DAYANG ENTERPRISE HOLDINGS BHD

KLSE (MYR): DAYANG (5141)

-0.04 (1.52%)

2.58 - 2.63

27 people like this.

37,348 comment(s). Last comment by paktua73 1 week ago

kmohan62

484 posts

Posted by kmohan62 > 2023-11-28 10:24 | Report Abuse

Something is brewing...price being depressed deliberately.

Vicky

1,203 posts

Posted by Vicky > 2023-12-01 13:38 | Report Abuse

Nice to see is cumming down to RM1 or below. Recession in the pipeline. No point OPEC cutting oil production. Let the market force to determine the actual oil price !

Volz4321

56 posts

Posted by Volz4321 > 2023-12-03 09:50 | Report Abuse

Hmm why is it dropping after a great quarter result🤔

Dehcomic01

305 posts

Posted by Dehcomic01 > 2023-12-05 10:26 | Report Abuse

Dayang is an oilfield services company operating mainly in Malaysia. It initially focussed on topside maintenance services where it is one of the big boys in the offshore hook-up and commissioning business.

The company did very well in the topside maintenance services segment and got into trouble when it expanded its marine charter business in the early part of the last decade with the acquisition of Perdana Petroleum.

Business was good for the Malaysian marine charter scene until crude oil prices dropped to about USD 60 per barrel in 2016/17. The demand for marine charter services declined tremendously and many of the Bursa marine charter companies got into trouble. Dayang faced similar problem with its marine charter segment.

While crude oil prices today are 1/3 higher than the lows in 2016/17, the marine charter business has yet to fully recover. While Dayang topside services business is doing very well, its performance has been pulled down by the marine charter segment. The table below shows the relative performance of the 2 segments for Dayang.

https://i.postimg.cc/8c3fJS0f/Dayang-segment-performance.png

Dayang spent tons of money on the marine charter business. With hindsight shareholders would have been better off if this was paid out as dividends rather than spent it on Perdana Petroleum. Did management do a good job in allocating capital?

For more insights into Dayang, go to Is Dayang one of the better Bursa stocks? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=quk378SFfCg

Dehcomic01

305 posts

Posted by Dehcomic01 > 2023-12-05 10:27 | Report Abuse

Dayang is an oilfield services company operating mainly in Malaysia. It initially focussed on topside maintenance services where it is one of the big boys in the offshore hook-up and commissioning business.

The company did very well in the topside maintenance services segment and got into trouble when it expanded its marine charter business in the early part of the last decade with the acquisition of Perdana Petroleum.

Business was good for the Malaysian marine charter scene until crude oil prices dropped to about USD 60 per barrel in 2016/17. The demand for marine charter services declined tremendously and many of the Bursa marine charter companies got into trouble. Dayang faced similar problem with its marine charter segment.

While crude oil prices today are 1/3 higher than the lows in 2016/17, the marine charter business has yet to fully recover. While Dayang topside services business is doing very well, its performance has been pulled down by the marine charter segment. The table below shows the relative performance of the 2 segments for Dayang.

https://i.postimg.cc/8c3fJS0f/Dayang-segment-performance.png

Dayang spent tons of money on the marine charter business. With hindsight shareholders would have been better off if this was paid out as dividends rather than spent it on Perdana Petroleum. Did management do a good job in allocating capital?

For more insights into Dayang, go to Is Dayang one of the better Bursa stocks? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=quk378SFfCg

Vicky

1,203 posts

Posted by Vicky > 2023-12-06 14:41 | Report Abuse

Dayang has a history of poor management when times are bad. This counter is fund managers puppet. Since global economy is bad there is no way oil will recover. China economy is also slowing down and flagging red alert. The rise of EV vehicles another sector that will hit oil prices hard next year. Time to say sayorana or will be hit by the massive sell down by the analysts and bankers. Estimated the coming weeks will be below USD60. The X'mas rally is halted all signalling bad times ahead and will hit every sectors badly unless only certain counters ! Advice to cut loss asap !

James Ng

2,681 posts

Posted by James Ng > 2023-12-08 21:12 | Report Abuse

[转贴] [Video:浅谈DAYANG ENTERPRISE HOLDINGS BERHAD, DAYANG, 5141] - James的股票投资James Share Investing
https://klse.i3investor.com/web/blog/detail/general/2023-12-08-story-h-213176394

Waller

105 posts

Posted by Waller > 2023-12-21 16:17 | Report Abuse

But Dayang didn't fall to Rm1 and below, rr88

Save

695 posts

Posted by Save > 2023-12-21 23:17 | Report Abuse

As traditionally next quarter is Dayang's weak quarter, Dayang target may be around 1.43 again if want to form double bottom rebounding model. if want to form a reversal shoulders and head rebouding model, may be head bottom is around 1.26. Hope I am wrong

Waller

105 posts

Posted by Waller > 2023-12-22 13:46 | Report Abuse

In terms of technical movement, may be you are right, Save. But, didn't see much selling after it dropped to Rm1.60 there ..

Posted by RiskRoverExpert > 2023-12-27 18:15 | Report Abuse

oil price up but oil counter seems like not following ya

Waller

105 posts

Posted by Waller > 2023-12-28 09:40 | Report Abuse

That's because no much funds flow into the oil counters ..

Waller

105 posts

Posted by Waller > 2024-01-04 11:11 | Report Abuse

Seems like funds are flowing back to Dayang 😁

Dehcomic01

305 posts

Posted by Dehcomic01 > 2024-01-05 08:34 | Report Abuse

Bursa listed Perdana Petroluem is 64% own Bursa listed Dayang. Dayang is basically an oilfield services company with a small marine charter segment. However in 2015 it acquired Perdana which is mainly in the marine charger business.
When you look at the ROE for these 2 companies over the past decade, you can see Dayang outperforming Perdana. From a fundamental perspective, why would you want to own Perdana? From a risk mitigation perspective, Dayang is more diversified.
Of course the elephant in the room is whether Dayang made a mistake in acquiring Perdana. With hindsight it was better not to do so.
Moral of the story? Many companies have both organic and acquisition growth. But not all acquisitions added value to the shareholders. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=quk378SFfCg

SuperPanda

11,421 posts

Posted by SuperPanda > 2024-01-07 21:45 | Report Abuse

now 1.65, chart and sentiment wise very very possible to meet 1.80 soon

hold tight

Vicky

1,203 posts

Posted by Vicky > 2024-01-09 10:19 | Report Abuse

Global oil market soften...

Waller

105 posts

Posted by Waller > 2024-01-09 10:49 | Report Abuse

Not in India 😁 India's oil demand rose up to seven months high instead

https://www.timesnownews.com/business-economy/economy/indias-oil-demand-rose-up-to-seven-months-high-article-106626332

Waller

105 posts

Posted by Waller > 2024-01-15 12:40 | Report Abuse

Breaking Rm1.80 !

Posted by harvest6138 > 2024-01-23 08:38 | Report Abuse

Dayang won 3 contracts in one months , O&G business is booming ....

21,562 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2024-01-26 11:38 | Report Abuse

So good, company wanna die liao, petronas tolong sikit earn balik.

SCM2023

40 posts

Posted by SCM2023 > 2024-01-29 13:46 | Report Abuse

Will Dayang close the 2020 gap down RM2.05 (year 2020) and move higher? Seem the chance of closing the gap is very high and can start looking at this counter for some profit

Waller

105 posts

Posted by Waller > 2024-01-29 16:11 | Report Abuse

Rea Sea conflict worsen I think

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2024-01-29 17:11 | Report Abuse

Measured move tgt = $2.28.

Posted by harvest6138 > 2024-01-30 18:23 | Report Abuse

Dayang got another contract extension .. up to now already 4 contracts in a month , a good sign for the company .. wonder if IB will adjust the TP due to this ??

Ravi Kumar

3,505 posts

Posted by Ravi Kumar > 2024-01-31 15:11 | Report Abuse

As usual comments at all the forums but really a loser

rr88

Oil price falling like a stone. Sell.

21,562 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2024-01-31 15:51 | Report Abuse

lol. Dayang TP easily 2.50 right?

investor77

760 posts

Posted by investor77 > 2024-02-02 12:46 | Report Abuse

Naim owns 25 % of Dayang, so Naim have not moved yet, a better buy ?

Posted by harvest6138 > 2024-02-02 18:02 | Report Abuse

EPF start buying .....

Dehcomic01

305 posts

Posted by Dehcomic01 > 2024-02-03 08:38 | Report Abuse

We have been told that to minize risk, we should have a portfolio of stocks. Does it mean that we can have any stocks (assuming that they are fundametally sound and cheap)

Take the example of Bursa contruction/property company Naim and Busa oil and gas company Dayang. You can see from the revenue trend chart that there is not much correlation between them. Actually there was a negative 10% correlation.

But then Naim owns about 25% of Dayang and probably influened its decision making. So are they uncorrelated stocks?
https://i.postimg.cc/L5GkR9p9/Dayang-vs-Naim.png
From a statistics perspective, as long as 2 stocks are not 100% correlated, having them in a portfolio will result in a lower volatility compared to their individual volatility. If you looking for less volatility, then having them both is better than just investing in one.

Of course, the big picture question is if part of the performance of Naim is tied to the performance of Dayang, would it be better to look for another oil and gas stock?

Zachzach

767 posts

Posted by Zachzach > 2024-02-03 21:45 | Report Abuse

rr88..how u know it wil go up after this? but what u said must touch 1.98 seems true..so far

Waller

105 posts

Posted by Waller > 2024-02-05 11:00 | Report Abuse

People might sell on the next good news, i.e. good Q4 result. Just my guess

Zachzach

767 posts

Posted by Zachzach > 2024-02-05 21:39 | Report Abuse

ok time to add then ahhahaa

Posted by forest18 > 2024-02-06 09:46 | Report Abuse

rr88 ok hold then haha

Posted by forest18 > 2024-02-06 13:54 | Report Abuse

rr88 got it, by the way thanks, I actually followed your comments in SCIB and it helped me a lot, sold at RM1.18 before the triple LD, and the dead cat bounced sold at RM0.46. Enough to send my kid to A-Levels boarding school. Thank you.

Let see what happens here in Dayang. Again thank you!

PS. I am newbie haha learning technical analysis, financial analysis and tapping on the experiences of people like you who shares. God bless you and your family.

Zachzach

767 posts

Posted by Zachzach > 2024-02-06 23:59 | Report Abuse

sure up 20 sen tomorrow?

Zachzach

767 posts

Posted by Zachzach > 2024-02-07 00:04 | Report Abuse

rr88 : can u comment on naim? as some said it is related to each other..

Boom

39 posts

Posted by Boom > 2024-02-07 09:38 | Report Abuse

Good support at 2.06

Zachzach

767 posts

Posted by Zachzach > 2024-02-07 13:32 | Report Abuse

wah rr88 very sure can go up till 3+ ? ;)

Posted by forest18 > 2024-02-07 13:45 | Report Abuse

I read, if not mistaken the Edge, the analyst estimated the contract with Petronas is worth RM400 million to RM 1.2 billion, if you take the lower end of the estimate and compare with their annual report you probably get the drift.

Not too sure about TP though, just make whatever you happy with, and run fast

Matccom

18 posts

Posted by Matccom > 2024-02-07 15:16 | Report Abuse

Hi all, rr88, harvest6138,

How do we check when EPF is buying the stock ye? Can you share with us? Tq

Posted by harvest6138 > 2024-02-07 16:03 | Report Abuse

I read from the news release in Bursa under company announcement…

Totally

80 posts

Posted by Totally > 2024-02-07 17:25 | Report Abuse

just out epf disposed 3.67 M shares

Totally

80 posts

Posted by Totally > 2024-02-07 17:29 | Report Abuse

sorry its actually 3,647,500

Totally

80 posts

Posted by Totally > 2024-02-08 07:57 | Report Abuse

Will see today

Luen07

81 posts

Posted by Luen07 > 2024-02-08 16:53 | Report Abuse

rr88. 👍

Totally

80 posts

Posted by Totally > 2024-02-09 10:54 | Report Abuse

2.16 mayb ?

Waller

105 posts

Posted by Waller > 2024-02-09 11:07 | Report Abuse

will announce impressive Q4 result this Dayang

Zachzach

767 posts

Posted by Zachzach > 2024-02-10 08:57 | Report Abuse

nice..will sell above 3+ ... ;)

Posted by harvest6138 > 2024-02-13 17:39 | Report Abuse

Good job .. Another new contract in the pocket , if not wrong this should be the 5th announcement on job awarded in 2024 .. very promising ...