ORIENTAL HOLDINGS BHD

KLSE (MYR): ORIENT (4006)

-0.18 (2.52%)

6.96 - 7.24

654 comment(s). Last comment by virgogo 22 hours ago

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2022-04-08 16:42 | Report Abuse

Why do you have to include this part " Recommended 2wice to clients... in Nov '20(when it was $5.45) & again in Nov '21(when it was $5.35)" if you don't need anyone to believe you?

Just make money yourself then. Don't take credit for everything. A stock moving one cent you also wanna take credit

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2022-04-08 17:05 | Report Abuse

Stay in denial lol Just like u can't accept your losses in MGRC, you also can't accept ppl's success lol

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2022-04-08 17:06 | Report Abuse

Lol MGRC went up 200% in 2020 - 2021. It's okay, dompeilee. I forgive you, since you are a female. Cannot abuse females right?

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2022-04-08 17:09 | Report Abuse

Ppl come to me for stock tips because they see I have gotten in @ the ground floor in many stocks eg HwaTai @ 37c , Paragon @ 36c, Cheetah @ 32c b4 the bonus etc etc & these stocks subsequently soared 2-10x. Not to mention Sino Hua-an in 2017-18, Sunright in 2016-2018 etc. Nowadays I will not reveal when I'm accumulating or asking clients to buy because it's not fair to let cheapskates & freeloaders earn money without paying a cent while my clients pay good $ for the same tips.

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2022-04-08 17:10 | Report Abuse

Pls la u went in big into MGRC in th $2 ++ range. Don't try to trick ppl as tho' they are little children K?

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2022-04-08 17:12 | Report Abuse

Duh a lot of people made money from that stock, I am sorry you missed out

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2022-04-08 17:15 | Report Abuse

All I am saying is you should change your strategy a little. Don't just recommend stocks below book value.

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2022-04-08 17:15 | Report Abuse

I don't mean to hurt your feelings

Junqi

155 posts

Posted by Junqi > 2022-04-09 07:40 | Report Abuse

Look at PE , Net asset per share and dividend.
For oriental PE 12. NTA is Rm 10.9 and dividend 6.5%
Can anyone find a similar stock?

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2022-04-09 09:40 | Report Abuse

Lol NTA high means investors are less optimistic for the company's ability to scale up in the future. Duh, then how can Tesla trade 1000x NTA?

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2022-04-09 09:41 | Report Abuse

@Junqi ask dompeilee. He is an expert in below book value stocks

JKing

239 posts

Posted by JKing > 2022-04-10 21:50 | Report Abuse

Tesla value is not in the car manufacturing but their technology and the software and data behind the scene therefore Tesla is deem to be a software company can can grow in sale without any CAPEX or min OPEX therefore it should not be compare with NTA to price. While plantation is asset base revenue generation. To produce more palm oil you need multiple time CAPEX on land and the 4-5 year cost of investment before the tree start producing revenue therefore it is an asset revenue grow type.
Comparing Apple to Apple to give us the understand why some stock is high or low in ratio but does not mean good or bad.
Looking at orient business, plantation is proofen good business now and with country reopening worldwide, hotel business will start generating profit while car sell will back to normal cycle. In summary this is the time where orient will have 3 segment business growing at the same time and this is why fund manager is reconsidering orient and start accumulating.

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2022-04-11 08:05 | Report Abuse

No offense to wallstreetdummie but look @ this :

wallstreetrookie

Automotive industry is a declining sector. Orient is a huge underweight

The moment he badmouths the stock, it shoots up 30c in a week...I mean...is that sh**ty timing or what ? LOL

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2022-04-11 08:14 | Report Abuse

Esp considering how this is an 'old man' stock which is known for barely fluctuating most of the time.

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2022-04-11 09:35 | Report Abuse

Listen to the 27-yr market veteran or listen to the rookie is up to you lol

Posted by valueinvestor96 > 2022-04-11 10:44 | Report Abuse

Oriental could be a possible attractive takeover target by the Loh Family or another corporate raider

Posted by valueinvestor96 > 2022-04-11 11:08 | Report Abuse

The Value of Oriental Holding Land bank which was purchased at legacy prices in the 1970s -1990s are more than double than what is stated on the books. THE RNAV OF ORIENTAL HOLDINGS COULD EASILY BE $18RM

Posted by valueinvestor96 > 2022-04-11 14:33 | Report Abuse

wallstreet rookie should propose a stock that has revenue and net profit expansion while churning out free cash flow and is trading at MORE THAN 50% BELOW BOOK VALUE

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2022-04-11 14:33 | Report Abuse

I am still maintaining sell on Orient

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2022-04-11 14:40 | Report Abuse

Nope, I only buy stocks above book value

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2022-04-11 14:40 | Report Abuse

Who cares what you maintain lol U already lost all credibility calling SELL when it was in the 6.20s. Those who shorted following your advice all horlanded lol

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2022-04-11 14:40 | Report Abuse

Duh,
4 billion market cap
Daily transaction value only RM1 million. Someone desperate to pump the price to save his own face

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2022-04-11 14:41 | Report Abuse

@dompeilee
Your strategy has been exposed. Stop pumping stocks trading below book value

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2022-04-11 14:42 | Report Abuse

Only 1 million value lol

Posted by Bedakong116 > 2022-04-12 09:05 | Report Abuse

Want to know why OHB is flying? It has huge plantation in Indonesia that generated RM300m profit in 21. Plus it borrows in JPY while assets in IDR. That swing in 1Q 22 i estimate will generate fx gain of over RM100m alone excl plantation bumper profits. Also their hotels in ANZ, Spore, UK and Bangkok will do well... Plus most of their cash is in foreign currency!!

Posted by stockraider > 2022-04-12 12:03 | Report Abuse

Very important mah!

It got very good earnings & pays sustainable increasing good decent dividend mah!

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2022-04-12 15:22 | Report Abuse

Mkt up...Orient UP...Mkt DOWN....Orient lagi UP! No need viagra lol

Posted by valueinvestor96 > 2022-04-13 09:10 | Report Abuse

Very Good! Wallstreetrookie says he will buy Oriental ABOVE $11RM. Oriental Holdings will have massive upside potential ahead! Easily 30% more!

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2022-04-13 16:58 | Report Abuse

Up 1 percent on 750k. Pathetic

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2022-04-13 16:58 | Report Abuse

If you wanna pump below book value stocks, prepare more cash okay?

Posted by Bedakong116 > 2022-04-14 21:49 | Report Abuse

Wow. Just announced another 10cts div! That is 30cts this year or yield close to 5%!!

JKing

239 posts

Posted by JKing > 2022-04-14 23:27 | Report Abuse

It is 40 cent for the FY2021

Posted by Bedakong116 > 2022-04-15 05:21 | Report Abuse

They just announced another 10cts div making 30cts for this year. Yield almost 5%!!

Posted by snowball2000 > 2022-04-15 11:39 | Report Abuse

Yes, but going by FY, it is 40c, making it almost 6% at current price of around RM6.70. What is there not to like about ORIENT! :)

kahhoeng

3,911 posts

Posted by kahhoeng > 2022-04-15 21:09 | Report Abuse

thought there would be another special dividend of 10c per share, palm oil so gooood and japanese yen borrowing is falling in value, sigh!

Posted by wallstreetrookie > 2022-04-18 07:34 | Report Abuse

80% dividend payout is way too high.

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2022-04-18 15:32 | Report Abuse

Super strong...no need for me to support lol

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2022-04-20 09:49 | Report Abuse

6.80!!! Highest since June 2019...Nice!

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2022-04-20 09:51 | Report Abuse

wallstreetdummie really a contrarian indicator here...(& in most stocks also) lol

Posted by snowball2000 > 2022-04-20 10:10 | Report Abuse

If the management is more aggressive / proactive in its approach and seek better utilisation of its financial / business resources, ORIENT could be deemed undervalued even at its current price of RM6.80. It should consider giving bigger dividend (of which it does not seem to put to effective use to generate better return for shareholders), bonus issue (which should improve market liquidity of its shares) or revaluation of its vast land banks (to reflect real value of its highly undervalued land holdings).

Posted by snowball2000 > 2022-04-20 10:27 | Report Abuse

ORIENT is holding close to RM5.00/share in cash & equivalents while its share price is languishing at RM6.80. Meanwhile, its interest income received per year is less than RM0.10/share per annum. How is that logical? I may have miscalculated (due to lack of info.) but the real figure should not deviate too much. Someone with influence please help by talking to the management.

Posted by snowball2000 > 2022-04-20 10:37 | Report Abuse

Even more glaring is its huge land banks and investment properties with unjustifiably low return (I could be mistaken as a layman and outsider, but its investment property stood at 1.095bil while return on investment holding is a mere 31.6mil for FY2021), the management should do better than this. It should at least disclose plans to better sweat its highly undervalued lands. Else, wouldn't it be better to dispose off and disburse the sales proceeds to shareholders as cash dividends?

Posted by snowball2000 > 2022-04-20 10:39 | Report Abuse

Can someone with influence please talk to the management?

Posted by snowball2000 > 2022-04-20 10:45 | Report Abuse

Or perhaps the managemnet of ORIENT should shed some light on this?

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2022-04-20 10:48 | Report Abuse

Whoaaa!!! Pushing 7.00!!! Up 80c since some dummie posted bearish comments on this thread lol

Posted by Thinkcarefully > 2022-04-20 10:52 | Report Abuse

Oriental maybe taking the company private

Posted by snowball2000 > 2022-04-20 11:35 | Report Abuse

If the major shareholder/management decides to take ORIENT private, then they should give a fair value to the minorities, though this may not always be the case. Either way, it is still better than not paying better cash dividend, not taking action to improve the profits and sitting on tonnes of cash without doing anything.... ;)

Posted by snowball2000 > 2022-04-20 12:03 | Report Abuse

Despite the fact that the offer price to take it private may be much lower than its book value (let alone its intrinsic value), it should be higher than the current market price. Privatisation should make sense for the management/major shareholder. Think WIN-WIN.

Posted by snowball2000 > 2022-04-20 12:07 | Report Abuse

Further, all its business segments should do better in view of gradual re-opening of economies, what better time to take it private than NOW!

Posted by valueinvestor96 > 2022-04-20 12:31 | Report Abuse

According to Oriental Annual report, a 5% decline in JPY against MYR will result in a 86MILLION RINGGIT UNREALISED PROFIT FOR THE GROUP. THE JPY HAS DROPPED ALMOST 8% AGAINST MYR AND THIS WILL RESULT IN A GAIN IN EXCESS OF 100 MILLION FOR Q1 FY22 RESULTS!