26 comment(s). Last comment by Peter Lee 2013-03-19 10:40

tptan45

388 posts

Posted by tptan45 > 2013-03-18 22:20 | Report Abuse

Wonderful article. As I said earlier, the BN politicians sent their kids overseas to become pigs and whores so that our education system can learn from their mistakes.

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2013-03-18 22:21 | Report Abuse

Quite alot of these UTAR graduates are chinese educated. though not good in english but good, hardworking and resourceful type of workers. alot of them quite successful one.

necro

4,726 posts

Posted by necro > 2013-03-18 22:28 | Report Abuse

Aik?if the student is already bengap in math science n english wat can we do?from my experience spm paper from year to year become easier yet student still bengap to achieved good result,one of the reason is migration of hi achievers student to SBP,MRSM,Technical school and others hi orientation school...

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2013-03-18 22:43 | Report Abuse

why MOE want to lower standard every year .. is it the quality of the students or quality of the teachers ? if you go Japan, Korea or China.. and don't know how to speak their language.. die !! order food sometime also face problems.. yet they are developed country or developing fast.. anyway, I also feel english is important and those politician just think of themself only la, cuz some parents complain complain and don't want to support them later they kena. partly is those parents that complain.

necro

4,726 posts

Posted by necro > 2013-03-18 22:49 | Report Abuse

One of my chinese friend now have salary RM8K per month plus mitsubishi triton plus petrol allwance plus ....with spm result 5A,3B,1C same like me,his father is rubber tapper and farmer..
Is this country not a Boleh Land?...

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2013-03-18 22:52 | Report Abuse

:)

Posted by sureprofit > 2013-03-18 23:24 | Report Abuse

Ir Koon Yew Yin, at least you has a good education from the education provided by BN school and university, and now you has a good job and can help your fellowmen, you seem to forget what was given to you. How easy ....

tc2012

362 posts

Posted by tc2012 > 2013-03-18 23:56 | Report Abuse

Typical arguement of BN/UMNO agents.It is the duty of the government of the day to provide good education for the people.It is goverment of the day's obligation.
Mamakkutty have screw up current education system beyond recognition.
during the 70's , UM is still one of the top university in ASIA and it
is on same level as Singapore U .and now UM and other U in m'sia out of
top 100 in ASIA and way way behind singapore U.
Just tell me what credit BN wants....suck lah BN.....

alenac

2,618 posts

Posted by alenac > 2013-03-19 00:03 | Report Abuse

I fully agree with the writer. The education system is not generating students the market desires.

chongkonghui

1,117 posts

Posted by chongkonghui > 2013-03-19 00:17 | Report Abuse

Sad but true, what can we do now? Vote BN out....

alenac

2,618 posts

Posted by alenac > 2013-03-19 00:25 | Report Abuse

Spend more money on english books, speak english at home and encourage your children to think outside the box. As I know if you send your kids to mandarin schools, they rote learn and creativity is less emphasized.

necro

4,726 posts

Posted by necro > 2013-03-19 00:27 | Report Abuse

Hurmmm....
:-[

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2013-03-19 00:29 | Report Abuse

Well, not talking bout politic. not sure if the uni ranking is important, we do take in new recruits from time to time, UM still produce good graduates :)

chongkonghui

1,117 posts

Posted by chongkonghui > 2013-03-19 00:35 | Report Abuse

It is the "non concern" about politic causing more damage and suffer....

necro

4,726 posts

Posted by necro > 2013-03-19 00:39 | Report Abuse

Why la must talking bout politics?
The success of the student lies on them self and parents...
Politician change education system on their desire becoz their "think" it is suit current student condition but in the end it is still the student responsibilities to study hard or outsmart the "study process"...
lol :D

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2013-03-19 00:40 | Report Abuse

Irrespective of race, still notice among the local institutions, most of the UM I seen got quality. :)

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2013-03-19 00:43 | Report Abuse

Chongkonghui, if you have kid and assume he can get a place in UM ? You won't allow him cuz of politic ?

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2013-03-19 00:46 | Report Abuse

Or cuz it is behind singapore uni ?

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2013-03-19 00:50 | Report Abuse

haha..

shirley1

1,141 posts

Posted by shirley1 > 2013-03-19 00:57 | Report Abuse

anyway, my kid is in private school :)

11,076 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2013-03-19 07:35 |

kl foong

421 posts

Posted by kl foong > 2013-03-19 08:29 | Report Abuse

Mr Ooi,
Well said.

ahkeng71

46 posts

Posted by ahkeng71 > 2013-03-19 08:50 | Report Abuse

well said, Mr Ooi.

and for Sureprofit, if Ir Koon did not care about what is happening in our educational system, he will not be bothered to write the open letter. We are no longer staying in our own world and need to compare ourself with the rest of other developed countries. Our education is one key element to make us stay a float.

tptan45

388 posts

Posted by tptan45 > 2013-03-19 08:55 | Report Abuse

Hai yah, why always use maths, science and english to measure our education standards?
Look at our students- they are very good in Malay, and of course the BN's version of history. The singapore students know nuts about these 2 subjects. If use these 2 criterias, we are no. 1 in the world.
RIGHT???

Peter Lee

347 posts

Posted by Peter Lee > 2013-03-19 10:40 | Report Abuse

the main culprit,is those holding power dont do work but grab money,we neeed a new gorverment who do work and say no corruption,tq