25 people like this.

60 comment(s). Last comment by maomaochong 2016-10-14 02:18

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2016-09-27 23:20 | Report Abuse

Many People cakap cakap and cakap stock is gambling ooo so how????

From this article show a very important point. All the business and company do the business which related to exponential stage of growth curve. Huat ar...

以商业的眼光选老婆=看股市。

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-09-27 23:21 | Report Abuse

Investment is not easy to this day
One can simply go broke but go rich
Businessmen is the one very rich
See the facebook founder Apple founder
They do not invest

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2016-09-27 23:23 | Report Abuse

abangadik: Property and stock actually are correlated.OPEN your eyes.

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2016-09-27 23:26 | Report Abuse

PlsGiveBonus: Apple and Facebook create future need. Warren buffett invest future need as a investor.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-09-27 23:28 | Report Abuse

Banker will tell you property and paper is different
They can make 1000 reasons

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-09-27 23:28 | Report Abuse

Alibaba founder also do not invest
He buy kfc instead

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-09-27 23:31 | Report Abuse

Apple do not create anything, since smartphone exist before they make it
Facebook also do not create anything, social web exist before him too
People just like to invest I to them

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-09-27 23:32 | Report Abuse

Businessmen is the ultimate winner, they make nothing and get everything

WB2F

330 posts

Posted by WB2F > 2016-09-27 23:33 | Report Abuse

Alibaba’s Jack Ma Buys $23 Million Property in New York’s Adirondacks
The Chinese billionaire has conservation plans for the 28,100-acre property.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-09-27 23:36 | Report Abuse

If you start small in share, how to become rich?
May be just enough for paycheck
:(

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-09-27 23:39 | Report Abuse

If you start big in share
You may end up broken like any singaporean retiree who need to go for repayment plan and work forever until die

53,278 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-09-27 23:40 | Report Abuse

Whoa!

From the Chart only now I can SEE MG9231 Stock Picking Skill

In Year 2016 MG9231 my Johor Sifu picked PTaras Jaya at Rm1.40 (After bonus and split it is only 21 cts from Sifu KcChongNz price chart). I gave him Kfima at 44 cts then and I thought Kfima has beaten PTaras Jaya.

How wrong was I.

Final Amount of PTaras Jaya is Rm80,201 beating Kfima by almost 400% at only Rm21,172

MG9231 has made millions and millions but kept very very low profile

Where are you MG9231?

ronnietan

141 posts

Posted by ronnietan > 2016-09-27 23:42 | Report Abuse

KC, do you know who runs Pacific Partners? Googled to read about them but it didn't show up. One possibility is they retired before the internet age.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-09-27 23:44 | Report Abuse

If I had bought Panasonic 20 years ago with RM 1,000 now may be worth RM1,000,000
Can the next 20 years Panasonic turn RM1,000 into 1,000,000 again?

abangadik

2,305 posts

Posted by abangadik > 2016-09-27 23:47 | Report Abuse

ronnietan: Pacific Partners was run by Rick Guerin. He now helps Charlie Munger manage Daily Journal’s portfolio.

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2016-09-27 23:48 | Report Abuse

This is the homework you need to do and study, fitness will be survive according to Darwin law.

Nokia CEO: I tak buat APA APA, cuma competitor I keep improving.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-09-27 23:50 | Report Abuse

If I had bot Apple 20 years ago with RM1000
Now it may turn into 1,000,000 too

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-09-27 23:52 | Report Abuse

Nokia is still doing well
Only the people who bot it go broke

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2016-09-27 23:52 | Report Abuse

Look forward...which one come we discuss.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-09-28 00:01 | Report Abuse

I had yet to see a person who became rich like buffet
Even icap founder is losing in the track
Many unknown fund manager also gone missing
:(

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-09-28 00:03 | Report Abuse

Buffet is tycoon of the west should just stay in the west
Tycoon of the east is non existence.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-09-28 00:08 | Report Abuse

Icap of the east want to devest
Buffet of the west want invest
:( how irony

SALAM

1,025 posts

Posted by SALAM > 2016-09-28 08:55 | Report Abuse

Well said PGB: Buffet of the East Kiasi.........

Blacksails

762 posts

Posted by Blacksails > 2016-09-28 09:26 | Report Abuse

KC, why don't you give us 5 stocks to buy today or soon to keep for 10 years
and see the result in 2026. That's the challenge to U to prove your theory.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-09-28 09:31 | Report Abuse

and Deutsche Bank share is at multi year low
yeah, compounding.

wiki123

2,447 posts

Posted by wiki123 > 2016-09-28 10:01 | Report Abuse

fuyoh... big challenge... !!

limchimleong

1,732 posts

Posted by limchimleong > 2016-09-28 11:01 | Report Abuse

I feel that it is easier for us if we shares others valuable experience.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-09-28 14:04 | Report Abuse

You know why China became so rich?
Because they only buy house
They sell paper share
And they do it in every country
Even in other western land they buy house and sell paper share until the white people is so angry that they want to limit their house ownership

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-09-28 14:25 | Report Abuse

Poor country buy paper share and sell their house
:)

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-09-28 14:27 | Report Abuse

American no money now need to borrow from the house keeper

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-09-28 14:28 | Report Abuse

American have plenty of 401k paper share but house

Posted by KLCI King > 2016-09-28 15:05 | Report Abuse

Why got people called himself sostupid one?

susuan

214 posts

Posted by susuan > 2016-09-28 16:47 | Report Abuse

If you had 1000 Genting shsres when it was listed in 1971, you would be a multi millionaire by now!!

Junichiro

2,037 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2016-09-28 17:04 | Report Abuse

It is easier said than done. To hold a stock fr 1971 till now. One have to go thru some many big downturns which offered great opportunity for those who sold off during the highs to buy it again. It is great in theory but is hard to put into practice.

Alphabeta

235 posts

Posted by Alphabeta > 2016-09-28 17:27 | Report Abuse

Cultivate the discipline in applying the value investing approach. A mindset shift to focus on "Return on invested capital - ROIC", EVA, Free cash flow, net debt to equity, EV/EBITDA and dividend yield.

Risk comes from not knowing what you're doing, it is better to pay a fair price for a well run company - a business that can prosper in good and bad time.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-09-28 18:28 | Report Abuse

Posted by JN88 > Sep 27, 2016 10:54 PM | Report Abuse
Only counter with >1000% gain can beat property.

You sure?

Have you bought a house? if so, you can work out what is your internal rate of return by putting all the periodic inflows and outflows of cash you have put in, and assuming you can sell it at the market price now.

Your cash input would be rental, and final cash in of a lump sum left, after legal fee and agent fee etc., and also paying balance of loan to bank.

Your out flows should include your initial outlay of deposit, renovation to make it fit to move in, including air conditions and chattels,legal fee, agent fee if any. There will be periodic outflows such as installment, quit rent and assessment fees,insurance, repair and maintenance etc.

Work out what in the net present value on the year you bought it, and of course internal rate of return which you can compare with other alternative investments.

In my experience, only houses in a very good location may yield positive net present value, or an IRR > 10%.

Try out and see.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-09-28 18:36 | Report Abuse

Posted by stockmanmy > Sep 28, 2016 09:31 AM | Report Abuse
and Deutsche Bank share is at multi year low
yeah, compounding.

Why did you choose Deutsche Bank as an example out of thousands of companies?

The legendary investor Shelby Davis, whose approach was essentially to buy and never sell. "His belief was the best time to invest in stocks is whenever you have the cash,"

When he died he owned more than 1,000 different stocks!"

The end result of Davis' low-trading approach? Even though several of the companies he bought went bankrupt, he turned $50,000 in 1938 into more than $900 million by the time he died in the mid-1980s. He had returned an astounding 24% a year with almost no taxes.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-09-28 19:53 | Report Abuse

Posted by Blacksails > Sep 28, 2016 09:26 AM | Report Abuse
KC, why don't you give us 5 stocks to buy today or soon to keep for 10 years
and see the result in 2026. That's the challenge to U to prove your theory.

That is not the way to prove a theory. You got to have statistical significance results from proper research methodology, rather than spurious occurrence.

By the way, you don't need me to give you the 5 stocks. Use some value investing strategies to buy a portfolio of about ten good stocks. I am sure you can do well with that. There are scores of good stocks selling at good price now in Bursa. More in SGX and HKSE.

ronnietan

141 posts

Posted by ronnietan > 2016-09-28 21:28 | Report Abuse

Thanks, abangadik, just looked up Rick Guirin, who posted great long term returns in Pacific Partners, which also had great volatility during market breaks due to use of leverage.

MG9231

771 posts

Posted by MG9231 > 2016-09-28 21:54 | Report Abuse

By right why not treating investment lesson as an additional subject which is not cover in school or university or part time lesson that may be useful in future, who knows?

I remember in Dr. Neoh Soon Kean's book, Stock Market Investment in Malaysia and Singapore. There was a case where a Doctor's son was forced by his Doctor father to pursue and complete his medical course , but the son was not actually keen with his medical study. However the son tried to pick up extra courses in his University, He saw a lecturer who drove a beautiful Porsche in his campus, later , he found out that lecturer was teaching investment course, he told himself that the lecturer must be good in his personal investment and be able to drive nice sport car. In oversea university, the student is allowed to participate other courses on his personal capacity without sitting examine. He followed that lecturer's investment course and picked up his investment knowledge.

when he was back to Malaysia after practised a few years and after accumulated some capital, he started to invest in Malaysia market and make many time more than his medical practice.

I think it is no harm for others to have extra skill as long as he has spare time.

It reminds me Hong Kong tycoon Lee Ka Sing use to advise young people " everyone has equal 24 hours per day, during the office hours, you must contribute your best to your company, you must also pursue 2nd career after office hours by read as much as possible or do what you like best because who knows, that may turn out to be your lifeline either you got retrenched or meeting misfortune event."

I believe those people who follow his advice will live better and comfortable in life .

Wing50

22 posts

Posted by Wing50 > 2016-09-28 23:32 | Report Abuse

Agreed 100% with JN88 - only counter with >1000% will beat investment in property over time.

53,278 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-09-28 23:54 | Report Abuse

Posted by MG9231 > Sep 28, 2016 09:54 PM | Report Abuse

By right why not treating investment lesson as an additional subject which is not cover in school or university or part time lesson that may be useful in future, who knows?

I remember in Dr. Neoh Soon Kean's book, Stock Market Investment in Malaysia and Singapore. There was a case where a Doctor's son was forced by his Doctor father to pursue and complete his medical course , but the son was not actually keen with his medical study. However the son tried to pick up extra courses in his University, He saw a lecturer who drove a beautiful Porsche in his campus, later , he found out that lecturer was teaching investment course, he told himself that the lecturer must be good in his personal investment and be able to drive nice sport car. In oversea university, the student is allowed to participate other courses on his personal capacity without sitting examine. He followed that lecturer's investment course and picked up his investment knowledge.

when he was back to Malaysia after practised a few years and after accumulated some capital, he started to invest in Malaysia market and make many time more than his medical practice.

I think it is no harm for others to have extra skill as long as he has spare time.

It reminds me Hong Kong tycoon Lee Ka Sing use to advise young people " everyone has equal 24 hours per day, during the office hours, you must contribute your best to your company, you must also pursue 2nd career after office hours by read as much as possible or do what you like best because who knows, that may turn out to be your lifeline either you got retrenched or meeting misfortune event."

I believe those people who follow his advice will live better and comfortable in life .

Well said by Great Sifu MG9231 the avid disciple of

GRAND MASTER CHAMPION SIFU DR NEOH SOON KEAN.

In Dr. Neoh's Valuable "STOCK MARKET INVESTMENT" BOOK

he mentioned these in his preface

"Dedicated to the memory of Benjamin Graham" - the Father of Value Investing.

Later Dr Neoh himself became The Benjamin Graham of Malaysia.

And now MG9231 is The Benjamin Graham of i3 Investors' Forum.

So You Better Stay here & Teach all Newbies

Maybe someday an article called

"THE SUPER INVESTORS OF i3 INVESTORS' FORUM" might be written!

YAHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!

MANY HAPPY RETURNS!!

SOOOO HAAAAAPPPPPYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!

53,278 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2016-09-28 23:59 | Report Abuse

While many are struggling to make 5 to 6 figures a year buying and selling; selling and buying stocks MG9231 is making 6 to 7 figures a year just by receiving dividends alone.

6 to 7 FIGURES A YEAR IN DIVIDENDS ALONE?

That's MG9231!! THE CHAMPION OF CHAMPIONS!!!

HIP HIP HOORAY!!!!!!!

dusti

2,404 posts

Posted by dusti > 2016-09-29 09:59 | Report Abuse

A buddy of mine did buy GENTING @ IPO, a mere 2K, got rich ,
then he met this DDG Cambodian lady. ......................................and he got richer bcos she is good @ numbers, don't need "sifus".......and they will live happily ever after.

WB2F

330 posts

Posted by WB2F > 2016-09-29 10:28 | Report Abuse

"Life is the most difficult exam. Many people fail because they try to copy others, not realizing that everyone has a different question paper !"

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-09-30 17:43 | Report Abuse

Posted by Icon8888 > Sep 27, 2016 10:48 PM | Report Abuse
Why invest ? Because not only you need to work hard, your money also need to work hard

Well said Icon8888,

“How many millionaires do you know who have become wealthy by investing in savings accounts? I rest my case.”
- Robert G. Allen

And how would Warren knew this when he said this? From where?

"I Always Knew I Was Going to be Rich”

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-10-01 09:24 | Report Abuse

Posted by WB2F > Sep 29, 2016 10:28 AM | Report Abuse
"Life is the most difficult exam. Many people fail because they try to copy others, not realizing that everyone has a different question paper !"

Well said.

Many people are given the opportunities to learn the life lessons and prepare for the examination for all kinds of questions. However few, very few bother to care about them. Some like the above, take the short cut and try to copy. Occasionally they copy the right answer, but most of the time, like a dice, 5 out of 6 times turn out to be different and wrong answers, and as a result, mostly fail.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-10-14 00:53 | Report Abuse

"The reason we have billionaires who are still in their twenties is not because they bought investments. They created investments, called businesses, that millions of people want to buy." He compares investors to people buying tickets to a game. Businesses are the one selling the tickets to the game (i.e., shares of stock).

============
"Today, I notice people becoming instant millionaires, even billionaires, just by taking a company public through an IPO. I often wonder if the company's mission was just to make money for owners or [Venture capital and founding] investors or was the company really formed to fulfill a mission or some kind of service? I am afraid that many of these new IPOs will ultimately fail because their only mission was to make money quickly. Besides, it is in the mission of a company where the entrepreneur's spirit is found."

21,542 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-10-14 01:18 | Report Abuse

MG9231, can share more with us your invest8ng philosophy and how you pick stocks? We want to learn from you.

Posted by maomaochong > 2016-10-14 02:18 | Report Abuse

i want to learn from paperplane as he is good in invest.