9 people like this.

32 comment(s). Last comment by Ben Tan 2021-02-05 20:10

Seek

443 posts

Posted by Seek > 2021-02-03 08:56 | Report Abuse

Confusing the public? Incompetent people working in bursa or some fishy staff?

Seek

443 posts

Posted by Seek > 2021-02-03 08:58 | Report Abuse

Or like COVID-19 numbers, 2020 data!

sikusiku

57 posts

Posted by sikusiku > 2021-02-03 09:58 | Report Abuse

Huh, that's interesting Ben.

I went to the Bursa page and it's now showing that latest Net Short Position file shows it's for 29 January 2021. Very odd.

And what Umar Swift said is probably a slip of the tongue. It's already been published (assume it's official statements) that the RSS is capped at 4% overall.

sikusiku

57 posts

Posted by sikusiku > 2021-02-03 09:59 | Report Abuse

They still published the short selling trade details for 2 February. No further short of Top Glove occurred.

But definitely curious to know what the net short position is, since without that publication from Bursa, there's no other official way to know.

Ben Tan

456 posts

Posted by Ben Tan > 2021-02-03 10:03 | Report Abuse

Seek and sikusiku, thank you for your comments.

sikusiku, yes, the data file is missing now, and the official page shows the data for January 29 instead.

lkoky

539 posts

Posted by lkoky > 2021-02-03 11:39 | Report Abuse

Bursa updated the file @11:39am.... net short on TopGlove still at 2.95%

Anthem2

305 posts

Posted by Anthem2 > 2021-02-03 12:00 | Report Abuse

It's at 2.98%.Shorts recovered on the 29th- 72,235 only

Posted by ChickenRoaster > 2021-02-03 12:01 | Report Abuse

how rss works..from another forummer

RSS cannot sell to BUY Q, that's Bursa Restriction
meaning rss is just shown in rss column. they cannot directly sell
if no one sell the stocks openly, rss shorties will be stuck

interesting info

Posted by ChickenRoaster > 2021-02-03 12:01 | Report Abuse

if u hold n dun sell...rss will be scared

Posted by ChickenRoaster > 2021-02-03 12:05 | Report Abuse

the power of social media n info sharing...lol

Ben Tan

456 posts

Posted by Ben Tan > 2021-02-03 13:24 | Report Abuse

lkoky, Anthem2, ChickenRoaster, thank you for your comments.

Thank you for pointing out the updated file. It seems like nothing has changed for Top Glove - no shares bought back. Some shares have been bought back for Kossan and Harta on Friday though.

Posted by ChickenRoaster > 2021-02-03 13:27 | Report Abuse

shorters will still think that they are the kings...like the hedge funds in the US...until their rugs are pulled off them n they fall spectacularly....

PunTatBerSiul

1,001 posts

Posted by PunTatBerSiul > 2021-02-03 13:33 | Report Abuse

The fact is, glove has no substance to be a leading commodity. In the long term(after pandemic), it will be categorised as junk product.
For now, it hit the lottery due to pandemic.

Ben Tan

456 posts

Posted by Ben Tan > 2021-02-03 13:39 | Report Abuse

PunTatBerSiul, "glove" is not a commodity to begin with, it's a personal protective equipment item. It is categorized as an essential product in the medical industry, and since recently is categorized as such in other industries, including manufacturing, food processing, and travel. It will remain as such for an extended period of time, beyond the COVID pandemic.

dusti

2,404 posts

Posted by dusti > 2021-02-03 15:08 | Report Abuse

If there suspicion on the release or integrity of information who do we report to?

Posted by Beginner_Newbie > 2021-02-03 15:10 | Report Abuse

Obviously someone inside Bursa is working together with IB, duping us retailer that TopGlove no longer being shorted.

Posted by ampangwawasan > 2021-02-03 15:12 | Report Abuse

In terms of uselessness, Bursa is second to none in SEA region

Ben Tan

456 posts

Posted by Ben Tan > 2021-02-03 15:16 | Report Abuse

dusti, Beginner_Newbie, ampangwawasan, thank you for your comments.

dusti, you can email the Securities Commission at aduan@seccom.com.my, or you can call them at 03 6204 8991.

dusti

2,404 posts

Posted by dusti > 2021-02-03 15:25 | Report Abuse

Ben, when the correct question is asked, the relevant people will read and usually the “problem” will self correct.

magus

397 posts

Posted by magus > 2021-02-03 15:35 | Report Abuse

hold on to your TG shares if you want to see the shorties bleed. The shorties must be taught not to mess around with a fundamentally sound and extremely profitable company. let the shorties bleed till they cannot see the road home. Otherwise, they will think that we are just pussies and wimps that are easy to push over. Come on guys, just hold and not sell.

Covidcovid

410 posts

Posted by Covidcovid > 2021-02-03 17:54 | Report Abuse

When the new government takes over all these irregularities will be investigated till the bottom

PunTatBerSiul

1,001 posts

Posted by PunTatBerSiul > 2021-02-04 00:17 | Report Abuse

The theory of RSS and shorts are self consoling remark for those glove huggers who bought them way high up. They are crying daily and praying to breakeven.

Facts about TG
1) It dropped from RM 29.xx ( all time high)
2) After bonus issue, dropped to RM10.xx
3) Bonus issue mean nothing to those who bought above RM25, still licking wound.
4) Still struggling to reach bonus issue high (RM10.xx)

Whales are having a gallant time.
They showed their mettle in the beginning of the year by dropping to RM5.20s
Yet "bilis" retailers are congregating and dreams of being whale.

Real whales are "laughing".

Citadel00

633 posts

Posted by Citadel00 > 2021-02-04 01:24 | Report Abuse

everyday shorties

Ben Tan

456 posts

Posted by Ben Tan > 2021-02-04 15:32 | Report Abuse

dusti, magus, Covidcovid, Citadel00, thank you for your comments.

I suggest that everyone just waits patiently. If you are impatient, remember that next month, the quarterly report for Top Glove's 2Q FY21 will be released, with 70% dividend payout attached.

Targeted

2,604 posts

Posted by Targeted > 2021-02-04 21:17 | Report Abuse

@PunTatBerSiul The theory of RSS and shorts are self consoling remark for those glove huggers who bought them way high up. They are crying daily and praying to breakeven.

Facts about TG
1) It dropped from RM 29.xx ( all time high)
2) After bonus issue, dropped to RM10.xx
3) Bonus issue mean nothing to those who bought above RM25, still licking wound.
4) Still struggling to reach bonus issue high (RM10.xx)

Whales are having a gallant time.
They showed their mettle in the beginning of the year by dropping to RM5.20s
Yet "bilis" retailers are congregating and dreams of being whale.

Real whales are "laughing".

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

So obvious the whaales miscalculated.........now doing crisis management.........

PunTatBerSiul

1,001 posts

Posted by PunTatBerSiul > 2021-02-04 21:25 | Report Abuse

Keep dreaming!

henry888

2,247 posts

Posted by henry888 > 2021-02-05 08:21 | Report Abuse

The best is no RSS and no IDSS, short sellers don't get easy money at the expense of the retailers - the real investors. Wait, if investors are lack of confident on the fairness of the trading, winter will come for Bursa.

henry888

2,247 posts

Posted by henry888 > 2021-02-05 08:24 | Report Abuse

As alleged irregularities, who should we report ? or police or MACC?

henry888

2,247 posts

Posted by henry888 > 2021-02-05 08:51 | Report Abuse

"Yellen seeks to 'understand deeply' GameStop frenzy as market regulators meet" Perhaps Bursa should do something to protect the investors.

henry888

2,247 posts

Posted by henry888 > 2021-02-05 08:58 | Report Abuse

Investors buy stock besides dividends and all others basically are waiting for the appreciation of the stock price but when stock price rise are deprived by the short sellers. This is not fair as they are parking their capital for a period of time already.

25,180 posts

Posted by speakup > 2021-02-05 10:46 | Report Abuse

Unisem PE 129x
Topglove PE 13x

How come so many funds short Topglove, but no short Unisem?

Ben Tan

456 posts

Posted by Ben Tan > 2021-02-05 20:10 | Report Abuse

Targeted, henry888, speakup, thank you for your comments.

henry888, in general the institution that observes and takes action when irregularities with the financial markets are spotted, is the Securities Commission. You can contact them at email and phone number provided above if you believe there might be anything that might need to be reported.

speakup, PE is unfortunately not everything. Although I must say that PE beyond 50 very rarely makes any sense.