36 comment(s). Last comment by John Lu 2017-01-18 23:44

Posted by 360Capitalist > 2017-01-12 22:29 | Report Abuse

haha.. Good try. What is your research methodology ?

Posted by Icon8888 > 2017-01-12 22:30 | Report Abuse

Calvin has fetish for high gearing

No high gearing no pick

53,225 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-01-12 22:46 | Report Abuse

Posted by 360Capitalist > Jan 12, 2017 10:29 PM | Report Abuse

Thanks

This is the secret

King James Bible
Love not sleep, lest thou come to poverty; open thine eyes, and thou shalt be satisfied with bread.

OPEN YOUR EYES, AND YOU SHALL BE SATISFIED WITH BREAD (Bread means all material needs or in other words "money")

Have a KEEN OBSERVATION IN LIFE:

Take DRB for example.

I was having dinner with my Used Car Dealer friends one evening (I already left Used Car Trade more than 15 years already.)

They told me every time they bought a Used Car they must send it to Puspakom to verify it. And when they sell they have to send for Puspakom inspection the 2nd time.

With 21.25 million vehicles in Malaysia according to Motor Trader there will be a lot of business for Puspakom which is a monopoly like MyEG.

Another one is POS which DRB has bought 53.5%. Another Monopoly. That is what Warren Buffet likes.

Since they are monopolies they have pricing power. If they raise prices like MyEG there is no alternative.

Another thing I like is DRB's VERY VERY HIGH VALUABLE ASSETS. All at Rock Bottom Prices still at Old Book Value. And POS lands are all Gold Mines (200 year old prime lands & assets)

Although DRB has high gearing ITS ASSETS MORE THAN COVER ALL.

It's like this

If you owe the Bank Rm10 millions But Asset Backing is Rm1 Billion. The 10 million debt or gearing is actually nothing at all.

At Rm1.23 DRB is selling at more than 62% Discount to NTA of Rm3.16

So it has High Margin of Safety

And other ideas too many to list here.

CCCL

621 posts

Posted by CCCL > 2017-01-12 22:49 | Report Abuse

Why for the past few years still the same stocks selection.

53,225 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-01-12 22:54 | Report Abuse

Icon8888 Calvin has fetish for high gearing

No high gearing no pick
12/01/2017 22:30

Haha!

You only see a very small part with tunnel vision lah!

All Calvin's Stock Picks are backed by High NTA. For Opcom & Dutaland they are almost debt free.

I bought Prestar at 46 cts although it has high gearing of Rm200 million borrowings. And Prestar made me more than 100% when price crossed Rm1.00

Same goes for Jaks which I bought at only 40 cts. Jaks has bank borrowings & overdrafts of Rm200 million also. Yet Jaks jumped to Rm1.20 for a 200% upside!

So high gearing is not the only point. If ASSET BACKING (Both Prestar & Jaks were bought at 60% Discount to NTA then). Now that both have gone up in price I no longer interested

53,225 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-01-12 23:09 |

Posted by John Lu > 2017-01-12 23:13 | Report Abuse

All holland pick except PBA and CBIP...80% gone holland

ckkhen

193 posts

Posted by ckkhen > 2017-01-12 23:13 | Report Abuse

Good reply to his critics.

Posted by John Lu > 2017-01-12 23:14 | Report Abuse

Calvin, you only invest 3% of your capital, how to buy these 10 stock? Each stock less than 10 lots??

CCCL

621 posts

Posted by CCCL > 2017-01-12 23:18 | Report Abuse

CALCULATE = Cal(vin) C U Late. Goodnight!

53,225 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-01-12 23:28 | Report Abuse

The surprising thing about Icon8888 & tomato juice @ fortunebullz is this

Each A320 Plane worth Half a Billion $. AAX got Rm110 Billion debt & AirAsia got over Rm70 Billions.

These are among the Highest gearing stocks in Bursa. Of course like China companies TF has learn to conceal debts. With such razor thin margin of only Rm46 per seat how to pay the debt?

No one dare to take up private placement at Rm1.80? So TF got to bear it himself. And selling of AAC to give dividend? More like a debt distress exercise in stead. So better be careful now!

Posted by tranquilfinny > 2017-01-13 01:10 | Report Abuse

Calvin just sound like trump in I3 forum. I wonder does he look like trump too?

Posted by Icon8888 > 2017-01-13 03:42 | Report Abuse

This Calvin lied until he himself confused

Calvin said he only invested 3% of his money

If that is the case, how much can he make from prestar, etc ?

Prestar or pornstar ?

SeeSky

107 posts

Posted by SeeSky > 2017-01-13 06:48 | Report Abuse

No Oil & Gas counters??? One of the 2017 themes right?

53,225 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-01-13 08:09 | Report Abuse

A very good morning to all who visit here.

I am humbled to see so many visitors. Hope all will make money this difficult and highly uncertain year.

After posting there will be both positive and negative feedback.

I appreciate all contributions. Please be constructive with your comments whether you agree or disagree and kindly refrain from vulgar words and attacking personal characters.

The forum is a place to exchange ideas.

No man is an Island. All I give back here the sum total of all I learnt from all other Sifu both in books and in real life experience. Also from every fellow bloggers and friends in i3 forum here.

Have a nice and profitable day and year ahead.

Many thanks.

Posted by John Lu > 2017-01-13 08:20 | Report Abuse

Calvin said he only invested 3% of his capital...how to buy these 10 stock with your 3%? You need to explain

joe2703

123 posts

Posted by joe2703 > 2017-01-13 08:57 | Report Abuse

I want to Laugh.... Hahahaha... You let us go la (你放过我地啦)... Hahahaha

53,225 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-01-13 09:05 | Report Abuse

SeeSky No Oil & Gas counters??? One of the 2017 themes right?
13/01/2017 06:48

Calvin replies:

Yes, I have recommended Oil & Gas counters like Perisai, Scomi, Waseong, BArmada much too earlier after they have corrected in price. But prices kept going down.

So I am still watching. In any case I have bought into Waseong when it was near bottom.

There are 3 questions about O & G counters.

1) Whether Opec/non opec supporting prices is sustainable longer term. If there is cheating price the pact might still be called off.

2) Shale Oil Rigs are ramping up production as US Crude crossed USD $50 a barrel
It was Shale Oil that hammered Crude Oil prices last time. Will this repeat again?

3) US has the highest Oil Reserve on earth today. More oil that Saudi Arabia. If Trump unleash this surplus oil into world markets there is no telling what mght happen.

And so I only selected Sure "things" like Opcom, PBA and YTL Power. Others are more pro growth.

53,225 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-01-13 09:08 | Report Abuse

ckkhen Good reply to his critics.
12/01/2017 23:13

Calvin hope all who give critical comments will also contribute positively. In brain storming we can & do detect dangers. And by taking caution we can escape from further losses. The best free advise sometimes come from our critics.

BMboy

6 posts

Posted by BMboy > 2017-01-13 10:08 | Report Abuse

Look more like Top 10 Holland Picks for 2017

Mc_Wei

176 posts

Posted by Mc_Wei > 2017-01-13 11:12 | Report Abuse

Posted by calvintaneng > Jan 12, 2017 10:46 PM | Report Abuse

Posted by 360Capitalist > Jan 12, 2017 10:29 PM | Report Abuse

Thanks

This is the secret

King James Bible
Love not sleep, lest thou come to poverty; open thine eyes, and thou shalt be satisfied with bread.

OPEN YOUR EYES, AND YOU SHALL BE SATISFIED WITH BREAD (Bread means all material needs or in other words "money")

Have a KEEN OBSERVATION IN LIFE:

Take DRB for example.

I was having dinner with my Used Car Dealer friends one evening (I already left Used Car Trade more than 15 years already.)

They told me every time they bought a Used Car they must send it to Puspakom to verify it. And when they sell they have to send for Puspakom inspection the 2nd time.

With 21.25 million vehicles in Malaysia according to Motor Trader there will be a lot of business for Puspakom which is a monopoly like MyEG.

Another one is POS which DRB has bought 53.5%. Another Monopoly. That is what Warren Buffet likes.

Since they are monopolies they have pricing power. If they raise prices like MyEG there is no alternative.

Another thing I like is DRB's VERY VERY HIGH VALUABLE ASSETS. All at Rock Bottom Prices still at Old Book Value. And POS lands are all Gold Mines (200 year old prime lands & assets)

Although DRB has high gearing ITS ASSETS MORE THAN COVER ALL.

It's like this

If you owe the Bank Rm10 millions But Asset Backing is Rm1 Billion. The 10 million debt or gearing is actually nothing at all.

At Rm1.23 DRB is selling at more than 62% Discount to NTA of Rm3.16

So it has High Margin of Safety

And other ideas too many to list here.

If use your method to value DRB, then LANDMRK would be super high margin of safety. Price at 72c, NTA 3.68 and it doesn't bleed as bad as DRB.

beso

2,137 posts

Posted by beso > 2017-01-13 11:19 | Report Abuse

all pump & dump counters besides cbip is a good fundamental counter

hotel

Posted by hotel > 2017-01-13 12:15 | Report Abuse

Hi Calvintaneng, can you please advise on Vivocom ?

53,225 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-01-13 12:45 | Report Abuse

hotel,

for Vivocom our friend Kcchongnz already wrote about it. Vivocom management spent too much time promoting their stock rather than taking care of their real business

and spent unnecessary fees for extra corporate exercise which contribute little value to real earnings.

j450n

445 posts

Posted by j450n > 2017-01-13 12:46 | Report Abuse

SILK? silk is dead now.. how did you earn 200%?

53,225 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-01-13 12:54 | Report Abuse

k450n

I was waiting for someone to post this question.

It's like this.

I recommended Silk at 40 cts on January 2nd 2014 in Regain Capital Choco passenger ship forum.

To my surprise SILK JUMPED AND JUMPED 200% to over Rm1.20 in a frenzied buying from don't know who.

I think there were syndicates who followed me just like they followed bonescythe and icon8888 later.

And syndicate actually called me to pump and dump shares. But I did not comply to their wishes. So now they turned against me and use cyber thugs to attack me from time to time.

In any case SILK did made 200% among my stock calls.

After SILK was ASB which also behaved like wild bull run astray. It was up 70% in just weeks. Crazy?

hotel

Posted by hotel > 2017-01-13 13:09 | Report Abuse

Thank you Calvintaneng

johnny cash

6,356 posts

Posted by johnny cash > 2017-01-13 14:05 |

Posted by John Lu > 2017-01-13 14:10 | Report Abuse

Calvin so confused

Posted by Icon8888 > Jan 13, 2017 03:42 AM | Report Abuse

This Calvin lied until he himself confused

Calvin said he only invested 3% of his money

If that is the case, how much can he make from prestar, etc ?

Prestar or pornstar ?

j450n

445 posts

Posted by j450n > 2017-01-13 16:37 | Report Abuse

oh the short run there... thanks for the explantion

Posted by donfollowblindly > 2017-01-13 17:28 | Report Abuse

DRB is loss making every qtr. Foresee more losses this year because car sales especially Proton will remain poor.

Posted by donfollowblindly > 2017-01-13 20:46 | Report Abuse

A big lie. DRB has RM 60 billion debts.

Posted by donfollowblindly > 2017-01-13 20:48 | Report Abuse

Still trap at high price. So must keep promoting to dispose to newbies who follow him blindly.

CCCL Why for the past few years still the same stocks selection.
12/01/2017 22:49

beso

2,137 posts

Posted by beso > 2017-01-13 20:58 | Report Abuse

drb biggest ever quarterly loss report by end of next month

53,225 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-01-13 23:07 | Report Abuse

Beso is wrong & flyingkite is correct!

Posted by flyingkite > Jan 13, 2017 09:06 PM | Report Abuse

no, next mnth qr is OK, there is corwin sale, proton promotion sale n pos shares price; but they are just 1 time good only, after that will b only slight better due to pos..

See more from Calvin:

Posted by calvintaneng > Jan 13, 2017 09:36 PM | Report Abuse X

flyingkite is correct!

next month report

corwin sale got half billion rm cash

rm280 mil from pos remeasurement

good sale of P Ertiga

after that got these goodies

sale of drb defense 8x8 military tanks

P Iriz for grab taxi

Sale of more modenas bike due to loan limit increase

other possible good news

jackma jv with pos in march 2017

Islamic finance by bank maumalat

Puspakom increase inspection yearly for cars?

Pos stamp revenue rise?

Posted by John Lu > 2017-01-18 23:44 | Report Abuse

calvin holland call after 3 years!
Posted by anbz2 at Jan 18, 2017 11:26 PM | Report Abuse
Posted by calvintaneng > Oct 21, 2013 05:50 PM | Report Abuse
Never mind anbz - PM Corp will move up all the WAY!

First Target to cross 30 cents, next target 50 cents, next 80 cents, after that RM1.00.

And then RM1.50 Is The Target Price!

Over A Long Term - The Target Price will be RM10.00

Posted by calvintaneng > Oct 21, 2013 07:24 PM | Report Abuse
anbz that RM10.00 will be yet future. Set your sight on these possible targets first:

30 cents (anytime now)

next 50 cents

then 80 cents

after that RM1.00

And the Summit of Expectation is RM1.50 For PM Corp which is Very Possible.