187 comment(s). Last comment by Ooi Teik Bee 2013-02-15 20:22

andyteng

457 posts

Posted by andyteng > 2013-01-12 22:19 | Report Abuse

Not so easy to change:-)

5,743 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2013-01-12 22:22 | Report Abuse

Change means opportunity to buy................. Value stock....

unknown

168 posts

Posted by unknown > 2013-01-12 22:48 | Report Abuse

Datuk mentioned water related counter - Puncak. to add to the list - Gamuda, if BN regain Selangor

TNB - possible revise in electrical tariff if BN retain Federal

manhar

19 posts

Posted by manhar > 2013-01-12 22:50 | Report Abuse

Pharmaniaga?

unknown

168 posts

Posted by unknown > 2013-01-12 23:14 | Report Abuse

Pharmaniaga / Boustead Holding related counter - might be, their concession is extended by another 10 years from 30-11-09 by MOH. MOH = Government , if BN retain Federal. even if BN didn't retain Federal, i'm in my opinion, their concession will be renewed. Boustead is back by army fund LTAT, just too stable

regardless the differences in opinions, just throw in all your inputs 1st, the rest might help to do some filtration later

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-01-13 00:09 | Report Abuse

construction and O&G that is without overseas exposure!

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-01-13 00:19 | Report Abuse

SKPetro will kena for sure if new power in play. will have a lot of wrangling in court no doubt. Just like how Penang CM has to counter all the land deals approved by the previous administration.

business chiefs that is fast in switching allegiance will probably survive, but those with opposition links (whoever that lose la) definitely have to go la!

tptan45

388 posts

Posted by tptan45 > 2013-01-13 00:27 | Report Abuse

This discussion is unthinkable just 5 years ago.

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-01-13 00:30 | Report Abuse

simply cannot change yes. but not impossible! actually, one thing i realise is that if you go into any contract with the govt agencies, the stipulations are always one sided. saw how the govt withdraw Petronas royalty to Terengganu? and notice how Mahathir is not involved? LOL

http://www.theedgemalaysia.com/highlights/212295-terengganu-drops-petronas-suit.html

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-01-13 00:37 | Report Abuse

no problem TKW. its good to be careful. I let go Gamuda because of that. It went up thereafter! :(

but we have to take bets, and in times like this, i think experience will be useful, as noted in your 12.31am post!

unknown

168 posts

Posted by unknown > 2013-01-13 00:43 | Report Abuse

if i could recall correctly, Equine under property sector suffered severely after Selangor falls into PKR

need to avoid property similar to Equine...

tptan45

388 posts

Posted by tptan45 > 2013-01-13 00:44 | Report Abuse

CMS. If federal change pek moh will be in shit. But then again, he might follow the wind....

unknown

168 posts

Posted by unknown > 2013-01-13 00:46 | Report Abuse

those with high foreign holding % - AAsia....etc

fatty_tang

296 posts

Posted by fatty_tang > 2013-01-13 00:49 | Report Abuse

education business probably? due to the ptptn issue

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-01-13 00:55 | Report Abuse

you guys are actually giving the symptoms of what the foreign investors are worried if new power comes in play. This is where inflow of funds could be slowed down in my opinion. Nothing chases away investors like uncertainty! it's not like they have no where else to go put their funds! Thailand just next door!

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10000872396390444443504577600543405652650.html

fatty_tang

296 posts

Posted by fatty_tang > 2013-01-13 01:00 | Report Abuse

TKW, I thought they are going to abolish ptptn?

fatty_tang

296 posts

Posted by fatty_tang > 2013-01-13 01:12 | Report Abuse

read it in nanywang newspaper few months ago.. I try to find the link again.

KC, I have a friend who is a fund manager in HDBS. he said some of the foreign buying was actually made up by our local fund epf. They could actually call their partners from overseas to push up certain stocks just to make it look as though foreigners are very interested in investing in Malaysia and refletcing that Malaysia is very prosperous.

unknown

168 posts

Posted by unknown > 2013-01-13 01:14 | Report Abuse

fatty tang: good intel

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-01-13 01:19 | Report Abuse

i dunno about your fund manager friend's report. but i am just taking it from BNM and MIDF reports. those omputih interview articles too! :)

necro

4,726 posts

Posted by necro > 2013-01-13 04:34 | Report Abuse

This pix is FAKE...
EDITED
=)

juggernault

1,895 posts

Posted by juggernault > 2013-01-13 06:44 | Report Abuse

GENM Pas edi said they will Ban Casino if they win...

Posted by quyen850906 > 2013-01-13 07:44 | Report Abuse

if close, then have to go singapore RW

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-01-13 08:22 | Report Abuse

This PTPTN issue, is it abolishment of previous loans only or free higher education for students in future? Two different proposals here altogether!

Posted by Junglestock > 2013-01-13 09:20 | Report Abuse

Investor confidence both local and international will improve. Transparency, open tenders will be positive indicators, GLCs will be cleaned up, right people for the right jobs not son/daughter of some So&So. Our money (taxes,epf) will be better managed and not used for bailouts! Education is key area to improve. Takes time and support from rakyat so change may help us, why not?

Posted by Junglestock > 2013-01-13 09:28 | Report Abuse

Base our investment decisions on fundamentals, facts and statistics and good reliable market infor from I3 should be our guiding principles. Some so called bn supported companies are very good. Government of the day will still run as it should be, look at Penang as our benchmark. There will also be idiots in PR la...

daen

97 posts

Posted by daen > 2013-01-13 09:56 | Report Abuse

TKW: sahabat boleh tak kongsikan portfolios sahabat 5 tahun lepas yang kena teruk ? banyak informasi boleh didapati daripada permerhatian terhadap portfolios yang lepas

tptan45

388 posts

Posted by tptan45 > 2013-01-13 13:27 | Report Abuse

Labor is painful
So is the rebirth of a nation.
Unavoidable.

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-01-13 13:42 | Report Abuse

I am neither for BN nor PR. But lets be honest. If going by seat allocations, its still the Malay heartland that will decide the new Govt. Chinese votes are basically a foregone conclusion voting going to opposition, as always the case since 1970 with two exceptions; once each to Mahathir and Badawi!

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2012/10/1/nation/12105973&sec=nation&utm_source=also_see&utm_medium=link&utm_campaign=PM%3A%20IPF%E2%80%99s%20role%20in%20supporting%20Barisan%20greatly%20appreciated

And I tend to agree with necro. Pix seems doctored. I believe I can see pixelated lines (sharp and blur) that is not common if by camera shots! Also, if you can correct me, I can almost see a full bodied man standing beside one of the tree branch! Will just take people's word for now that tthe crowd is 45-50k!

Good to have two scenarios what one can do with his portfolio. I think many are opting for defensive stocks still as mentioned above!

11,023 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2013-01-13 14:07 | Report Abuse

Guna Otak Sikit: This is an historic day - a ‘Hari Ini Dalam Sejarah' day. The rakyat are standing up to a government.

Remember the deaths of Ahmad Sarbaini, A Kugan, Aminulrasyid Amzah, Teoh Beng Hock, Altantuya Shaariibuu, the corruption of the Scorpene submarines, Bank Bumiputera, the cincins and the Birkins, the RM40 million Sabah case, the National Feedlot Corporation, Puspahanas, the illicit outflow of funds, the cheapskate weddings using the rakyat's money, the Election Commission (EC) behaving like an Umno division, the endless tolls, the poor quality cars on the roads, the Automated ‘Enrichment Scandal' (AES), the piratisation of the country's assets (ports, postal service, highways, water, sewerage service, power), and the misuse of Petronas funds to bail out individuals, etc.

Endless list of scandals. This is the day of the rakyat's power.

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-01-13 14:16 | Report Abuse

Of course, some will say this is only a campus trend. but isn't it the younger generations that is the fence sitters at the moment and will make the bulk of votings in the next few elections? They have been very vocal indeed from online blogging etc.

Overseas voters will be interesting. Both coalitions think each may have its benefits : BN because they think Malaysians, especially students, ow a debt of gratitude and want to "repay" for their scholarships and sponsors and PR because they think the PTPTN abolishment will come in their favor. I think its just opening another can of worms!

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2012/10/8/nation/20121008164222&sec=nation

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/04/08/world/asia/malaysian-expatriates-lobby-for-overseas-voting-rights.html?pagewanted=all&_r=0

Posted by Junglestock > 2013-01-13 14:20 | Report Abuse

TPTAN45 , well said

Posted by Junglestock > 2013-01-13 14:27 | Report Abuse

Tan Kian Wei, not sure which examples you were asking for. For me, if i am having finance stocks in my portfolioand find that CIMB is fundamentally an attractive investment option, i will buy in (even though its related to the PM). To me I feel we should address areas where we know for a fact is abit uncertain then we can avoid, so many stocks to choose from.
Best avoid heavy politics la.

Posted by Junglestock > 2013-01-13 14:34 | Report Abuse

TKW, you mentioned Proton ~ if they are doing well, performance consistent, management is good , good quality product and good value,we should not worry. Evaluate for yourself .
but when we become a free trade area (FTA),and no more APs given and import taxes drop on foreign cars, then that is big worry!

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-01-13 14:58 | Report Abuse

haha Ooi. i think its a fair response from your reading of the article. but one cannot help to see how each will think from their respective party as well as the opposition's! i only believe a strong opposition is ideal to keep check and balance.

i also believe there must be a gameplan for an investor for both scenarios.

Posted by Junglestock > 2013-01-13 15:00 | Report Abuse

true

charles

70 posts

Posted by charles > 2013-01-13 15:16 | Report Abuse

My portfolio is investment structured however have a reserve fund for trading just to get that continuous shots of excitement. I have a folder covering politically linked counters for last 6 months - they have not been performing well. Perhaps, a sign of whats to come?

jumbo

941 posts

Posted by jumbo > 2013-01-13 15:28 | Report Abuse

Jumbo see Kcloh trying to call for ABU against Bn and yet he says he doesnt support any party....jumbo laughs at Kc twist and turn when in trouble

11,023 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2013-01-13 15:30 |

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-13 15:48 | Report Abuse

The Malaysian stock market has been marginalized by foreign investors since decades ago. Which investors would want to come in if they have to give out millions unaccountable money to various authorities, right from the head to the bottom. Who wants to give you 30% shares, in some instances 50% or more shares free or almost free to the chosen elite groups of the dominant ruling party? Which foreign investor would want to risk their business eaten up by the same groups because your business is making a lot of money later? These are the uncertainties which have prevented from the inflow of foreign investments, not the uncertainties caused by the change in ruling party. Nothing can be worse any more. Just look at our neighbours. Where were they decades ago in relation to us and what happen now? The good examples are the state of Penang and Selangor. Aren't they much better in terms of transparency, accountability, more foreign investments, less wastage and leakages? Of course like tptan said, "labour is painful, so is the rebirth of a nation", a nation with resourceful people and natural resources. (Heck I know our people are resourceful, being working overseas before and now residing in another foreign country.) There will be short-term pain, I believe. People here may suffer initially as stock market may decline initially, more due to emotion rather anything worrisome. Some crony companies who obtained big construction contracts, licenses, concessions, land etc due to connections rather than ability will see the stoppage of the gravy train and hence their stock prices will suffer. You know which we are talking about. Other businesses will flourish and comes a new dawn for the nation. The standard of living for the people will improve leaps and bounds.

11,023 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2013-01-13 15:52 | Report Abuse

Disclaimer: Please be informed that the following mentioned stocks / symbols are solely for the purpose of education only; it is neither a trading advice nor an invitation to trade. For trading advice, please speak to your dealer representative or remisier or financial adviser.

Suggested by Kcchongnz in I3Investor forum.

SKPres, ECS, Kfima, Mudajya, Scientx, NTPM, WCT, SOP and TDM.

My suggested list.

CyPark, Benalec, Presbhd, Naim, Huayang, HSL, Kimlun, Daiboci, Kseng, Supermx, Alam, L&G, and KHSB.

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-01-13 16:12 | Report Abuse

Haha, jumbo I will ignore you,being the leader of the syiok sendiri fantasy team, until later. You obviously dunno what you talking about! Care to read back older threads? LoL

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-01-13 16:25 | Report Abuse

Ooi, I will agree that the rakyat wantwnd deserves s a clean,accountable and transparent govt. If PR can deliver that, indeed long term is beneficial to all that's true. But old saying goes : absolute power corrupts absolutely! Good to have check and balance no matter who wins!

I am on a look out for cheap value stocks too! So hopefully it comes! :)

skyboyman

457 posts

Posted by skyboyman > 2013-01-13 16:41 | Report Abuse

hopefully genm closed.. case solved.. lol..

bingo

2,677 posts

Posted by bingo > 2013-01-13 17:00 | Report Abuse

BN counters all will REALLY koyak if Pakat Rakyat wins, that's for sure, first to go is Mahakutty's sons companies, haa haa haa...run now if you can with BN cronies counters, ha ha ha

jumbo

941 posts

Posted by jumbo > 2013-01-13 17:52 | Report Abuse

Jumbo see KClow scare when confronted about what he wrote earlier calling for ABU.....after Jumbo warned that this is an investment portal. now KClow is not admitting for fear.....Jumbo advice KC to be himself and be brave of his own statement

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-01-13 18:08 | Report Abuse

I will choose to answer that, bangla jumbo. I note the admins did not view favorably what was written and so I stopped even though to me it was a harmless statement and in all probability that the admins were influenced by your created nicks trying to sway the conversation.

It really has nothing to do with your trying to dare me and probably want to get me in trouble! :) I just choose to be smart over it! If that eats you up, and continue your name calling, I must say, its no effect and very satisfying on my part that you can help me repeat that! :)

You are trying getting to tonylim again and again because he is a suspect to anger! Hope he reads this and not fall for kiddies which contribute nothing! Hahaha

Tick tock tick tock. Another 6 hours to go, and I must say am disappointed by the quality of your reaction and postings! LoL

jumbo

941 posts

Posted by jumbo > 2013-01-13 18:19 | Report Abuse

Jumbo is right...KClow made the statement and admitted to it....Jumbo only highlighted to admin ....nothing more...the rest came from KClow....Jumbo laughs...

jumbo

941 posts

Posted by jumbo > 2013-01-13 18:21 | Report Abuse

Not only did KC posted and rallying the support, KC also had a picture stating what he meant!....Jumbo advice KClow not to play politics in investment portal. OK!

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-01-13 18:21 | Report Abuse

OK. No problem to be "wrong".... tick tock!

Still follow me around and try to catch "life & death" mistakes yeah? Hahahahaha

jumbo

941 posts

Posted by jumbo > 2013-01-13 18:24 | Report Abuse

Jumbo happy KC admit being wrong....but wrong is one thing don't bring ABU statement here...this is your last warning!

Blog: Which Sector \ Company will be impacted if Federal \ State Gov change?
Jan 13, 2013 06:21 PM | Report Abuse

OK. No problem to be "wrong".... tick tock!

Still follow me around and try to catch "life & death" mistakes yeah? Hahahahaha