HIBISCUS PETROLEUM BHD

KLSE (MYR): HIBISCS (5199)

-0.03 (1.17%)

2.53 - 2.59

Entitlement

Upcoming

Happening

Ann. Date Ex Date Type Subject Amount
67 people like this. Showing 50 of 104,645 comments

AnaiAnai

can buy now?

Six6thsense

I go sleep and wait for another 3 months

James_Bond

FED decided to keep high rate for longer period of time as inflation still high. Brent oil immediately crashing to USD 83! OMG!

James_Bond

I still hv 680,000 hib shares yet to dispose…

soon9913

hold only.. no worries James

Sangranghaeyo

680,000 shares of Hibiscus = around RM1.78 mil 😮
You r millionaire, James

Six6thsense

Why no more SBB? Eat snake work slow like turtle. Manager on holidays. Haha

James_Bond

Sold 300,000 shares of hibiscus! Leaving 380,000 shares yet to dispose…

James_Bond

Let’s hope our bro Azoff feels better now with the dropping of hibiscus share price…

James_Bond

Bro Azoff, hope you r ok. I m collecting back Hibiscus. Don’t say that I didn’t tell you, Bro Azoff.

James_Bond

Collected back 200,000 shares of hibiscus at the cost price of 2.58-2.59.

James_Bond

Collected another 300,000 shares of hibiscus at the cost price of 2.58-2.60 today! Cheers!

James_Bond

Total hibiscus shares on hands ie 880,000 shares. Wonderful! Haha!

James_Bond

Crude oil futures are bullish and would likely continue to climb higher than USD100 due to the supply and demand mismatch!

https://www.lightreading.com/ai-machine-learning/data-centers-to-run-out-of-power-in-two-years-says-digitalbridge-ceo

greed123

...its a turning point finally https://edition.cnn.com/2024/05/08/climate/clean-energy-milestone-ember/index.htm
...China and US and rest of the world ramping up in EV's, goal of most countries is ZERO ICE vehicles
...war, conflicts, OPEC close tap, etc.. Price of BRENT is still mostly down... shows less of fuel demand
...SHELL malaysia selling assets, why? demand reducing?

HIBISCS keep pump and pump oil to do what???? long run not looking good!!!

twynstar

Why the IEA is Wrong About Peak Oil Demand
By David Messler - May 06, 2024,

In the episode titled, “Everyone is Rich,” Arjun posits what the impact on world energy demand would be if everyone was as energy-rich as the “Lucky,” 1.2 billion people that live in the Western World. More specifically, Arjun asks what it would mean for the other 7 billion people in China, India, Asia, and Africa to have the lifestyle that Americans, Canadians, Europeans, and a few other countries enjoy. The answer he comes up with on an absolute basis, 250 mm BOPD, using a reference point of 10 bbls a year!

Where are we now? The U.S consumes ~22 bbls of oil annually per capita while China consumes 3.7 bbls per capita. Indians use just 1.3 bbls per annum. That’s a pretty wide gap, and as Arjun notes, “economic growth and energy growth are one and the same. You do not get economic growth without adequate energy.”

https://oilprice.com/Energy/Crude-Oil/Why-the-IEA-is-Wrong-About-Peak-Oil-Demand.html

Six6thsense

Let me sense the real time oil price. I dont sense the supply demand data.

Sangranghaeyo

Now EIA estimates slower world oil demand growth in 2024 ... 😅

https://www.offshore-technology.com/news/eia-estimates-slower-world-oil-demand-growth-in-2024/

zhangzuode

twynstar - thank you for sharing.

It appear as a no brainer that oil is an important commodity for the betterment of society (with its corresponding bad-side, especially plastic). Nonetheless, oil price has been disconnected from fundamental by so many with other agenda that perhaps in Malaysia, has a lack of gusto in return compared with the multitude of others. Yes, yes, it is long-term, but since 2017, it has been more bad than good.

A check with Hibiscus return (5-yrs is -4.4% while 1 year is up 9.21%).

The climate change narrative has to a large extend pulled the bottom out of investing in (oil/gas) production sector. Perhaps still need to learn more to improve return in investment like (o&g) service providers.

zhangzuode

Do note that in all the discussion on net-zero, third world should remains poor or better still, cease to exist ....

investor77

Today write up on Klse Screener, by HLIB. TP of RM 3.20 Half year already earned around 20 cts/ share. New production coming in from Bunga Aster -1, Production will touch 28k, barrels per day by 2025. If we assume Eps for Year at 40 cents, by right it can touch RM 4. Results of Q3 will be out on 24 or 25/ May. It has a net cash of RM 486 mil, and can generate an Earnings Before Interest, Tax, and Depreciation , ebitda of RM 1.3 bil in FY 23.

kahhoeng

The poor performance of late could be a result of failed drilling project announced end of March which will result in a RM 27 mil write off in quarterly report to be announced this month. The next quarterly report to be announced in Aug should be good though, thanks to a successful Bungar Aster announced end of April.

Six6thsense

Cash is ready and waiting 2.0. Thanks

James_Bond

Haha! Hibiscus, loving you!

James_Bond

There might be few million write off in the coming QR! Please take profit and sell to papa!

Sangranghaeyo

What kind of write-off?

kahhoeng

01 Mar 2024

https://www.bursamalaysia.com/market_information/announcements/company_announcement/announcement_details?ann_id=3427300

Capital costs (net of tax to SEA-H) estimated for the Ungu wells are expected to be in the range RM54 million whilst capital cost estimates for the Merah well are expected to be in the range RM27 million. At this stage, we expect to write off the capital cost estimates of RM27 million for the Merah well in the Group’s financial statements for the quarter ending 31 March 2024. The treatment of the costs of the Ungu well in the financial statements will be ascertained upon confirming the final results from the Ungu well, and will be announced at the appropriate time. All capital costs were funded from internal resources and the costs associated with the campaign have been included in the SEA-H cost recovery bank.

James_Bond

Collected another 100,000 hibiscus shares, holding total 980,000 hibiscus shares. Cheers!

James_Bond

Let’s sell to papa! Haha!

James_Bond

Mark Zuckerberg warned that we r going to face shortage in energy to power up AI data centers very soon. Smart investors would know oil price would skyrocket in near future. Haha.

https://www.datacenterdynamics.com/en/news/metas-mark-zuckerberg-says-energy-constraints-are-holding-back-ai-data-center-buildout/

EngineeringProfit

Can recollect again bit by bit lah

James_Bond

It is about time for hibiscus to reactivate share buy back!

EngineeringProfit

Usually SBB around 2.50 lah

James_Bond

Collected another 20,000 shares at 2.56. Total 1,000,000 shares on hand! Cheers!

James_Bond

I hv one million hibiscus shares and not afraid of such small impairment. What you afraid of?! Haha!

BlackRock and Vee Mun Tang also bought hibiscus shares at higher price than 2.56. What you afraid of?! Haha!

Brent oil price stabilizing at USD 83 and most likely moving north in the future due to lack of energy supply to power up the data centers! What you afraid of?! Haha!

James_Bond

Comrades, let’s hold the forts!

greed123

brent crude is not used for power generation
higher interest rates, will force brent crude to dive further
more and more alternative clean energy source becoming available

James_Bond

Thanks for your opinion, greed, but there is limitation with the clean energy, for instance solar energy is unable to generate enough electricity in rainy season etc. With this, you still need alternative such as natural gas or crude oil or coal to make up the shortage. Powell has been repeatedly saying that federal reserve not going to increase interest rate and would consider to cut down interest rate in 2024. Cheers!

James_Bond

The issue that kah heong pointed out is valid and may bring down hibiscus profit significantly. Let say Hibiscus earns around 100 million from Jan-March 2024 with write off of 27-30millions, equivalent of 30% of profit in that particular financial quarter. Guess the sell down of hibiscus is likely due to this. Hopefully, no other impairment or oil field closed down for maintenance.

James_Bond

Remember that there wil be significant impairment in the QR. Please sell to papa! Haha!

Six6thsense

Sold all. Happy now

greed123

contributing to global warming, investing in O&G akin to investing in Tobacco companies, the results are devastating in the long run for sure

twynstar

Comparing Big Oil to Big Tobacco is Ludicrous
By Robert Rapier - May 14, 2024

Now contrast that with Big Oil disappearing from the planet. Tobacco may not have impacted you in the past week, but oil almost certainly did. Odds are that you transported yourself using oil. That’s especially true if you were on an airplane. If you bought goods at a store, they were almost certainly brought there using oil.

Even today, after decades of research into alternatives, there is no affordable, scalable alternative that can replace petroleum. Every country from Iceland to Kenya to Brazil to Vietnam runs on oil. Further, no developed economy in the world has figured out a way to run its economy without oil.

https://oilprice.com/Energy/Energy-General/Comparing-Big-Oil-to-Big-Tobacco-is-Ludicrous.html

James_Bond

C’mon, sell to papa!

James_Bond

I dare you short hibiscus down to less than 2.50!

EngineeringProfit

Let me try

Sangranghaeyo

Look at its NOSH. Surely will kena short squeeze if you short