7 comment(s). Last comment by Jonathan Keung 2014-01-08 10:56

Chrollo

1,143 posts

Posted by Chrollo > 2014-01-05 23:26 | Report Abuse

The power of compounding is truly magnificient..

Tessa Joseph

7,919 posts

Posted by Tessa Joseph > 2014-01-06 07:16 | Report Abuse

I'm using the Rule of 72 to approximate how long it will take for an investment to double at a given interest rate.

Jester

852 posts

Posted by Jester > 2014-01-07 17:25 | Report Abuse

Dear Tessa,

Could you please enlighten your usage of Rule of 72 to the community here?
It would be best if you also state whether you follow the rule 100% or not.

Thanks~

Tessa Joseph

7,919 posts

Posted by Tessa Joseph > 2014-01-07 21:36 | Report Abuse

The Rule of 72 is a simple formula used to estimate the length of time required to double an investment. For example an individual is earning 6% on their money market account would like to estimate how long it would take to double their current balance. In order for this estimation to be remotely accurate, we must assume that there will be no withdrawals nor deposits into this account. We can estimate that it will take approximately 12 years to double the current balance after dividing 72 by 6

skyhawk

4,453 posts

Posted by skyhawk > 2014-01-07 22:59 | Report Abuse

The Magical Rule of 72.....
Let say your returns on share investment is 8% a month..

72 divided by 8 = 9 months to double up your capital...provided no withdrawals and profits are reinvested...
8% a month is easily achievable if you have a good trading plan..

Posted by Fat Cat Tim Buddy > 2014-01-07 23:05 | Report Abuse

he could die before his 50th, or 60th, but whatever it is, it does not matter, because the things you want at 15 , you probably does not want it at your 60.

you only live once, dont so kiam siap lah, spend some money and have fun spending.. knn..

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2014-01-08 10:56 | Report Abuse

to be honest. not everyone can lives to 80's or 90's. however, to save and invest over 10-15 years period( is good ). most of us started to invest only after 40's + 10 years = 50's .

enjoy what you can afford. after all life is short. not everyone can be a billionaire. happy trading