MBSB BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): MBSB (1171)

30 people like this.

22,738 comment(s). Last comment by HugoUPUPUP 10 hours ago

G-boy

530 posts

Posted by G-boy > 2017-05-14 21:43 | Report Abuse

Force, i agree with you "More hope when not success drop will more seriously :)"
But this time wont fail again. It can say 100% confirm merge already.

Bulat

578 posts

Posted by Bulat > 2017-05-14 21:45 | Report Abuse

Tmr 1 k vs a

Bulat

578 posts

Posted by Bulat > 2017-05-14 21:47 | Report Abuse

Boooooooom

Myeye

1,373 posts

Posted by Myeye > 2017-05-15 09:06 | Report Abuse

~.~

bliss08

186 posts

Posted by bliss08 > 2017-05-15 09:07 | Report Abuse

huat die. kikiki

Posted by fcdematthew > 2017-05-15 09:11 | Report Abuse

ini karilah

kevinobc

1,106 posts

Posted by kevinobc > 2017-05-15 09:19 | Report Abuse

MBSB-AFB merger on track, valuation being negotiated: The merger and acquisition talks between Malaysia Building Society Bhd (MBSB) and Asian Finance Bank Bhd (AFB) are on track with the only concern being valuation. MBSB president and CEO Datuk Ahmad Zaini Othman said the non-bank lender was in the midst of formulating reports and negotiating the valuations for the merger. - StarBiz

Read more at http://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2017/05/15/breakfast-briefing-may-15/#31sX3zBRsMB8hEeu.99

kevinobc

1,106 posts

Posted by kevinobc > 2017-05-15 09:20 | Report Abuse

http://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2017/05/15/mbsbafb-merger-on-track-valuation-being-negotiated/

KUALA LUMPUR: The merger and acquisition talks between Malaysia Building Society Bhd (MBSB) and Asian Finance Bank Bhd (AFB) are on track with the only concern being valuation.

MBSB president and chief executive officer Datuk Ahmad Zaini Othman (pic) said the non-bank lender was in the midst of formulating reports and negotiating the valuations for the merger.

“We have completed the business plan as well and what’s pending is the sales and purchase agreement, which will include valuation (pricing),” Ahmad said on the sidelines of a shareholders’ meeting last Friday. Ahmad is more confident of seeing the merger through this time because it is with a smaller financial institution.

“I am not going to give up. I believe it shouldn’t be difficult this time around because it’s with a smaller bank.
“We do care about the company and this is a good opportunity for us,” said Ahmad, adding that once the merger was completed the new bank would be worth about RM45bil in asset size. AFB’s asset size stood at over RM2bil.

On whether there were any resistence from shareholders, Ahmad said that in general they (shareholders) were supportive as MBSB had explained that the route towards a merger was a better and most logical choice.

However, an EGM will be held for shareholders’ approval. In the meantime, Bank Negara has given June 22 as the deadline to conclude the transaction.

Meanwhile, Ahmad expects MBSB’s impairment programme to be concluded by year-end.

“This is on track as we remain focus in the programme to strengthen the company towards achieving its future direction.

“It’s also a way for us to conform within the industry’s standards as we look to move into banking status,” Ahmad noted.

He said the company has plans in place for the implementation of the International Financing Reporting Standard (IFRS) 9

“We would take advantage of the resources.

“For the last two and half years we have already been burdened by huge impairments and the bulk of it are from operating profit. We are used to hard times,” Ahmad said.

IFRS 9, which will set new accouting standards for banks, will take effect next year.

The non-bank lender’s RM777mil impairment was 70% of RM1.12bil in operating profit.

In terms of retail and corporate financing, MBSB is optimistic of achieving a 30:70 ratio this year, versus 20:80 last year.

“Over the last two years, our transition towards the corporate segment mainly in property financing and equipment financing in the small and medium enterprises segment are seeing results.

“We will be targeting aggressive growth in 2017,” he noted.

MBSB has also set a target of 6% to 7% overall loan growth this year, versus the 3% to 4% of last year.

Ahmad said this could be achieved by revisiting existing corporate clients who were submitting their second proposals.

MBSB’s total assets stood at RM43.27bil as at Dec 31, 2016 from RM41.09bil a year ago.

The growth was attributed to increase in net financing and loans as well as liquefiable assets.

It told research houses in February that its target for 2017 will be to disburse additional financing totalling RM3.46bil, which includes loans for affordable housing projects.

Read more at http://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2017/05/15/mbsbafb-merger-on-track-valuation-being-negotiated/#0lkPOLskHuCjMiwV.99

eatsmall

1,557 posts

Posted by eatsmall > 2017-05-15 09:43 | Report Abuse

no limit up pun..

Lucas Chan

1,674 posts

Posted by Lucas Chan > 2017-05-15 09:55 | Report Abuse

Time to collect mbsb tp 1.5 short term

gemma

591 posts

Posted by gemma > 2017-05-15 10:11 | Report Abuse

No limit up dearest eaten all :-) ..this is finance stock not speculative stock...patient needed if you bought this stock as it moves slowly but steady.. ^-^ cheers ..Happy trading

eatsmall

1,557 posts

Posted by eatsmall > 2017-05-15 11:08 | Report Abuse

at least rally lah sikit..kasi broommmm..open gap 3sen..at least stay put at 1.40..semua kasi senyum..happy..

Bulat

578 posts

Posted by Bulat > 2017-05-15 11:24 | Report Abuse

Ya lol pushing up .........

eatsmall

1,557 posts

Posted by eatsmall > 2017-05-15 11:33 | Report Abuse

with bank a part of U..ppl hold longggg...

Bulat

578 posts

Posted by Bulat > 2017-05-15 11:38 | Report Abuse

Afternoon show time

kevinobc

1,106 posts

Posted by kevinobc > 2017-05-15 12:08 | Report Abuse

http://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/mbsb-active-gains-231-positive-views-asian-finance-bank

KUALA LUMPUR (May 15): Shares in Malaysia Building Society Bhd (MBSB) rose 2.31% in active trade this morning after its president Datuk Seri Ahmad Zaini Othman last week said the proposed acquisition of Asian Finance Bank Bhd (AFB) by MBSB is "looking good".

At 10.32am, MBSB rose 3 sen to RM1.33 with 13.55 million shares traded.

Ahmad Zaini said the merger is likely to happen this time around.

"So far, we are talking. Nobody is backing out. From the discussion, it looks like they are still interested," he told reporters after MBSB's annual general meeting.

MBSB has completed due diligence on the proposed merger, he added. Bank Negara Malaysia has given until June 21 for the two parties to complete the negotiations.

chokra

75 posts

Posted by chokra > 2017-05-15 12:09 | Report Abuse

Looks like merger talks between MBSB and AFB continuing smoothly and will culminate with MBSB becoming an Islamic Bank. There are many positives if this happens. With an Islamic banking license, MBSB will have the full range of banking products to compete and offer to the public just like Muamalat Bank, Bank Islam and whatever that is offered by the Islamic arms of commercial banks. I see the share valuation of MBSB going upwards because there are not enough Shariah compliant companies in the KLSE especially in the finance sector. The EPF has implemented a Shariah compliant option for their EPF account holders plus many Islamic Unit Trusts are also hungry to invest in Islamic Shariah compliant companies. If Shariah compliant products are too limited, it can only mean too much money chasing after too few products. More demand and less supply means price will go upwards. I note that MBSB will complete their impairment write down by the end of this year. If the impairment is caused by Non Performing Loans (NPL), MBSB would have taken advantage of the losses as tax breaks. Surely if MBSB becomes more efficient and can collect back any NPL in the near future, it can be a nice windfall for MBSB. I have been collecting MBSB since Tan Sri Chua Ma Yu entered MBSB as a substantial individual investor. From my observations, Chua Ma Yu does not simply put his money into every Tom Dick and Harry counters. He does his homework and he is not looking for chicken feed. His holding costs by now is quiet substantial, I am sure he is aiming for a big windfall himself. We should buy some MBSB and wait for further developments, it looks like a good counter to hold.

aliyusof

1,393 posts

Posted by aliyusof > 2017-05-15 14:48 | Report Abuse

Buy and just hold patiently. Do not speculate for a few cents gain! No more issue of any new banking licence nowadays by BNM, hence it is a very valuable business licence indeed if MBSB get it by merger, what more 2/3 of MBSB is owned by EPF (u and me as the public). U think government or EPF dare to make MBSB a failure??

eatsmall

1,557 posts

Posted by eatsmall > 2017-05-15 15:30 | Report Abuse

But..move le a bit..a bite..

eatsmall

1,557 posts

Posted by eatsmall > 2017-05-15 16:09 | Report Abuse

wow..going limit up..but.. IWCITY

Bulat

578 posts

Posted by Bulat > 2017-05-15 16:13 | Report Abuse

ya lol, run to iwc more better 50 profit

Bulat

578 posts

Posted by Bulat > 2017-05-15 16:14 | Report Abuse

kasih goreng iwc

eatsmall

1,557 posts

Posted by eatsmall > 2017-05-15 16:27 | Report Abuse

election mani..Iwsiti..

Bulat

578 posts

Posted by Bulat > 2017-05-15 16:32 | Report Abuse

iwc profit

eatsmall

1,557 posts

Posted by eatsmall > 2017-05-15 16:42 | Report Abuse

wow..limit up..NoWanda..

G-boy

530 posts

Posted by G-boy > 2017-05-15 16:43 | Report Abuse

today the price movement told us they big leg not yet want to push current price.
Should be need to wait until june!

eatsmall

1,557 posts

Posted by eatsmall > 2017-05-15 16:47 | Report Abuse

ppl wrote bad about IWSITI..but Good..for MBSB..

Bulat

578 posts

Posted by Bulat > 2017-05-15 16:52 | Report Abuse

lucky to thraw

Bulat

578 posts

Posted by Bulat > 2017-05-15 16:56 | Report Abuse

mbsb 133 no much buyer but iwc wa.............

LOO99

1,631 posts

Posted by LOO99 > 2017-05-15 17:14 | Report Abuse

FM n BB still on the side line...only retailers look excited. But as usual when the FM n BB jump in...we only can stare the price flying.. Just be prepare to join the flight..only time can tell sky is the limit..

pineapple123

2,472 posts

Posted by pineapple123 > 2017-05-15 23:49 | Report Abuse

aliyusof you are right.

MBSB this round MUST MAKE SURE MERGER HAPPENED.

With more China-nese companies coming in, more business loans apportunities.

stay tune!

Yippy68

1,698 posts

Posted by Yippy68 > 2017-05-16 08:47 | Report Abuse

if everyone dare to buy, price will shoot up. worry too many NATO around.

WM Niaga

1,406 posts

Posted by WM Niaga > 2017-05-16 08:51 | Report Abuse

Yes Bro....Mbsb will fly at anytime now!!

chkhooju

1,706 posts

Posted by chkhooju > 2017-05-16 08:58 | Report Abuse

Please be specific. Fly higher or lower?

G-boy

530 posts

Posted by G-boy > 2017-05-16 11:54 | Report Abuse

LOO99...what is FM and BB?

boldrun88

528 posts

Posted by boldrun88 > 2017-05-16 12:06 | Report Abuse

will fly high soon..announcement in early june

sinobobas

Posted by sinobobas > 2017-05-16 20:12 | Report Abuse

:''''(

maxee

130 posts

Posted by maxee > 2017-05-16 20:46 | Report Abuse

sinobobas, what do you mean?

sinobobas

Posted by sinobobas > 2017-05-17 13:30 | Report Abuse

hahaha maxee is just a random post dun worry..be patience n just pray...

hero666

689 posts

Posted by hero666 > 2017-05-17 15:29 | Report Abuse

ya hav to be patient wait next week 1Q17 and 21 June M&A announcement.... now no body want visit this counter lolz

Eddie1155

81 posts

Posted by Eddie1155 > 2017-05-17 18:03 | Report Abuse

very strong accumulation especially at 1.31....I sense some good announcement or FM will start to buy in...

gemma

591 posts

Posted by gemma > 2017-05-17 18:19 | Report Abuse

PB in its research mentioned Mbsb range rm1.31-1.37...that'll be good for this month. If break rm1.40 that wild be bonus :-).

Posted by fcdematthew > 2017-05-18 01:14 | Report Abuse

Cold Eye said MBSB is a 2018 counter.

gemma

591 posts

Posted by gemma > 2017-05-18 11:52 | Report Abuse

X date for dividend entitlement 24/5/17...everybody holding tight for the dividend.. ^~^

dxmovie

85 posts

Posted by dxmovie > 2017-05-18 12:36 | Report Abuse

Just wait until june announcement...

Yippy68

1,698 posts

Posted by Yippy68 > 2017-05-19 06:36 | Report Abuse

Yesterday most counter down but mbsb stay strong, an indication that share holder are confident and holding tight...good sign.

Eddie1155

81 posts

Posted by Eddie1155 > 2017-05-19 08:12 | Report Abuse

Seems everyone is collecting to hold.

aliyusof

1,393 posts

Posted by aliyusof > 2017-05-19 09:58 | Report Abuse

To make money from this, surely must hold. This future banking stock .... not RM1 or 2 thing. What more it gives not bad dividend every year. Collect and hold, believe, this is not a hit and run stock to pay, u earn a peanut by so doing. Just personal views.

G-boy

530 posts

Posted by G-boy > 2017-05-19 11:30 | Report Abuse

aliyusof! I am waiting for every yeqar dividend 20sen.
i believe MBSB can do it after impairment loss finish.

chokra

75 posts

Posted by chokra > 2017-05-19 12:33 | Report Abuse

Let me tell you guys a story about MBSB. This counter used to pay good dividends in the eighties. And I held a few lots then. Whether it was Black Monday, Tiananmen riots or the first Gulf War, this counter was always very steady. Actually, I managed to sell MBSB with not much losses during the height of the first Gulf War and diversified my holdings. Without MBSB at that time, maybe I would have lost most of my savings with no chance of a quick recovery. MBSB saved me then. We should buy stocks based on current price and what it can offer you in the near future. MBSB meets the criteria, just buy and hold and you will be rewarded handsomely. A full fledged Islamic license is very valuable. The MD of MBSB has hinted that the merger will surely happen. That is good enough for us to understand. He cannot be more direct than that.