save malaysia!

Do not be arrogant with your winning, and do not despair when you lose- Asyraf Wajdi

Publish date: Sun, 03 Dec 2023, 08:25 AM

KUALA LUMPUR: Umno secretary-general Datuk Dr Asyraf Wajdi Dusuki has thanked loyal Barisan Nasional (BN) voters for still believing in the coalition's struggle.

In a Facebook post, Asyraf also thanked the entire BN election machinery nationwide, who gave their all in Kemaman for more than 14 days before and throughout the campaign period.

He also called on all BN supporters not to be disheartened by the defeat in the Kemaman by-election.

"Sometimes you win, and sometimes you lose. Do not be arrogant with your winnings, and do not despair when you lose.

"InsyaAllah, we will rebuild strength, trust and confidence, and continue the unfinished struggle for the sake of Islam, nation and our beloved country," he said.

In the post, Asyraf also congratulated Pas for their victory in the Kemaman by-election.

"This means that Perikatan Nasional (PN) remains with 69 parliamentary seats, while 152 members of parliament support the unity government.

"There will be no changes to the unity government. Now, it is time to focus all efforts on uplifting the people's welfare and driving the country's economy (to greater heights)."

Less than 30 minutes ago, Pas candidate Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Samsuri Mokhtar was officially announced to have won the Kemaman by-election, subsequently defending the seat won by the party in the 15th General Election (GE15).

Returning Officer Ahmad Farhan Abdul Wahab declared that Samsuri, better known as Dr Sam among the Kemaman voters, emerged victorious with a substantial majority of 37,220 votes.

Samsuri secured 64,998 votes, while BN's General (Rtd) Tan Sri Raja Mohamed Affandi Raja Mohamed Noor bagged 27,778 votes.

During the GE15, PN's Che Alias Hamid won the parliamentary seat with a majority of 27,179 votes, defeating three other contenders.

BN's Datuk Seri Ahmad Said garnered 38,535 votes, while two other contenders were Rosli Ab. Ghani (Pejuang) and Hasuni Sudin (Pakatan Harapan) obtained 506 votes and 8,340 votes, respectively.

Be the first to like this. Showing 0 of 0 comments

Post a Comment