ASTRO MALAYSIA HOLDINGS BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): ASTRO (6399)

0.265 - 0.275

20 people like this.

8,237 comment(s). Last comment by chamlo 2 weeks ago

passerby

2,877 posts

Posted by passerby > 2012-10-22 17:03 | Report Abuse

looks like a lot retailers trading using margin account

Taugeh

671 posts

Posted by Taugeh > 2012-10-22 17:04 | Report Abuse

BUY TM 2moro, guarantee making some coffee $$$

Posted by damonjun11 > 2012-10-22 17:07 | Report Abuse

frankly speaking. PE > 30 is quite a huge number for a company that is in the maturing stage.

stock5678

531 posts

Posted by stock5678 > 2012-10-22 17:07 | Report Abuse

hope is not in AStro

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2012-10-22 17:07 | Report Abuse

the rich is getting richer, the poor is getting poorer :( look like the poor need to blame themselves because they don't know what is PE yet they take up shares offer by their company, never mind la, work 1 or 2 months free for astro :(

talk2pkc

2,303 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-22 17:11 | Report Abuse

Hey profit is profit n better than nothing , mah , 2day only 0.72 % on paper so need to pray harder ha ha ...........

azam87

224 posts

Posted by azam87 > 2012-10-22 17:11 | Report Abuse

instead of 30x i thought it was supposed to be 24x?

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2012-10-22 17:21 | Report Abuse

Dang dang dang..

digi PE 33, nestle PE 34, Dlady PE 29.. is a buy or sell ?

Amedia PE is 5.43, nextnat is 9.49 ... is a buy or sell ?

talk2pkc

2,303 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-22 17:21 | Report Abuse

Almost guarantee some where in the journey EPF will come in ,rightly or not this counter is big enough to reflect BUSRA indexes performance !!!!! 4time being it will trade more active than "kangaroo" jump , thou 2day was more like "parachute" n partially open , mah !!!!!!!!!

hatifahs

221 posts

Posted by hatifahs > 2012-10-22 17:39 | Report Abuse

Ak sepatutnyaalah jaga repo pm yg telah melancarkan prospectus Dan bukan cara ini yg sungguh mengaibkan .

Taugeh

671 posts

Posted by Taugeh > 2012-10-22 17:43 | Report Abuse

AMEDIA buy..buy..MUST BUY in these few days 0.320 to 0.330, sky-rocketing during and after election...believe it or not???

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2012-10-22 17:46 | Report Abuse

pm give money to help the poor rakyat, the rich take from poor rakyat.. hahaha

talk2pkc

2,303 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-22 17:46 | Report Abuse

Hello, Taugeh u r in wrong counter lah but understandable , high profile counter n gd to promote anything ha ha Anyway , why BUY ?

Mcwong

402 posts

Posted by Mcwong > 2012-10-22 17:52 | Report Abuse

Guess tomorrow will up or down in early morning . Guess Guess Guess.

talk2pkc

2,303 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-22 17:56 | Report Abuse

I think so n hope so , ha ha I m sure BIG boys will find ways to boost it up back to 3.10 n then they themselves will offload BIG time , I think .............

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2012-10-22 17:57 | Report Abuse

seriously, why re-list if overprice, look stupid de-list and re-list.. who should be blame ?

ok ok forget the past, tell us the lowest and the highest price for this week so that everyone start betting big... please...

cheeseburger

2,855 posts

Posted by cheeseburger > 2012-10-22 17:59 | Report Abuse

nice dive...

Taugeh

671 posts

Posted by Taugeh > 2012-10-22 17:59 | Report Abuse

I am just replying shirley1 regarding PE lah...AMEDIA doesn't have value beyond $1.00 honestly but it does have some value around 0.305 to 0.355 (end of 2013) base on earning performance. So at 0.320 to 0.330 can buy mah..many people can afford, let's see who can in and out faster leh....hahahahaha

Utopia

95 posts

Posted by Utopia > 2012-10-22 18:01 | Report Abuse

Today Alam rocket up into the sky, accidentaly bang Astro satellite. The satellite free fall from the atmosphere like a god damn asteroid. Tonite no astro network for Asia.

samuel

659 posts

Posted by samuel > 2012-10-22 18:03 | Report Abuse

Utopia, that is what i call creative!

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2012-10-22 18:04 | Report Abuse

if the price is right, sure there is ppl interested.

they monopolize the cable TV, kids can watch the cartoon channels, guys don't want watch football meh, if i cancel astro, my mum is the first one to scold me. VT tried invest in pay-tv few years back, is he successful ?

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2012-10-22 18:06 | Report Abuse

Thank you taugeh, noted. didn't buy Amedia.

Taugeh

671 posts

Posted by Taugeh > 2012-10-22 18:08 | Report Abuse

very funny utopia..I don't have ASS THROW at home..no offence to AK..All busineesmen are trying to maximize the value of their companies..they have "bills" to pay..over and under the counters - beyond our imaginations..well, it is out of our reach..nevermind..like I said before..it is still better than 'Fxxx Book'...don't worry for those who stuck on it...once it goes up during December (christmas) or early 2013 and Chinese New years..get out quickly lah..

talk2pkc

2,303 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-22 18:09 | Report Abuse

As I said, previously n many many times in other counters, if you r playing in a "Kangaroo" counter(s) , unless u hawk on to the screen & no blink blink more than a second, DONT play otherwise u could hit "AVERAGE" 2-3% profit daily ...... think deep & work it out, loh !!! If I can tell u the RANGE , ahyo , 4sure I hv better place to hang around , like at my champooooooo bar , mah , ha ha

nuha

63 posts

Posted by nuha > 2012-10-22 18:10 | Report Abuse

Is it safe to hold?i bought at3.03 any advice

Utopia

95 posts

Posted by Utopia > 2012-10-22 18:14 | Report Abuse

My way of doing so. Offload everything and wait till this freefall ends. Plenty of time to grab it back when it starts to consolidate. Damn, burnt my lil back side by this asteroid flame xD

talk2pkc

2,303 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-22 18:14 | Report Abuse

Suggest u off load when it improve towards 3.00 , I think medium term will drop down to 2.60- 2.50 ish subject to next quarter result , internet viewing is at the very early stage of the thread but ASTRO already addressing this challenge ..............

Taugeh

671 posts

Posted by Taugeh > 2012-10-22 18:43 | Report Abuse

Let's see, If and only if I could catch AK strategy...just a theoretical hypothesis way of analyzing.

ASTRO needed to be relisted prior to the launching of cable TV or Internet TV – challengers of any kind to maximize on the listing Price. There are too many uncertainties during and after the GE. Who knows my good buddies might lose their seats during election. If I (AK) don’t do it now, I will lose the great opportunity to double the value which I (AK) have been planning for more than 20 months. As a result, as long as I can secure 5 billion dollars and above, I am hitting my target. Waala…I am still AK the TOP GUN billionaire no matter what you say....

At a later stage, I can speculate by all means to increase the value of the company. If the company is not doing what I have expected…then take it private again lah..who care about the criticisms..people will forget in about a month or two..there are always some other things to talk about as long as all the ‘BIG GUNS’ are on the same ‘BOAT’ and ‘CATCH ALL KIND of FISH or sea food”..everybody happy except ikan bilis, ikan kembong, ikan-ikan kecil of all kind..Ah Ha..sorry lah…you all lose some money only and not going to die lah…so be it…

Hahaha..see this is what AK and his “BUDDIES” think.
Just a joke ah..don’t take it seriously after ~8% down…No Joke No Fun mah

bjaya

269 posts

Posted by bjaya > 2012-10-22 18:47 | Report Abuse

caveat emptor

Taugeh

671 posts

Posted by Taugeh > 2012-10-22 18:57 | Report Abuse

Have you bought any bjaya? A name with jaya usaualyy means opposite?

Posted by Buy & Sell Sell & Buy > 2012-10-22 19:18 | Report Abuse

can astro fight wth internet tv??? i m watching internet free video now, how can astro attract me to watch astro??? That is why, some smart guys r dumping Astro now. Better be quick to dump astro than never again.

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-10-22 19:19 | Report Abuse

Dutch Lady, Nestle etc. - their high PE is justified due to the juicy dividends that they consistently pay and their rich cash position. Astro is more of "debt rich". But this will improve. Thanks to new subscribers, it made more than RM4 billion (as reported in FreeMalaysiaToday), of which most will be used to repay a bulk of that. It's true that the rich gets richer... because the poor or definitely not rich help them by taking off those debts.

Posted by Buy & Sell Sell & Buy > 2012-10-22 19:30 | Report Abuse

The rich is like American Terminator, but the poor is like rugged Taliban. How the poor Taliban fight with the rich American Terminator. The rich in stock market manipulated the stock price, while the poor bilis just follow wth limited capital. How to fight???

Taugeh

671 posts

Posted by Taugeh > 2012-10-22 19:34 | Report Abuse

Hi..Mat..good to see you..just a curious question? What do you think AK is going to do with billions which he just acquired... Is he going to buy something? or dumping more in India?

Taugeh

671 posts

Posted by Taugeh > 2012-10-22 19:36 | Report Abuse

Hi..BSSB...can not fight lah..just follow..sometime follow also kena goreng..

bvc100x

74 posts

Posted by bvc100x > 2012-10-22 19:38 | Report Abuse

astro on demand!!!

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2012-10-22 19:57 | Report Abuse

Mat, buy & sell.. make sense, the rich is slaughtering the poor legally, every where not only in this country. personally work in a country and see the poor don't have money for food, and kids grown up on the street.

no holding power or not enough capital likely to the first to be slaughtered,

ok ok guys, don't want to debate already, there is no right ways to do wrong things or there is no wrong ways to do right things. know we have diff types of players in the market,

assume investor can get 2.5 to 2.6, can hold long long one or not for this counter like WB way ? any comment from the rich ?

Posted by Buy & Sell Sell & Buy > 2012-10-22 20:03 | Report Abuse

Shirley, in order to follow WB way, u need to calculate this counter intrinsic value. Unfortunately, i dont know how to calculate the intrinsic value for ASTRO. I just know how to sell & buy only looking at TA only. Anyone here can help Shirley to calculate Astro intrinsic value???

Posted by Hashim Hassan > 2012-10-22 20:10 | Report Abuse

I wait for RM 2.00 or less then jump in..

lennon

33 posts

Posted by lennon > 2012-10-22 20:21 | Report Abuse

How to become richest in Malaysia if there is no input from u all.

KowChye

181 posts

Posted by KowChye > 2012-10-22 20:38 | Report Abuse

I think except Mr. AK, there may not be anyone will know the intrinsic value of ASTRO. Don't be susprise if even Mr. AK also not know.
To follow WB advise,be very patience and wait for the right of rights to strike. H.Hassan idea of jumping in at RM 2.00 and less is one of the right.

Posted by KC Loh > 2012-10-22 21:01 | Report Abuse

Try find out internet penetration for the country first. Last I recall was still below 30%. No way you gonna get astro's economy of scales at the moment and internet TV is still in infancy. Coupled with total dominance in pay per views, regional links/grab and a growing subscription base, you should not react at the moment! Just my two sens

Now you just need to study its profitability and yield, then anything below 2.62.... grab it IMO!

Posted by jackchan > 2012-10-22 21:03 | Report Abuse

http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/mercurysec/19486.jsp

I guess i3investor should have posted Mercury's target price earlier, instead of just leaving the report in that overlooked blog.

Posted by jackchan > 2012-10-22 21:05 | Report Abuse

http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed-companies/list-of-companies/plc-profile.html?stock_code=6399

For those who want to read the original report. Cheers.

stock5678

531 posts

Posted by stock5678 > 2012-10-22 21:13 | Report Abuse

thanks but not interest to read any report about it :)

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-10-22 21:30 | Report Abuse

@Taugeh, when it comes to money, it's never enough even when one already has billions. Not saying that it's a bad thing to want accumulate more as AK is doing - heck, that's what we want to do too. I'm sure he has various projects lined up. He seems to be on a roll and it's only natural that he wants to keep it going.

But this Astro listing leaves a bad taste in the mouth. It looks like he and the underwriting bank have taken advantage of a gullible investment public. Plus institutions too (yeah, some are no smarter than us. after all, it's *people* handling the money, just like us).

Yes, investing is a risk and yes, they didn't put a gun to anyone's head and forced them to buy. But they didn't have to - they knew the name "Astro" is enough to attract people. Even someone who isn't too familiar with the stockmarket, if asked, might dare venture an opinion about it; something like "Astro at RM3.00 per share - yes, a good investment. Because it makes a lot of money from subscribers..." That's what people generally think. It's true. But there are also other things to consider.

tc2012

362 posts

Posted by tc2012 > 2012-10-22 21:34 | Report Abuse

malaysia internet penetration is 61.0 as at 2011.

http://data.worldbank.org/indicator/IT.NET.USER.P2

Mat Cendana

2,336 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-10-22 21:35 | Report Abuse

@shirley1, those thinkers like Karl Marx did have a valid point. The most crucial thing that separates the rich and the poor (and those in between) is capital. Two persons might be of equal intelligence but the one with capital will always do very well as compared to one without or lacks. The irony is that those with capital have much easier access to more capital in the form of loans than those who really need it. Fair or not, that's how life is unfortunately.

Posted by KC Loh > 2012-10-22 21:39 | Report Abuse

Tc2012, thanks.