35 comment(s). Last comment by Ricky Yeo 2016-12-17 20:58

Posted by cheoky > 2016-12-16 16:21 | Report Abuse

whether i read your article, you like to give a sense of mythical feeling. You would like to rebut some plain and basic value investing idea like margin of safety. Perhaps, you are thinking with such action, you will gain value investor follower to your termed dynamic investing. Macam Icap Tan. Wrong I Think. You got some acceptable points but lots of parameter which require foreknowledge. Foreknowledge induce further uncertainty and more personal judgement which carry error of judgement. That why cant sink in my mind. I prefer icon article. Rational and reasonable.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-12-16 17:11 | Report Abuse

His article comprises lot of theories that are Untested in battle field

That is why you feel the "myth"

Just like what Marx did for his Marixsm theory - a lot of theoretical stuffs that sound wonderful but once you put them into real life practice, they just screw up big time

Super_SKL

179 posts

Posted by Super_SKL > 2016-12-16 17:12 | Report Abuse

what to buy and when?

and at what price?

So what, what and when?

Example(s)?

I'm just curious to know how it would be applied with your so-called "dynamic investing".

icon just did it, which has attracted more readers and followers.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-12-16 17:16 | Report Abuse

KYY golden rule works well when it is in its most simple form - buy stocks that this year earning likely to be higher than last year

However, once you incorporate your all these additional unproven features, the whole thing turns meaningless

Posted by VenFx > 2016-12-16 17:20 | Report Abuse

Wow, new pil formulated but untested.
And start boastingly promo in the market,
Bad marketing strategy.

Worst than Snake Oil Salesman.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-16 23:40 | Report Abuse

Your comments welcomed. It does not discourage me.

It just shows the job not done yet, plenty of work to do.

and one more thing....the job never gets done because it is about human beings, not physics. Humans very fickle one.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-17 09:28 | Report Abuse

icon

so what has margin of safety given Puncak at 90 sen since your margin of safety?

31,553 posts

Posted by stockraider > 2016-12-17 09:32 | Report Abuse

Margin of safety of Puncak at least Rm 2.50 loh...!!

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-17 09:38 | Report Abuse

raider

your margin of safety is an illusion.
Its now down 64% from the margin of safety.

If this article can discourage people from margin of safety plays, I would be happy and glad already.

31,553 posts

Posted by stockraider > 2016-12-17 09:41 | Report Abuse

raider

your margin of safety is an illusion.
Its now down 64% from the margin of safety.

If this article can discourage people from margin of safety plays, I would be happy and glad already.

Mammy,
thats the trick of margin of safety investment....the more the share down from the margin of safety....the better the value and more attractive the investment loh!!

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-17 09:45 | Report Abuse

that is only deceiving yourself.....you lost money already.
------------------
Mammy,
thats the trick of margin of safety investment....the more the share down from the margin of safety....the better the value and more attractive the investment loh!!

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-12-17 10:10 | Report Abuse

Desa, your article is full of holes. I am very disappointed. You can do better, come on !!!

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-17 10:14 | Report Abuse

Well, I did my best and gave my all.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-12-17 10:15 | Report Abuse

mistake Number 1 :-

"Buy uptrend stocks" is not a bad idea, but not a pre requisite for success.

I bought Geshen, Johotin, Tguan, etc when they are not on uptrend. But I still made tonnes of money from them within a period of 12 months (not 3 or 10 years !!!). KYY tried to play Uptrend by chasing Johotin and Geshen when they announced good results, and his fingers got burned. Go ask him for details.

So, don't tell me that you must buy Uptrend stocks in order to succeed.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-12-17 10:25 | Report Abuse

mistake Number 2 :-

You cautioned against buying stocks selling at low PE. You worried about Value Trap, lack of institutional followings, etc....

Wrong !!!

Your comments are true 10 years ago. Now no more true. Read my article : "How to punt stocks in information age"

In the past, valuation is determined by Institutional Investors, so small cap stocks traded at depressed valuation. However, as I argued in my article, with the advent of information age, retailers are now in charge.

Nowadays no matter big cap small cap, as long as you can generate profit, retailers will re-rate the stocks. Who cares about institutional investors ?

For example : Geshen had market cap of RM50 mil when I bought it, it was subsequently re-rated from 56 sen to closed to RM3.00

Another example : Chee Wah has RM50 mil market cap and was re-rated to RM100 mil within few weeks.

Wake up Desa !!! Stop fantasising about Rose Chan !!! That was a bygone era !!!

31,553 posts

Posted by stockraider > 2016-12-17 10:34 | Report Abuse

Yes margin of safety stocks....once rerating started, share price will surge like what Icon said the return will be fantastic loh....!!

No need always trending up stock mah...!!

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-12-17 10:40 | Report Abuse

Desa no need to condemn margin of safety. stock raider doesn't buy stocks based on margin of safety

stock raider buy stocks based on re-rating potential (superlon, Ajinomoto, etc) but use margin of safety to evaluate downside

so, there is nothing wrong with the concept of margin of safety

14,538 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2016-12-17 10:43 | Report Abuse

Rose chan? Hmm.......icon8888 oldman oredi...60 plus?

31,553 posts

Posted by stockraider > 2016-12-17 10:50 | Report Abuse

ICON,

I ALSO BUY INTO PUNCAK RM 0.90....ON PURE MARGIN OF SAFETY INVESTMENT BCOS NETT CASH RM 2.50 PER SHARE LOH....!!

THIS TYPE OF INVESTMENT IS ON A LONGER TERM PLAY MAH...!!

Posted by Edwardong53 > 2016-12-17 12:12 | Report Abuse

In my opinion, which stock and the timing to buy may not be applicable or easy as say and done. In Malaysia, the big fishes (especially insiders) already know whether which stocks to push or "play" it up before they start asking the stupid Research analysts to publish and recommend to all other retailers to buy. So when all the retailers start to buy these big fishes will sell. Sometimes, you may wonder why there are sellers when the news of the company is so promising; don't tell me the sellers are stupid when the news is so convincing that the stock is going to be moving up???

Apollo Ang

3,181 posts

Posted by Apollo Ang > 2016-12-17 12:42 | Report Abuse

all manipulation in bursa,the figures only an indication,cannot follow.

Apollo Ang

3,181 posts

Posted by Apollo Ang > 2016-12-17 12:42 | Report Abuse

if follow results,gadang should be 0.70cts only not 98cts now

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-17 15:18 | Report Abuse

icon /raider

buy with margin of safety can wait until neck long and hair white only to see paper losses keep growing.

rerating? rerating is on better prospect, not on margin of safety. Its the good old business sense again.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-17 15:25 | Report Abuse

icon

in a perfect market, highly efficient market, there is no more gems to be uncovered on low PE stocks, that all low PE stocks are a reflection of their declining prospects. Stock picking is on the premise of an imperfect market.
The trick is the effective use of business sense to uncover low PE stocks that has better prospects.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-17 15:28 | Report Abuse

that I can agree. But looking at the charts and the assets of the company, I would say 80 sen is a fair reflection after the dead cat bounce is over.

Apollo Ang > Dec 17, 2016 12:42 PM | Report Abuse

if follow results,gadang should be 0.70cts only not 98cts now

Posted by VenFx > 2016-12-17 15:28 | Report Abuse

Your Speaking has expose your limit, Stockman .
Icon8888 bro, has always one step ahead the market.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-17 15:31 | Report Abuse

ven

I have not reached nirvana yet...but one do not need to have reached Nirvana to post opinions and articles in this forum.

Posted by VenFx > 2016-12-17 15:36 | Report Abuse

Yes, its no different from the way your comments in i3 .

Posted by VenFx > 2016-12-17 15:37 | Report Abuse

Cut crap, search the winner .
Don't waste your time by talk something u end up cant benefit from it.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2016-12-17 15:43 | Report Abuse

ven

well, it seems KYY has benefited from my articles/

why not you?

Posted by VenFx > 2016-12-17 15:45 | Report Abuse

Really ?
In what way ?
I don't even care, as long my strategy work on me.
Your are hole everywhere .

Posted by VenFx > 2016-12-17 15:49 | Report Abuse

Put it simple lar,
To test your Dyna can work not, tell me when EG going to deliver ?

Apollo Ang

3,181 posts

Posted by Apollo Ang > 2016-12-17 15:50 | Report Abuse

those who buy and sleep sure donate to KYY because everyday he and his gang been manipulating his stocks.if anyone buy his stocks they will dump for u all and push other stocks. after u all sell it back to them only they will push it up

Posted by buddyinvest > 2016-12-17 16:00 | Report Abuse

If we want to be early, there are 2 conditions to be met. Firstly, the sector prospect must be bright. Secondly, the recent profit jump can be sustained in the next few quarters. These are the tricks. However, don't try to be early in Matrix, Hohup, Trop and the likes or you will be trapped there for donkey years

You have rightfully pointed out that the IT thing has made information easily available and investing landscape has been considerably changed as a result. Things have evolved. It is so good to see old Icon8888 is still able to keep abreast with trend.

Posted by Icon8888 > Dec 17, 2016 10:15 AM | Report Abuse
mistake Number 1 :-

"Buy uptrend stocks" is not a bad idea, but not a pre requisite for success.

I bought Geshen, Johotin, Tguan, etc when they are not on uptrend. But I still made tonnes of money from them within a period of 12 months (not 3 or 10 years !!!). KYY tried to play Uptrend by chasing Johotin and Geshen when they announced good results, and his fingers got burned. Go ask him for details.

So, don't tell me that you must buy Uptrend stocks in order to succeed

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2016-12-17 20:58 | Report Abuse

did one say try not to be early in Matrix, Hohup, Trop? Sounds like you are stepping into the realm of market timing, good luck. If a sector prospect is bright, how can one possibly be considered early? Did you go into steel counter before their results improve? That means you would have likely been trapped as per your comment. Or did you went in after the results? Means you are not early. No fence for you to sit on.

I should write to the CEO of Matrix, Hohup and Trop, and ask if they feel trapped by their share price. Probably doesn't stop them from become filthy rich anyway. If I can have a 95% confidence that I can make 100% profit on an investment within the next 5 years, which imply a 20% CAGR, do I care if I'm trapped for 3 months, 6 months, a year, 2 years?