PUBLIC BANK BHD

KLSE (MYR): PBBANK (1295)

+0.01 (0.24%)

4.18 - 4.24

19 people like this. Showing 50 of 14,971 comments

Steven Chan

Foreigners grabbing PBB Ini kali la

Hachi Hachi

EPF in n out all the way. Her move . That's what
I observe all the while. my2ct.

thye82

Cimb soon will overtake this rubbish bank....the most poor performance bank on earth...

Hachi Hachi

announcement result date 25th May.

stkoay

It's good to practice like CIMB to have pre close analyst briefying....

https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/710583

stkoay

I think most banks 1Q report should be quite good...

Steven Chan

#hachi hachi EPF pump n dump is a menace. Have to report to SC

M55555

today PBB ok la. Steady compare to others bank..

metaverse

《云顶集团》和《大众银行》,作为我国两大私人企业龙头老大,其股价走势一直被视为是马来西亚经济的晴雨表...

https://klse.i3investor.com/web/blog/detail/mindfullness/2024-05-08-story-h-181869833

EDwarrior

Buying

EDwarrior

Management team still strong. Keep buying pbb. Next year share price RM 5plus

stkoay

yes, please buy to support, now 4.16, buy, buy, buy....

EDwarrior

Buying

KylieTan

Great, EPF has been collecting continuously 🔥🔥

EDwarrior

Buying

EDwarrior

I am with pbb. Hopefully, can contribute a bit

drkervokian

PBBank used to be strong. But their gradual cost cut and siloed culture with old ppl managing the company means they can't compete in attracting new customers.

With new Chinese gen Z and milleneals they are also a lot less Chinese brand conscious. So the company will slowly lose market share.

They need to diversify income stream and partner. On top of that spend more on marketing dollars to win in the highly saturated market.

Not to mention digibanks throwing money to acquire customers

KylieTan

Public bank will go up higher when Q1 result is out 😊

Suriyan

Any idea when Q1 results out?

serbatipu

Coming qr expect no divid

skc761103

Highlights of Results for the First Quarter 2024
 Pre-tax profit and net profit at RM2.13 billion and RM1.65 billion respectively
 Total loans and deposits recorded annualised growth rates of 6.3% and 7.1%
respectively
 Net return on equity at 12.3%
 Cost-to-income ratio at 35.4%
 Gross impaired loans ratio at 0.62%
 Liquidity coverage ratio of 136.5%
 Common Equity Tier 1 Capital Ratio of 14.5% and total capital ratio of 17.4%

Papayashot

wonder why impairment so high this quarter.

stkoay

https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/712246

KUALA LUMPUR (May 20): Public Bank Bhd (KL:PBBANK), Malaysia’s third-largest banking group by assets, said on Monday its net profit slipped 3.5% for the first quarter ended March 31, 2024 (1QFY2024) from a year earlier, mainly due to higher personnel costs and higher provisions.

Net profit stood at RM1.65 billion, or 8.52 sen per share, compared with RM1.71 billion, or 8.83 sen per share, a year ago, Public Bank said. Net interest income rose 2.8% year-on-year (y-o-y) to RM2.73 billion, while non-interest income edged up 0.5% to RM649.64 million.

thye82

Rubbish bank produce rubbish performance result...

David Coperfield

Does anyone know about PbBank TELE-GRAM GROUP?

troy88

Stagnant performance. PBB best days behind them..

KylieTan

Any moment for PBB to pass through RM4.20 🙂

EngineeringProfit

Yea, I'm back today

Jason9999

Still PBB is a bank of good potential.

M55555

PBB has rooted well. No easy to be shaken

skc761103

if investors aim for dividend + growth in share price for banking sector. RHB & MAYBANK are far better than public bank at this moment. Public bank yearly dividend cant even cover current margin interest compare to MAYBANK & RHB

skc761103

if investors aim for dividend + growth in share price for banking sector. RHB & MAYBANK are far better than public bank at this moment. Public bank yearly dividend cant even cover current margin interest compare to MAYBANK & RHB

Thirai Thiraviam

> if investors aim for dividend + growth in share price for banking sector. RHB & MAYBANK are far better than public bank at this moment. Public bank yearly dividend cant even cover current margin interest compare to MAYBANK & RHB

Consider this: The PER, Dividend Yield, and Payout Ratio for the three banks in question are as follows:

1) Maybank: 12.87, 6.01% and 0.76
2) RHB: 8.43, 7.23%, 0.61
3) Public: 12.25, 4.53%, 0.41

Of these three, RHB is the most attractive. Public comes second. Maybank appears to be the most richly priced at present. While Maybank pays a decent dividend, its payout ratio is very high, almost twice that of Public Bank. (Note: I have positions in all three.)

DividendGuy67

To me, PBBANK is a Warren Buffett stock, where our favorite holding period should be "forever". This is because of the bank's long term historical track record of growing its EPS and DPS and as a result its NAPS. Due to its reliable dividend growth, after several years of holding, the Dividend Yield on Cost will have grown significantly, and the best part is it keeps growing thereafter. If you have a choice between putting an FD with Public Bank, or buy its stock, no question, the latter will cause you to be very happy in 10, 20 years time. In the short term, many stocks look attractive compared to PBBANK, but after 10 years, you will be happier that you have bought PBBANBK instead of others.

Those who owned PBBANK 10 years ago will know what I mean.

DividendGuy67

It's true that the Management and the Board is older and it's easy to criticize old, but if you compare against the alternative where the choice is a young and brash management and board, for one of the leading banks, you want the experience to navigate through the financial volatile world. Banking is not about sexy and short-termism. It's about experience and being there for the long haul, "forever" so to speak. Of course, there should be a clear pipeline of younger successors coming up, but IMHO, they should not be too young and should have a balance erring on over 50s for the necessary experience.

DividendGuy67

Digibanks provide better short term returns to customers, no question, as there's lots of nice promotions right now. But the million dollar question is - do they have the track record to survive through the crisis, the recessions, the market crashes? Will they be there for the long haul? Only time will tell. Short term, they win market share but long term? With PBBANK, if your goal is to own this stock "forever", then, your eyes is on the next 10, 20 years, not current.

DividendGuy67

Don't get too hooked up that 1Q24 earnings are lower than 1Q23 earnings. If you're in for the long term and studied carefully its historical quarterly earnings over the past 10 years, it's not a permanent drop. When prices are temporarily depressed, it's usually a good opportunity to own one of the leading banks in the country and in a sector that is profitable and resilient over the long term. PBBANK will be clearly more profitable than today in 10, 20 years time.

DividendGuy67

New investors into PBBANK will always find PBBANK less attractive than MAYBANK. That's probably true after 3-7 years of holding. However, by the 8-10th year of holding, they will be glad they bought PBBANK and not MAYBANK, due to the dividend and earnings growth effect. If you want to own this for life (e.g. for upcoming retirees wanting to have a growing annuity / dividend payment for life), this is one of the proven stocks.

DividendGuy67

Personally, my only whinge is old management and Board and lack of transparency on pipeline succession. Tan Sri Dato' Tay Ah Lek contributions to PBBANK success is unparalleled, but markets are wary of MD and CEO who is 82 years old. He can be a senior mentor, but if there is a CEO who is 20-25 years young (still late 50s, early 60s) that he can trust, I believe the market will re-rate this stock. However, if you 're in this stock for the long haul, re-rating is not necessary but a bonus. It is okay because with each passing annual and quarterly reports, you will see growing EPS, DPS and NAPS and the stock price grows with it.

DividendGuy67

Notwitstanding age, PBBANK management quality is top class, I would rate clearly higher than management quality in other banks, so, it's not a complaint. However, it would clearly be market leader if there is clear pipeline succession and do what Warren Buffett do which is to name 2 potential successor amongst its current management team where the whole world knows. If PBBANK can do this, the stock will re-rate upwards. However, this is rare in Malaysia, so, don't hold your breath for this to happen. Just saying.

EngineeringProfit

I'm back...after selling at rm24 years ago

DividendGuy67

If Warren Buffett management team rates an A, then, I would rate PBBANK management B/B+ and MAYBANK management C+ from a personal perception point of view. A C is good enough for me to invest. Some of these ratings unfortunately cannot be delinked from other factors, so, it's not necessarily a comment about individuals per se, but the broader picture, in so far as their ability to maximize earnings and dividends to shareholders over the long term i.e. over my lifetime. Others with a different time-frame and different priorities will have different ratings.

DividendGuy67

@Engineer ... I don't know what to say ... all I can say is don't imagine "what if I have held and not sell the past 24 years" ... look forward. 😁

DividendGuy67

And the thing with Buy and Hold stock like PBBANK, we don't think about selling. All we think about is how high will next year's dividend grows. It's really about buying a growing annuity income that pays dividends for a lifetime. Nobody thinks about selling pensions / annuities that they own. Same with PBBANK - it's about collecting the growing dividends until we die, and then, pass it on to our next of kin. So, the only question is about entry price, but even then, don't get hooked up to it.

As usual, diversify, don't own more than 5%-10% of your portfolio max if you like to see your portfolio continue to make new all time highs regularly.

MG9231

Ideal banks should take care on risk factors and quality of loan rather than high dividend payout. PBB pays more or less 50% is ideal. Reserve 50% for expansion and unseen event or circumstance happens. I checked the pattern of how 3 local Singapore Banks are running, more or less the same!

PUBLIC RESEARCH TELLS YOU TO SELL TSH BUT PUBLIC MUTUAL FUNDS BUYING TSH RESOURCES SHARES LIKE NO TOMORROW!, Calvin Tan

https://klse.i3investor.com/web/blog/detail/www.eaglevisioninvest.com/2024-05-22-story-h-161464080-PUBLIC_RESEARCH_TELLS_YOU_TO_SELL_TSH_BUT_PUBLIC_MUTUAL_FUNDS_BUYING_TS

MG SIFU

BETTER FOLLOW PUBLIC MUTUAL FUNDS BUY TSH RESOURCES!

JUST WALLOP

BETTER THAN OUR 2013 YEAR PM CORP BULL RUN!

Thirai Thiraviam

> To me, PBBANK is a Warren Buffett stock, where our favorite holding period should be "forever". This is because of the bank's long term historical track record of growing its EPS and DPS and as a result its NAPS.

While Public Bank is probably the best run bank in Malaysia (based on its Net Margin that is above 50 %, NIM of 2.86, ROE of > 12.5 %, and cash to debt ratio of 1.55), it has been recording a single digit growth of less than 5% for over 10 years now.

As to the dividend yield, it appears high now only because of the slump in its share price over the last two years. Until recently, it was the banking stock with the highest PE. (Historical median PE: 14.8.) No longer. I sold out in mid-2022. Now, I find Public attractive again -- compared to its alternatives.

18 hours ago

hopetobecorrect

How often pbb pay dividend in a year?

6 hours ago