-0.09 (1.86%)

4.71 - 4.84

Company Announcement

Date Subject
10 people like this. Showing 50 of 19,219 comments

NorAfan

Haha, won't affect 2%. Cara utk menenangkan hati penduduk mrk

2023-10-02 11:13

sheldon

Subsidi bersasar is not good for Petron as it'll mean less consumption/demand of petrol and less sales at the pump. Don't know how it'll be operationalised.

This dumb management should realise that it should start to pay a lot more dividends. Why? 2 reasons - because it can afford to and to make up for the poor share price performance.

2023-10-05 05:05

SincereStock

sold all at Rm4.50 (average cost was RM4.495, loss the broker fee + stamp duties), decided to quit this counter as this might be a sunset business with gov strongly pushing for EV and EV will rise in foreseeable future.

I think automobile counters like MBMR, UMW & SIME might still survive by venturing into EV manufacturing itself, but petroleum sales will goes down in future and EV charging business hardly a profitable substitutes business for pertol station as EV charging can be done else where like shopping mall and especially at home.

please correct me if I am wrong

2023-10-05 09:59

sheldon

It'll take sometime before the full impact of EV kicks in. If Petron is impacted, so will PetDag. The Gov maybe shooting itself on the foot with this EV move. The old batteries will present an environmental headache.

In the meantime I hope this paid Board/Management is anticipating the impact and taking steps to adapt to the realities. Are they planning to continue to proudly announce the number of stations they're opening annually? Do they have something up their sleeves as to how to make money the network of stations?

Maybe with the high NTA with a lot not reflecting the current market value, the devious ones may just keep the prices low & then peanuts over and above to takeover/privatise the company (Like what Canone did to Kian Joo).

2023-10-05 10:26

SincereStock

so it is just matter of time regardless, market usually react faster preemptively

indeed PETRONM is so much safer with NTA protection as compared to PETDAG, but I think takeover / privatise might not be that much viable if the business is going down sunset as it's assets, which mostly petrol stations, vehicles and facilities won't worth that much as book value since the business not going to be profitable anymore.

PETDAG high price above NTA is a lot danger seriously but gov under Anwar will care less about PETRONM I think if you know why haha

2023-10-05 11:03

sheldon

With almost double NTA over share price perhaps a takeover with asset-stripping in mind

2023-10-06 04:14

SincereStock

only double NTA as in assets' book value, total equity of 2.29m made up by 2.08m of properties, plant, equipments and investment properties.

I wonder how much those assets can be sold to real cash when petrol stations business is in sunset mode

2023-10-06 10:19

HafizAjiad98

PE hanya kira-kira 8x saja, masih murah

2023-10-11 08:47

HafizAjiad98

tengok sama ada kerajaan akan menghentikan subsidi utk petrol RON 95 atau tidak besok...

2023-10-12 17:41

HafizAjiad98

Ya..naik sikit semasa buka pasaran

2023-10-16 09:07

Azam Sahlan

anyone knows the relationship between oil price vs petrons profit?

2023-10-23 13:32

TakeProfits

Dear SSLee, how do you rate Petron at this moment in time as an investment.?
Thank you. Need Your astute analysis comment.

2023-11-02 18:24

Zhuge_Liang

Sslee,
Please give your Q3 Sept 2023 result after Petronm Philippine announced Q3 result.
Your forecast is always very accurate.
Tq.

2023-11-14 10:09

Sorry I just saw the comment in petronm.
From Petron corp news

Consolidated revenues for the first nine months stood at P587.3 billion albeit lower than the previous year’s P631.1 billion as prices corrected from their extraordinarily elevated levels last year due to the Russia-Ukraine conflict. While international prices started to rise again in the third quarter, the YTD September average of benchmark Dubai crude closed at almost $82 per barrel, still down 18 % from the same period in 2022.

Despite recording lower revenues, the Group’s operating income rose by 64%, reaching P27 billion from 2022’s P16.5 billion driven largely by the strong volume growth. This improvement allowed the company to absorb the more than 50% increase in financing cost, ending the nine-month period with a consolidated net income of P9.5 billion, 16% higher than last year’s P8.2 billion.

2023-11-14 10:38

Should be good quarter 3 for petronm. When petron corp release it Q3 financial report in next few days then from petron corp Q3 net profit after tax attributed to non controlling shareholders you can work out what is Q3 net profit after tax for Petronm

2023-11-14 10:42

Petron corp hold 73.4% of Petronm

2023-11-14 10:45

I trade on petronm. I bought for dividend and after dividend I sold most of my petronm.

2023-11-14 10:49

Zhuge_Liang

Sslee,
Thank you for your comments and good news.

Please give your Q3 Sept 2023 result after Petronm Philippine announced Q3 result.

2023-11-14 10:52

MagicalBobby

2023-11-14 10:53

newbird33

2023-11-14 14:50

Diamond7

Vow!
Petronm moving up up up..
Must be excellent quarterly report coming!

Give la bonus!

2023-11-14 16:24

Diamond7

Or a very special dividend!

2023-11-14 16:25

Luckily I retained 2 biji unlike some ppl who profess to be value investors but are just price gamblers 🤣

2023-11-14 17:15

sheldon

Don't get too excited. They could be playing on your anticipation of a good quarterly to pump and dump.

2023-11-14 20:54

Petron corp q3 end 30/9/23 result out:
Peso million
Net income: 3,366
Attributable to:
Equity holders of parent company: 3,102
Non contrlling interest: 264

Since Petron corp hold 73.4% Petronm hence
Petronm income = Peso 264/0.266 =992.48 million
AT 30/9/23 1 RM =12.07 Peso
Q3 net profit= RM992.48/12.07= RM 82.227 million

2023-11-15 07:50

Dehcomic01

In my latest blog article, I covered Petron Malaysia ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YrMdgjFHHaU ) and showed that it is not a value trap. My investment thesis can be summarized as
• As of 30 Oct 2023, Petron Malaysia was trading at about half of its Asset Value and EPV. With the Asset Value about the same as the EPV, I have great confidence in the margin of safety.

• The Group suffered due to the measures taken to control Covid-19. With this behind us, it should deliver better profitability. However, this was impacted by high crude oil prices.

• The Group is financially sound and while there is the threat of the disruption of the petrol station business model, it is not imminent

A comparison between the past decade ROE and share price trend showed a discrepancy. You can see that the market price has yet to reflect the improved ROE. Is this an investment opportunity?
https://i.postimg.cc/5tR4njp0/Petron-M.png

2023-11-20 08:07

investor_lauzy

Or perhaps the market sentiment for PETRONM is not good due to all the buzz ard EV and sustainability?

2023-11-20 12:49

sheldon

TQ Sslee

2023-11-20 22:00

sheldon

Noted TQ also to Dehcomic01

2023-11-20 22:16

Petronm Q3 EPS is 30.33 sen and price RM 4.64
Petdag Q3 EPS is 18.60 sen and price RM 22.86

2023-11-23 17:57

up2up

This type of pricing valuation senario only can happen in Malaysia🤣

2023-11-23 19:15

StingRay

Malaysia investors invest based on emotion and not facts lah. 🤣

2023-11-23 19:19

TakeProfits

Happy to see these few days peyron share price up a bit. Wah now is 4.63...
Real vely funny..
Petron EPs higher than petdg and Peyton no of shares may be lesser than petdg, but Petrons share price is so much lower. And IB dunno how they analyse that Petron price tgt is so low one.
Haiz.
Sslee, please do more for Petrons share price !!

2023-11-24 13:50

TakeProfits

Dompilee, you mean 2 biji shares of Petron you retain.
2 biji is 2 shares or 100 X 2 oony arh...
Soo little

2023-11-24 13:51

TakeProfits

Why Petrons share price is so low is mindboggling compared to Petdg!!
Sumting not right !!!

2023-11-24 13:55

sheldon

Sslee - you're spot on again on Petron's income (give or take a few dollars)!

Yes investors don't appreciate Petron which is why I advocate payment of large dividends

2023-11-24 14:03

That's why I hold minimal stake as often as possible, even in the most well-run & solid companies, coz M'sians in general & Bursa are KOYAK when it comes to their reliability in generating daily income for me. Sold down to ZERO KLK several weeks back & only odd lots of PPB above $16 some months ago, & yes I only have 200 Petron left[costing me $4.58 btw], which on hindsight proved right for me since most of my sales were above $5 in '22 & '23. Pity the friend who lost his bet with me on the direction of the shr price by 9 cents & then illogically bought back what he sold 20 cents cheaper just b4 the dividend( I suspect so that the dividend would pay for the treat he was forced to give me) & is now stuck @ $4.93 until dunno when...😆 A stock that earned 30 cents last qtr only went up 3 cents on the news...the faithless & the poor cannot initiate a bull market!

2023-11-25 09:14

daretocutandchange

don't care so much ,as long as dividend yeild have 5% ,pe low and must be patient.some times nobody know ?

2023-11-25 11:43

sheldon

I'm losing RM2 per share as my average inventory of Petron shares = 6.64. But so far I'm not losing sleep over it.

My loss does not consider the considerable amount of dividends received over the years. Also the prospect of possible future capital gains is giving me the excitement of living.

2023-12-01 04:19

sheldon

Out of boredom with the market, I bought some shares at 4.53.

2023-12-20 21:02

sheldon

I noticed that my usual Petron station was shut for god-knows-what for more than a day! Is that what you're referring to?

2023-12-21 07:45

1288Go

Sheldon,
Thix Petron could do better. But really dunno what is management up yo..
Dividend only stable..
Share price hardly go up much when compared to other peer stocks as mentioned by SSLee..

1288Go

Sheldon, you better off buying some of other stocks like Maybk, etc that pay you dividends and at same time potential for capital gains...
Petron becoming boring !!

sheldon

23 sen dividend is acceptable

Guideme84

hopeless....

Jnlee

apa jadi, give dividend also 👇

alyson97

Useless stock..... always take weeks to creep up to lose it all in 1 day

WellnessAntiCancer

Is it true that a full tank of Petron fuel gives more mileage compared to Petronas?

Petron not only have better mileage and best cash back if you use Public Bank-Petron card. this matters to us drivers - 98% use gas combustion engine. For Tesla co-horts, this is irrelevant.

Source: R Bala (2024), Focus Malaysia, Is it true that a full tank of Petron fuel gives more mileage compared to Petronas? Visited on : 9 March 2024

06/03/2024