41 comment(s). Last comment by wm83 2013-08-28 10:26

JTFX

1,582 posts

Posted by JTFX > 2013-08-26 10:42 | Report Abuse

tks TKW, good article..this guy is a super bear...

haikeyila

1,068 posts

Posted by haikeyila > 2013-08-26 10:59 | Report Abuse

Is this guy a roubini or a carson block?

jjoker

390 posts

Posted by jjoker > 2013-08-26 11:01 | Report Abuse

Anything that's published in Malaysia Chronicle is a bit too extreme.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-08-26 11:02 | Report Abuse

Is macro economic influence on the capital market predictable?

Nowadays with the power of the computer,it is easy to simulate past macro economic events and used them to back test their influence in the capital markets in the past. This has been a favorite research topic and has been carried out by many academic researchers. From what I have read so far, there is no statistic significant results to show that past macro economic events have the influence over the capital markets. Is there any reason to believe that they can in the future?

Those people who have some knowledge about economics would know that the top economists in the world are only 50% correct in predicting the market.

Sure market does go in cycles, but pinpointing the exact or even approximately point of the cycle the market is in now is proven to be a futile exercise. If one is wrong, and he is often wrong in the past, missing out the last leg of a bull market can be a costly endeavor.

Hence using a top-down approach in investing has also proven to be a futile exercise.

JTFX

1,582 posts

Posted by JTFX > 2013-08-26 11:06 | Report Abuse

the Malaysian Dr.Doom, Gloom n Bust...

beginer

136 posts

Posted by beginer > 2013-08-26 11:07 | Report Abuse

The more you learn the you gain , tq

faralenz

139 posts

Posted by faralenz > 2013-08-26 11:21 | Report Abuse

better run b4 too late...

regnig

259 posts

Posted by regnig > 2013-08-26 11:38 | Report Abuse

I'd prefer to look at the company earning potential rather than indexes

winman 1

512 posts

Posted by winman 1 > 2013-08-26 14:19 | Report Abuse

its true the crisis are coming, a big crash will even pull down giant maybank to 2.70, like in 97, so be prepared and dont miss the chance of buying at rock bottom.
the indian gov has make known of the attack on its currency hence depreciation and openly says its not defending thus the ripple effect is on the way and the only difference is, those days it stared off from thailand
true its an advantage to the well inform

11,196 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2013-08-26 14:28 | Report Abuse

I do not agree that the market is going to crash. I agreed that correction is due since the break up gap is sealed. Stay out of the market temporary, wait for uptrend to be back and start investing again.
Those interested to follow TA, buy again when the price crosses 20 days EMA or wait for KLCI to cross 20 days EMA. Bull market will be back later on. Thank you.

JTFX

1,582 posts

Posted by JTFX > 2013-08-26 15:11 | Report Abuse

This is just another correction after the failure again to decisively cross n hold above the 1800 level leading to good profit taking, exerbated by the frg capital outflows from emrging mkts n currency depreciation,blah blah blah.The important Q is..How low 5%? 10%? n how long ??is this correction going to be?..Corrections present again opportunities for us to buy again at cheaper levels..period..

yktay1

464 posts

Posted by yktay1 > 2013-08-26 15:51 | Report Abuse

When the market drops, out comes the doomsayers like this guy, all riding on the opportunity to grab some headlines.

yktay1

464 posts

Posted by yktay1 > 2013-08-26 15:56 | Report Abuse

How come he did not see it before the correction?

charan das

6,400 posts

Posted by charan das > 2013-08-26 17:42 | Report Abuse

correction is there but no crash

mmtalents

506 posts

Posted by mmtalents > 2013-08-26 17:44 | Report Abuse

talk is cheap and easy

mmtalents

506 posts

Posted by mmtalents > 2013-08-26 17:50 | Report Abuse

teacher teach student, must study hard and follow teacher's formula then u will score A, but I no guarantee lor, if you score A, meaning teacher's formula is good la, if you don't score A then you are not smart enough lor...

air01557

2,511 posts

Posted by air01557 > 2013-08-26 18:03 | Report Abuse

very good write-up - all BEWARE

11,196 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2013-08-26 20:45 |

11,196 posts

Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > 2013-08-26 20:54 | Report Abuse

China stocks are cheap, Hong Kong stock market is the most expensive. Do you know that 40% of Hong Kong stocks are China "H" shares ?
Chinese saying "Cow head does not match horse mouth". Rubbish report.

tsurukame

778 posts

Posted by tsurukame > 2013-08-26 21:00 | Report Abuse

Big boys with strong financial muscle are in control...Big boys are flushing out the small boys now...Small boys are panicking and running for cover...nursing their wounds and trying to survive for the next round..

The turnaround will come at the "darkest hour when nearly everyone least expects" and turnaround it will!!

So chill out, just relax, re-strategize, re-arm and bide for your time and pounce on the next opportunity when it comes and please remember this...never regret what you have done ..just learn and profit from your experience and you will come out smiling when the next opportunity knocks!!!

tsurukame

778 posts

Posted by tsurukame > 2013-08-26 21:37 | Report Abuse

Most Foreign funds are already out of emerging markets...just look at the currencies of emerging countries ..it had collapsed significantly over the past weeks...and the stock markets had corrected signifcantly

The big boys don't want to see a total collapse of global equity markets including emerging markets as they have very long term objectives in multiplying their wealth many folds...

Just some severe corrections to weed out weak holders and allow them to re-enter at cheaper prices will suffice...

JTFX

1,582 posts

Posted by JTFX > 2013-08-26 21:47 | Report Abuse

bottomline, mkts always undergo some corrections..these weaknesses are opportunities for us to buy cheaper..so get ready ur funds n tapau good stocks whc hv been bashed down..

King Kong73

2,053 posts

Posted by King Kong73 > 2013-08-26 21:48 | Report Abuse

Bro. Buy..klcc..bro...recession proof

Tripaka

2,920 posts

Posted by Tripaka > 2013-08-26 21:54 | Report Abuse

Simple logic. What goes up must come down. Smart investors are the ones who churn profits whichever way it goes.

imoogi99

1,640 posts

Posted by imoogi99 > 2013-08-26 22:51 | Report Abuse

Article written by Malaysia Spinner need to read with a pinch of salt.

winman 1

512 posts

Posted by winman 1 > 2013-08-26 22:54 | Report Abuse

from various info gather, i am this conclusion, our markets correction will go down to 1580, any 2nd opinion

Momobear

36 posts

Posted by Momobear > 2013-08-26 23:03 | Report Abuse

You will get surprise gift on 18 Sept, we going to continue QE

jjoker

390 posts

Posted by jjoker > 2013-08-26 23:04 | Report Abuse

QE = Q Eternity

Momobear

36 posts

Posted by Momobear > 2013-08-26 23:06 | Report Abuse

If anyone can predict the market, he dont need to write blog anymore, just sit at home predict and become richest person in the world. Why need to share his prediction ? He share because he need more people to help him to pull the market down and this is their main objective

Momobear

36 posts

Posted by Momobear > 2013-08-26 23:09 | Report Abuse

Many forget what move the market ? Many confuse that economy move the market, so dissapointed with these people

dinpolo

136 posts

Posted by dinpolo > 2013-08-26 23:16 | Report Abuse

U have points bro...but we don't know how bottom can touch....I agree with u that our stock price still high...or traders only selective stock u can bargain ...we just waiting news from federal reserve regarding bond issue ....trading wise n good luck

Frank Soweto

Posted by Frank Soweto > 2013-08-27 01:30 | Report Abuse

more about tapering, Gold really think otherwise :)
http://www.marketwatch.com/story/gold-to-the-fed-you-are-bluffing-2013-08-26

JTFX

1,582 posts

Posted by JTFX > 2013-08-27 09:24 | Report Abuse

shopping time....

messi

1,915 posts

Posted by messi > 2013-08-27 11:21 | Report Abuse

window shopping first.....wait for clearer picture.....our market could get cheaper

Posted by mr_investmentbanker > 2013-08-28 09:43 | Report Abuse

:)

JTFX

1,582 posts

Posted by JTFX > 2013-08-28 09:53 | Report Abuse

this Papa Bear Sam must be grinning....

Shinferre

82 posts

Posted by Shinferre > 2013-08-28 10:05 | Report Abuse

Thanks TKW for sharing. I really learn a lot from this article

JTFX

1,582 posts

Posted by JTFX > 2013-08-28 10:08 | Report Abuse

Woopss..Philippines another 5.3% down, JKT -2.8%....

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-08-28 10:09 | Report Abuse

LOL@JTFX

wm83

154 posts

Posted by wm83 > 2013-08-28 10:26 | Report Abuse

@jtfx you reckon it's shopping time? i think there's downward pressure still...