KLSE (MYR): CARLSBG (2836)
-0.14 (0.73%)
18.98 - 19.26
Market Cap
5,809 Million
NOSH
306 Million
Avg Volume (4 weeks)
4 Weeks Range
18.98 - 20.22
4 Weeks Price Volatility (%)
52 Weeks Range
18.98 - 25.00
52 Weeks Price Volatility (%)
Previous Close
Open
Bid
18.98 x 10,300
Ask
19.00 x 10,700
Day's Range
18.98 - 19.26
Latest Quarter | Ann. Date
30-Sep-2023 [#3] | 01-Nov-2023
Next QR | Est. Ann. Date
31-Dec-2023 | 23-Feb-2024
T4Q P/E | EY
18.78 | 5.33%
T4Q DY | Payout %
4.58% | 85.99%
T4Q NAPS | P/NAPS
0.71 | 26.76
T4Q NP Margin | ROE
13.85% | 142.50%
2023-12-02
2023-11-30
Sector: CONSUMER PRODUCTS & SERVICES
Subsector: FOOD& BEVERAGES
Description:
Carlsberg Brewery Malaysia Bhd is a Carlsberg Group subsidiary that produces and sells beer, stout, cider, shandy, and nonalcoholic malt beverages in Asia. The company produces its products in Malaysia, and nearly all sales are in Malaysia and Singapore. Carlsberg Brewery Malaysia also exports products to Sri Lanka, Thailand, Taiwan, and Hong Kong. Carlsberg is the company?s flagship brand. Other brands include Kronenbourg 1664, Somersby Ciders, Asahi Dry, Royal Stout, Skol, Jolly Shandy, Nutrimalt, Connor?s Stout Porter, and Corona Extra.
No beer no gamble no cigarette no mini skirt..
So, what else?
Corruption shld be OK THEN
2023-06-27 10:06
After falling below rm20, Carlsberg will join dlady, Panasonic, bat... As big cap falling championships
2023-06-27 10:16
fundemental is still there ...what makes the price so depressing is local political scene ..its all depends on the state election how stability of our goverment ...
2023-07-02 18:46
CARLSBG is shareholder friendly - over past 8 years, it pays nearly 100% of its earnings to shareholders as dividends. Some years lower than earnings, some years higher, on average, around 100%. I like this type of shareholder who pays 80%+ of its earnings back to shareholders.
However, CARLSBG problem, as everyone noted above, is its earnings. 2022 looked like turning around, but 2023/Q1 has dipped slightly below 2022/Q1, causing investors to be wary if they've seen the peak in CARLSBG earnings. Last year, we saw 88 sen dividend, if there's a dip, I think we could be looking at 80-84 sen dividend this year.
Typically, I like my dividend yield at a minimum of 5%, but for this quality stock, 4.5% may be acceptable. At 82 sen dividend, my buy price will be around RM18.22, around Feb 2020 low. Probably less than 20% chance of happening.
Still, this stock is in my radar screen. A low price is a good reason to get into this stock.
2023-07-30 09:42
two more days to go for those with high risk apetitie .if confirm no green wave it will go full steam . if not all bust
2023-08-09 09:49
Wow... Green tsunami mari..
Beer all limit down...
Why do you so geng to take the risk?
2023-08-10 19:11
Selangor sudah panic juga...rocket penang pun gaduh gaduh...
Semua wayang no1.
2023-08-10 19:13
Beli itu stock that semua bangsar pun benefit punya la... Macam bank, Tenaga..air... Gas...kopi O kosong... Roti, telur...
Ini barang tak ada sesak warna... Semua bangsar pun ok
2023-08-10 19:15
safe till next election .... got lifeline but risky bet for long term if the trend continue
2023-08-13 04:31
Do ppl scare current government may imposed restriction on alcohol industry given the recent announcement related to High Education. I kind of have the same feel we are ruling by PAS government, wakakak
2023-09-01 09:42
Fabien _the efficient capital allocator
The group expects the non-renewal of the Asahi agreements to have an annual net profit impact of approximately RM30 million in FY2024.
Gone.... matter of time will drop like shit. Likely to suffer the same fate like BAT. Too over value and growth is pretty much limited/ non-exist. TAPAU.
lol, please displose more then you will regret, china tourist will come and it will boost Alchohol industry, and new year & christmas coming soon
Time will prove it is golden chance to collect it, get ready for crashing after ex-date
"The non-renewal of the Asahi Agreements is expected to have an annual net profit impact of approximately RM30 million for the financial year ending 31 December 2024 and this will be progressively mitigated by the introduction of Sapporo in 2024 pursuant to the Memorandum of Understanding signed between the Company and Sapporo Breweries Limited on 1 November 2023."
30 million p.a. is big, but if we assign a PE of 20, this is roughly RM2 impact to shareholders.
But company has Sapporo to mitigate, so, longer term impact should be less than RM2.
So, I will be slowly accumulating for the long term. Current holdings is small around 2%.
CARLSBG past 8 year EPS/DPS are growing, but not a steady growth:
Year: EPS / DPS
2015: 71 / 77
2016: 67 / 72
2017: 72 / 87
2018: 91 / 100
2019: 95 / 100
2020: 53 / 40
2021: 66 / 56
2022: 104 / 88
2023E: 100? / 86?
So, if just look at 2023 to compare against 2022 and if we factor in loss of Asahi in 2024, CARLSBG looks set to declare lower EPS and lower DPS. Hence it's price has fallen and rightly so.
And if you look at COVID impact to its business in 2020, its EPS dropped substantially in 2020, i.e. it's business is not immune to pandemic (but so are vast majority of busineses) - I can accept this lack of resilience during pandemics.
But if you are willing to take a 8 year view (most investor aren't), then, this is nothing like BAT at all. This company grows in the long term. Maybe the historical high growth is over, but it should still grow because unlike BAT which as vaping and other alternatives, CARLSBG alternatives looks much smaller in comparison and I would think this stock is decent to add to one's long term dividend portfolio, but having said that, I only have 2% and I wouldn't be looking at adding to more than 3% of my portfolio. > 40 of my stocks pays dividends, including CARLSBG.
Maybe better to have waited a bit for around 18-18.5 as I mentioned in July, but 19+ was tempting. Personally, I'm not expecting a turnaround within next 6-12 months, so there should be plenty of time to accumulate.
PAS fears, and political extremism is a valid risk when looking at Malaysia long term (anyone who observed the past 40 years can see this very clearly), hence, the growth in the past is unlikely to be repeated in the future, but human behaviour (to drink) is a longer constant in my personal opinion, so, to me, the net effects should still be long term growth, just, maybe not as high as before due to rising alternatives (but we are talking long term here).
dam82
https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2023/06/19/carlsberg-asahi-group-mutually-agree-not-to-renew-distribution-of-asahi-brand-in-msia
2023-06-19 18:48