23 comment(s). Last comment by qqq3 2018-09-18 14:06

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2018-09-14 10:51 | Report Abuse

fully focus and committed is equally important

BLee

746 posts

Posted by BLee > 2018-09-14 11:13 | Report Abuse

5. Keep a long-term perspective..this is the best. A janitor can do it, so can most of us. Thanks for a good article.

12,846 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-09-14 16:07 | Report Abuse

Excellent points. Sadly, only a few have the temperament to use these profitably.

I am surrounded by people, the majority of them can only share stories of their losses in the stock market in the past and are not surprisingly no longer invested in the stock market for the long term.

wotvr

841 posts

Posted by wotvr > 2018-09-15 23:28 | Report Abuse

Depends on what stocks you hold. Make sure it's a fundamentally strong stock with good dividends and popularity.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-15 23:44 | Report Abuse

not bad....I have some role models in mind.....

1. Think like a business owner, ticked

2. Logic over emotions, ticked, ticked

3. Stay within your circle of competence, ticked

4. Always protect your downside

5. Keep a long-term perspective

4 and 5 very difficult to reconcile.

Genuine investors should hold long term, 3 years and above and aim for multiple baggers..............

Traders got traders rules

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-15 23:51 | Report Abuse

Malaysia is not America....the total market size for successful companies to grow is limited..............

in America if just 1 in 10 companies in your portfolio hits a home run, your portfolio will do well

in Malaysia...that may not be the case.

zhen wei & JP

1,169 posts

Posted by zhen wei & JP > 2018-09-16 00:08 | Report Abuse

America ,China , Japan, HK

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-16 00:28 | Report Abuse

the danger of just regurgitating American books.

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2018-09-16 00:42 | Report Abuse

Qqq3,

If one ever needs proof of one's mind being dead to change once one has passed their fifties. Even when presented evidence.

Can just go read your comments.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-16 00:51 | Report Abuse

qqq3 > Sep 16, 2018 12:28 AM | Report Abuse X

choivo......guilty as charged.......not, not me......but....

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-16 00:53 | Report Abuse

American stock market and Malaysian stock market is very different....

every thing is different...tax laws are different.....and growth opportunities and growth limits for successful companies are different.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-16 14:40 | Report Abuse

choivo

not saying cannot make money in Bursa

but also true

Posted by qqq3 > Sep 15, 2018 11:51 PM | Report Abuse X

Malaysia is not America....the total market size for successful companies to grow is limited..............

in America if just 1 in 10 companies in your portfolio hits a home run, your portfolio will do well

in Malaysia...that may not be the case.

also

America has tax laws that discourages trading....Malaysia no such laws.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-18 09:36 | Report Abuse

choivo

there are subtle differences which have consequences....due to size of market,in America u can still get multiple baggers getting into well known brands and companies with track records and history.

In Malaysia, u want multiple baggers u got to take higher risks, get in earlier...the net result have higher failure rates.

godhand

1,885 posts

Posted by godhand > 2018-09-18 09:43 | Report Abuse

we have companies that do export businesses too. so theres not really a limit

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-18 09:47 | Report Abuse

above books are written by and for American markets, our market is suitable for traders

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-18 09:55 | Report Abuse

trading is double edged sword.....

trading ( compared to buy and hold) , u flip your portfolio faster, if you are good, u make more money, lousy, u lose more money

Posted by Jonathan Keung > 2018-09-18 10:09 | Report Abuse

alot of locals treat share trading as an option for quick profit not view as a long term hold (asset investment ).

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-18 10:31 | Report Abuse

Jonathan Keung > Sep 18, 2018 10:09 AM | Report Abuse

alot of locals treat share trading as an option for quick profit not view as a long term hold (asset investment ).
===========

the idea is to make money....doesn't matter cat is white.....

why this forum everybody pretends to be asset investment when everybody is a trader?

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-18 10:39 | Report Abuse

asset investors got asset investor rules
traders got trader rules.

lets be clear about one thing....

unless u intend/ willing to buy and hold for 5 years and at least see double in the stock price.....u are a trader...so use trader rules la.......forget about your asset investor rules.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-18 10:45 | Report Abuse

people mix up in their heads....

calling themselves value investors but no desire to buy really undervalued shares......

apply value investor rules for entry but sell with 10% profits......

all kinds of getting mixed up in the brain.....

praise kc chong, ridicule traders....but they themselves are 100% traders in my definition........and they don't even realise it.....

hang pig head sell dog meat......

talk East go West....

no good......getting confused is not a good way to go about making money.......

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-18 11:02 | Report Abuse

look at all the teachers....can they make money? no

look at all the people who succeeds in stock market......what they have in common?

two words......honesty and know thyself

honesty to one self, know thyself....all in front of you can be conquered...otherwise stock market will conquer you.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-18 11:05 | Report Abuse

secrets to success?

- honesty and know thyself
- keep it simple
- business sense

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-09-18 14:06 | Report Abuse

alternative path to great success,

be Jho Low