CEO Morning Brief

Bersatu Sacks Seven Elected Representatives

Publish date: Thu, 13 Jun 2024, 10:40 AM
0 23,594
TheEdge CEO Morning Brief

KUALA LUMPUR (June 12): Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu) said on Wednesday that it has terminated the membership of seven of its elected representatives.

The party issued notices on Wednesday to six of its elected representatives who violated Clause 10.4 of its constitution, Bersatu Secretary-General Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainudin said in a statement. Labuan MP Datuk Suhaili Abdul Rahman was terminated for breaching Clause 10.2.6, he said.

Hamzah stressed that the process was conducted in line with the party’s constitution and national legislation, as provided for under Article 49(A) of the federal constitution or under state government laws.

Clause 10.4 stipulates that any Bersatu Member of Parliament (MP) or State Assemblyman who defies a party directive issued by the supreme council, in accordance with Clause 10.5, will be immediately stripped of their membership.

Clause 10.2.6 meanwhile says that a party member will have his or her membership revoked if he or she brings any party matters or those concerning party membership to court.

Six Bersatu MPs have openly pledged support to Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar: Datuk Syed Abu Hussin Hafiz Syed Abdul Fasal (Bukit Gantang), Zahari Kechik (Jeli), Mohd Azizi Abu Naim (Gua Musang), Datuk Iskandar Dzulkarnain Abdul Khalid (Kuala Kangsar), Datuk Zulkafperi Hanafi (Tanjong Karang) and Suhaili.

Selat Klang assemblyman Datuk Abdul Rashid Asari declared his support for Selangor Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Amirudin Shari earlier in March. Mohd Azizi is also the Nenggiri state assemblyman in Kelantan.

Bersatu had reportedly issued a notice to all its MPs and assemblymen requiring them to declare loyalty to the party. All six Bersatu MPs and one state assemblyman allegedly failed to respond.

Last week, Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi said the status of the six Bersatu MPs would be determined by the Speaker of the Dewan Rakyat.

Source: TheEdge - 13 Jun 2024

Be the first to like this. Showing 0 of 0 comments

Post a Comment