GENTING MALAYSIA BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): GENM (4715)

+0.02 (0.85%)

2.34 - 2.37

32 people like this.

43,274 comment(s). Last comment by Income 2 days ago

sharemarket21

1,905 posts

Posted by sharemarket21 > 2022-09-19 21:59 | Report Abuse

The share price is stabilizing and holding up well compared to others. Let's wait for one of the biggest tourism opening up soon or just a matter of time. Let's hope and see the Macao casino venturing saga. There is no loss if they failed to clinch the deal but what if the odds come true. Anything below 3 and from 2.70 is worth to consider. Keep your dividends safe first.

Agjl

5,746 posts

Posted by Agjl > 2022-09-20 00:53 | Report Abuse

The last hour submission all seems very suspicious…my feelings is GENM got the blessing to submit the bid in the last hour from someone top in mainland. Dont forget Prest Xi os grateful for GEN LKT effort for the succes of the winter games in one of Snow field develop by LKT. GENM is definitely a dark horse for the bid

Posted by Olivergamble0281 > 2022-09-20 10:30 | Report Abuse

GENM drop below 2.5 then ready for next all in

sharemarket21

1,905 posts

Posted by sharemarket21 > 2022-09-20 11:41 | Report Abuse

Yes if it can go much lower and why not. Just don't miss the opportunity in this trying time in Bursa. The first signal will come from RM reversing the US currency trend prior to any positive general sentiment like tourism and one of the world leader opening up their economy in full force. Last but not least slim jackpot chance on the international casino bidding. Hopefully it will spill over.

Agjl

5,746 posts

Posted by Agjl > 2022-09-20 12:10 | Report Abuse

Dificult to drop below 2.50 at least for the time being. Anytime below 2.80 will see interested parties buying in

Posted by WinBigOrLoseAll > 2022-09-20 17:37 | Report Abuse

it is good to setup the new casino in Macau, might consider to shut down the Casino Malaysia as you know the biz is not welcomed here and the tax will become ridiculous higher and higher. Just focus on the theme park and tourism in Malaysia better

DestinyL

4,741 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2022-09-20 22:15 | Report Abuse

??? lol

DestinyL

4,741 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2022-09-20 22:16 | Report Abuse

You better change your nick to LoseAllAndWinNothing

DestinyL

4,741 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2022-09-20 22:17 | Report Abuse

https://nodepositnow.com/genting-might-help-struggling-macau-concessionaire/

This post does seem logical, bailing out an existing operator in dire condition (SJM)

DestinyL

4,741 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2022-09-20 22:22 | Report Abuse

Or maybe this was the undoing for MGM who might kinda have provoked LKT by trying to offer him a takeover offer for GenS, by putting a feet in Macau gaming, lol who knows?

WongGK92

267 posts

Posted by WongGK92 > 2022-09-21 12:55 | Report Abuse

Gambling business is not easy to manage. Have to tackle local government as well as local 'gang'...

Agjl

5,746 posts

Posted by Agjl > 2022-09-21 15:31 | Report Abuse

Like i said few days ago ehen everyone is skeptical price will move up. Insiders knows better

DestinyL

4,741 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2022-09-21 15:51 | Report Abuse

That's why you only buy the share, let the experts run the show

Agjl

5,746 posts

Posted by Agjl > 2022-09-21 16:15 | Report Abuse

Analysts commenting even if got the locense for Macau its still a sour deal…i think getting a foothold in the business and a piece of action is a prelude to many good thing to come. Someone mentioned klt may exit local gambling and just focus on theme park which i do think there is a possibility looking at how toxic is the policies here towards one of the buggestvtax payer to the country

Agjl

5,746 posts

Posted by Agjl > 2022-09-21 16:16 | Report Abuse

Somehow its very fishy how genm can submit tender in the very last hour. It has to be well connected and well informed from the top level in China.

Agjl

5,746 posts

Posted by Agjl > 2022-09-21 16:18 | Report Abuse

Winter olympics held in a world standard snow field has won some brownies point from president Xi. Anyway things can go either side. Macau license is just one of the few deals that is in the pipeline

DestinyL

4,741 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2022-09-21 16:20 | Report Abuse

I'm more worried about short term cashflow again, possible dilution

DestinyL

4,741 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2022-09-21 16:24 | Report Abuse

If LKT keep pulling off new stints, all these are at the expense of most retail investors who aren't interested to be holding on for 10 year reward, while dividend might suffer in between

DestinyL

4,741 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2022-09-21 16:25 | Report Abuse

For LKT, he would happily getting heavenly reward while doing his job

WinSSP

323 posts

Posted by WinSSP > 2022-09-21 17:00 | Report Abuse

Things only started opening up since April this year, now only Sept, after 2 years of debilitating covid pandemic. I visited GenM, GenS, MbS…all good business mah. Must wait to see if results kept improving mah. This is not gloves counters la…not highly speculative. Those not confident of genting, can choose not to buy mah. Those want to bet for the future, let them hold lor. Happy? I look fwd to genting’s divvy payments soon

WinSSP

323 posts

Posted by WinSSP > 2022-09-21 17:12 | Report Abuse

Agree @Agjl. Genting snowpark’s investment in China bore fruit so far

WinSSP

323 posts

Posted by WinSSP > 2022-09-21 17:31 | Report Abuse

If macau’s licences not prestigious, why on earth those existing 6 casino groups still want to bid?

Agjl

5,746 posts

Posted by Agjl > 2022-09-21 18:44 | Report Abuse

We have to face the reality now.. the years of quick bucks are over..at least for the time being. Its goodbto stay defensive at the moment and yet still investing.

Agreed with destinyL, short term cash flow may be affected. But doing business always come with a cost..the question is how big is the cost and how big is the return..

Agjl

5,746 posts

Posted by Agjl > 2022-09-21 18:45 | Report Abuse

Macau gaming used to be very lucrative before the Chinese goverment clamping down on mainland high rollers

DestinyL

4,741 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2022-09-21 20:33 | Report Abuse

Agjl, I'm not too overly concerned about increasing gearing for new ventures
It definitely is a good venture
However, they ventures are just too frequent in too short time
Skyworlds investment only just rolled out, and here we have another venture
I'm not concerned with 1 investment in a year or two, but successive investments before the other investment gain footing is a bother. It is never ending growth on leverage.

If Genting has big portion of the cash to spend on investment, I'm totally fine with it. But here we are gearing up and up
Net gearing past 5 years:
1.57, 1.77, 1.83, 1.95, 2.29 (above 2 is already a warning sign)

DestinyL

4,741 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2022-09-21 20:37 | Report Abuse

New investment, sister company bail outs, personal bailouts, these are definitely not alien to Genting group of companies. And minority shareholders have basically no say!

DestinyL

4,741 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2022-09-21 20:42 | Report Abuse

Let's say GenM does manage to pull this off and Macau is now in Genting's portfolio
Let's say something the scale of Yokohama IR just pulls up again at the front gates perhaps in early 2024 and LKT has to satisfy his ambitions again, how do you feel about that? You're not going to taste a piece of the pie, at least not for another few years perhaps (assuming his ambitions suddenly dies down).
In between, we perhaps will get another recession maybe. Another muted year or two again!

DestinyL

4,741 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2022-09-21 20:45 | Report Abuse

Mind you, Genting gearing isn't like gearing for property developer or O&G, where the term could be 6 months to 2 years. For Genting, it would be far longer term to bring down the gearing.

sharemarket21

1,905 posts

Posted by sharemarket21 > 2022-09-21 22:23 | Report Abuse

The Covid-19 strike out of no where and destroyed many conglomerates businesses. GenHK announced winding down and GenM was not spared either until last few months, momentum was back on track. The stock performance withheld one of the strongest resistance and overcame the difficult period of time simply because of the optimistic forward looking perception. Comparing to quick hype other sectors and now share price performance suffering to the max due to Bursa lacklustre, at least GenM and it's Group survived. This was also due to a group of strong fund managers who have strong faith towards their recovery process and obliged to support the stock. Let's be patient and wait for the full recovery be it in the tourism industry and economy back to full force, then one shall only gauge their actual performance. 15-20% return has to be the first target.

Posted by bullmarket1628 > 2022-09-22 06:59 | Report Abuse

Fed rate hike: US interest rates hit 14-year high in inflation battle
* By Natalie Sherman
* Business reporter, New York
21 September 2022, 19:01 BST
https://www.bbc.com/news/business-62973376.amp

The US central bank has pushed interest rates to the highest level in almost 15 years as it fights to rein in soaring prices in the world's largest economy.
The Federal Reserve announced it was raising its key rate by another 0.75 percentage points, lifting the target range to 3% to 3.25%.
Borrowing costs are expected to climb more - and remain high, the bank said.
The move comes despite mounting concern that the cost of controlling inflation could be a harsh economic downturn…

Posted by bullmarket1628 > 2022-09-22 07:07 | Report Abuse

Wow, Fed Hikes Interest Rates 0.75 %
lifting the target range to a record high of 3% to 3.25%
Like that today GENM will be limit up already liao lah !

Heng ah, Ong ah, Huat ah !

Posted by PorridgeRice > 2022-09-22 11:40 | Report Abuse

i love love love love love to see those *expert* act smart and analysis the market and then keep saying it will rise rise rise and rise, but lastly when it goes down, i laughed so badly because those comment will suddenly gone, deleted

WongGK92

267 posts

Posted by WongGK92 > 2022-09-22 12:03 | Report Abuse

But Public Bank rise GENM's TP...

Posted by WinBigOrLoseAll > 2022-09-23 15:29 | Report Abuse

do you think mgmt simply bid for the license without considering on the funding?
leave it to the mgmt lah, this is their job. certainly they already got the plan on how to get the fund if they win the license, you think playing masak ah, happily waste money go bid and when win then give up again because no money to execute, wanna let people laugh die you is it

Posted by WinBigOrLoseAll > 2022-09-23 17:24 | Report Abuse

the current downtrend must due to the coming Budget, very likely Gov will potong Genting again, sin tax is always the best income

Posted by StartOfTheBull > 2022-09-23 18:20 | Report Abuse

Analysts predict no additional sin tax will be imposed this coming budget but investors may think otherwise.

Posted by NatsukoMishima > 2022-09-24 09:24 | Report Abuse

Genm extra high debt will be a boom in high rate cycle n great recession !
Dont touch travel stock !

DestinyL

4,741 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2022-09-25 14:53 | Report Abuse

Nobody (including noob) will think that management does not have the ability to raise fund for Macau.
It is not a question of if, but how.

DestinyL

4,741 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2022-09-25 14:54 | Report Abuse

Which is why I already sold off all my stakes in GENM when I sniffed the news

Tashan

129 posts

Posted by Tashan > 2022-09-26 07:38 | Report Abuse

Many industrial sectors are leaving for elsewhere. They are smart investors and looking after shareholders' interest. Macau is at it's lowest level. Don't you wish you could buy at lowest level always?

DestinyL

4,741 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2022-09-26 08:39 | Report Abuse

Lowest doesn't equate good lol
Even good company at wrong price is not a buy!

Tashan

129 posts

Posted by Tashan > 2022-09-26 10:03 | Report Abuse

Still here after selling out betrays a lack of confidence in your decision.

DestinyL

4,741 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2022-09-26 10:22 | Report Abuse

Oh I'm still vested in the parent GB, and I've been here for far too long to suddenly quit... Maybe 2 yrs+
Also my holdings in GenM is far lower, which makes it an easier call
Hope they don't turn to GB for RPT

DestinyL

4,741 posts

DestinyL

4,741 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2022-09-26 11:21 | Report Abuse

The true opening for Macau will probably only come when there is no quarantine requirements at all

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2022-09-26 12:29 | Report Abuse

wow... really red red everywhere

Posted by PorridgeRice > 2022-09-26 13:53 | Report Abuse

haha, where is those *act smart* people who keep saying up up up? why suddenly so quiet?

ivanlau

1,376 posts

Posted by ivanlau > 2022-09-27 08:36 | Report Abuse

sooner or later u will see socall - " first day " aka " last day" laosai guru post article ask you all this is long long long long term investment , don't panic ....... bla bla bla..........

DestinyL

4,741 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2022-09-27 21:54 | Report Abuse

https://www.gaming.ny.gov/gaming/index.php?ID=5

Wow New York rules are so transparent, you can see month to month gaming win statistics

DestinyL

4,741 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2022-09-27 21:56 | Report Abuse

There is long way more to full recovery for RWNY, in terms of credits played