10 people like this.

20 comment(s). Last comment by henry9889 2016-09-10 12:49

5,855 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2016-09-06 23:47 | Report Abuse

It's always good to learn something new or to recall something we've learned before everyday.

wkitwing

77 posts

Posted by wkitwing > 2016-09-07 00:00 | Report Abuse

how about favco?stable dividend stock but gloomy outlook on O&G sector eventhough with good fundamental.so what is your view for this counter,kc?

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-09-07 00:05 | Report Abuse

Maybank also come with good dividend

Ricky Kiat

1,356 posts

Posted by Ricky Kiat > 2016-09-07 08:02 | Report Abuse

thanks for sharing sifu kcchong.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-09-07 10:07 | Report Abuse

Posted by wkitwing > Sep 7, 2016 12:00 AM | Report Abuse
how about favco?stable dividend stock but gloomy outlook on O&G sector eventhough with good fundamental.so what is your view for this counter,kc?

Investing is about the future. However, the future is unknowable, unpredictable,and full of uncertainties.

You may use the past as a guide, and in FAVCO's case, it could be a good guide. Look at how they have been making money and with cash flows all these years. Look at its balance sheet. It can't lie.

Crane business can be flexible. Less oil and gas, may be more in construction cranes, wind farm etc.

Eventually it is the price Vs value which determines your return on investment of part of a business of a company.

henry9889

85 posts

Posted by henry9889 > 2016-09-07 11:21 | Report Abuse

I can only entitled the dividend if I bought the shares before or on the Ex Date?

26,116 posts

Posted by speakup > 2016-09-07 14:13 | Report Abuse

before Ex.

mikejal

26 posts

Posted by mikejal > 2016-09-07 14:13 | Report Abuse

ok

99 posts

Posted by 7210 > 2016-09-07 14:18 | Report Abuse

how about MISC? MISC also paid good dividends from 2011 till 2016. With good fundamentals, and trading at book value. what is your view about MISC?

mamatede

3,950 posts

Posted by mamatede > 2016-09-07 15:46 | Report Abuse

prospect of misc is kind of risky with reduced shipping activities, or trade. and large opex for ship maintenance and etc.

MG9231

786 posts

Posted by MG9231 > 2016-09-07 17:15 | Report Abuse

I totally agree with you Dividend yield stretagy can be one of the winning stretagy in KLSE. I have gone through Dr. Neoh Soon Kean's book "Stock market investment in Malaysia and Singapore" many years ago. I also witness his application for a couple of his stock picked based on this strategy many many years ago.when he wrote it in Nanyang Siang Poh chinese news paper. I copy-cat it and find that the return is much better than Fixed Deposit. Many stocks based on this strategy ended up privatized by the major shareholders exception with major shareholders control by foreigners such as Guinness , carslberg, FnN ....I must also take this opportunity to thank Dr. Neoh soon Kean for his guidance.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-09-07 21:52 | Report Abuse

Posted by 7210 > Sep 7, 2016 02:18 PM | Report Abuse
how about MISC? MISC also paid good dividends from 2011 till 2016. With good fundamentals, and trading at book value. what is your view about MISC?

Interesting. Can you check MISC with the 8 criteria mentioned in the article and as appended below, and share with us?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-09-07 22:37 | Report Abuse

MG9231, thanks for your comments. Words of an experience investor.

AK2899

322 posts

Posted by AK2899 > 2016-09-07 23:56 | Report Abuse

How can good dividend stock without P&O or YTLREIT ? :)

55,069 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-09-08 07:14 | Report Abuse

kcchongnz MG9231, thanks for your comments. Words of an experience investor.
07/09/2016 22:37

Machine Gun 9231 is a Great Sifu in the category of Coldeye. He is very humble.

hooi72

112 posts

Posted by hooi72 > 2016-09-08 09:21 | Report Abuse

haiz......suka cara ni. tak payah sakit otak.tunggu saja. tapi tak berapa sesuai untuk saya. setiap bulan saya perlu certain amount of money to survive.

TAH

797 posts

Posted by TAH > 2016-09-08 09:47 | Report Abuse

Good traders make money not only during bull but also make money during bear.

99 posts

Posted by 7210 > 2016-09-09 19:18 | Report Abuse

Posted by kcchongnz > Sep 7, 2016 09:52 PM | Report Abuse

Interesting. Can you check MISC with the 8 criteria mentioned in the article and as appended below, and share with us?

In 2015, 1)DY=3.9%, 2)dvd payout ratio=53%, 3)capex/NI=51%, 4)earning growth=3.4%, 6)roe=6.95%,roic=11.4%, 7)dvd/fcf=63%.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-09-10 09:13 | Report Abuse

Posted by 7210 > Sep 9, 2016 07:18 PM | Report Abuse

Posted by kcchongnz > Sep 7, 2016 09:52 PM | Report Abuse

In 2015, 1)DY=3.9%, 2)dvd payout ratio=53%, 3)capex/NI=51%, 4)earning growth=3.4%, 6)roe=6.95%,roic=11.4%, 7)dvd/fcf=63%.

Good one. But it doesn't seem to fulfill the criteria 4, 5 and 6.

henry9889

85 posts

Posted by henry9889 > 2016-09-10 12:49 | Report Abuse

why not gtronic? it has high dividend yield of 7.5