7 comment(s). Last comment by murali 2014-11-27 06:13

5,744 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2014-01-20 20:12 | Report Abuse

I could be wrong, based on their returns initial fees was not deducted. Need to take off 5.5 for hard cash EPF 3 percent. Also see which unit trust organization ?

5,744 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2014-01-20 20:16 | Report Abuse

I still prefer to take sometime off to do little research. N resources of learning is unlimited with some kind people an example kcchongnz n abundance of info fr kian Wei tan.....

Posted by kcchongnz > 2014-04-04 05:33 | Report Abuse

Posted by yfchong > Jan 20, 2014 08:12 PM | Report Abuse

I could be wrong, based on their returns initial fees was not deducted. Need to take off 5.5 for hard cash EPF 3 percent. Also see which unit trust organization ?

Yes, the initial sales charge, whatever it is, is not taken into consideration yet. But looking at the performance of some top funds, that fee may be worth.

I am actually quite surprise with the good performance of some funds, notably Philip Capital, and I believe they can continue to out-perform the market. This is something which most funds can't do in view of the market being efficient to some extend.

vinext

117 posts

Posted by vinext > 2014-11-26 18:37 | Report Abuse

KC which of the philip capital fund is the 1 excelling?
btw the 100yr period, buffett said the return is abt 5.x to 9.x since inception of djia
even for a shorter period it is 10-11%, may i know where u get this data of 13%? tq

Posted by kcchongnz > 2014-11-26 19:07 | Report Abuse

Posted by vinext > Nov 26, 2014 06:37 PM | Report Abuse
KC which of the philip capital fund is the 1 excelling?
btw the 100yr period, buffett said the return is abt 5.x to 9.x since inception of djia
even for a shorter period it is 10-11%, may i know where u get this data of 13%? tq

The article says Philip Capital Master Growth Fund

The article mentioned is Jeremy Siegel's book "Stock For the Long Run" gives the 13% from 1871-2001.

Buffett's cited a shorter period of 100 years according to your question. I am not sure if he talked about the real return, or the nominal return.

vinext

117 posts

Posted by vinext > 2014-11-27 03:49 | Report Abuse

KC, i cant recall what buffett said in the interview abt the exact period. Also not sure if real/nominal but in the past 21yrs reading, the highest return i've ever for any 30yrs period/longer has never been greater than 12%

Posted by murali > 2014-11-27 06:13 | Report Abuse

Where is icap?