4 comment(s). Last comment by mabaker 2014-10-14 21:54

mabaker

28 posts

Posted by mabaker > 2014-10-14 13:24 | Report Abuse

Smartphone industry is quite dead recently. Americans are dumping their smartphones due to the NSA scare that is widely discussed among their news press.

Snowden is asking Americans to get rid of Dropbox, Facebook and Google services.
http://www.techinsider.net/people-must-stop-using-facebook-inc-fb-google-inc-googl-and-dropbox-edward-snowden/1118316.html

Hong Kong protests: China may be spying with smartphone apps
http://www.cbc.ca/news/world/hong-kong-protests-china-may-be-spying-with-smartphone-apps-1.2785019

Governments using the "lawful intercept" tool, known as Remote Control Systems (RCS), can infect iPhones even if they have not been jailbroken, and can take control of a smartphone's camera as well as the microphone to record everything a target is saying.
http://www.ibtimes.co.uk/hacking-team-tools-allow-governments-take-full-control-your-smartphone-1453987

Anyone still diggin' a smartphone? john chia doesn't know much about smartphones.He's just a lawyer who ventured into the semicon business.

slts

2,207 posts

Posted by slts > 2014-10-14 13:40 | Report Abuse

so we dump ours too
& switch to walkie-talkie lol
rubbish lah
one to go back to stone age era
& become monkeys kah

jasonor

1,004 posts

Posted by jasonor > 2014-10-14 13:59 | Report Abuse

its only dead when ppl no longer use smartphone, social media and internet. when u see ppl use back nokia 3310 n close all their facebook, twitter, youtube, google+ etc apps... then u can say smartphone industry died.

mabaker

28 posts

Posted by mabaker > 2014-10-14 21:54 | Report Abuse

That is the point. Americans and Europeans are dumping their smartphones and sticking back to simple basics.

The original point of having mobile phones is to call and text.
When the phones started to have GPS introduced it was marketed as a very convenient way to find yourself around but what the governments held back from you was it made spying a lot easier.

The most dangerous privacy giveaways for smartphones are their built in GPS, voice microphones and HD cameras today.

When governments take control of your device to invade your privacy, all those 3 functions can be activated and monitored without the users knowledge.

The GPS will log your phone coordinates every hour.

The camera takes private pics of your selfies all the time. Got heard of the recent news of celebs getting nude pics exposed?

The voice microphone records your conversation at the background without you noticing. With powerful CPUs built into phones, these voice recordings can be compressed into very small files and uploaded quickly back to the authorities.

This is not joke. Samsung is losing billions on their smartphone business for the past 2 years until it is now. Just a month ago, they reported along with Hyundai a massive loss of $44billion.

Facebook Twitter Youtube, you're better and more comfortable with desktops and laptops anytime.

John, you're just a lawyer what do you know about smartphones other than using them like zombies? All you do is argue with people that's what you're only trained to do.