8 people like this.

31 comment(s). Last comment by Amirun Zakwan Anis 2016-01-12 17:05

lching

1,402 posts

Posted by lching > 2016-01-06 10:12 | Report Abuse

poor family should go for form 6 instead of so-called foundation course.

3,221 posts

Posted by chinaman > 2016-01-06 10:16 | Report Abuse

KYY is the only Malaysia Warren Buffet with philanthropist embracing true Buddhist principles of impermanence in life. No other Malaysians can beat this record

Posted by chickenrice > 2016-01-06 10:30 | Report Abuse

Thank you Mr Koon for being so generous to help those in need.

Jester

852 posts

Posted by Jester > 2016-01-06 10:33 | Report Abuse

@lching, I'm from a poor family but my foundation has really helped me to further my study. However, I was being very (sometimes extremely) frugal and it is not easy but it is doable with the right mentality. I'm not saying form 6 is not good. Most of my friends who are doing so good right now came from form 6.

@icon8989, I agree with you that the selection is quite difficult to make as a lot of students coming from poor family have poorer English. However, I respect Mr Koon's criteria because it is his money. I just hope that they already have the measure to counteract your concern Icon8989.

fayeTan

Posted by fayeTan > 2016-01-06 10:33 | Report Abuse

the intention is good. More importantly, the students sponsored can improve their lives through education

enning22

2,872 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2016-01-06 10:35 | Report Abuse

SHOULD Establish a science research centre,for chinese scholars, scientists and other disciplines.That would stimulate greater and more important awakening in general.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-06 10:55 | Report Abuse

But the system in Malaysia is so totally screwed, those from the lower half income bracket is almost certainly screwed and have few chances for self improvements through university, not least is course , the suitability and preparedness of the candidates themselves.
Upwards mobility that Mr. Koon's generation enjoyed under the British is totally absent nowadays.
We applaud Mr. Koon's efforts. But it is a big task to have any impact.

Even this idea about sponsoring students to foundation courses in local universities, while good, has no meaning......because those offered such courses are already given living allowances by the government and don't need your help, problem is , so few of them are given such places.

It is government interference that is the root cause of the problem.

The private sector and donors really need innovative solutions that totally cuts out the role of the government before there can be an impact.

Required even more urgently than putting students through universities to enhance upwards mobility.....the private sector and donors have to think not in terms of traditional universities but more into technical courses, apprenticeships, internships, professional exams and skills developments to start with....in conjunction with the private sector.....and counselling services and mentoring even while in schools

My 2 sen worth.
Innovative solutions are needed for total CSR.
Not just money but a network.

coolinvestor

1,227 posts

Posted by coolinvestor > 2016-01-06 11:21 | Report Abuse

I believe Mr. Koon just said a min of 5As for spm. And he never said u must be fluent in English to apply. It may also be broken English. I also believe he is looking for serious ppl who wants to study.
Seems lots of ppl like to jump to conclusions n criticise without looking at the bigger picture. Perhaps they can help sponsor n chip in?

Mr. Koon keep it up. U are a generous man

smartly

6,390 posts

Posted by smartly > 2016-01-06 11:31 | Report Abuse

Thank you. Salute.

leelc99

871 posts

Posted by leelc99 > 2016-01-06 11:36 | Report Abuse

Well done Mr. Koon. Respect.

Posted by winnerzhang > 2016-01-06 12:17 | Report Abuse

I hope someday. some rich self-made tycoons will sponsor top students (10A+ SPM, 4As STPM) who are rejected by local universities due to discrimination.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-06 12:21 | Report Abuse

Sunway and others already fully sponsor top top students.
Problem is all these top students want to be doctors and look down on business courses.
<I hope someday. some rich self-made tycoons will sponsor top students (10A+ SPM, 4As STPM) who are rejected by local universities due to discrimination.>

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-06 12:23 | Report Abuse

the proper priority is upwards mobility, not just the needs of the top top students

<I hope someday. some rich self-made tycoons will sponsor top students (10A+ SPM, 4As STPM) who are rejected by local universities due to discrimination.>

ronnietan

141 posts

Posted by ronnietan > 2016-01-06 12:29 | Report Abuse

Tony Pua may be speaking Manglish so as to relate to man-in-the-street and to the latter's level of Manglish. He was educated in Oxford. Man-in-the-street grad typically educated in UKM.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-06 12:39 | Report Abuse

Taiwan is a viable option

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-06 12:51 | Report Abuse

no worries. The younger generation love Taiwan more than their parent generation. I noticed.
maybe sending one to Taiwan is better than two to local universities.

ahcheng12

43 posts

Posted by ahcheng12 > 2016-01-06 13:02 | Report Abuse

Mr. Koon, BRAVO !!!! God Bless You.

funkaki

25 posts

Posted by funkaki > 2016-01-06 15:00 | Report Abuse

good!!!!!!

mic2828

Posted by mic2828 > 2016-01-06 16:39 | Report Abuse

Thumb up , KYY

glorymas

32 posts

Posted by glorymas > 2016-01-06 17:32 | Report Abuse

Salute! i wish one day i can be your personal assistant even without any pay

geary

6,239 posts

Posted by geary > 2016-01-06 18:19 | Report Abuse

Uncle Koon mindset is already detached from all discrimination in the crazy world of ignorance people. He will donate all for charities. I am sure he is now joyful, happy living with all the people around him. Wish him the best of health and may the people living on earth bless him with long life.

Posted by Lee Vi King > 2016-01-06 23:06 | Report Abuse

God Bless u

JinTanah

32 posts

Posted by JinTanah > 2016-01-06 23:07 | Report Abuse

jin tanahhhh

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-06 23:52 | Report Abuse

I am very shocked English is weak

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-06 23:55 | Report Abuse

Instead of setting up education fund
Why not setting up your own schooling system
And emphasize in English

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-06 23:58 | Report Abuse

English is very difficult language and grammar need to be taught since elementary school
Why not funding for primary school English class

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-07 00:16 | Report Abuse

Charity and CSR can take many forms, advanced countries got more innovative ideas

<English is very difficult language and grammar need to be taught since elementary school
Why not funding for primary school English class>

i4investor

2,797 posts

Posted by i4investor > 2016-01-07 12:12 | Report Abuse

Mr Koon, I like to call you Stock God. Propose you set up a free class for investing education enhancement/improvement. I will be first one to attend your class. Pls consider my proposal.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-07 13:54 | Report Abuse

The government organised foundation for our youths is not a solution.
First, you learn nothing in that year. Second, for the yellow skins, very few of them gets the proper university courses after that.

Any proper solution has to cut the government out of the equation.

enning22

2,872 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2016-01-12 12:26 | Report Abuse

should set up fund for an institute for advances study,this could provide competitive technological know how for our industries at large.

Posted by Amirun Zakwan Anis > 2016-01-12 17:05 | Report Abuse

what are the documents required to be submitted along with the application email