51 comment(s). Last comment by MG9231 2017-01-19 11:46

Cipetxxx

87 posts

Posted by Cipetxxx > 2017-01-15 00:54 | Report Abuse

GeShen : Pending breakout..1.86

There are many in such situation ... worth watching.

These stuped did it again...bought highest...sohighh never learn.

Cipetxxx

87 posts

Posted by Cipetxxx > 2017-01-15 00:58 | Report Abuse

These stuped always ask to buy at highest

Mc_Wei

176 posts

Posted by Mc_Wei > 2017-01-15 00:59 | Report Abuse

Peter Lynch said don't time the market. He can even generate positive return for his USD12b fund when US market crashed. TTB obviously is not value investing but market timing.

LA777

3,383 posts

Posted by LA777 > 2017-01-15 01:03 | Report Abuse

Paperplane, good ones, change his name to tan ku ku... kakaka...

LA777

3,383 posts

Posted by LA777 > 2017-01-15 01:05 | Report Abuse

Waited for 3 years already and still waiting...

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-01-15 02:58 | Report Abuse

Ignore TTB

Rip

Posted by CharlesT > 2017-01-15 07:35 | Report Abuse

Waited for 3 years?ttb has been waiting for market crash since 2012, this year is his 5th anniversary....happy earning fd interest while his loyal shareholders happy eating shit

Posted by cheoky > 2017-01-15 07:35 | Report Abuse

Tan bullshit. unit holder get charged for management fee and getting nothing for years. Chicken little. Market does not accommodate to your expectation, it will only humiliate you. No different for tan. Respect the market, don't charge unit holder for your guess.

Posted by CharlesT > 2017-01-15 07:39 | Report Abuse

Congrates to cpteh also, after getting zero response for his recent rubbish posts here finally he managed to get some by making use of ttb....he knew how popular ttb is in i3...

sctan

468 posts

Posted by sctan > 2017-01-15 09:33 | Report Abuse

Warren Buffett also can find the good stock to invest, don't know why ttb can't find? maybe ttb want to get good stock at 90% discount.

Alex Chan

3,915 posts

Posted by Alex Chan > 2017-01-15 10:08 | Report Abuse

TTB. Worse fund manager ever. Now the fund is making a loss, need to continue paying him to do?
After 7 years of shouting crashes, will he get lucky this year?

king36

1,022 posts

Posted by king36 > 2017-01-15 10:40 | Report Abuse

No Dv,no bonus, every year living on the $$ earned so many years ago but paying him "consultancy fee" to a few million per year!
Why the management & share holders so stupid?
He should get his fees only based on what he could earn for the company that year. No crying wolf, wolf company and shareholders get nothing but he still gets millions in fees! How ridiculous!
If the company loses, he should not get any fee at all for the year!
Why don't they change the contract so?

Posted by supersaiyan3 > 2017-01-15 11:09 | Report Abuse

Margin of safety can be in a lot of forms: Elasticity of the share price, elasticity of the demand of business, this is not important.

Agree with everyone, TTB can't find good value stock, but rather, in fact, he got a forbia, he is afraid to be wrong. (Go see Anthony Robbins)

Look at expectation of returns mah, this is 101.

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2017-01-15 11:21 | Report Abuse

Tan gu gu

L2invest

34 posts

Posted by L2invest > 2017-01-15 11:21 | Report Abuse

Aiyo... investment is about calculated risk taking, no risk no gain lor. But "when" market really crash, some1 will be laughing to the bank... how nice to find a job that only needs to work once in a decade... ha!!

Kenz

181 posts

Posted by Kenz > 2017-01-15 11:23 | Report Abuse

Keep cash? then just put in FD and wait until the crash arrive. Why need a fund manager to do it??

Jason33

112 posts

Posted by Jason33 > 2017-01-15 11:25 | Report Abuse

with gst, cash asset immediately down 6%.

Jason33

112 posts

Posted by Jason33 > 2017-01-15 11:26 | Report Abuse

the purpose of investing is make your cash work harder..

Jason33

112 posts

Posted by Jason33 > 2017-01-15 11:27 | Report Abuse

those keep cash is because they dun have idea what to invest..then safest is keep cash lor while wait for crash lor.

ckkhen

194 posts

Posted by ckkhen > 2017-01-15 12:31 | Report Abuse

2017 is the year TTB will get it right, thanks to Uncle Trump.

Skliew

1,201 posts

Posted by Skliew > 2017-01-15 13:30 | Report Abuse

High inflation in the US will prompt the Federal Reserve raise interest rates multiple times, could be more than 3 times in 2017, and result in the plunge of the stock markets? Valuation of the S&P is very rich historically. :)

Skliew

1,201 posts

Posted by Skliew > 2017-01-15 13:31 | Report Abuse

It's prudence to exercise cautions !

Skliew

1,201 posts

Posted by Skliew > 2017-01-15 13:32 | Report Abuse

Thanks for the videos

Posted by 360Capitalist > 2017-01-15 13:32 | Report Abuse

Global market crash always starts from Wall Street. As Wall Street is just beginning to rise, so it is still far from danger zone. Unless DJ is approaching 26,000-27000 level..

Posted by shareinvestor88 > 2017-01-15 15:00 | Report Abuse

Teh one cant time the market. Wasted opportunity

Posted by cheoky > 2017-01-15 15:54 | Report Abuse

Selt Klarman - still, calibration is important. Set the bar too high and you might remain out of the market for a very long time. Set it too low and you will be fully invested almost immediately. It will be as though you had no standards at all. Experience and versatile thinking are the keys to such calibration. In this case, Icook tan got high high standard but lacking experience and versatile thinking. It is like fantasise his sex partner will be a supermodel, yet when the time comes he is too old to to do it. Worse still unittholder paid for his bed waiting with the promise of second hand sex. That is a sin.

Posted by pengembaraalam > 2017-01-15 16:02 | Report Abuse

sometime, he need to learn about the investing, not speculating, very bad to have such a fund manager like this. If compared to kyy, kyy is better than him, trade all the time.~peace!!!

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-01-15 16:23 | Report Abuse

TTB is an economist pretending to be fund manager.

You know what they say about economists la.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-01-15 16:23 | Report Abuse

KYY is a grandmaster.

JacNgu

214 posts

Posted by JacNgu > 2017-01-15 16:47 | Report Abuse

never read his bullshits. never will.

Posted by shortinvestor77 > 2017-01-15 16:48 | Report Abuse

CPTeh is a disciple of TTB. So you know their performance for these 5 years.

Mc_Wei

176 posts

Posted by Mc_Wei > 2017-01-15 18:31 | Report Abuse

Since TTB started his call for market crash many years ago, there were many new developments in the market which created many opportunities to make few baggers return but he missed it. Rise of internet of things and smartphone, increased minimum wages which spur the retail sector and depreciation of MYR which resulted huge rally in export stocks.

Even stocks that have hit rock bottom he also missed. Like the recovery of commodities and steel sector and airline. Both Annjoo and Airasia dropped 85% and 80% respectively from its peak price and TTB missed it.

What has TTB been doing apart from telling everyone market has crashed? TTB is one very proud guy. In his 2011 interview with Thestar, the interviewer asked him if there's any investor he admire greatly and why? His reply was:

"Can I say, myself? If yes, the reason is this: Other fund managers need only focus on managing their funds. In my case, besides managing funds over RM1bil on a local and global basis, I have a number of companies and a fast growing business to manage at the same time. Yet, I have consistently beaten all the benchmark indices, whether Malaysian or globally based. Hard to find another parallel, really."

"Yes, my returns are higher than Warren Buffett's and also higher than John Paulson's flagship fund. There are great investing opportunities to be found on Bursa Malaysia, as there are some great companies listed there. However, based on sheer numbers, you cannot beat the investing opportunities available from the 40,000 plus listed companies globally."

http://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2011/10/01/your-10-questions-with-tan-teng-boo/

From 2012 until 2016 (total of 5 years), ICAP is up 25%, whereas Berkshire Hathaway is up 111%.

No doubt one day.... just ONE DAY.... TTB will get it right on his market crash predictions. Investors just have to wait patiently with him, while continue paying him salaries.

MG9231

770 posts

Posted by MG9231 > 2017-01-15 18:41 | Report Abuse

Cp Teh - his 2 articles posted in I3 today contradict each other. It shows his mind in a state of confusing
Article 1 mentioned Value investing. Article 2 mentioned cut loss.
- for value investing, where do we need to cut loss, buy action starts with margin of safety and if the price goes lower buy even more .

-for cut loss, means trading plan with entry price, target price and cut loss.

12,784 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2017-01-15 18:43 | Report Abuse

Can you spot me in the video among the crowd? :-)

MG9231

770 posts

Posted by MG9231 > 2017-01-15 18:52 | Report Abuse

If my memory serves me right, Cp Teh has more than 7 years experience in bursa. Instead of follow Tiam Tiam Boo, just Follow KC Chong's write up (need not to enrolled as online student) in last couple of years in I3 investors, I believe he should be able to make some money. He further claim to be a teacher teaching technical stock trading. You can see he always disclaiming himself by saying not knowing the FA of companies he is trading. It shows he focus more on movement of share prices rather than FA.

soon9913

2,470 posts

Posted by soon9913 > 2017-01-15 22:48 | Report Abuse

He is just too conservative!

ckkhen

194 posts

Posted by ckkhen > 2017-01-15 22:53 | Report Abuse

soon9913,
You mean TTB style only for uncles and aunties? But I see many young people in his talks every year.

nono118

85 posts

Posted by nono118 > 2017-01-16 10:53 | Report Abuse

He gets paid millions sitting on cash. He must be brilliant and the people paying him the millions have got to be idiots.

Jay

Posted by Jay > 2017-01-16 10:58 | Report Abuse

a broken clock can also be correct twice a day. keep claiming market will crash without giving much context. higher valuation doesn't always mean bubble. at the very least, he should have the dignity of receiving less compensation when his icap is not performing well for the past years

MG9231

770 posts

Posted by MG9231 > 2017-01-16 11:03 | Report Abuse

Mr.wee, TTB's skin is as thick as Najib.

hh488

25 posts

Posted by hh488 > 2017-01-16 11:35 | Report Abuse

As the common saying...."Scare don't buy; Buy don't be scared"...haha

sctan

468 posts

Posted by sctan > 2017-01-16 11:37 | Report Abuse

ttb investment method
守株待兔
wait till all blue chips drop minimum half
sure make money
and no need to analyze.

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2017-01-16 12:12 | Report Abuse

without prejudice on anybody trading ideas. if ? you forsee market coming down why in the first place ( you are still waiting- awaiting to pick up value buys. ) write the word " crash "

any government in the world would do their utmost to avoid a repeat of the US wallstreet crisis ( subprime ) where the names like Lehaman Bros, Bear Steins, Merril LYnch , Goldman Sachs, JP Morgan ( the so called big 5 " to big to fail Investment banks ) all hit by massive write down and their shares prices plummented and fell .

If these " doomsday " roubini famous words does not come true. Forecasting Dow will drop even below 5000.think of the lost opportunities where the Dow recover from 11000 to hit the 20,000. the truth , nobody can predict or time the market. Use the USD motto. "in God we trust ".have a happy profitable new year

Godevil

33 posts

Posted by Godevil > 2017-01-16 14:47 | Report Abuse

TTB,as a value investor is not creating value for his fundholders. If you really care for your money, just have a look at his performance in the past 5 years, was it satisfactory. I think 5 years is a reasonable time to evaluate a value investor's performance, don't you think so?
Most sifus here did much better and they did not even claim to be 'world class investors'
Anyway its your $$ and your decision.

klkk

294 posts

Posted by klkk > 2017-01-16 15:50 | Report Abuse

TTB to me is a lousy fund manager who has been holding on to cash and counters that are not performing well...he is waiting for a market crash that he was/is so dead sure that was/is going to happen very soon and so he had waited/has waited and still waiting for it to happen since 2005/6? The price performance of ICap tells all. No need to argue.

MG9231

770 posts

Posted by MG9231 > 2017-01-16 16:02 | Report Abuse

after 2015 ICAp AGM, TTB was reported in Star business paper he don't mind to be lonely bear waiting market to crash, After 2016 icap AGM, what else can he said?

Posted by CharlesT > 2017-01-16 16:04 | Report Abuse

If i can receive rm6m plus a year without fail i also dont mind to be lonely bear

MG9231

770 posts

Posted by MG9231 > 2017-01-16 16:23 | Report Abuse

Posted by CharlesT > Jan 16, 2017 04:04 PM | Report Abuse

If i can receive rm6m plus a year without fail i also dont mind to be lonely bear

yes, some more bring girlfriends oversea for holiday at the expense of shareholders. i wonder those look high upon him and defends him fiercely got to say.

king36

1,022 posts

Posted by king36 > 2017-01-19 11:34 | Report Abuse

Why don't shareholders/management review their contract with him?
He should get his due on the year from what he could earn for the year. Not blindly rm6m/year without fail even with -ve performance.

MG9231

770 posts

Posted by MG9231 > 2017-01-19 11:46 | Report Abuse

If you attended Icap Bhd AGM, then you will understand, his loyal n blindfolded shareholders treating him like god even he underperform for so many years. They have forgotten their hard earned money are practically throwing into a drain .