13 comment(s). Last comment by Esque 2013-06-25 08:03

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-27 12:36 | Report Abuse

Hey Ah Ben was the most famous investor at his time. His principles are invaluable, even for the present time. But ah I haven't read from any comments in i3investors using his principles, have you? Why not? After all this is a "i3investors" website.

KowChye

181 posts

Posted by KowChye > 2013-01-27 13:49 | Report Abuse

my humble opinion. Ben is just an ordinary person like all of us, not god. Hence, his rules are for us as guidelines. Not "RULES" that investors MUST follow or adhere. If i'm right, I think they are many out there not agreeable to one or all 10 rules of Ben.

alexlulu

449 posts

Posted by alexlulu > 2013-01-27 14:25 | Report Abuse

kcloh. if i m not mistaken, buffet use graham rules and find that cannot make money wor. hahaha. so he invented his own rules.
in bolehland. only 1 rule is applicable. the Bursuk rule.

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-01-27 14:36 | Report Abuse

yeah, Buffett made changes when he met P Fisher and C Munger. in all fairness to Graham, he shaped his rules in the Post-Great Depression era. So a lot of counters were available to his criteria when he set them out!

alexlulu

449 posts

Posted by alexlulu > 2013-01-27 14:41 | Report Abuse

great! my memory is still intact.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-27 14:52 | Report Abuse

How well do Ben Graham’s 10 rules work when it comes picking stocks?

Henry Oppenheimer: studied the portfolios obtained from these screens from 1974 to 1981 and concluded that you could have made an annual return well in excess of the market. Academics have tested individual screens – low PE ratios and high dividend yields to name two – in recent years and have found that they indeed yield portfolios that deliver higher returns. Mark Hulbert, who evaluates the performance
of investment newsletters, found newsletters than espoused to follow Graham did much better than other newsletters.
The only jarring note is that an attempt to use the 10 rules by a mutual fund that would deliver high returns did fail. In the 1970s, an investor name James Rea was convinced enough of the value of these screens that he founded a fund called the Rea-Graham fund, which would invest in stocks based upon the Graham screens. While it had some initial successes, the fund floundered during the 1980s and early 1990s and was ranked in the bottom quartile for performance.
The best support for Graham’s views on value investing don’t come from
academic studies or the Rea-Graham fund but from the success of many of his students at Columbia. While they chose diverse paths, many of them ended up managing money and posting records of extraordinary success.

The above study is quoted from an academic study by Prof Aswath Damodaran of Stern School of Business, New Yoke University.

KowChye

181 posts

Posted by KowChye > 2013-01-29 06:44 | Report Abuse

wow

kclee

110 posts

Posted by kclee > 2013-06-22 11:32 | Report Abuse

i think i will compute an Excel that sum all this 10 rules, maybe 8 since there are some not applicable to us :) after that... i make my screening job easier...

who wan the excel can find me.

Alvian

334 posts

Posted by Alvian > 2013-06-22 17:52 | Report Abuse

do u mind to send the excel to me? alvianlim@outlook.com

Posted by paulwongtp > 2013-06-22 18:00 | Report Abuse

me too pls pls pls paulwongtp73@yahoo.com thgank you

Posted by Stephen Lee > 2013-06-25 06:26 | Report Abuse

Please send me the excel format. lee68@streamyx.com. Thank you.

jester

852 posts

Posted by jester > 2013-06-25 07:06 | Report Abuse

I would like the excel sheet as well please. Thank you.
wanazwan.investment@gmail.com

Esque

29 posts

Posted by Esque > 2013-06-25 08:03 | Report Abuse

pls send to stormquest2000@yahoo.com. Appreciate it & TQ.