27 comment(s). Last comment by Pavillion 2017-05-07 03:01

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-24 12:43 | Report Abuse

as long as all our transactions are done with Visa, Malaysia remains a colony of the West...with every transaction taxed by America.

Posted by yewniengwei2693 > 2017-03-24 13:44 | Report Abuse

what ever online pay, our market is still small compare to others.

WiseEye

1,199 posts

Posted by WiseEye > 2017-03-24 15:14 | Report Abuse

Totally stupid article that have no knowledge whatsoever on the business of GHLSYS and MPAY. I have no idea what is the learning point from this article actually.

Firstly, the business of GHLSYS and MPAY do not in any way conflict with the Alipay. It is just like, does VISA and Mastercard will be affected by the dominance of Alipay? Of course it doesn't, both companies are providing different services in the same ecosystem.

Infact, with Alipay, it'll benefit companies like GHLSYS and MPAY as these 3rd party acquirers will facilitate Alipay services with the banks and merchants. This has already been done in Thailand, where there is a collaboration between Alipay. In which, we will see soon in Malaysia soon. Which is also why GHL's share price has been surging lately.

Posted by sugar_crackers > 2017-03-24 15:44 | Report Abuse

Another writer who just simply post without much study and knowledge on the subject.

Adam Khoo

22 posts

Posted by Adam Khoo > 2017-03-24 17:06 | Report Abuse

Go and find out how Alipay work. My info came direct from the head of payment solution from a bank.

WiseEye

1,199 posts

Posted by WiseEye > 2017-03-24 22:06 | Report Abuse

Read and analyze the company more by reading the Annual reports and newspapers. Don't just listen to whatever people say. You'll be surprised sometimes even the Heads are misinformed in a terribly. I've learnt that from my experience.

Get your information from multiple sources and prove to us specifically how Alipay's business is in direct competition with GHL and MPay. Rather than just explain things in such a general manner that doesn't really explain anything other than saying Alipay will knock off GHL and MPay.

Also, what is the purpose of this article? What is the education behind this? Are you making a SELL recommendation on GHL and MPay? If yes, please state so (with facts of course), rather than writing something without and basis and no value to our fellow forummers.

Pavillion

3,100 posts

Posted by Pavillion > 2017-03-25 02:41 | Report Abuse

I agree with the writer. Brief but very good write up.

1) Online business/transaction is way to go, even malls are worrying with the trend.
2) Cheaper and new mobile technology is potential threat to TPA....i.e. for start merchant can use devices that connect to their iphone, ipad etc and transmit thru their mobile phone.
3) Alipay slowly will knockout Ghl internet payment gateway, ipay88 etc.
4) Alipay does not benefits third party acquire i.e. Ghl or Mpay ;
a) Alipay just like Visa/Master/Jcb...their objectives it to get as many
merchants as possible to recognise/accept their card...it does not mean
an exclusive merchant, rather from existing merchant with terminal.
b) The growth of Third party Acquire depending on spending pattern of
cardholder and growth of new retailer/business (economy)

For 2016 , Mier and Bank Negara reported there are 2.4% decline in total purchases per card holder and 1.3% decline in total transactions per card holder. First decline since 2012.

Pavillion

3,100 posts

Posted by Pavillion > 2017-03-25 03:15 | Report Abuse

This will handle all micro merchants and delivery man.

https://www.softspace.com.my/

http://www.maxis.com.my/mpos

firehawk

4,771 posts

Posted by firehawk > 2017-03-25 03:30 | Report Abuse

thks for sharing ...

Posted by resilient911 > 2017-03-25 07:49 | Report Abuse

looks like benefit to cross border bank, local bank , visa and credit card. but more applicable to PRC people which ease them in CNY aayment. Most probably does not affect mpay / ghlsys local businness.

Adam Khoo

22 posts

Posted by Adam Khoo > 2017-03-25 13:40 | Report Abuse

Thanks Pavillion for your sharing. I was working in consumer banking division when the bank start to outsource the merchant terminal to company like GHL during the 1990s.

With the strong support from our government, Alibaba has a very comprehensive plan for Alipay in Malaysia.

Adam Khoo

22 posts

Posted by Adam Khoo > 2017-03-25 13:55 | Report Abuse

resilient911, Alipay will co-exist with terminal based system for sometimes until they hit the critical mass.

Alipay, Samsung Pay & Apple Pay will be more economical to merchant as they make use of the existing P.O.S.

GHL/Mpay profit margin on rental of merchant terminal will be eroded over the time due to the competition.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-25 14:51 | Report Abuse

as a country we need an alternative to Visa.

touch and go can fulfill the role if they are smarter.

if not, let Alipay take over from Visa for all online purchases...and even off line too.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-25 14:52 | Report Abuse

can GHL benefit from e commerce space?

apini

1,440 posts

Posted by apini > 2017-03-25 15:05 | Report Abuse

stockmanmy,

thanks for pointing out the reason that alipay may not benefit GHL
in fact, i want to buy a few lorries this coming Monday,
Now, I think I better not ....
if can not tahan ...
just buy 1000 shares play play luck minum kopi

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-25 15:07 | Report Abuse

I bought a bit of GHL already.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-25 15:10 | Report Abuse

I am not IT expert....just feeling my way.

apini

1,440 posts

Posted by apini > 2017-03-25 15:10 | Report Abuse

now a days , people like to play with business sense,
putting all the things with some similarities together to form a big picture that may be a real later .....

greatful

1,644 posts

Posted by greatful > 2017-03-25 15:16 | Report Abuse

sorry to say this. no matter what article people post, everyone has the right as long as in law. But i don't like those love to scold people stupid. if the one so genius, then will not use "stupid" word to other and knew what is respect.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-25 15:20 | Report Abuse

Apple pay, Samsung pay, all these still have to go through Visa system.

we must declare independence from Visa.

apini

1,440 posts

Posted by apini > 2017-03-25 15:35 | Report Abuse

if there is still an uncertainty don't write in such a way that sound like a sure win . people like lazy to do homework, rely on tip here, If I have not read this article by stockmany , I may have bought a few lorries of GHL waiting to huat with many sifu here

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-03-25 15:47 | Report Abuse

no worry so much.

GHL is quite a good share.

Posted by TanTeeHean > 2017-03-26 21:23 | Report Abuse

Very Informatics.

WiseEye

1,199 posts

Posted by WiseEye > 2017-04-04 21:56 | Report Abuse

Basically another stupid article by an individual with ulterior motives. Look at GHLSYS now and see how much it went up. This article is intended to make people sell their shares at a lower price for them to collect.

This article said Alipay is a threat to GHL? A threat? Look now Alipay is partnering with GHL for payment services. I advise investors to think again before listening to this Adam Khoo. Following his advice will lead to a missed opportunity of GHL limit up today.

Hunger

1,292 posts

Posted by Hunger > 2017-05-06 06:50 | Report Abuse

Lol.company with surely work with alipay to get revenue.look at Netx..Sure limit up on monday.target huge chinese population with strong buying power especially in thailand,cambodia and malaysia.. sure flyyyy

NetX Holdings Bhd is partnering with China-based E-DO Business Technology Corp to provide e-commerce online payment, e-wallet and loyalty programme solutions services in Cambodia, Malaysia and Thailand.
NetX's subsidiary Payallz Sdn Bhd entered into a technology partnership agreement with E-DO, which specialises in the provision of payment services for Alipay, WePay and Union Pay, said in a bourse filing today.

Pavillion

3,100 posts

Posted by Pavillion > 2017-05-07 03:01 | Report Abuse

" But is there money to be made from just catering for tourists? Almost certainly not."

https://www.aseantoday.com/2017/03/alipay-expansion-how-it-can-benefit-southeast-asia-and-its-economy/

"we expect these payment companies to struggle throughout 2017. With Lazada, Alibaba pulled off the ultimate trojan horse strategy to bring in Alipay and Ant Financial into the region."

https://www.acommerce.asia/11-trends-ecommerce-2017/

-Look like they will use Lazada HelloPay for South east asia market.

http://m.scmp.com/tech/china-tech/article/2089267/alipay-expansion-gathers-speed-move-southeast-asia

HelloPay now had been rebranded as Alipay Singapore, Alipay Malaysia, Alipay Indonesia, and Alipay Philippines. Meanwhile Alipay continue to work with many other companies, there are no exclusivity.