icon w new article.

Posted by Tom > 2017-04-14 20:11 | Report Abuse

中国买corn?没错的话中国都是自给自足的

lizi

1,968 posts

Posted by lizi > 2017-04-14 20:11 | Report Abuse

i think many misunderstood what trump means, or did not read deeper what trump really wan in his mind, trump ultimate target is to grow US economy, naturally inflation will go up along the way, then interest rate has to go up. this will create super strong USD which will hurt trump GDP target. what he want is USD to stay as it is now without further strengthen too much, preparing a conducive environment to supercharge US economy. strong USD is here to stay. remember current US interest rate is really low, no way near to level where economy really hot.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-14 20:15 | Report Abuse

why people thinks Trump knows any thing is beyond me.

just a kid

Posted by cheoky > 2017-04-14 22:06 | Report Abuse

Great thought sharing by icon. Wish to have some of your sight

Posted by shortinvestor77 > 2017-04-14 22:17 | Report Abuse

A food of thought.

Posted by yewniengwei2693 > 2017-04-14 22:36 | Report Abuse

Ringgit????

ks55_

569 posts

Posted by ks55_ > 2017-04-14 22:37 | Report Abuse

USD 4.4 better run USD ctrs.

Posted by Hua Joshuaayoung > 2017-04-14 23:01 | Report Abuse

i know u hantam black leopard alot.. same to me... hehe

tecpower

3,536 posts

Posted by tecpower > 2017-04-14 23:53 | Report Abuse

USD/MYR is determined by strongness of USD and MYR. As long as two more rate hikes in 2017 are on the table, USD will not weaken so much. Ringgit may get stronger in a few month. But as long as USD is strong enough, USD/MYR is not likely to plunge. USD's being strong enough means two more rate hikes in 2017 on the table.

tecpower

3,536 posts

Posted by tecpower > 2017-04-15 00:18 | Report Abuse

You should differentiate between long-term and short-term trends. The trend you see now may not last for a long time.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-15 07:00 | Report Abuse

with Ah Jib around, you will never have a strong ringgit. Period.
just hope they don't down grade your currency .

so stock market strategies based on a strong currency is wishful thinking.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-15 07:10 | Report Abuse

as for Trump, he will align himself to the emotional brain, nothing from the processing brain.

pussycats

7,611 posts

Posted by pussycats > 2017-04-15 12:46 | Report Abuse

Strong US $ is determined by the Fed. Just watch The Fed, dear all here. ;-D

Posted by supersaiyan3 > 2017-04-15 12:53 | Report Abuse

Tom, 中國的corn跟國際價格比較,還是相當昂貴,是有進口的。

Posted by VenFx > 2017-04-15 12:59 | Report Abuse

Thx for icon8888 bro's sharing that benefit me alot ...

Posted by supersaiyan3 > 2017-04-15 12:59 | Report Abuse

1. All macro data suggests a weak malaysian ringgit, but bank negara already cut off all tools avaiable for anyone to make it weak, so the strength of myr is highly correlated to import, export activities.

2. Trump maybe questionable in a lot of decisions he made, but he got means to get things done.

tksw

12,367 posts

Posted by tksw > 2017-04-15 14:10 | Report Abuse

Icon sifu, you really a sifu

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-15 14:35 | Report Abuse

Business Star today pg 17........

Foreigner sold down Malaysian government bonds from $ 247 billion to $ 178 billion from Oct 2016 to now.............

converting to riskier asset class such as equity............no net inflow of funds...hardly the kind of stuff that suggest ringgit will go up.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-15 14:38 | Report Abuse

from bonds to riskier assets.....

if...........a flight out of riskier assets , will cause a stampede, father mother also cannot recognise.

Xu Yu Fu

203 posts

Posted by Xu Yu Fu > 2017-04-15 15:51 | Report Abuse

Icon always wrote fantastic articles. Waiting for icon to write another one for JHM.

Junichiro

2,036 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2017-04-15 17:51 | Report Abuse

If it is so easy to talk a currency up or down, every gomen would have done it long ago. No need to rein in deficit. No need to move interest rates up or down. Can overspend like no tomorrow.

I agree with Icon, all these are some burst of hot air to pander to the fantasies of futures traders.

The Plaza Accord type of intervention leads to the recession that Japan never recovered. It also leads to the 1997 Asian crisis.

What a brillant insight, Icon.

Junichiro

2,036 posts

Posted by Junichiro > 2017-04-15 18:00 | Report Abuse

On the lighter side, this what the fung shui master, Lynn Yap, said abt 2017.

1) The USD will remains strong. 2) Oil price will rise a little but will remain stable towards the end of the year.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-15 19:17 | Report Abuse

The kid wants his sweets and do not want accountability.

Sweets for Wall Street, for the army, for the contractors, for the rich and powerful

Too bad , no sweets for the poor because the poor to them means blacks and Latino, the rapists and the laborers.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-15 19:43 | Report Abuse

America is a dysfunctional state, dying by a thousand cuts witha Nero as President.

This is not Plaza Accord era

America cannot offer leadership and solutions. This is East Asian era.

tecpower

3,536 posts

Posted by tecpower > 2017-04-15 23:47 | Report Abuse

There was no nuclear test in North Korea on 15 April. I expect world stocks will surge on Monday.

pussycats

7,611 posts

Posted by pussycats > 2017-04-16 06:04 | Report Abuse

US will go to war if its economy is in depression. Beware of war started by US to make a US war economy. US war economy benefiting & prospering US economy. Trump had shown to the world that he was trigger happy with dispensing bombs in Syria & Afghan. SAD things happen in 2017.

king36

1,022 posts

Posted by king36 > 2017-04-16 06:20 | Report Abuse

America is not what I always assumed them to be when I was young.
They could start a war by planting false flags.
I saw this more clearly when OOOpama & Highclinooton were in power and now, you could see why Trump won the Presidency in many, many U-tube series...

America is a dangerous country:
http://www.pravdareport.com/opinion/columnists/13-03-2014/127106-america_mask-0/

Taiko Icon8888 gives a good description. Let's pray that there is no war so that everybody can live the lives that he is familiar with - no additional stress please.

pussycats

7,611 posts

Posted by pussycats > 2017-04-16 08:27 | Report Abuse

SEOUL (Reuters) - A North Korean missile "blew up almost immediately" on its test launch on Sunday, the U.S. Pacific Command said, hours before U.S. Vice President Mike Pence was due in the South for talks on the North's increasingly defiant arms programme but fails to launch missile.

How this Monday? stock down bcos Nkor test missile on Sun 16?
Fat boy doesn't care abt US aircraft carrier been sent to Korea.
For Fat Boy, if Nkor die , US also die together. Nkor has nothing to lose bcos it is a poor nation but US has every thing to lose. Sad :-(

pussycats

7,611 posts

Posted by pussycats > 2017-04-16 08:29 | Report Abuse

Nkor = small poor Sam seng Vs US = big rich Sam seng

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-16 09:29 | Report Abuse

Why scientists are fighting back. We’ve had enough of Trump’s war on facts

In such circumstances, how do you predict or even make sense of what the kid President says?

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-16 09:31 | Report Abuse

Obama 8 years were very logical years......

Hillary is a very fine woman.

Posted by stockraider > 2017-04-16 10:58 | Report Abuse

KEY PRINCIPLES TO INVESTING IN A STOCK
In this article we look at the four keys that we believe every stock investment should have. These are not new things but rather the core principles that successful investors have been following for decades.

1. Invest in sectors and industries that you understand –

Becoming an expert in certain areas of the market will give you an upper hand when it comes to selecting stocks to buy. This is like a foundation for all other steps that follows. Pick a given sector or industry and try to get information on it as much as possible. This will enable you to make informed decision when it comes to buying stock.

2. Find companies with a Long-Term Competitive Advantages –

Companies with long-term competitive advantage have an ”economic moat” i.e. Economic protection. These companies have the following advantages:

A recognized brand.
The ability to produce products cheaper than anyone else.
The ability to sell their products cheaper than anyone else.
Barriers to entry that make it difficult for competitors or new companies to compete.
The opportunity to grow at a cheaper cost than anyone else.
A duopoly situation where two companies dominate the industry like Airbus or Boeing.
Networking effect where the users of the product or service makes the business more valuable like Google.

3. Look for companies with Excellent Management –

This can be done by reading annual and quarterly reports and studying the history of the company’s current management in an attempt to understand what the management is currently doing and what they may do in the future. You can look at the following:

The management’s history of decision-making. Do they have a track record of someone who we would actually hire if given a choice?
Understanding how management is compensated. Is their compensation based upon the success of the firm?
Ensuring that management is shareholder friendly. Do they do things that have the best interest of shareholders in mind?
These questions will help you to answer the question as to whether or not we trust the management enough to purchase the stock.

4. Buy When the stock is at a Good Price. Discounted to Intrinsic Value —

Find stocks that are currently trading below the market price. If you can be able to find stocks that are trading below their intrinsic value and have the other three core principles then we would have the formula for a sound stock investment. If you find a stock with the first 3 principles but is not trading below the market price, then it is better you wait. Any investor should know that the price at which he/she pays at, is a critical piece of investing. If you get it wrong then the investment will have a hard time making money.

Bottom Line

When all the four principles align then the possibilities of making money increase, though this does not guarantee that you will make money but rather increases the probability of making money.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-16 15:15 | Report Abuse

time for Wall Street to give up its gains?

that is real possibility.

53,189 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2017-04-16 15:30 |

pussycats

7,611 posts

Posted by pussycats > 2017-04-16 18:44 | Report Abuse

Trump sabre-rattling on North Korea has a flaw: Kim Jong-un has nothing to lose CBS News-- The Guardian 5 hours ago

Strategy of sending in the US navy and attacking Syria and Afghanistan likely only to boost Pyongyang's nuclear resolve.
Me →There u have this. Kim got nothing to lose if US chooses war.

tecpower

3,536 posts

Posted by tecpower > 2017-04-16 21:00 | Report Abuse

If he starts a war, he is likely to get killed.

North Korea missile launch 'no surprise, no need to expend resources' - U.S. foreign policy adviser
http://www.thestar.com.my/news/world/2017/04/16/north-korea-missile-launch-no-surprise-no-need-to-expend-resources--us-foreign-policy-adviser/#1KCxdt3ljU4m5UtA.99

Posted by probability > 2017-04-16 21:00 | Report Abuse

If RM strengthens against dollar...its bad for plantation and furniture.
How about steel?

tecpower

3,536 posts

Posted by tecpower > 2017-04-16 21:06 | Report Abuse

I think excess risk-off sentiment will be corrected on Monday as there was no nuclear test in North Korea on 15 April. Stocks especially small caps are expected to rebound.

tecpower

3,536 posts

Posted by tecpower > 2017-04-16 22:05 | Report Abuse

White House foreign policy advisor traveling with Mr. Pence said the U.S. has evaluated that the missile was not an ICBM, but probably a medium-range missile, and that it failed “after about four to five seconds” after launching from the same North Korean Navy base as another test on April 5.
http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2017/apr/16/vice-president-mike-pence-calls-north-koreas-faile/

LaoTzeAhSir

1,304 posts

Posted by LaoTzeAhSir > 2017-04-16 22:06 | Report Abuse

hevea

pussycats

7,611 posts

Posted by pussycats > 2017-04-17 11:41 | Report Abuse

:-)

Posted by probability > 2017-04-27 00:00 | Report Abuse

will export stocks tumble?

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-27 00:02 | Report Abuse

no.....just that the era of strong US$ is over.

probability > Apr 27, 2017 12:00 AM | Report Abuse

will export stocks tumble?

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-27 00:09 | Report Abuse

a weaker US$ does not destroy Malaysian exports.

I mean....no catalysts from exchange gains....but exchange rates is just a component of trade...a medium of exchange and valuation....but does not destroy the whole trade.

Posted by probability > 2017-04-27 00:12 | Report Abuse

i can agree on that...

Posted by stockmanmy > Apr 27, 2017 12:09 AM | Report Abuse

a weaker US$ does not destroy Malaysian exports.

I mean....no catalysts from exchange gains....but exchange rates is just a component of trade...a medium of exchange and valuation....but does not destroy the whole trade.

Posted by probability > 2017-04-27 00:18 | Report Abuse

so only airasia and aax? Guess not only the kerosene users gain..all the gasoline, diesel, consumers would also benefit...

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-27 00:42 | Report Abuse

When I say the era of strong US$ is truly and permanently over, the time scale is measured in years and decades....not hours and days.