MALAYAN BANKING BHD

KLSE (MYR): MAYBANK (1155)

9.96 - 10.00

38 people like this.

22,765 comment(s). Last comment by SeekUndervalued 8 minutes ago

tollebunsmith

4,277 posts

Posted by tollebunsmith > 2022-01-28 09:10 | Report Abuse

stevee : anythign u want to lie today?... funny .. i want to hear more jokes

tollebunsmith

4,277 posts

Posted by tollebunsmith > 2022-01-28 09:11 | Report Abuse

those talker , dont own shares and own hot aor to lie lie lie... hhahahahha

tollebunsmith

4,277 posts

Posted by tollebunsmith > 2022-01-28 09:12 | Report Abuse

They are busy .... lying somewhere else i guess

tollebunsmith

4,277 posts

Posted by tollebunsmith > 2022-01-28 11:45 | Report Abuse

i m waiting.. any more lies .... funny mongrels

stkoay

5,950 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-01-28 11:51 | Report Abuse

@sifu tolle...rich people make smart investment to get richer....while poor jokers need to lie, hoping to cari makan nasi lemak....LOL

Cslee1215

428 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 2022-01-28 13:22 | Report Abuse

Tolle, these jokers are waiting news from internet, if internet has nothing posted, they have nothing to lie.

Posted by Maverickeking > 2022-01-28 14:55 | Report Abuse

A waste of time be in this forum talking to empty vessels. Facts speak for themselves.

stkoay

5,950 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-01-28 15:05 | Report Abuse

Then please do not come back to waste your time here....bye.

tollebunsmith

4,277 posts

Posted by tollebunsmith > 2022-01-28 15:56 | Report Abuse

so any snakes still around?

tollebunsmith

4,277 posts

Posted by tollebunsmith > 2022-01-28 15:56 | Report Abuse

sifu stkoay: a good response to an idix0t

stkoay

5,950 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-01-28 16:59 | Report Abuse

This is the No.1 blue chip, only suitable for serious investors and not suitable for fan boys.....so, hope they do not waste their time here.

stkoay

5,950 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-01-28 23:12 | Report Abuse

Any implication from troubles at Genting HK? As for any potential impact from the liquidation of Genting HK, we do not expect any major ramification given that there were no cross shareholdings except for Tan Sri Lim Kok Thay being a common shareholder. Also, based on its most recent annual report, it appears that there are no GENM shares pledged by the holding company as collateral, though 14.8% or 570m Genting Bhd shares have been pledged for financing.

Source: PublicInvest Research - 28 Jan 2022

stkoay

5,950 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-01-28 23:14 | Report Abuse

Is the mentioned USD600m unsecured loan being pledged by 570m Genting shares during the negotiation in August 2020 ??

Plantermen

2,114 posts

Posted by Plantermen > 2022-01-28 23:16 | Report Abuse

Looks like the shares act as collateral for the loans dish out

stkoay

5,950 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-01-29 00:10 | Report Abuse

https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/ptres/61771.jsp

Based on its most recent annual report, it appears that there are no GENM shares pledged by the holding company as collateral, though 14.8% or 570m Genting Bhd shares have been pledged for financing.

Source: PublicInvest Research - 28 Jan 2022

AllYouCanBuy

2,060 posts

Posted by AllYouCanBuy > 2022-01-29 13:23 | Report Abuse

Can get 28sen dividend in February or March??

AllYouCanBuy

2,060 posts

Posted by AllYouCanBuy > 2022-01-29 13:24 | Report Abuse

Or 38sen??

meistsk3134

2,368 posts

Posted by meistsk3134 > 2022-01-29 17:46 | Report Abuse

genting loan no affect maybank?

TrippleZ

1,563 posts

Posted by TrippleZ > 2022-01-29 22:21 | Report Abuse

Scratching Maybank a bit got

masterus

3,545 posts

Posted by masterus > 2022-01-30 12:47 |

stkoay

5,950 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-01-30 13:48 | Report Abuse

https://www.thestar.com.my/aseanplus/aseanplus-news/2022/01/30/investors-find-refuge-from-market-turmoil-in-south-east-asia---thailand-philippines-and-singapore-favoured-spots

SINGAPORE, Jan 30 (Bloomberg): Global risk assets may be tumbling after the Federal Reserve’s hawkish pivot, but the modest reaction in Southeast Asian markets points to a pocket of resilience that offers opportunities to investors.

Banks, energy and stocks that can benefit from reopening economies look set to beat other sectors in such an environment. Financials and energy shares make up almost 40% of the region’s benchmark, with less than 2% in tech shares, according to data compiled by Bloomberg.

"We certainly have been looking at Asia as a good place to be right now,” said Elisabeth Colleran, a portfolio manager for emerging market debt at Loomis Sayles & Co. "You are starting from a better cushion in Asia” in terms of higher spreads compared to US. peers too, she said. - Bloomberg

stkoay

5,950 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-01-30 13:52 | Report Abuse

For the week from 10/1 to 14/1, where the price traded within 8.28 to 8.50, foreign fund net bought 5.9m shares ie. 0.05%

Latest foreign holding is 16.41%

Foreign shareholding is at highest since June 2021.

stkoay

5,950 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-01-30 18:44 | Report Abuse

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/maybank-says-allegations-it-will-face-major-financial-trouble-exposure-genting-hong-kong-are

Maybank added that it has a rigorous asset quality monitoring process, whereby vulnerable borrowers are identified and managed accordingly from the onset of any potential asset quality weakness.

"As such, loan provisioning will be proactively made from the beginning of any such asset quality weakness based on the borrower's risk rating with the bank. Therefore, Maybank would like to state that our current net credit charge of guidance for loan provisioning remains unchanged and we can confirm that our financial position remains strong," the bank's spokesperson added.

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2022/01/30/malaysia039s-banking-sector-remains-resilient-in-facing-operational-challenges-says-finance-ministry

"Today, the non-performing loan ratio is only 1.4 per cent, including the provision for a partial non -performing loan ratio for loans by Genting Hong Kong." said Tengku Zafrul.- Bernama

stkoay

5,950 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-01-30 18:45 | Report Abuse

Banks have already made partial provisions

Jaya26

137 posts

Posted by Jaya26 > 2022-01-31 01:48 | Report Abuse

Why worry people
Just buy & keep

garychee8

369 posts

Posted by garychee8 > 2022-01-31 11:05 | Report Abuse

Its not a matter of whether provisions has been made or not ..the fact is its an unsecured loan & these banks profit will take a hit eventually...

Zxvvbn

20 posts

Posted by Zxvvbn > 2022-01-31 12:46 | Report Abuse

You don't think it's already been priced in, since everyone pretty much knows about that already?

stevee

168 posts

Posted by stevee > 2022-01-31 15:28 | Report Abuse

SOME EMPTY VESSELS DONT SEEM TO UNDERSTAND THEMEANING OF UNSECUREDLOANS n fall for the easy vigorous exercise which reflects more on indecent exercise nothing of value being added. Shareholders are so naive n even in case of AA those loyal customers are treated as unsecured creditors getting nuts in the end. Wake up from too much toddy n face the chinese new year with more purpose. Stop branding ppl liars without proof dudes

stevee

168 posts

Posted by stevee > 2022-01-31 20:08 | Report Abuse

A primary school boy could also analysise the repercussions from an unsecured loans involving billions .Funny so many happy go lucky investors here. As they say fools rush in where angels fear to thread

Junichiro

2,039 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2022-02-01 09:15 | Report Abuse

Unsecured loans are part and parcel of the banking industry. Nothing unusual about it if you have been in the banking industry. Every business has its risk n this is the risk of the banking industry.

All big international banks participate in syndicated loans to those big names in the international arena. Unless, gomen makes rules to stop it.

If Nestle request for an unsecured loan, will the banks lend to them ?

Cslee1215

428 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 2022-02-01 12:02 | Report Abuse

Gong xi fa cai and Happy Chinese new year everyone.

stkoay

5,950 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-02-01 13:20 | Report Abuse

Wish everyone A Happy & Prosperous Tiger Year Blessed with Excellent Health.

Enjoy the 15 days CNY kaw kaw...and come back end of the month to check how much "ang pow money" our company will declare for share holders.

Gong Xi Fa Cai....Cheers........

Posted by Maverickeking > 2022-02-03 01:52 | Report Abuse

@junichiro NO prudent commercial banker would give such titanic unsecured loans unless its given with guarantee of the sovereign. Obviously it is a political loan with kick backs. I believe Parliament will make a big debate on it as it involves so many GLC shareholders

Jaya26

137 posts

Posted by Jaya26 > 2022-02-03 09:46 | Report Abuse

Time to start moving up tiger

JovaneChua

419 posts

Posted by JovaneChua > 2022-02-03 12:16 |

intrigue83

115 posts

Posted by intrigue83 > 2022-02-03 17:53 | Report Abuse

When would be the next div announce?

Jaya26

137 posts

Posted by Jaya26 > 2022-02-03 18:30 | Report Abuse

Why cry over spilled milk
Got faith or no faith
No faith sell and leave
Got faith will buy your shares and be a happy tiger

Jaya26

137 posts

Posted by Jaya26 > 2022-02-03 19:53 | Report Abuse

Never say I never told you
8b coming up with 40c dividend I think

stkoay

5,950 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-02-03 19:54 | Report Abuse

@intrigue83...announcement of dividend will be together with the release of 4Q21 report at the end of this month....announcement of ex date will be after AGM and payment will probably in May.

stkoay

5,950 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-02-03 19:59 | Report Abuse

@Jaya26.....IF higher than last year, then you will be correct :p

....last year's final dividend was 38.5 sen.

.....but I am only expecting 28 to 34 only :)

stkoay

5,950 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-02-03 20:00 | Report Abuse

....anything higher is bonus

....lower is disappointment

choysun

4,275 posts

Posted by choysun > 2022-02-04 00:04 | Report Abuse

@stkoay I'm guessing 36 sens. Let's see :)

Cslee1215

428 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 2022-02-04 09:26 | Report Abuse

30 my guess :)

Candi78

Posted by Candi78 > 2022-02-05 16:53 | Report Abuse

Hi sifu2 sekalian, my CDS is nominee account. I guess is not able to join the DRP right? Or there is still a way to do it.

Newly born newbie here ... Don't beat me up.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-02-06 08:49 | Report Abuse

Candi, I'm assuming you have a cash upfront account with someone like Rakuten, right?

If so, then you can participate in any DRP for any company you own shares in. You will get a message from them asking whether you want to join the DRP or take the full cash dividend.

nhbeen

187 posts

Posted by nhbeen > 2022-02-07 08:50 | Report Abuse

Candi78, TreeTopView is correct. One will receive a message from the platform provider asking for decision to choose either DRP or dividend in cash. One needs to complete the selection before the expiry date as stated in the message.

Posted by Marigold123 > 2022-02-07 13:58 | Report Abuse

Today special announcement by MOH

Please pay attention

https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/609719

Khairy to announce 'key Omicron updates' at 5pm presser

Health Minister Khairy Jamaluddin is set to make several important announcements related to the Covid-19 Omicron variant in a press conference this evening, amid a surge in Covid-19 cases in the past few days.

Candi78

Posted by Candi78 > 2022-02-07 15:16 | Report Abuse

TQ TreeTopView & nhbeen. I had a account with PB bank. So I guess will have to wait for them then.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2022-02-07 15:20 | Report Abuse

That's correct, Candi.

stevee

168 posts

Posted by stevee > 2022-02-07 19:50 | Report Abuse

Where have all the so called sifus like Toiletbun gone? Cant even hear their farts.