vinext

117 posts

Posted by vinext > 2015-07-07 14:36 | Report Abuse

it wil be back,but crazy analysis/ wrong reason

cpng

1,575 posts

Posted by cpng > 2015-07-07 15:13 | Report Abuse

Print media is a sunset industry.
Strongest as The Star also bit the bullets.
They are using USD to buy raw papers and losing the younger genaration readers.

cpng

1,575 posts

Posted by cpng > 2015-07-07 15:19 | Report Abuse

One big advantage can turnaround their bottom lines overnite»increase the newspapers cover prices by $0.20.
Same strategy as Astro pratising because the readers price elasticity is very low.

cpng

1,575 posts

Posted by cpng > 2015-07-07 15:31 | Report Abuse

星洲集团现在是尾大不掉,手上的报纸只有马来西亚的星洲及中国报赚钱,其他不是好看,更不用现在推出的电子媒体。
南洋及光明一直亏大本,碍手脚不过不能关闭,大马华社反感。
报纸要起价,又有一个东方报碍手脚。
香港明报也是好看不中用,竞争激烈,加上亲中共立场,令港人反感,不能赚大钱,每况愈下。

cpng

1,575 posts

Posted by cpng > 2015-07-07 15:35 | Report Abuse

If you have to buy..
Based on NTA $0.45 time 30% discount is around $0.315.
This is the safety point.

pingdan

1,549 posts

Posted by pingdan > 2015-07-07 18:47 | Report Abuse

Not good le. In my opinion, better dun invest in sunset business. Another share also similiar to this is umsngb. Also sunset business. Also keep saving cost but revenue keep on decrease year by year. Although the profit increase and PE ratio low not recommended to invest in this kind of shares. Once the industry totally went off, it is hard to recover your money. Just my opinion

icon8888

Posted by icon8888 > 2015-07-07 19:23 | Report Abuse

Guys, Looked like sentiment for this counter very bad. But thanks for your input. Really appreciate it.

paperplane2

3,235 posts

Posted by paperplane2 > 2015-07-07 20:27 | Report Abuse

Premium brand? Sunset brand.

icon8888

Posted by icon8888 > 2015-07-07 20:39 | Report Abuse

Ok lah, paperplane said so, I must pay attention

tc88

573 posts

Posted by tc88 > 2015-07-07 21:42 | Report Abuse

How about media prima?

Posted by Terminator2000 > 2015-07-07 23:57 |

JT Yeo

Posted by JT Yeo > 2015-07-08 07:48 | Report Abuse

i like it when everyone is so pessimistic, make it sounds like a road-kill. A DCF with 0% growth and 10% discount rate will get you $0.60 using EPS of 0.06, which is consider really low compare to the past 4-5 years EPS. ROE accelerating. Throwing oof FCF 130-180 million each year.

Posted by Terminator2000 > 2015-07-08 07:57 |

Posted by Icon8888 > 2015-07-08 08:26 | Report Abuse

Several people have commented on this article. Most are pessimistic, JT Yeo is the first one with a contrarian view.

I am kind of in the middle - concur with the view that the industry is under threat by new players, but refused to give up until I see more concrete signs that this is indeed an irreversible structural decline instead of due to cyclicality

as for optimus, as usual, his comments are hollow and no substance. Difficult to take them seriously.

Posted by Terminator2000 > 2015-07-08 08:30 | Report Abuse

Can u kindly remove this article from I3?
Its really no standard. Just an analyst sifu wannabe but crappy article. Waste everyone time

Posted by Terminator2000 > 2015-07-08 08:35 | Report Abuse

Shameless author who are famous by his 12 part report to buy gob at 120 now 48 plus his dead coma prg.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2015-07-08 09:03 | Report Abuse

You have to learn some basic FA and TA. Don't waste your time doing nothing

your mum is worry

JT Yeo

Posted by JT Yeo > 2015-07-08 09:38 | Report Abuse

I think if you extrapolate then perhaps it is correct it is sunset business, young generation doesn't subscribe to newspapers anymore or less likely, whether they will do it when they gets old who knows.

The investment can be a successful ones if:

1. These 'sunset' expectation has totally been priced in or overpriced in, which present a relatively low downside risk, but potential high probability upside surprise.

2. The 'sun' actually 'set' slower than many thought, allowing mediac to continue to throw off cash and transition their business away from news print, which they are already doing.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2015-07-08 10:01 | Report Abuse

good points.

Posted by novice05 > 2015-07-09 11:21 | Report Abuse

Peter Lync said invest in "Great companies in lousy industries" ..MCIL perhaps fall into this category?

Posted by paperplane3 > 2015-08-18 16:09 |