21 comment(s). Last comment by francis5269 2014-04-08 16:42

haikeyila

1,063 posts

Posted by haikeyila > 2014-02-14 12:09 | Report Abuse

good write-up. agree that this is a good company. love its zero-debt status and high divvy.

wayneteo

34 posts

Posted by wayneteo > 2014-02-14 14:22 | Report Abuse

Thank you very much for the write up and sharing.

investor77

743 posts

Posted by investor77 > 2014-02-14 17:16 | Report Abuse

Thanks for the great write up. Analyst Shin Kau Jack from RHB is also very bullish on Pintaras . He also deemed IQ group ( 100% export ) and TAS as good shares to hold.

KC Chong, has anyone highlighted Duta land ? Besides PMCorp, is this another Gem to invest ? Thanks.

Alphabeta

235 posts

Posted by Alphabeta > 2014-02-14 17:48 | Report Abuse

Great stuff KC Chong, agreed with your assessment but I have a few comments to make.

In construction industry, earthwork & piling work started first with fast turnaround time especially for building and collect their due in the early stage of the construction cycle. This is good for cash flow with minimum risk of bad debts.

Since the founder and MD, Dr Chiu is 58 years of age, from the board line up, I presumed he is grooming their son Chiu Wei Wen, age 28 to succeed him. His son was major in IT with a diploma in management and already on board slightly more than two years. It will take quite a while before his son can be in the driving seat.

Looking at the past five years Y-O-Y growth trend from 6/09 to 6/13 in term of revenue and profit, the high growth rate achieved in the FY 6/11and 6/12 are accompanied with RM 30 million and RM 20mil capital expenditure. The 6/13 the growth rate has slowed down substantially with better profit margin and accompanied with a low RM 8 million capex. Instead of comparing quarter to quarter growth which can represent a slow start of works in one quarter and completion of more works in another quarter. For Y-OY high growth, there is a co-relationship between capex and growth. For Pintaras to have the Y-O-Y high growth rate it needs to secure higher order books compared to previous year and more investments in PPE to execute increase work load.
As at 6/13 YE it is sitting on a big cash pile of RM 155 million, out of which RM 30 million in investment in quoted securities in Malaysia and Oversea (mainly Hong Kong) which gave comparable return and the balance in cash & short-term deposit which is earning below par income. Despite better net profit margin in 6/13, its ROE could be much better if not due to the drag by higher low productive assets and shareholders’ equity. It should improve its dividend payout policy as it cash position is able to fund growth and better dividend payment.

In view of the oversupply of commercial space and head winds in residential property development, the prospect of growth will come from industrial buildings, MRT2 roll-out and WCE etc. One of its strong competitors is Sunway Geotechnics.

I fully agreed with you that this is a growth stock with decent dividend payment (but could be better), its long-term sustainable growth rate should be in the region of 15% per annum due to the high base factor.

We are in the same page in term of stock selection. Good works, KC Chong…Thanks for sharing.

ganasai

1,671 posts

Posted by ganasai > 2014-02-14 18:34 | Report Abuse

good stock, miss the chance? dont worry, this year still got a lot of chance. patient is the key to win.

Firebird2

1,730 posts

Posted by Firebird2 > 2014-02-14 19:58 | Report Abuse

Current price is still below the price just before its bonus 1:1, I think 3.24?

Alphabeta

235 posts

Posted by Alphabeta > 2014-02-15 15:37 | Report Abuse

A word of caution with this stock, its share price has increased from RM3 in Apr'13 to around RM6 in early Dec'13 before the 1 for 1 bonus in Dec'13. At current price level, a 10% return per annum should not be an issue unless there is a delay on rolling out the infrastructure works and a slow down in launching of high-rise building works. Its near term growth could be lackluster.

The 2nd quarter ended Dec'13 YTD result showed a slight dropped in after tax profit margin by 2% from 28% to 26% compared to last year. Its YTD revenue growth is 14.5% while profit growth is only 7.7%.

Its current P/E of 9 is low in comparison to other construction counter but this is to be expected as its earning visibility is low due to short contract period of 6 months to a year as compared to normal construction period of 3-4 years.

Though the founder has started to groom his son as his successor, the succession plan of CEO minus 1 level is an unknown. These are key issue to sustain execution capability in future.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2014-03-12 17:17 | Report Abuse

One of the biggest foundation projects I have encountered.

PINTARAS JAYA BHD

AWARD OF CONTRACT FOR FOUNDATION WORKS (DIAPHRAGM WALL, PILING AND EXCAVATION)

The Board of Pintaras Jaya Berhad ("PJB") is pleased to announce that the Company's wholly-owned subsidiary, Pintaras Geotechnics Sdn. Bhd. has, on 12th March 2014, received a Commencement Date Notice dated 12th March 2014 from PNB Merdeka Ventures Sdn. Berhad to undertake foundation works for a proposed building at Warisan Merdeka, Kuala Lumpur. The said works are to commence on 17th March 2014 with a completion period of about a year. The contract is valued at RM74 million.

The said contract is expected to contribute positively to PJB Group's future earnings.

5,744 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2014-03-12 17:19 | Report Abuse

This is in the mark line ;-)

Posted by kcchongnz > 2014-03-22 10:58 | Report Abuse

22/3/2014

As on 22 march 2014, Pintaras has secured the jobs below which would contribute to the financial results ended June 30 2014.

Date Amount, m Commencement Period, months
22/04/2013 36 30/04/2013 13
15/04/2013 20 2/05/2013 12
7/10/2013 59 Nov-13 14
19/12/2013 24 Jan-14 12
3/03/2014 24 10/03/2014 6
12/03/2014 74 17/03/2014 12
Total 237

This amount of jobs certainly is the highest for Pintaras so far. Although the contract amount is small when compared to the jobs secured by other midsized construction firm, it is the bottom-line which is more important. Pintaras net profit margin has been consistent at more than 20% for years. It has in fact reached 30% last year, a feat hardly met by any other construction company.

Posted by Elwin Kai Kai > 2014-03-22 19:51 | Report Abuse

kcchongnz what do you think about brem, can you give me some advice....earning doesnt seem so good but have many valuable land

Posted by francis5269 > 2014-03-31 01:08 | Report Abuse

Hi Mr.chong,

1)the 2013 CFFO is 46242?or other amount?

2)may i know how u calculate NI, can give 1 yr example?

3)the net cash per share...i use CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS/share... but still cant get the amount...may i know how i can get it?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2014-03-31 10:21 | Report Abuse

Posted by francis5269 > Mar 31, 2014 01:08 AM | Report Abuse

Hi Mr.chong,

1)the 2013 CFFO is 46242?or other amount?

2)may i know how u calculate NI, can give 1 yr example?

3)the net cash per share...i use CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS/share... but still cant get the amount...may i know how i can get it?

1) Yes, from statement of cash flow from operating activities
2) NI is net income, the bottom line in the income statement. Sometimes I may have excluded one-off item, or income from investment funds. They are dependent on the equity market and hence are unstable. Again valuation, financial interpretation is an art.
3) Read my previous response as below:

francis5269 Hi mr.chong, your excess cash is from the formula "excess cash=total cash - max(0,current liabilities- current asset)". may i know how you classify the "total cash" from? i add up "Short-term deposits","Cash and bank balances", but cant get your amount Excess cash 155459.then i add up other asset also has variance of it... may i know what category should classified in "total cash"?
11/03/2014 22:58
X

kcchongnz francis5269, yes i use the formula mentioned by you. More specifically, it is:

Excess cash = Total cash or cash equivalent- max[0,current liabilities- (current asset-cash or cash equivalent)]

Don't forget that cash also include the 46.6m "available for sales investments" in the non-current asset which is quoted shares.
12/03/2014 04:56
francis5269 Hi

Posted by francis5269 > 2014-04-02 12:23 | Report Abuse

Hi mr.chong,

i calculate these few days... 2013 NI 41437, and 2012 39152. it show variance with ur figure abv. am i miss other things?

Gross profit 59946
Other operating income 15386
Administrative expenses -3,321
Other operating expenses -4,859
Taxation -14,835
Gain on disposals -8,032
Interest income received -2,848
NI 41437

Gross profit 54302
Other operating income 5891
Administrative expenses -3,276
Other operating expenses -3,088
Taxation -12,967
Interest income received -1,710
NI 39152

Posted by kcchongnz > 2014-04-02 12:51 | Report Abuse

francis,
Looking at your computation, why did you net off the "gain on disposal" and "interest income for your NI for 2013?

I said sometimes I net them off when computing operating income, not from net income, as these items are one-time off and not the "real" operating income in the actual sense for my valuation using FCF for the firm.

Most of my valuation methods start from operating income, not net income.

If you don't do that, then you will get the same NI of 52.3m as mine as mentioned in the post.

Posted by francis5269 > 2014-04-02 20:34 | Report Abuse

hi mr.chong,

ur NI as below,when i check the NI for 2012 & 2013 is 35826 & 52317.

from ur meaning is net profit no deduct "gain on disposal" and "interest income",rite? but how get below your post figure?

Net profit
Year
2,013 2,012
55,438 42,149

Posted by kcchongnz > 2014-04-03 04:58 | Report Abuse

If you look at Ptaras annual report, the "profit for the financial year" for 2013 and 2012 is 52317 and 44897 respectively. I ignore those extra-ordinary gain/loss below this line.

So your figure for 2013 is the correct one. Your figure for 2012 of 35,826 you have taken into account of those items which I consider as extra-ordinary, which I always omit in the income statement for a true picture of its financial performance.

My figure for 2013 of 55438 in this post which I just checked is actually the trailing twelve month (TTM) "profit for the financial year" 2014. Maybe i should use the 2013 figure which is 52317, but many people use TTM results too.

What about my 42149 for 2012? I may have excluded some more items which I thought are one-off or non-recurring which I got it from the cash flow statement. Can't remember exact figure and items but I find it is unnecessary to spend time looking for them. After all how many times I have said, valuation is an art. And what is the difference between 42,149 and 44897 when the margin of error in financial interpretation and valuation is a very wide one?

Posted by francis5269 > 2014-04-03 22:06 | Report Abuse

Thx. mr.chong...bcs i thought i miss out something and i may use same method for another company then may lead me to wrong calculation... i think next time i directly take NI of financial report.Btw, where to find trailing twelve month (TTM)
"profit for the financial year" 2014? in bursa, 2013 annual report?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2014-04-04 05:22 | Report Abuse

francis, you could just take the NI from the financial report. But be aware that you should ignore the one-off items such as gain in valuation of property, foreign exchange gain, gain in sales of assets. These items are non-recurring and would not project a true picture of a company's profitability.

You can't get ttm results from annual report. You may get this information in some websites. Somebody told me i could get it from i3 website too and i tried and got it. I am not sure how to get it now from i3.

I like to get it from the quarterly reports which i have to do a lot more work extracting and summarizing from them. However i got a lot more useful information by doing so for my valuation and financial interpretation purposes.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2014-04-07 18:41 | Report Abuse

Wow, another award of piling and basement project of 71m, as big as the Merdeka Square! Nowadays, foundation projects are huge.

Must go back and ask Dr Chiu if there is any vacancy for job or not. Ah think about it, I don't think he wants to employ somebody who has left the industry for so long already. But think about it, I got scared seeing the earth and mud each time I am near a construction site.

The table below summarizes the existing jobs for Pintaras Jaya.

Date Amount, m Commencement Period, months
22/04/2013 36 30/04/2013 13
15/04/2013 20 2/05/2013 12
7/10/2013 59 Nov-13 14
19/12/2013 24 Jan-14 12
3/03/2014 24 10/03/2014 6
12/03/2014 74 17/03/2014 12
7/04/2014 71 1/05/2014 16
Total 308

Posted by francis5269 > 2014-04-08 16:42 | Report Abuse

thx, mr.chong...