of the IPO, just want to try my luck. when it open at RM3.03, i know, this no hold stock. sell all. got only small profit. not worth it but lucky, still got profit.

mcwong

402 posts

Posted by mcwong > 2012-10-20 10:39 | Report Abuse

Astro need increasing the fee every year or change channel pack. Ask you up grade channel, other way is take your money be their profit .

mcwong

402 posts

Posted by mcwong > 2012-10-20 10:41 | Report Abuse

Astro will say THANK YOU FOR SUPPORT WITHOUT YOU I POIKAI.

buybackma

790 posts

Posted by buybackma > 2012-10-20 11:10 | Report Abuse

SC should come out with new rules and guidelines. Companies that relist their shares will not allowed to delist/make it private their shares again and again. Government should looks very seriously on this matter. Our PM always said 1M is it? So what this time around 1M kena ma...please PM come out with your ideas to protect public and investors interest out there. AK is killing us quitely with blade.. if true AK made the decision
regarding the IPO then SC should be monitored by the MOF also. The last resorts is calculate back the freshed IPO and giving back the differences so public will not be cheated through IPO. Let us make a complain to our PM by be his FBook friend...hemmm good idea ma..Smiles..

talk2pkc

2,303 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-20 20:43 | Report Abuse

iMysia to me always mean 1Malaysia for "One person" ONLY , ha ha .......4sure Astro won't b my portfolio but 4sure b one of my active CONTRA counters , simply it is very ACTIVE counter jumping like Kangaroo , my target avg 1-2% profit daily as long I trade against Kangaroo trend , achieved day 1 with 2% plus profit RM!,800 plus not bad!!

Posted by Mr Ziet Army > 2012-10-20 21:27 | Report Abuse

SELL!

ruslimz

1,609 posts

Posted by ruslimz > 2012-10-20 22:11 | Report Abuse

previous big IPO ,CIMB as the adviser appointed price stabilizing manager
as the mechanism to support the price.....but it is very strange...why for astro IPO there is no such arrangement....may be CIMB realized that the IPO is overpriced...impossible to support overpriced stock.

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2012-10-20 22:50 | Report Abuse

Let say we are betting on this counter for excitement la, can we base on TA ? or base on fundamental ? or just pure luck ?

Assume we wish to make around 1,800 think need to whack around 19 lots to 20lots with around 10 cents gain, capital is around 57,000, chances it may drop further, some say 2.85, some say 2.65, some also say it may go up. You can win 1,800 you can also lose 1,800. but of course got some always win one la.

Let be objective, for experience punter, why want to choose this 3 ringgit counter ? because there are other counters less than 1 ringgit to choose.

if i calculate wrongly, please correct because im not good in math. Just puzzle and wish to learn too. anyone can assist ? thank in advance

andy118

249 posts

Posted by andy118 > 2012-10-20 23:57 | Report Abuse

this AK is a son of a bitch. He force us to sell to him at low PE and repackage it and sell to us at a high price. Already so rich yet so so greedy. to hell for him.

Posted by asri6666 > 2012-10-21 03:19 | Report Abuse

Panic selling time...

Posted by Buy & Sell Sell & Buy > 2012-10-21 06:04 | Report Abuse

Multi billionaire like AK will not get public respect for cheating public money by relisting Astro at high PE of 30. Tak Malu Punya Muka, Shame on AK, big cheater, big liar, greedy for public money. Last time i respected him bcos he make big money with good business acumen. Now AK is year 2012 voted by me as a biggest PENIPU YANG TAK MALU. If i meet him one day, i will tell him about his PENIPU YANG TAK MALU punya status. From now onwards, i boycott Maxis & all his company. That is for sure. Better support Digi than Maxis.

25 posts

Posted by 3311 > 2012-10-21 07:59 | Report Abuse

Delist Astro with ~ 700 million and re-list with ~1500 million ! How much AK is going to get ? Anyway, I'm not interested in Astro IPO due to high PE of 30 and market saturation for Astro!!

lausp10

327 posts

Posted by lausp10 > 2012-10-21 10:30 | Report Abuse

ruslimz: I agree expensive. Actually plan to buy when the cornerstone starts dumping after 3 mths. But what's the PE appropriate price u think? Sometimes there's money to be made in times of trouble.

docasa

29 posts

Posted by docasa > 2012-10-21 12:44 | Report Abuse

monday astro will get into msci.. shud have better support

docasa

29 posts

Posted by docasa > 2012-10-21 12:48 | Report Abuse

too much fear in the market.. usually its created for a reason.. shud achieve 3.30 by year end

lausp10

327 posts

Posted by lausp10 > 2012-10-21 14:23 | Report Abuse

Docasa, yes fear is bane of trading. Always remain calm in times of volatility. I have seen the KLCI go 200 pts no buyers no sellers...that was scary!!!

lausp10

327 posts

Posted by lausp10 > 2012-10-21 14:26 | Report Abuse

I mean no buyers only sellers

Hong2

340 posts

Posted by Hong2 > 2012-10-21 14:33 | Report Abuse

MAYBE...Possible AK will never allows the price to drop so much and have support tomorrow? This will tarnish his reputation.

moven00

727 posts

Posted by moven00 > 2012-10-21 15:03 | Report Abuse

AK is too greedy, if you still think of 3.30 or support, take your own risks man.

Wake up call la. Our Malaysian share market is managed by bunch of cowboy.

weiboy90

444 posts

Posted by weiboy90 > 2012-10-21 15:16 | Report Abuse

dont think about 3.3, i think 3.2 also hard to reach..
astro come back with high PE and the future prospect is not look great..
the emergence of IPTV and the bidding for the broadcast right for BPL.
if the bidding fail, u can see a substantial drop in their revenue.
people can live without astro but not internet.

tand3

101 posts

Posted by tand3 > 2012-10-21 16:33 | Report Abuse

AK you are lower than the sewerage rats.

I don't really agree that will be a support for this counter.

Not even worth RM3.00 larr....yet our Security Commission allow it to be listed at this price.

Lets take this in our heart, so that in future we never kena cheated like this. Remember SC is no saint. They also can be biased.

Astro = Facebook

ros8911

4 posts

Posted by ros8911 > 2012-10-21 16:47 | Report Abuse

Useless AK. How dare ....

ruslimz

1,609 posts

Posted by ruslimz > 2012-10-21 17:16 | Report Abuse

dear Lausp 10.....I could not tell you at what PE you should buy astro but to help you making judgement these are current PE among the giants
Airasia..9
public bank ..11
skpetro..21
telekom..19
simedarby..16
axiata..15
misc..6
Astro......for you to decide...the lower the PE...the lower the risk