Posted by arisha76 > 2013-06-17 15:58 | Report Abuse

Hi. I am new and need your help on trading. I just registered for online trading and plan to buy a few shares within this week. For a start, I need to buy something which is less risky. I really need you guys help in order to decide which shares should I buy. Thanks all.

17 comment(s). Last comment by Darren Kho 2013-06-18 10:23

pirate99

822 posts

Posted by pirate99 > 2013-06-17 16:00 | Report Abuse

welcome to roller-coaster 'entertainment'.. :)

JTFX

1,582 posts

Posted by JTFX > 2013-06-17 16:01 | Report Abuse

welcome to the jungle...

Posted by arisha76 > 2013-06-17 16:04 | Report Abuse

Hahaha! Thanks Pirate99 and JTFX :) But seriously, I really need your help, guys. I plan to buy something with low price but good potential to move up within this week. Any ideas? Actually, I am doing some surveys but still haven't decided yet.

usry

1,202 posts

Posted by usry > 2013-06-17 16:05 | Report Abuse

don't simply put your money in stock market without done a home work..
track the share price at least 1 month for understand it trend.
check the announcement and financial report. Study either that company is good fundamental or not.
and read about current global economic issue that can influence the market direction.
lastly when u confident enough than u start to buy share..

no body can help u unless ur self,.. friends here only give their opinion and comment but u must filtered first it before u act..
most of us here also don't know which share will be 'goreng' and which share will push down..

pirate99

822 posts

Posted by pirate99 > 2013-06-17 16:07 | Report Abuse

good potential to move up within this week is a nice statement tho'..
i wish i can become goreng king.. :)

listen tu bro usry suggestion.. good points... :)

Posted by arisha76 > 2013-06-17 16:08 | Report Abuse

Thanks a lot for your advice,usry :) really appreciate that. Yeah, you are right..I need to do lots of research on this. By the way, going to read all of your comments in this forum as it is part of my analysis :)

Posted by arisha76 > 2013-06-17 16:09 | Report Abuse

Yeah pirate99..sure..that's a good advice, furthermore i am a beginner..need to some advice from the Otai here :)

Posted by arisha76 > 2013-06-17 16:11 | Report Abuse

Man....so much thing to do...phewwww!

pirate99

822 posts

Posted by pirate99 > 2013-06-17 16:12 | Report Abuse

@arisha76 am oso a beginner.. :)
maybe u can start screening through the 5 rules of investing in stock market threads.. many good points discussed there by senior member + many fancy & kinky terms u may found there.. :)

Posted by arisha76 > 2013-06-17 16:14 | Report Abuse

Great! Thanks pirate99...will go to the thread now!

tptan45

388 posts

Posted by tptan45 > 2013-06-17 19:07 | Report Abuse

Hold on.
Read the following books before plunging in:
1. The Guru investors
2. How to make money in stocks(first 1/4)
If you are an insomniac, read the intelligent investor.
Form your own methods using common sense.
You will do well.

arv18

2,645 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-06-17 19:44 | Report Abuse

Welcome. May i suggest you ask yourself some very important questions before you begin. Don't reply immediately. They require some deep thoughtful answers

1. Why am I looking to invest (inflation hedge, excitement, friendship etc)
2. What am I looking to get out of investing (passive income, capital gain)
3. What is my investment time horizon (10 minutes, 1 week, 1 year, 10 years)
4. How much money do I have to invest (very important, as this is the amount you must be prepared to lose)
5. How much work/time do I want to put into this. Do I have a someone to help me
6. How many courses do I want to attend to gain knowledge
7. How many books have I read, how confident do I feel

arv18

2,645 posts

Posted by arv18 > 2013-06-17 19:50 | Report Abuse

And the greatest "value" investor has kindly provided a lot of his wisdom for free...

http://www.berkshirehathaway.com/letters/letters.html

Posted by arisha76 > 2013-06-18 10:19 | Report Abuse

That's great, tptan45! Thank you so much for your reading suggestions. Will definitely read it soon. And yes..common sense will always work in trading :)

Posted by arisha76 > 2013-06-18 10:20 | Report Abuse

arv18: good questions! Will try to answer it as soon as possible :) Anyway, thanks :)

Posted by arisha76 > 2013-06-18 10:21 | Report Abuse

And arv18, thanks a lot for the link. I really appreciate that.

Darren Kho

733 posts

Posted by Darren Kho > 2013-06-18 10:23 | Report Abuse

Question number 4 : Erm..we need to do lots of homework before we invest in a stock and I don't think of losing my money so I don't agree with the thinking of "I'm prepare to lose". It's better to change to this is the amount I prepare to invest for some time and during the period I'm not allowed to spend that money , this is how we gain the holding power and the most important thing in stock investment :) Just sharing.