BNM will step in if financial mart disruptive

Publish date: Tue, 27 Aug 2013, 04:38 PM
Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM) will step in the stabilise the weakening ringgit if the market is disruptive and disorderly,
said Governor Tan Sri Dr Zeti Akhtar Aziz.

She said what was important was to ensure orderly market conditions.

"Otherwise, it will be very much determine by the market," she said.

She was speaking to reporters after launching a book entitled, "Grow Your Business: Access to Financing for SMEs in Malaysia", in Kuala Lumpur today.

Zeti said the central bank would not focus on any specific level of exchange rate.

"We have liberalise the management of foreign exchange exposure and transactions so that businesses would be able to manage in an environment of greater volatility," she said.

She said exporters should not rely on exchange rates to gain competitive advantage, instead they must focus on other measures such as enhancing productivity and being innovative.

"From time to time, we will see the ringgit strengthening because of shifts in liquidity in global financial system," Zeti said.

She said strong financial institutions, well-developed financial markets which built up reserve level as well as greater flexibility on rules for management of foreign exchange exposure would help businesses adjust during periods of stress.

On whether BNM would raise interest rates, Zeti said the current rate was supportive of the economy as evidence by the strong domestic demand growth.-- Bernama
Be the first to like this. Showing 4 of 4 comments

According to latest, CNBC gives an "overweight" rating on Malaysia. Please tune to CNBC, I hope I am not wrong or I heard it wrongly. Thank you.

2013-08-27 19:10

Hustle

That's mean only good revenue with high DY company will survive.
Nice tips.

2013-08-27 22:25

Abudance

OTB, I doubt cnbc would say Malaysia is overweight. Bloombergs news yesterday says that after India and Indonesia being affected... They are saying the next countries currencies to be affected are Malaysia and thailand ....

2013-08-27 22:34

Hustle

M'sia also can consider over weight? I thought is over slim :)

2013-08-27 22:35